It’s old and tired.

A Damsel fly.

A Damsel fly.

We have thunder right now but it is an old tired thunder that just sort of farts every now and again just because it feel it has to do something. If not for any other reason than to show it exists. Not like the young energetic ones we had when lots of things blew up here in the village πŸ™‚ I barely managed to get home and indoors here at home after work before the rain started. Not even the rain seems to have any energy, it just falls straight down and is more like heavy drizzle than a real shower. I placed my orchids on the entrance stairs, they liked it so much the last time that they now actually looks like they will survive another year.

 

DSC_0141

DSC_0146

DSC_0147

 

I won 3 dollars on the lottery last week πŸ™‚ I had hoped for the big win that now is around 159 million kronor. Divide that with 6,5 and You’ll get it in US dollars. Well one should never spit on any winning so I bought myself an ice cream for the money πŸ™‚ It was a soft ice cream so it was a bit tricky to drive and eat it at the same time, they have a tendency to start melting fast and I didn’t want any ice cream in my lap πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0148

DSC_0149

DSC_0152

 

I think I’ve made too little dinner for this week. I always make enough for one week when I eat dinner at work and this time it looks like I won’t have enough for Thursday as well (I stop working so early on Fridays that I don’t eat any dinner there). This week it was lamb, something we call lammskav and I just couldn’t find the right english word for it without making it sound like an injury πŸ™‚ I think it’s minced lamb or very thin slices of lamb and they are frozen in a block. It should just have defrosted half way when one is about to cook it. I then break pieces out of this block and while frying it it divides into small slices if You can understand how I mean, looks like bigger or smaller flakes.

 

DSC_0160

DSC_0162

DSC_0172

 

Those flakes really suck up the spices and I usually fry lots of vegetables and mushrooms too and at the end I make a stew of it. Goes perfect with rice, potatoes or pasta. Next week I think I’ll have moose made in much the same way. It’s the lazy mans way of making real food but very fast :-)It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat as well.Β 

 

DSC_0153

DSC_0156

DSC_0157

 

Na-nu Na-nu my friends. The world is now a sadder place.

 

 

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Tired farty thunder. That is a word picture I will cherish. πŸ™‚

    It suddenly came to me while viewing today’s photos that those cats look like Turkish Van cats. Here’s the wiki entry. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Van_cat
    Very unusual cats. Sometimes they have one amber eye and one blue eye. I would take a couple of those for sure.

    I had a lovely garden visit today. My hairdresser has a huge property that he has professionally landscaped (to his exact specifications because that’s how he is πŸ™‚ ). I forgot my camera so had to settle for crappy phone camera. Out of 11 shots only 4 were passable and only 1 was sort of good. He has a tendency to put odd things in his garden but in a way that you have to really look to notice. I photographed a clump of yellow daisies because I like them. Only much later when reviewing the photo did I realized they were actually potted and the pot was inserted into a broken old doll chair.

    Being able to find ground moose in the local grocery store when you want it seems odd somehow. Here that would only be found in the very expensive boutique meat market for lots of money per pound or, if lucky, in your friend the incredibly successful hunter’s freezer. πŸ™‚

    Na-nu, Na-nu. Indeed it is.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 12, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚

      Yes they do look like Van cats. I’ve actually seen one once and I remember they called them Angora cats (which means cat from Angora or Ankara as the city is called now days) here when I was a kid. Not especially common here either, I read that there are about 100 of them in this country.

      You should only know how many photos I had to delete πŸ™‚ I like gardens like that, when one never knows what to find πŸ™‚ I rarely have pots though because I have a tendency to forget to water them πŸ™‚

      It’s actually not uncommon here to find moose at least in the freezer, at least in the bigger stores. But I got it for free when I helped them during the hunting. One year it was my dogs that scared the moose in the right direction, another it was me yelling at old Viran πŸ™‚ The moose lay down in front of the hunter but he didn’t see it until it heard my yell. It got so scared it stood up and tried to run away πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Na-nu Na-nu.
      Christer.

      August 12, 2014 at 6:55 pm

  2. jaz

    they are just about to reveal the outcome of the autopsy of robin williams. so so sad. we are supposed to get storms later…i hope so. it rained hard here last night. gotta run….the news conference is starting!

    August 12, 2014 at 6:06 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ll see if I can find anything on the net. Yes it is so sad, I loved the movies he made.

      We’ll get lots of rain here these coming days, no need to water anything for a while πŸ™‚

      Na-nu Na-nu.
      Christer.

