Sometime alike, sometimes very different.

A few last photos from last Sunday.

A few last photos from last Sunday.

If this had been spring I most likely would say that it’s so nice outdoors so I’ll have the kitchen door open all evening. Now I say it’s a bit chilly outdoors so I think I’ll close the door as soon as Sune and Nova comes in after playing in the garden. It feels a bit like autumn but I doubt that autumn has arrived already, it is a bit too early even for us here in the north. I will most likely say that after the first week in September when the first night frost have been here.

 

DSC_0170

DSC_0173

DSC_0174

 

DSC_0176

DSC_0181

 

All windows are now closed again and I have even turned on the radiator in the bathroom. I put on a fleece sweater as soon as I get up in the morning and am fast on getting that pot of hot tea ready as soon as I’m down in the kitchen. The nights aren’t any more chilly, it’s the days that are a bit colder instead. So I really don’t notice much change when we’re out walking before I get to work. Well the sun goes up much later so it is hard to get a sunrise photo now.

 

From now on it's a mix from this week.

From now on it’s a mix from this week.

DSC_0007

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

 

 

I could see thunder clouds when we were out walking and the few flies that still are around were insane and wouldn’t leave us alone for a second. But the clouds flew away so I guess it will stay calm for the rest of the evening. They say we might get it tomorrow though. The one that lives will see as we say over here.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

I came to think of words that can be the same (with perhaps a bit different spelling) or very different when it comers to English and swedish. Come for instance is kom in Swedish. High is hΓΆg, cocoa is cacao, coffee is kaffe, school is skola and beaver is bΓ€ver. Rather like wouldn’t You say. I had lots of fun thinking about to translate some words precisely as we say them to English and had rather fun for a while. You all know about troll spindle being dragonfly, Butterfly is called FjΓ€ril in Swedish and if I would make it a ( two) word(s) in English it could be butte il (I’ve checked, there are words like that in English πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ).

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0022

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

 

The auto correct is screaming here at the moment πŸ™‚ So I thought I would write a few words and let You guess what I mean πŸ™‚ A buttock and east butter goose, a raw animal, a clean, a road clean and a very easy one a wine vine.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

 

Prunus tomentosa, Nanking cherry.

Prunus tomentosa, Nanking cherry.

DSC_0021

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Christer,
    Our mornings have been a bit chilly and the nights are down to the low 60’s. This is not the usual summer weather. I made a comment in my blog today that it felt like fall, but it is too early.

    Your flowers still say summer to me as do those wretched flies. They are like one of the plagues of Egypt.

    I love the wine vine-so descriptive!

    Stay warm and have a great evening!

    August 14, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes it does feel like autumn now, I guess we will get warmer weather again but the feeling has arrived.

      Yes those flies are like one of the plagues of Egypt πŸ™‚ Noty many around now though but they sure was annoying!

      We call grapes wine grapes so we all knbow what one can make of them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 14, 2014 at 6:29 pm

  2. Wendy from NY

    I love the cooler weather, just wish the winter didn’t have to follow it. =(

    Speaking of Swedish, I had a dog a distant Swedish relative helped me name, Elska. She also gave me commands in Swedish, so I could talk to him without other people knowing what I was saying. Funny, I hadn’t thought of that dog in a long time. It was an Irish Setter/Black Labrador mix, all black, long-haired, would have fit right in with your dogs! LOL! Only thing was, it was a male dog and I was told Elska was feminine. He didn’t care! Just as long as no one called him late for dinner!

    The white tubular nicotiana, you plant that every year? It is annual here, not hardy. I have one very similar I grew this year. Love the dahlias, very showy!

    August 14, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      I think one can say that Elska is a feminine way of saying Γ„lska which means love. A great name that would fit any dog πŸ™‚ It’s fun but I’ve only had one dog that wasn’t black πŸ™‚ every time a new dog is planned I’ve always said, this time I won’t have a black dog but they always are when I bring them home πŸ™‚

      I think that the nicotiana actually is a short lived perennial, I had one growing by the entrance door to my garden center/ nursery and it always came back every year. It was much warmer by the entrance, here in my garden it freeze to death every year though. I’ll have one in my cool cellar this winter and see if it survives and comnes back again. It’s the only nicotiana that likes to live in the shade.

      Yes dahlias are showy and I bought a poackage that was supposed to be mixed in colors. They all turned oiut more or less the same πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 14, 2014 at 6:49 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! so you finally have a break from the heat. we are cooler right now and i sure am going to hate it when it gets hot again. my gardens know that summer is almost over. things are winding down. we saw the first leaves changing on our trip yesterday. i can’t wait. joyce

    August 14, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes, no heat wave any longer and it feels rather nice right now but I do hope autumn stays away for some time more.

      We had some trees that changed colors during my vacation but that was just because they most likely were dying from draught. Everything else is still just as green as before. I won’t mind autumn arriving but not for a few more weeks.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 2:17 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Wine Vine I got. The rest went right over my head. πŸ™‚

    I love the photo of the tree roots on edge of the pond. The reflections of the roots make a lovely pattern.

