I hope it’s edible.

DSC_0002

It’s a rather pleasant day here in the village at the outskirts of the world. Semi sunny and around 25C (77F). The wind is blowing steadily and that keep most of the flies away. Yes my friends, the flies have returned but these are bigger, fewer but just as annoying πŸ™‚ So no big clouds around our heads thankfully but still I can’t say I like these better than the smaller forest flies πŸ™‚ They say this is a wasp year but I don’t think I’ve seen a wasp in months here, in other places pest control companies work more than usual to kill wasp nests. I haven’t even seen the hornets for quite some time. I wonder why the wasps aren’t here too? Not that I miss them especially much to be honest but they do eat lots of flies (yes I am a bit obsessed by those nasty insects πŸ™‚ ).

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

DSC_0013

 

I wasn’t planning on doing much today but since the wind is blowing and it isn’t especially hot I thought it best to mow the lawn before the real heat comes back again. I can’t say I think a newly mowed lawn look especially nice but I do think it looks nice after a few days when it has started to grow again. I think it’s the evenness I don’t like, it does look artificial like nothing in nature would. my closest neighbor is just the opposite considering how often he mows his lawn. Then we have the “newest” neighbor, furthest down on the road. He barely mow his lawn at all. I don’t mind that but every time I pass that property bI start thinking of tics πŸ™‚ they love a lawn like that.

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0014

 

I’ve a bread fermenting by the kitchen window right now, the sun is helping keeping it warm enough. I normally don’t bake bread during summer but I just didn’t feel like buying one of those spongy breads they sell in the supermarket when I was there yesterday and I couldn’t find a parking spot when I passed a bakery. I tossed in what ever I could find in it today πŸ™‚ I had some cheese, a strong one, that would start ti mold if I didn’t do anything with it and I didn’t use water but hot milk with butter instead, I had some old butter that needed to be used as well. Then I tossed in some rosemary, oregano and ginger too. It smells nice so I do hope it tastes nice too πŸ™‚

 

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0019

DSC_0022

 

I’ve just worked som with it and now it stands by the kitchen window for the second time. So today is my last day of vacation and the real world hits me once again on Monday. Well, I can’t complain about the weather this year either. It’s rare that we get two good vacations (weather wise) in a row. Normally June, July and August are theΒ months with most precipitation in the year here and this morning they showed that this area only have gotten around 50% of what we usually get when it comes to rain. It has also been around 4-6 degrees centigrade warmer than usual too. I fear next year will be nasty cold and rainy all the time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Astilbe chinensis.

Astilbe chinensis.

Another Dahlia is slowly opening up.

Another Dahlia is slowly opening up.

Ginnala maple.

Ginnala maple.

A new Blubelle. I wonder if I got it at last years plant swapping day?

A new Bluebell. I wonder if I got it at last years plant swapping day?

 

All the dogs, except for Sune, are asleep in the cottage. I think Sune takes a round in the garden to see that nothing unusual is happening. Even if he is the one that perhaps loves to greet people he meets the most he still guards the garden very much. I guess that’s the Bernese Mountain dog in him, the cocker spaniel part loves swimming and watching birds πŸ™‚

 

Globe thistle.

Globe thistle.

Nasturtium 'Alaska'.

Nasturtium ‘Alaska’.

DSC_0043

Jimsonweed. They pop up every now and again and I guess the seeds come with the seeds I feed the birds with during winter.

Jimsonweed. They pop up every now and again and I guess the seeds come with the seeds I feed the birds with during winter.

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and then just wait until I can make that first sandwich from the newly baked bread. I do hope it will taste good because I don’t think I have flour enough to bake another one πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0030

The sunflowers do come from those seeds I give the birds :-)

The sunflowers do come from those seeds I give the birds πŸ™‚

and so does the oat.

and so does the oat.

Maximilians sunflower.

Maximilian’s sunflower.

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0051

6 responses

  1. Christer,
    The flowers are beautiful. I’d be standing in the yard just admiring them if they were mine. My front garden is just starting to flower again. I had the June flowers then a break and now the other flowers have bloomed or are ready to bloom. I need to buy some plants which flower in July.

    It is getting warmer here today. We haven’t had rain in a long while, maybe Saturday they say.

    I don’t ever get the flies here. They are in the woods and on the path where people walk their dogs. I never take Gracie as she doesn’t like other dogs much so I get to avoid the flies. but they only come in late May and June.

    That bread sounds delicious. I hope it tasted as good!

    Good luck on your new site. I’m happy to be the first to comment!

    Have a great evening!!

    August 1, 2014 at 5:09 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      They are but they took their time to open up! I had a July break amongst my flowers too but now all the autumn flowers starts to open up. I really need more July flowers in my garden. Well some of these should flower in July but everything is late because of those very cold night in June, nothing grew at all then.

      We’ll get another heat wave starting tomorrow, I had hoped for a cool start at work on Monday but it looks like it will be the opposite.

      I live just beside the bog and forest and on the other side I have cows. It’s impossible not to have flies here πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Their season should be over by now but I guess the last rain gave another generation a kick start, I had hoped they all would die during the draught.

      It did taste rather nice πŸ™‚ I should perhaps have had it a bit longer in the oven but it started to be a bit too brown so I took it out before it got burned.

      Thank You and have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 1, 2014 at 6:52 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Beautiful photos. I love the ones of the maple and the oats.
    Something interesting was growing from the seeds I fed the birds. I was going to leave it as it looked like it was going to be huge and hairy and cool. The lawn guys got it during one of their trimming sessions. Now I’ll never know.

    The bread sounds interesting. When I saw the title of the post underneath the photo of the flower I thought, well, it’s a dahlia and I think they aren’t edible but I could be wrong.
    I must have reading fail today because I thought you wrote that you used hot butter instead of water. I’d never heard of that. Good thing I went back to check. Hot milk. I need to read slower. πŸ™‚

    My dogs are sleeping on the couch beside me. Piki Dog is flat on his back and crowded right up against my elbow making it a bit difficult to type. I keep hitting him on his feet which are sticking up in the air. Rocky is in his spot at the end of the couch. I was napping right along with them, too. Not ashamed to say so. They’re tired from being at doggy day care yesterday. Don’t know what my excuse is other than I paid real estate taxes today. Must be the wallet shock. πŸ˜€

    Enjoy the last vacation day. (Weekends don’t count because you always have them.) Hope the bread is delicious.

    August 1, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I had just finished my answer to You and suddenly I did something and erased everything!!! I was just about to press the reply button πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I do like those two photos too but dahlias are edible, one can boil them just like potatoes but they taste like crap they say πŸ™‚ I wonder if it was Cotton Thistle You had in the garden, they tend to show up every now and agin. Rather beautiful and quite popular amongst those sowing their own flowers.

      I wonder how a bread made without water but with hot butter would turn out πŸ™‚ Like a brick? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      My dogs dragged me up just before 4am, assoon as they came inside again they ran upstairs and fell asleep and here I sit waiting for the sun to rise so I can drag them away from sweet dreams too πŸ™‚ We don’t pay real estate taxes for them selves. Everything is counted out by the authorities and if one is lucky it adds up in the end πŸ™‚

      Yes Friday was the last day of vacation, so now it’s just a regular weekend.

      The bread did turn out quite nice πŸ™‚ I was worried for a while that all those flavors would knock themselves out or make a taste explison πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 2, 2014 at 2:28 am

  3. I think Sune is the perfect mix of breeds,

    August 1, 2014 at 8:52 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Temperment wise he is and I guess he does have a goo size even though we all thought he would be much bigger, now he’s only heavy πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 2, 2014 at 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