      August 12, 2014 at 6:56 pm

  3. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –

    I hope Mona sees your post today since you have photos of 2 of her favorite things – lots of cats photos & that sweet fairy castle. I know that when she sees the castle she will be thinking how great it would look in her famous fairy village in a wheelbarrow. She is so sweet & funny. I’m surprised she hasn’t convinced you to design a mini troll or fairy garden by now. Although I’m sure the dogs would have such a delicate garden destroyed in short order and would probably eat the decorations, chew them to bits or Hector would pee on them & that would be a terrible thing to do to a fairy.
    The lamb stew you cooked up sounds delicious. My verdict on the moose version is still out since I have never tasted moose. I do not like venison, so if it is similar to that taste – I’ll pass. It sounds reindeer may be an acquired taste too. The frozen lamb sounds a bit like something that we call shaved meat. Small slices are cut paper thin & flash frozen & is usually used to make Philly cheese steak sandwiches. I’ve only found it made from beef here, but I love lamb so I wish they sold that here too. Lamb gives stews such rich flavor and being of Irish decent probably helps make me a lamb lover. The odd thing is that tons of lamb is raised in Oregon, but few people will eat it. The lamb in the grocery store all is imported from New Zealand. The lamb raised here is exported to other Countries & high end restaurants. Strange how that works, isn’t it? My favorite way to prepare lamb is to marinate a leg of lamb in lemon juice, red wine vinegar, herbs & lots of garlic overnight and then cooked in the rotisserie. I actually most flavorful the next day after it is chilled & sliced thin on good bread. Now that all our talk about good food has made me ravenous & I realize I have nothing to eat but leftover spaghetti for the 3rd day in a row – even moose is sounding more appealing :).
    Our 100 + heat finally cooled down a bit today, but now it is so humid my feet are sticking to the floor. I have been sticking to the leather sofa all day because of the humidity. I either need to not wear shorts or get a quilt to sit on or I may find my rear permanently glued to the sofa cushion:) We are supposed to have severe thunderstorms & an inch of rain tonight. The sky tonight looks like it could start soon. It would be good if it rained since we have only had a few showers in 3 mths. I noticed the first trees green color starting to fad yesterday. I don’t know if that is because Fall will be here soon or because the trees need water so badly. Your new web site looks great & I really enjoy seeing your photos enlarged too.

    It was nice to see you using Na-Nu Na-Nu as your sign-off. It is such a sad day for anyone who was a fan of Robin Williams. So many of us literally grew up being entertained by his comedy, TV shows & films. It is hard to process that he is gone so suddenly. I have purposely avoided the internet news about it today because it has become such a place for nastiness & ignorant comments, but the blog comments seem to echo my own. Mork & Mindy was one of the first TV shows when I was a kid that my whole family always watched together and I associate it with nothing but a good time in my life. He was one of the few entertainers that I loved as a child & throughout adulthood – he has always been there. Aside from being a great actor & comedian; He was more importantly a genuinely kind & generous person. Which makes it even sadder to know that no one was there to support him when he most needed it most. There are few famous people whose death would impact me like Robin Williams has – it seems to have knocked the wind out of a lot of us.

    Have a good week.

    August 13, 2014 at 4:02 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      She hasn’t been around foe a while but I know she usually tries to catch up when she gets the chance. I’m pretty sure she will love thet little fairy castle πŸ™‚ and those kittens too of course πŸ™‚ I’ve been thinkingof making a small gnome home though, I have the perfect spot for it but it will take lots of time and it would be a bit difficult too. Perhaps this autumn or next spring will be a good time to try to do it.

      If You don’t like venison You won’t like moose, it’s musch like it but much more πŸ™‚ and You are right, it is most likely shaved lamb that I should call it! It’s easy to fry fast and lamb is always tasy, especially if one does like >You describe.
      It’s the same thing here, Swedish lamb is almost impossible to find in the market. If It is to be found it’s so expensive that it isn’t worth it. So mostly it’s from New Zealand or Ireland here. Very odd!!

      It feels like autumn here right now, a bit chilly in the air and clouds travel fast over the sky. Rain comes and goes and we do need it so I won’t complain. I have however closed the windows during nights here, it’s just too cold and damp right now. But it is perfect weather while working πŸ™‚

      I thought it was only apropriate to end with Na-nu Na-nu when I heard what had happened. I know there are several new movies that’s just around the corner to be shown now. My favorite is Mrs. Doubtfire πŸ™‚ I never missed an episode of Mork and Mindy πŸ™‚ I can’t remember if anyone else in my family liked it though πŸ™‚ So I will miss him a lot on the big screen.

      Na-nu Na-nu.
      Christer.

      August 13, 2014 at 4:52 pm

  4. old and tired…I thought you were writing about me.
    lamb…my first thought is of little soft sheep babies….I can’t even think about that.
    and the loss of Robin Williams…makes me even sadder.

    August 17, 2014 at 2:14 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Could have been about me too I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      No problems for me, I never meet those lambs.

      Yes it was a sad day.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

