I would just pack my car and leave, with no hesitation.

DSC_0012

What a day we’re having so far, sunny, just enough warm with a nice breeze blowing away the thick fog we had all night and parts of the early morning. I wouldn’t have mind if the fog had stayed but since we’re closing in on autumn it’s best to get as many sunny days as possible and charge the batteries before it gets dark and dreary again. More and more cranes and geese are flying southwards in the typical v.formation but plenty will stay for as long as they can and a few will actually stay here all winter long if it is mild enough. They will get plenty to eat so the risk of freezing to death is small.

 

My fuchsia almost died this spring and it took the entire summer for it to restart again.

My fuchsia almost died this spring and it took the entire summer for it to restart again.

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

 

The morning was totally quiet, well I could hear one bird singing but just for a few minutes and then it quieted down too. Not even I could be heard, all dog behaved exemplary today so no need for shouting after them to not go too far or to come back. The fog laid thick and the sun rising gave it fantastic colors in the red spectrum. I love mornings like this and perhaps it’s a good thing they don’t happen too often so one would become used to them πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

I was thinking of taking a nap when we came home from our walk but instead I thought why not do the laundry? Normally that’s a Sunday chore but I did it today since I actually thought it was a good idea, that doesn’t happen too often πŸ™‚ So I thought I would take that nap after the laundry but then I thought since I’m already up and going and doing things why not vacuum the floors? So I did that too. I realised that the floors wouldn’t be much nicer if I didn’t scrub them too so I did that as well. I think I might have reached the point when I can take that nap but now I don’t feel like it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

WordPress is acting strange, for some time now I’ve had problems getting in to my blog. I sort of get half way there and then it slows down so much that I never get the entire site. I also have problems getting in to other WP blogs, it just takes so long before anything happens. It does go faster if I just go to WordPress.com and then go the back way to my blog, very odd. Also, when I comment in other blogs I can’t use this blogs name, WordPress says I don’t own that blog which is ridiculous since WP itself says that it’s in that name I will place comments in other blogs??!! and like in all other big sites it’s impossible to find an e-mail address so one can write and ask them why this is happening πŸ™‚ Yes there is support forums but really, this must be something wrong with WP and nothing other bloggers can solve for me!

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

 

The biggest forest fire ever recorded in Sweden is going on here right now. So far one person has died and another one is badly injured and he’s gone from really bad to even worse. For some reason they decided they should save timber from burning up and went straight in to the forest. This wasn’t even their own personal timber but timber owned by a company, they were both employees and I can’t for my life understand how they thought it was worth the risk of loosing their lives for that? Besides forest fires are tricky and one never knows how fast they move or where. People were upset that the authorities hadn’t blocked the roads but really, people should be able to use their own brains at least some I think.

 

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

 

 

Aeroplanes from both France and Italy water bombs the fire and several helicopters too but the fire is out of control anyway. It’s hot, dry and very windy where the fire is so if rain won’t come and help soon this might be a bigger disaster than it already is. They are evacuatingΒ towns and naturally thievesΒ go there and empty homes, one can just hope they’ll get caught in the fires themselves because they aren’t worth a better ending in my opinion. Naturally some people refuse to evacuate their homes, what do they think they will be able to do if the fire comes? Spit on it and make it stop?? I love my little home but if it would start to burn here I wouldn’t stay for a second, my insurance would give me a new home in the end anyway. I would just toss in my dogs, cats, cameras and at least a laptop in my car and drive away with no hesitation at all πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and perhaps some digestives with some blue cheese. My laundry is drying up fast now in the increasing wind, it almost feels like we’re going to get a thunderstorm here soon.

 

DSC_0054

DSC_0061

DSC_0063

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0069

14 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! these photos are beautiful! sounds like you had a busy day and got lots done. the fire sounds very scary. we haven’t had rain in days and am back to watering. i am just about to head out to my first fall festival and can’t wait. i agree with you about those looters. how horrible. joyce

    August 9, 2014 at 10:30 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m glad I am up early otherwise I would miss all this. I’m surprised over how much energy I had this morning πŸ™‚ Can never end well πŸ™‚

      It has rained some here and more will come but no showers, more like gentle drizzles I’ve heard.

      Yes looters should burn in h… one day!

      I can imagine how much You look forward to a fall festival πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2014 at 10:35 am

  2. Wendy from NY

    Amazing sunrise photos! Wow!

    We are getting high level smoke, here in NY state, from wildfires in western Canada! You can see it more than actually smell it. Although overnight last night I smelled a slight smoky odor coming in the open window. Nasty business.

    Are all the white flowers Queen Anne’s Lace?

    I have to ask, what are digestives that you have with blue cheese? Doesn’t sound very good…:/

    August 9, 2014 at 11:44 am

    • Hi Wendy!

      The fires here are so far north that we can’t see either the smoke or feel the smell. But the fire is so big that one can see it from space, Nasa took some sattelite photos two days ago.

      Most of the white You can see in these photos are actually spider webs covered in morning dew πŸ™‚ But the white flowers that are there are mostly Angelica and yarrow.

      here’s a link to Wikipedia, digestioves are just about the best bisquits one can have with cheese or anything really πŸ™‚ : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digestive_biscuit

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2014 at 11:59 am

  3. Christer, I hope this comment reached your blog! Im using ny tablet which I haven’t figured out yet! But commenting with my phone hasn’t worked so far! Lovely photos! I hope to have the energy today for my chores that you are having. Sorry to hear about your blogging problems. I totally agree with you about the fire. I’d pack up the critters and be gone! And yes let the looters burn.

