Old things should never stand still for a longer period.

DSC_0006

I can’t say I long for when mornings get darker and colder but I can say I did it this morning when the dogs thought it would be a good idea to get up just before 4am πŸ™‚ The early morning was quite warm and very foggy soΒ out we went for a walk. First however I walked to a neighbor’s house to feed the cats while they are away for a few days. The short walk was rather nice and even if it was warm there were no flies around to annoy me. No sight of any cats though, they are out hunting most of the time, just like my cats are this time of year.

 

The old barn ruin.

The old barns ruin.

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

 

This mornings fog was very unlike the ones we’ve had so far this summer, it was really thick and showed no signs of giving up even after the sun had risen quite high. This was more of an autumn fog and it did stay for several hours. It didn’t go away until the thunder came. We followed its way via the site that shows the lightnings and I looked out just as one big flash hit the lake here in the bog. Poor Hector, he must have been so afraid. He must have stayed in the dog house almost the entire day because he wasn’t wet at all even if it had rained a big part of the day. Well to be honest, all the other dogs were dry too so the dog house must have been rather crowded. It’s big and I can fit in there without any problems but even so, my dogs are rather big πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0013

The Portal.

The Portal.

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

 

It wasn’t that bad to go to work but that was most likely because I didn’t know that this would be a crappy day production wiseΒ πŸ™‚ Old equipment should never stand still for more than a weekend or so, if they do they tend to break. It’s annoying as it is but it’s even worse when one doesn’t understand it until it is way too late. It didn’t help that every time the lightning hit so we lost power, if so only for a second, we had to restart everything again πŸ™‚ It doesn’t take a lot of time to be honest but all buttons that needs to be pushed are naturally placed far away from each other πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

Suddenly she just walked out in front of us. She had not seen or heard us so we were all just as suroprised :-) I had to edit this photo quite a lot because it was way to dark.

Suddenly she just walked out in front of us. She had not seen or heard us so we were all just as surprised πŸ™‚ I had to edit this photo quite a lot because it was way to dark.

DSC_0023

 

It is much cooler now but the humidity is so high that it’s nasty outside. We shouldn’t get any more thunder but one never knows. So now I’ll make myself a pot of tea and something to eat. I could have granola, easy to just pour some milk but then again, I did buy tomatoes and I do have paprikas at home. Perhaps a sandwich with cheese, ham, a slice of tomato and a slice of paprika would be a nicer alternative πŸ™‚

 

The WOW trees.

The WOW trees.

I've always felt that this would fit so good in a fairy tale.

I’ve always felt that this would fit so good in a fairy tale.

DSC_0029

DSC_0032

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Christer,
    I love fog. We get a lot of fog over the water. I used to cross a small bridge to go to work and on foggy mornings I couldn’t see the water on either side of the bridge. Morning ground fog is my favorite, not the kind in which you feel blind driving.

    That was a pain having to restart the machinery. Going back to work was bad enough!

    In the movie The Fog, the original not the remake, murderous pirates come out of the fog. S. King has a story of people trapped in a supermarket which is surrounded by fog. If any of them go out ,all you hear is a scream and they are gone. In fiction, fog can be mysterious and deadly.

    Have a wonderful evening.

    PS I hope you solve the name problem with WordPress.

    August 4, 2014 at 7:08 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I can’t remember that we’ve ever had this much fog during summer here, they rest of the year we have it quite often though. Fog and water is a great combination!

      It was a bit annoying πŸ™‚ Especially since the painting machine stopped to paint but never gave any alarm πŸ™‚

      I never saw that movie, can’t remember why though. I think it might have come at the same time or just after Alien and after Alien I rarely watch new horror movies πŸ™‚ I haven’t read that story from S.King either, now I must look after it πŸ™‚

      I think that’s why I like fog, I know there’s nothing bad out there (well moose and wild hogs but I hope they stay elswhere while we’re out walking πŸ™‚ ) but I can still imagine that all kind of things are out there walking around πŸ™‚

      I can’t find any more place where I can change from the old address. I might have to e-mail Wp to see if they can help in any way.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 4, 2014 at 7:23 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The Wow trees are looking a bit less Wow. One was dying, you said.

