Thor seems to be upset today.

After the first round with thunder.

After the first round with thunder.

We’re having a thunderstorm here right now and it’s somewhere between fierce and half furious πŸ™‚ To be honest there aren’t that many lightnings but those that are, are both hugeΒ and sounds a lot. My sister gave me a link that shows lightning more or less when it happens and where too: Real time Lightning MapΒ (just click on the red text and a new window should open up). I do think however it only shows those hitting the ground and not the ones that goes between clouds because we had a gigantic one passing over the entire sky but nothing showed on the map. My little cottage trembled like Hector does when lightning goes around. I’m not sure if You’ll see the area where I live in when You open up the site. I live between the two big lakes here but this map shows the entire world so just zoom out and it will be easier to find the place where You live.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

DSC_0021

 

It started already at 5am so we never had any early morning walk today, in fact we almost didn’t get a walk at all, either it rained or the thunder came closer, strangely enough it didn’t do both, that only happened recently. I don’t mind thunder as long as it rains at the same time, dry thunder is never good when it is as dry as it is here. I’ve placed my orchids on the entrance stairs, they love to stand outside while it is raining. They look like they all are dying so I hope this might make them happier.

 

DSC_0029

The thunder is closing in. Didn't look that bad to begin with.

The thunder is closing in. Didn’t look that bad to begin with.

DSC_0032

 

I managed to do the laundry between thunderstorms but I doubt it will dry even if I have it hanging beneath a roof on my patio. I just looked outside and it looks like fog is filling up the area closer to the big road. I hope it comes here too after the thunder has passed, I really didn’t get any good photos today or yesterday :-)All dogs are more or less stressed by this and all have started to fart really bad πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Nova smell so bad that I had to open up the kitchen door, it’s impossible to stay here if I don’t manage to get some fresh air in to the cottage πŸ™‚

 

These three photos were taken yesterday. This troll spindle was kind enough to stay so I could get some nice photos of it.

These three photos were taken yesterday. This troll spindle was kind enough to stay so I could get some nice photos of it.

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

 

I’ve just looked at the weather predictions and it looks as if we’ll have thunder coming and going for the next five hours, the temperature will rise to 30C (86F) but the humidity will sink to a rather low level. The last thing I doubt though since all the water that now have fallen upon us most likely will start to evaporate as soon as the sun will show itself again. We’ll have much the same weather tomorrow and I had hoped it would cool down considerable since it is my first day back at work after the vacation. It is warm enough as it is beside a huge hot washing machine and a huge hot oven πŸ™‚

 

I'm not sure if I've shown You these photos? They were taken earlier.

I’m not sure if I’ve shown You these photos? They were taken earlier.

DSC_0101

DSC_0102

 

The thunder has calmed down and I hope that fog will move towards us too, it’s so thick now that I can’t see the mountain any longer, still it’s a bit too far to walk to since one never knows when the thunder will return again. I really don’t want to be caught by it out there πŸ™‚ So until I know better I’ll just have a cup of tea and enjoy this last day before reality hits me in my face again.

 

I usually delete photos I've had in my blog but I do forget it sometimes. These were taken on a Wednesday so I don't think You have seen them before.

I usually delete photos I’ve had in my blog but I do forget it sometimes. These were taken on a Wednesday so I don’t think You have seen them before.

DSC_0085

DSC_0095

 

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. jaz

    oh good…i was able to switch over to your new blog! we had big storms yesterday too. so, do you go back to work tomorrow? when is your next vacation?

    August 3, 2014 at 10:57 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I could see that You had a storm yesterday, I watched that site πŸ™‚

      Yes back to work tomorrow and it feels rather good actually πŸ™‚ Next vacation will be during Yule, two weeks at least I hope.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2014 at 10:59 am

  2. Beatrice P. Boyd

    The larger page width does show off the photos much better, Christer. It always amazes me that many bloggers include such small images in their posts, not sure why. The spider webs you capture always amaze me as I never photograph or even see any comparable ones…maybe it’s because I am inside while you and the pets are outside walking early? And the fog photos are a close second favorite. Too bad the vacation has ended and you have go be back at work. Retirement does mean never having to do that😏

    August 3, 2014 at 11:13 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I gues it all depends on what prt the photos are supposed to take, I want my photos to take a big part in the blog so I want them big.

      It all has to do with being up nasty early and find the webs while there still is dew onthem πŸ™‚ As soon as the dew dries it’s much harder to even find them at all πŸ™‚

      Well that’s life since I can’t seem to win the lottery πŸ™‚ Only 15-17 years left till I can retire, it all depends on how much I need in pension to survive πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ My biggest chance is the lottery I think πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2014 at 11:24 am

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos today. The spider webs glowing all fiery colors are great.
    The Troll Spindle has pretty eyes. And so many, too. πŸ˜€

    I went to the lightening site. Central Europe is getting hammered hard. Lots of strikes and frequently, too. Mid-Atlantic states here are getting some weather as well but not like that.

