So no one of You dared to guess :-)

ย It seems to be a mushroom year now.

It seems to be a mushroom year now.

I think we had thunder just a few minutes ago, hard to say really because it sounded like a car with a trailer passing by but the sound came from the wrong direction, not the road but the fields on the other side of my cottage. The rain comes and goes all the time, no big amounts but enough to make one want to stay indoors, even the dogs rather stay inside and sleep instead.

 

Lots of Finger mushrooms in the forest now.

Lots of Finger mushrooms in the forest now.

DSC_0004

I always hope that I will see an animal walking by when I look down this old road, I rarely do. Once I saw a tiny stoat in the snow though.

I always hope that I will see an animal walking by when I look down this old road, I rarely do. Once I saw a tiny stoat in the snow though.

 

More and more birds are flying south now, I hear the cranes and the geese early in the morning when they fly away from here and no small birds are singing any longer. The katydids still sit in the trees playing their songs in the afternoons and evenings. It is still summer though and some birds are feeding their third bunch of young ones now. My tomatoes are slowly changing color now ๐Ÿ™‚ Some are sort of green-yellowish now ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Here are the plants I brought home from the plant swapping day. Chleone obliqua.

Here are the plants I brought home from the plant swapping day. Chleone obliqua.

Aster divaricatus, Wood aster (same name in Swedish). This one is something I've been looking after for a long time.

Aster divaricatus, Wood aster (same name in Swedish). This one is something I’ve been looking after for a long time.

Astilbe chinensis var. pumila. This one is very low. I also got the big one with me home. I've become more and more fon of astilbe.

Astilbe chinensis var. pumila. This one is very low. I also got the big one with me home. I’ve become more and more fon of astilbe.

 

So no one of You dared to guess what those words in Swedish-Englishish meant ๐Ÿ™‚ Well the wine vine was easy ( and the grapes themselves are called wine grapes) but the clean is very tricky ๐Ÿ™‚ Clean and reindeer has the same word in Swedish so I meant a reindeer. The raw animal, that one is a tricky one ๐Ÿ™‚ Raw means just the same in swedish and animal is the same too but combined they get a totally different meaning, so a raw animal is a rรฅdjur which is the same as roe deer ๐Ÿ™‚ A road clean is no animal, in Swedish it’s vรคgren which is the same as roadside.ย 

 

Here we have an unknown clematis seedling, self sown this year. A Ruta graveloens (I think, I forgot to check the name tag :-) ) and a variegated Siberian Dogwood. All plants for the garden that I brought home are very hardy so very little risk of loosing any of them during our winter.

Here we have an unknown clematis seedling, self sown this year. A Ruta graveloens (I think, I forgot to check the name tag ๐Ÿ™‚ ) and a variegated Siberian Dogwood. All plants for the garden that I brought home are very hardy so very little risk of loosing any of them during our winter.

This is a pelargonium (English speaking people usually calls them geraniums though). This one has a strong scent if one touches the leafs but it's really nice if one just brush them while passing by.

This is a pelargonium (English speaking people usually calls them geraniums though). This one has a strong scent if one touches the leafs but it’s really nice if one just brush them while passing by.

This one is new to me, Plectrantus amboinicus. It can be used when cooking, especially to fish they say. It's sort of oreganolike in the smell but with perhaps a touch of lemon in the smell.

This one is new to me, Plectrantus amboinicus. It can be used when cooking, especially to fish they say. It’s sort of oreganolike in the smell but with perhaps a touch of lemon in the smell.

 

The really tough one was the buttock and east butter goose ๐Ÿ™‚ I often write about my butter geese here and what kind of onlays I have on them ๐Ÿ™‚ So lets start with the buttock, that’s actually ham ๐Ÿ™‚ sort of fits don’t You think ๐Ÿ™‚ East means the same thing here and is usually spelled with our letter รถ so in Swedish east is รถst BUT east can also be spelled ost. We usually use the word ost when we talk about from what direction the wind blows for instance. I’m not sure why we still use ost as a direction though, it might be something they used to use in the navy. Ost however is also the same thing as cheese ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

 

Then we come to the butter goose. We say smรถrgรฅs when we are talking about sandwiches and one part of the name is smรถr which is butter and the other part, gรฅs, is goose ๐Ÿ™‚ So what I wrote meant a ham and cheese sandwich ๐Ÿ™‚ Nopw You say, what’s onlays then? You say cold cuts or sandwich spreads, we say pรฅlรคgg wich when dividing it in to two words in on and lay, onlay ๐Ÿ™‚ Soo easy ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and some vanilla flavored quark.

 

Can You see! Sort of greenish-yellowish now :-)

Can You see! Sort of greenish-yellowish now ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    your tomatoes are ripening! all of the words are very interesting. we have jedost here. is that the correct spelling? i think it is meant to be grated. i don’t think i have ever tried it. you should show a photo of your pumpkins. i would love to see them. are they the edible type or are you going to carve them?