    It’s in the mid 70’s here today but there’s a strong breeze. It feels much cooler especially inside the house where there is no sun to warm things. I will have to make sure the furnace is shut off tonight. It’s going to be cold enough that it might kick on. Not a good idea when all the windows are open. Heating the outdoors, as my mother would say.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 14, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I thought that if anyone would get any more word it would be You πŸ™‚
      I do like that photo too and was thinking of putting it in my NG album.

      I think it’s just above the temperature when my radiators would start but I only have the one in the bathroom going yet. I do need a warm bathroom in the morning πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 2:20 pm

  5. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Christer –
    Hard to believe that it is already the end of another week. Lately, I feel like Friday arrives every other day. That would be great if I was working like you, but a bit scary to see time fly by so quickly without realizing it when one is retired like myself. I am so ready for Fall to get here. I had to go into the city for an appt. yesterday and I was thrilled to see that the leavesof a few maple trees actually had started to turn orange & red, so little signs of Summer’s end are appearing. I won’t get too excited though because we still have another month of hot weather ahead. Around mid-September we usually get what we call Indian Summer which is the best weather of the year. The days are sunny, the air is crisp & nights are almost cold. If we are lucky that wonderful weather will last until the end of Oct. and sometimes it can even hangs on through Thanksgiving at the end of Nov.. Then the Winter rains & darkness arrive & stay until next June.

    You had a great variety of photos today. I esp. loved the sunflower & reflection of the roots & reeds in the water. The sunflower is amazing with the bold color popping against that blackish background. I love sunflowers. Probably because they make me think of Autumn. I always buy a couple of large bouquets to display on my dining room table. I wasn’t able to decorate much this year, but I do have my large sea shell collection in all different sized glass apothecary jars along with my large collection of blue & white china. Next week I think I will put those away & start decorating for Fall. I like to use lots of natural items, so the glass jars will be filled with acorns, pheasant feathers, dried colored corn & pine cones.

    Last night I made a very simple & delicious meal. The I feasted on 3 ears of our sweet local corn on the cob. and ate that for dinner. Not a very balanced meal, but it was so tasty I wish I had bought more corn so I could have the same exact thing tonight. Of course it was nice & sweet by itself, but butter, salt & pepper made a good thing even better. I wanted to tell you that I read an article about something you can do to save your tomatoes if they aren’t going to ripen outdoors. Apparently, if you pull the whole plant up by the roots before the temps. dip below 60 degrees, you can hang them inside near a window and they will continue to ripen on the vine. It said that once tomatoes are in colder air they never develop any flavor. It didn’t say you needed to put the roots in any soil once the plant was indoors, but you probably know about this already. Of course, you can always make lots of green fried tomatoes with some of them:)

    Have a great weekend!

    August 15, 2014 at 1:49 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      Yes time just flies and it is great while working but not while vacation πŸ™‚ I can wait a few more weeks for autumn to arrive, no change in leaf colors yet unless one counts those trees that died because of the draught. They turned red in the middle of summer. A beautiful way to go πŸ™‚

      It is something special with sunflowers, they grow here and there because of birds spreading the seeds we give them during winter. I have several in my garden this year πŸ™‚
      I’m not much of a decorater unless it’s Christmas and I sort got tired of flowers indoors after I had the garden center :-)I rarely have any potted plants either normally, this year I will have though and I’ll most likely forget to water them during winter like I always do πŸ™‚

      I saw the first fresh corn in the grocery store today, didn’t buy any this time but I’ll do it next week. Corn for humans aren’t grown here because of our short summers, they never ripe properly. But I’ve heard they have new varieties that might do so perhaps corn will be a big thing here too?

      Yes, hanging toamto plants up side down is a great way to get ripe tomatoes. Unfortunately those plants tend to smell a lot as soon as one happens to touch them and they do take a lot of space. Luckily for me my tomatos now are changing colors towards yellowish πŸ™‚ and fried green tomatoes are never wrong πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 2:34 pm

  6. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Christer, we have had a bit cooler temps here too, but local weather forecasters caution that it is short term as hot weather will be back next week, thia means we will be doing our yard work this weekend. Even though you dont have as many sunrise photos now, I like the sunset views.

    August 15, 2014 at 11:21 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We won’t get it that hot again, we’re too close to autumn now but we will get it a bit warmer after the cold fronts have passed. I heard it snowed way up north now, still a long time till that happens here though πŸ™‚

      Unfortunately the sunset always goes on behind thew forest here so I rarely see it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 2:36 pm

  7. Whoa! those cats are beautiful!
    Love the flowers photos.
    yeah, isn’t it funny how the same temperature makes us fell hot and cold depending on the time of year?!
    too funny.

    August 17, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      They are! and they are also very laid back and cool πŸ™‚

      It is πŸ™‚ If it had been this warm (as it is today wich is rather cold) during Christmas I would have said it was summer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Leave a Reply

