For once I had some character.

Lots of water close to this property. ponds (or perhaps I should call them lakes) and a river just nearby.

Lots of water close to this property. ponds (or perhaps I should call them lakes) and a river just nearby.

The annual plant swapping day was yesterday, well my annual anyway because I never miss this one but there are several plant swapping days all over the country all summer to be honest. This one is almost just on the other side of the bog but the distance driving there is more than twice than if I could have driven straight across the bog πŸ™‚ We had the weather god with us this year, mostly sunshine and warm. Last year it was rather cold that day and the rain poured down πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0129

I will most likely show photos from yesterday both tomorrow and on Thursday too.

I will most likely show photos from yesterday both tomorrow and on Thursday too. They have air blowing down into the big pond in front of their garden.

DSC_0131

 

For those of You that don’t know what a plant swapping day is, It’s a day when we bring the surplus of what we might have in the garden or what we have sown during winter and spring. Many always believe that just because many of us are a bit advanced in gardening it means we only bring rarities with us but it’s far from the truth. What can be weed for one person can be a treasure for someone else, it all depends on what kind of conditions it is where one live. Here for instance Aaron rods are weeds and something I toss by the hundreds some years, others might barely get them to survive in their gardens.

 

They show their garden to any people every summer and unlike many that have this well kept gardens they're not afraid of bright colors, something I really like. They are well known for all their day lilies, I think they have over three hundred different varieties.

They show their garden to any people every summer and unlike many that have this well-kept gardens they’re not afraid of bright colors, something I really like. They are well known for all their day lilies, I think they have over three hundred different varieties.

DSC_0133

DSC_0134

 

Normally all of us bring home more plants than we had when we came there πŸ™‚ We have no idea what so ever how that can be πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but this year I actually managed to have some character and brought home slightly fewer plants than I brought with me. There were however a few people who first didn’t want to participate in it because they didn’t bring any plants with them. We had to sound a bit threatening until they realised that we don’t care about petty things like that and we wouldn’t let them go until they had plenty with them home πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0138

DSC_0140

DSC_0142

 

By plant swapping I don’t mean that I say to someone that You can have these plants if I can have that one, no it’s a sort of lottery. All plants are placed so we all can see them (and naturally we all tell what we brought with us) Then we all draw a number and usually it’s the one with the number one that starts. I got number one yesterday and had one plants I wanted to take before anyone else. Naturally the lady that held this day then decided that number eight would start πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I got that plant anyway πŸ™‚ I’ll show You later what I brought home yesterday.Β 

 

DSC_0144

But they also have loads of different Hosta.

But they also have loads of different Hosta.

and lots of dwarf conifers.

and lots of dwarf conifers.

 

I always get some kitten photos too when I’m there, this year they had 13 kittens πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and they always find good homes for them. I didn’t see more than four myself though, some were outside hiding and some were in the bathroom because they were just a few weeks old. I have to admit that if I didn’t already have two cats I would see to it that I got one of these with me home πŸ™‚ It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat now, I haven’t had anything since 2pm today.

 

and cats :-)

and cats πŸ™‚

DSC_0159

I think this was an aunt to these kittens.

I think this was an aunt to these kittens.

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Congratulations on retaining your character and not coming home with more than you bro iught.
    That garden is beautiful. I wish I were horticulturally inclined or, better, had enough money to hire someone horticulturally inclined. Then my yard could look like that. I would want it to be more native wildflowers, trees and shrubs. I wouldn’t mind a pond, either, but it would have to be a real one, not a man-made one. They’d just have to dig a bit in my back swamp, I think, and a pond would occur. Dream on, Caryn. πŸ™‚

    Do all the cats have that unusual shade of blue eyes? Those are sweet looking kittens.