    We’ve had our morning walk. The weather is dreary, damp and cool again. Maybe some rain later, too. There were a couple of bees and a hover fly working the thistle blossoms. I had a small green grasshopper (?) on my living room curtain and I captured him and put hims outside. Not much else was happening. Slow day in the neighborhood. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the last day before reality hits. I hope the weathermen are wrong about the temperature tomorrow.

    August 3, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Some webs just look amazing with all colors of thr rainbow in them. I tried to find one at the right angle last time but I would have had to walk out in the high and very wet grass to get it and I don’t like them that much πŸ™‚

      Yes central Europe is getting hammered hard! I thought we had had our thunder for the day but just as I was about to take another walk with the dogs it came back again πŸ™‚ it looks like it will pass just tothe west of us thistime.

      Lots of dragonflies (yes they do have beautiful eyes and sooo many πŸ™‚ ) around now but very few butterflies or bees. I’ve had some grasshoppers on the mosquito net and they sat there for quite a while playing πŸ™‚

      I’m afraid that this time they’ll get it right πŸ™‚ They always do when it is weather one doesn’t want πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2014 at 2:10 pm

      • Caryn

        I was watching the lightening map. It was not so bad once I blew it up enough. The strikes get farther apart. Most of the stuff in the mid-Atlantic USA is well off shore now but heading for Virginia. I found Falkoping. Nothing shows there but there’s lots of dots out over that big lake (Varna?) that you showed us not long ago.

        August 3, 2014 at 2:58 pm

      • I don’t think it registers lightning between clouds because we have thunder just south of here but very few dots are shown. The lake is called VΓ€rnern, so it was close πŸ™‚
        It hit up on the mountain so I guess it’s heading this way now.

        Christer.

        August 3, 2014 at 3:04 pm

  4. jaz

    the lightening map is cool! we are having a storm that came out of nowhere and it is pouring and thunder and lightening right now. i love storms!

    August 3, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is! If You look right now You’ll see how thunder is close to my home but I think it will pass to the west from us. Either that or straight above the cottage. I hope it cools down some because it is starting to be a bit too warm now.

      Christer.

      August 3, 2014 at 2:11 pm

  5. beautiful photos!!! we have the lightening map bookmarked, sadly I love a good storm but I say sadly because I feel guilty saying it, storms are bad here forest fires are mostly started by lightening, there 131 fires burning in northern ontario this summer, very sad,,

    August 3, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do too and we have just the same problem here. But today it seems some houses are hit too. Flooding is usualy the biggest problem though, I don’t know how many cellars that are filled with water now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2014 at 4:13 pm

  6. Love your photos as usual and bookmarked the lightning map. I found Lidkoping which I believe is the town you showed us pictures of the other day and your saying you live between the two lakes gives me a better idea of where you are. A friends daughter spent a month in Norway this summer near the town where the movie Frozen was made. She brought home some coins from Norway. Some of them had holes in the center. Can you tell me anything about this?

    August 3, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      It is a great site but it looks as if it only records lightning that hits the ground and not the ones flying between the clouds.

      Yes LidkΓΆping was the twon I showed in that post and I live around km away from that town (around 25 miles).

      I don’t know exactly why they have holes in their coins but it might be to look a bit different from the Swedish coins. I think we had it in coins too very long ago.
      Frozen is very fun in all ways but also because it mixes the Scandinavian cultures quite heavily πŸ™‚ Some parts are very Swedish but most are Norwegian.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 3, 2014 at 7:11 pm

  7. Google says: In ancient times, Scandinavian coins had holes in them because people used to carry their money on ropes with knots at each end. The holes are now simply traditional.It also allows blind people to distinguish between the different coins. Oh, by the way, enjoy the pictures of your dogs that you post but especially your cats. I have one that looks like Tredor (?) and used to have one that looked like Bertel.

    August 3, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    • Aha, smart! Today they rely on blind people to feel the difference in the edges of each coin and the size of course.

      I do like my cats even if I not am a cat person. even angry Bertil πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      August 4, 2014 at 4:55 pm

  8. Christer,
    This is an odd weather summer. Our nights for the last week or so have been in the 60’s, cold for this time of the summer. Even the days haven’t been all that warm though today is supposed to be in the high 70’s. The sun is out now for the first time in three days. When I filled the bird feeders this morning, I saw how wet everything is, especially the deck.

    I have errands, but I’ll wait until tomorrow. I want to do a dog laundry (her bedding and such) and read. The groceries came yesterday so I have no real reason to go out until tomorrow when I need bird seed and dog treats.

    Have a great day. Hope work was okay after so long away

    August 4, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It is! We rarele have it this warm, even at nights sometimes.
      Lots of thunder today too and heasvy rain showers, at least at work. It has rained here but not especially much it seems.

      Now when I’m back to work I do all errands on my way home. The store is very close to work and even if there might be lots of customers thete it rarely takes more than ten minutes to buy all I want and to be out of the store again!

      It was ok even if lots of things went wrong πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 4, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