    Fog is always mysterious. I remember one morning in the mountains, I was driving (very slowly) along a road that had a drop on both sides. The fog was so thick on either side of the road that nothing could be seen of what was out there but it had risen up above the road surface about 30 feet. It was a road suspended in fog. Suddenly a raven came soaring right down the middle of the road just as calm as anything. I figured it was alright after that. πŸ™‚

    I bet the air was blue at the factory today. πŸ™‚ Coming back to work after a lot of time off is always a pain and not just because it’s the end of vacation. In my case it was always a desk full of stuff that no one else could handle and a bajiliion emails , most of them pointless, clogging up my computer. It took a whole day just to organize it so I could deal with it. What a waste.

    The weather is so-so. Foggy this morning, bits of sun here and there, more clouds. I started out productively. Dogs and I went to the lake for a couple of hours. Fed them and myself. I got laundry through the washer and into the dryer. I called the electrician which I’ve been meaning to do for two weeks. And then I stretched out on the couch for a “minute”. A 3 hour minute. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ So much for productivity.

    Enjoy your evening.

    August 4, 2014 at 9:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think that I can stand in a slightly different angle it will look likethe WOW trees again. The dead tree still stands there and it looks like a pine behind it can take its place.

      I think I might have reacted the opposite way, if a raven can turn up just like that who knows what else might and will I then hit it with my car πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It wasn’t that bad from what I could notice, the coming back to work thing. But there were lots of problems all over the factory so that sort of made the day a bit blue πŸ™‚ Thankfully I have no e-mails, just all the mechanical problems that has turned up πŸ™‚ but that’s easy really, I just tell the boss nothing works and he’d better do something about it πŸ™‚

      Rainy and cool all day, rather nice after that long heat wave. Those long naps can be really bad for the rest of the day πŸ™‚ Last yime I had one I was tired all day and went to bed at 8pm πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 5, 2014 at 4:59 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! we had very heavy fog here this morning. i opened the door and could not see a thing. it was 68 yesterday but felt like it was 90 because of the humidity. i am so ready for summer to be over! it’s going to be an early evening for me. with this hot weather, teddy sleeps most of the day. she wakes me at about 3:30 to start the day! joyce

    August 4, 2014 at 11:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Your fog wwas much better than ours then! Ours sort of came and went but I think I at least could see 20 yards when it was as worst. I love that kind of fog You had. Today is rather cool but the humidity high so it feels much worse than it should do. I’m still not ready for autumn though πŸ™‚

      Our lovely dogs πŸ™‚ Just think of how many fantastic mornings we would have missed without them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 5, 2014 at 5:02 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, I had no luck to register for thsi blog. Not sure why, but it really didn’t work. So, I just google you! The pictures today are simply magickal! Love the fog. No fog here. Just blue sky, hot, hot temps and no rain in sight. Bummer. Glad to hear your first day back was not too bad. I have 4 more days than am off for 2 weeks. I can’t wait!! We went to Ireland tonight πŸ™‚ Its a local thing in our city called Folklorama. There are several counties that are promoted around the city in different venus. It runs for two weeks – worth googling if you have a chance. So tonight, in honor of my husband’s heritage, we went to Ireland. Supper was good there and we saw a band called O Hanlons Horsebox perform. They were amazing! Have a great Tuesday!

    August 5, 2014 at 12:53 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Try again because it should work. Plenty of people have signed up that way now.

      No fog today but cool and rainy but with a nasty high humidity. Isn’t at all as nice as it could have been.
      I do envy You Your two weeks even though I just had four weeks in a row myself πŸ™‚

      That sound so fun! I’ll check it after this! It is something special with Ireland and Irish music! not forgetting the Irish beer πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 5, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