    Rocky, Piki Dog and I went to the lake early this morning. I let them sort of off leash. They were clipped together on a tandem lead but I wasn’t holding on to it so they thought they were loose. They had a great time running around and sniffing all the things. The weather is lovely here. Sunny with a nice breeze. Not too warm and no humidity. Perfect.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    August 11, 2014 at 6:39 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚ It was hard but I really needed to have it this time πŸ™‚

      It is a fantastic garden but I can’t have a garden like that, I don’t have the energy to keep it that good looking and I am too sloppy too πŸ™‚ I’m still too much of a gardener to let anyone do anything inm my garden, I know I just would go around and change everything afterwoards πŸ™‚

      Yes they all do, those eyes are amazing!

      I did like that when Nova and Sune was new here and it worked great, well most of the times πŸ™‚ The young ones didn’t walk as slow as the old ones some times πŸ™‚ I think I’ll try it but with Sune and Nova together, that would most likely work really good

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 11, 2014 at 7:32 pm

      • Caryn

        It works with Rocky and Piki Dog. Rocky usually listens to me and he’s bigger than Piki Dog so can drag him back. If they both decide not to listen to me and run off, chances are very good that they will wrap the lead around a pole because one will go to one side and the other will go on the opposite side. They don’t coordinate very well. πŸ™‚

        August 11, 2014 at 11:22 pm

      • It worked well with Hector and Sune but less well with Orvar and Nova since Orvar was a bit angry at her at the time πŸ™‚
        That’s always a fail safe, they can never agree on which side to run when it comes to a pole πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
        Christer.

        August 12, 2014 at 4:18 pm

  2. jaz

    that is such a gorgeous place. i always like seeing it. those kittens are so cute. i would have had trouble resisting! can’t wait to see what you got.

    August 11, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is! But I would never have the energy myself to have a garden like that πŸ™‚ So I’m making mine more wild looking, allowing some weeds here and there and that’s impossible with a fantastic garden like that.

      Those kittens are soo cool! But I’m afraid what Bertil and teodor might do if I brought one home with me, the dogs would love it though πŸ™‚

      I think I’ll show what I brought home on Friday, perhaps Thursday it all depends on how much time I have on Thursday πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 12, 2014 at 4:16 pm

  3. Beautiful pictures of the gardens – adorable kittens/cat.

    August 12, 2014 at 1:03 am

    • Hi Joyce F!

      You should see it in real, none of my photos does it justice! and those kittens are soo cool and laid back πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 12, 2014 at 4:19 pm

  4. Mona

    You are stronger than I would have been when it came to the kittens. Then half way home I would remember cat boxes..cat litter, cat food, Vet bills, clawed furniture, accidents that defy getting rid of, etc. etc. It’s good that I haven’t been tempted. One little strong willed, warm and cuddly gorgeous little dog is all I need.
    The gardens were gorgeous. I looked carefully at them and decided to do some carving out of grass out front next to the sidewalk and will plant me some Day Lillies. Or something. Anything that will liive hot miserable California in the summer.
    I always buy more at the garden centers than I can plant in a timely manner…so heaven only knows how I would have behaved! You were quite controlled. Good for you, Christer. Thanks for taking us with you to the plant swap. What fun!! Oh..and the little Siamese kitty would have done just fine for me. I miss mine. But not enough, at my age, to get another.
    Enjoy your day.
    Mona

    August 14, 2014 at 1:21 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I was thinking about what the two I already have would do to the poor thing πŸ™‚ So it wasn’t a hard choice to make.

      It is a fantastic garden and no photo can do it justice! But it’s not a garden for me, it needs way to much work to stay that fantastic and I am a lazy man πŸ™‚

      I was thinking, why don’t You have different kinds of geraniums (pelargoniums) in Your garden? They live in the wild in areas like California, like South Africa. They would love to live in your garden all year round and there are so many different varieties! There is a group called Unique geraniums, they have big flowers and their leafs smell so nice. They can become rather big if one allow them too or if they are pruned stay in the hight You would like.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 14, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