    August 15, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wonder if You mean getost, which is goat cheese. The only jedost I found on the net was something polish and I think that it actually meant goat cheese ๐Ÿ™‚ I do like goat cheese, in all the ways they make it ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s a Norwegian one that is a bit strong and has a rather dull brown color but I can have that too ๐Ÿ™‚

      Haven’t I shown my pumpkins? I thought I had. Of course I’ll take photos! It’s an edible variety but it can of course be carved as well. I doubt these will be big enough though, both days and nights are chilly now so they don’t grow as fast any longer. So I guess I’ll eat them fairly young and buy some to carv instead ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 4:01 pm

  2. Wendy from NY

    I think you have totally lost it! You are just making all that up, right? And you’re going to top it all off with a vanilla QUARK??? Seriously? LOL!

    That plectranthus just doesn’t look like an edible plant. Have you ever seen the succulent commonly called Mother of Millions that grows baby plants down the edges of the leaves? Your plant looks like one of those. Sounds like it smells good though. That geranium is sold here as a mosquito repellant. You should smush some of it on you when you go out for a walk and see if it keeps flies off! I have some of that Chelone, pink turtlehead. The wood aster is so delicate looking, simply beautiful.

    So many green tomatoes, so little time! My big fruited tomatoes are just starting to turn, I’m sure they will all come in a once. My yellow cherry tomatoes and the grape tomatoes are threatening to bury me, but, alas, the plants have the blight and will not be long for this world. Feast or famine, the story of gardening!

    I hope you enjoyed your quark!

    August 15, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    • Hi Wendy!
      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ No, that’s all true and vanilla quark is delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ a perfect snack between meals or the last for the day.

      I agree, it doesn’t look edible at all, especially with that color. It’s actually more yellow than the photo shows and a bit hairy too ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve had Mother of Millions and I wonder if they might be related.

      This geranium is a close relative to the mosquito repellant one. I don’t like to strong scents so I prefer to just touch it lightly when I pass. Too much and it smells like cat pee ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’ve never seen this high chleone before. I’ve had it in my garden and those I had didn’t even get half as high as this one. It might have to do with a better climate where this one used to grow.

      It might be just enough time for these tomatoes to go red enough to eat, perhaps ๐Ÿ™‚ Everything is unusually late due to all the cold nights we had in June, almost frost every night. So nothing realkly started to grow until the heat wave in July.

      I did enjoy my quark ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 6:57 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Nope. I got wine vine and ham and smรถrgรฅs. I thought about buffets because a smorgasbord here is a buffet full of many different foods most of which are not sandwiches. Couldn’t get beyond that though. Butter goose and the rest eluded me completely.
    Onlays is an excellent word for stuff that goes on top of a sandwich. I may steal it. I can’t wait to tell someone I’m having buttock butter goose smรถrgรฅs with pickle and mustard onlays.

    I have some Spanish/English ones. Chismoso in Spanish is gossip but my Spanish friends say it also means brat or trouble maker. To my English-speaking ear it sounds a bit like Cheese Mouse which is how I remember it. The Spanish word for wristwatch is reloj. I think of Rolex. In a mixed Spanish/English group someone asked me the time and I said “No se, no tengo Rolex.” One Spanish speaker got it.

    Everyone is complaining about how many green tomatoes they have. Here they will have enough time to ripen. But the raccoons will probably get them just at that point and everyone will then be complaining that didn’t get any tomatoes this year. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It started out sunny and cool here today but now it is cloudy and getting cooler. I have cat-sitting duty this weekend. My brother and sister-in-law are going away and their usual cat sitters are not available. My compensation will be sushi at our favorite sushi bar. I can handle this. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    August 15, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Just remember that butter goose and smรถrgรฅs is the same. So by saying butter goose smรถrgรฅs/ sandwich is like cake on cake (swedish expression) ๐Ÿ™‚ I must admit that I think onlay is a rather perfect word ๐Ÿ™‚

      Chismoso sounds like the Swedish word schism which means conflict, not too far from the spanish meaning of chismoso.
      ๐Ÿ™‚ I wonder what they were thinking when You said You couldn’t tell the time because You didn’t have a very! expensive wrist watch ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ We call wristwatches bracelet watches.

      I’m just glad I have tomatoes ๐Ÿ™‚ I didn’t think I would get any at all and I can always fry them if they don’t turn red ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t have to worry about raccoons though, not yet anyway. They have spotted more of trhem further south so there’s a risk we soon have them everywhere.

      I watched my neighbors cats a few weeks ago and I got a nice linen towel (in Swedish, hand cloth) with magpies woven as motifs, a bag of tea and a tea mug. Not bad since I said I didn’t want anything. I wasn’t going anywhere so it wasn’t any burdon.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 15, 2014 at 7:08 pm

      • Caryn

        They were thinking I didn’t know the word rolaj. Only Jose Louie got the bilingual pun because he was the sort of person who would know what a Rolex was. ๐Ÿ™‚
        I can’t have a buttock butter goose smรถrgรฅs? Darn. Waitโ€ฆI could if I had a club sandwich which is made with 3 pieces of bread and onlays in between. That’s sort of a sandwich on a sandwich.

        August 15, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      • It still sounds like cake on a cake ๐Ÿ™‚ A double butter goose perhaps?

        August 16, 2014 at 3:10 am

  4. I get a headache trying to figure out this language stuff! Ha!
    I’m still confused.

    August 17, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      It was soo easy ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