    August 9, 2014 at 12:51 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      It did reach me πŸ™‚ It’s fun with new things but it’s always a bit problematic before one actually understand how it works πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I can tell You that all that energy now is gone and all I want to do is sleep but my dogs think otherwise πŸ™‚

      This problem comes and goes so this time this page just opened up like it should do and very fast too. They are changing things herer on WP so I am hoping it’s just a temporary thing.

      Yes, it’s just a house after all and if the fire comes there’s nothing one can do anyway and yes those looters should burn!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2014 at 1:42 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Wow. I’m exhausted from reading your morning activities. So far I have been on one dog walk with photos, I’ve fed the dogs and I’m feeding myself. That’s it. Oh, and I signed up for an online course on the history of humankind. It’s still only 9AM so I have plenty of time left to be productive today. I’ll think about it. πŸ˜› πŸ™‚

    I knew what Digestives were but never thought about putting bleu cheese on one. I think I’d rather have the chocolate coated ones.

    NatGeo was doing an assignment on Golden. Photos of everything gold or golden or whatever reminds you of gold, I guess. Your sunrise photos would do very nicely as some of them go from yellow gold to red gold. I don’t know when the deadline is.

    Those forest employees were probably supposed to knock down small fires as part of their jobs. As you say, forest fires are tricky and when the conditions are so dry and windy things get out of control very fast. My father was a firefighter and he always said he hated working forest fires. It was too changeable too fast. Once a forest fire crowns, it moves fast and hot and can be all over you in a blink of an eye.

    Enjoy the rest of your busy day.

    August 9, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have absolutely no energy left so I used it all this morning πŸ™‚

      History of human kind! They actually show a series on that subject on our Knowledge channel riht now! Very interesting!

      The chocolate coated ones are almost too tasty πŸ™‚ many of those and a big pot of tea and the evening is saved πŸ™‚

      I didn’t see that assignment, I’ll pop over there to see if I can find it!

      No, from what I know it was already cut down trees they were trying to save. People blame the authorities for the death but I mean that’s just stupid! We do still need to use our brains every now and again especially if there’s a forest fire nearby! The fire is worse than before now because of strong winds, I’m glad I live far away from it!

      The rest of the day will be a calm one πŸ™‚
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2014 at 1:50 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Those photos are amazing! We have been having alot of residual smoky skies with the forest fires going on around us too and the sunrise and sunsets on those days are otherwordly! Red orb in the sky is sort of deliciously creepy! πŸ™‚ I love digestive biscuits but now I must try them with blue cheese. I love blue cheese but i am the only one. Well, the dogs love it too, but they eat just about anything. I love when I get bursts of energy like that – doesn’t happen too often πŸ™‚ I will be leaving Monday for our trip for our son’t medical issue – so I will catch up when I get back! Have a splendid Saturday night!

    August 9, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I was thinking of walking in to the forest and out to the bog this morning but changed my mind πŸ™‚

      Yes smoke does that but thankfully this was just common fog, the fire is far north from here and half of Sweden would have to burn down before it reached us πŸ™‚

      The first time I ate blue cheese I wondered why anyone would like to eat something that tasted like candles smells πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Now I love it πŸ™‚ Digestives are great with any kind of cheese really but the chocolate covered ones should be just like they are πŸ™‚

      I have absolutely no energy left in my body now, so I must have used it all this morning πŸ™‚

      I hope everything will go well with Your sons medical issues!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 9, 2014 at 1:54 pm

  6. the webs and yarrow are lovely, lots of fires here as well, we have a smell of smoke in the air, sounds like you have been busy, you will sleep well tonight,

    August 9, 2014 at 7:47 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I did sleep well but my dogs woke me up at 4:30 this morning. Now they’re asleep again but not I πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’m glad the forest fires aren’t near here, it rained all night so no risk that any starts here. I hope this rain kept on going north so that they got some help to put out that huge fire.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 10, 2014 at 2:56 am

  7. Christer,
    I’m with you-I’d toss in the same things. The cats would be the tricky ones. I do have one cat crate, and they’d have to put up with each other for a while. My life is worth too much to risk staying in a burning neighborhood.

    The western US tends to have forest fires which seem to burn forever. The last one was started when a man had a fire in a part of the forests off limits for any sort of fire. He is totally responsible for acres of woods and peoples’ houses going up in flames.

    Our weather has been spectacular and has attracted scores of tourists. I don’t remember the cape being this busy in a long while.

    You are far too industrious. I did clear the deck yesterday and today I’ll fill the feeders and put up my new palm tree on the deck. The last one broke in an ice storm when a tree fell on it.

    Have a great Sunday!!

    August 10, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The insurance will cover most anyway so as long as my dogs, cats and I are ok I’m fine. It’s the same here, only one crate and I’m not sure both would fit in there so it would be Teodor in the crate because he would try to be all over the car at the same time while Bertil hates everyuthing and most probably would stay with the dogs πŸ™‚

      We do have the occasional forest fire but never this big. They are trying to blame it on the deforestation company, most probably they have driven on a stone and a spark will most likely have started it all.

      I think it’s the flies that keep people away from this place, bogs and swamps really are paradise for flies πŸ™‚

      That was a one time event I think πŸ™‚ At least when it comes to do all that on free will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 10, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Leave a Reply

