Could have felt like summer.

DSC_0011

 

This could have been a really nice day if the sun could show itself a bit more. As soon as the sunbeams finds a way through the clouds it feels like summer still is around. It feels like a slightly chilly autumn morning when they don’t. No sounds can be heard, not even any cows can be heard so we could be totally alone in the world right now without knowing it. It was very different early this morning though.

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

 

Thousands of cranes could be heard out on the bog and by the little lake out there and in between geese did what they could to be heard too. I’m pretty use I could have seen plenty of them if I had worn my rubber boots, it is very wet in the grass now and I didn’t want to get wet feet so we never walked out far enough to see any. If my memory serves me right I think my rubber boots are leaking so my feet would most likely be wet anyway 🙂 Besides, the fog laid thick out there so I would most likely just have seen shadows of the cranes which most likely would have given me great photos 🙂

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

I was a bit surprised by seeing another human being out walking on the fields this morning, I’m normally alone any time of the day but never see anyone early in the morning. I was even more surprised to see another one out walking. It was my neighbor and he told me that the hunting season for Roe deer bucks started today. I do hope that one-eyed Rune will make it this season too, I would miss him if he didn’t turn up this winter. 

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

DSC_0036

 

I had hoped I would be able to mow the lawn today, the grass is getting a bit too long but it never dries up. We’ve had rain the entire week and we’ll get more today. It would just be a mess in the lawn mower if I tried to do anything now and when (if )it it does dry up it’ll take forever to mow just because it will be so long. By the way, do You know that one of the best ways to grow vegetables (or anything really) in pots is to grow it in pure sand and every time one mows the lawn place a 10cm (4 inches) thick layer of grass over the sand? The grass will not only keep the water from evaporate from the pot, it will also fertilize the plants every time one water it.

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

 

It’s time to enjoy this last sunshine before the rain starts, the clouds are thick and dark grey by the horizon now. I think it will be perfect to take a nap when the raining starts. Perhaps I should make a pot of tea too and enjoy a cup on the kitchen stairs while I can.

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0062

 

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

 

Have a great day!

 

My biggest and only untouched pumpkin. It grew fast to this size and then the cooler weather came.

My biggest and only untouched pumpkin. It grew fast to this size and then the cooler weather came.

The others look like this and I think it's birds a bird destroying them.

The others look like this and I think it’s birds a bird destroying them.

6 responses

  1. jaz

    hmmmm….your pumpkin is yellow and not orange? too bad something is eating the others. the squirrels eat mine each year. i was just thinking the other day that next year i need to mix more sand in with my dirt in my raised beds. it is nice and cool here this morning, 47 degrees. but it all ends today and the heat returns.

    August 16, 2014 at 10:16 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’m no pumpkin expert but I guess it will turn towards orange closer to ripening 🙂 I have no idea really so I’m just guessing because it should be an orange one 🙂

      It’s always something isn’t it, You have squirrels and I the birds. Our squirrels are way to shy to even come close to my coittage.

      The ground around my cottage is more or less pure sand so I can use that if I like to, just heat it up first so I won’t get too much weeds growing in the pots. We had much the same temperature here but we’ll get more chilly weather this coming week. If only the clouds blow away we would still have rather nice summer temps.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 16, 2014 at 11:05 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Looks like bird pecks in your pumpkins. That’s how my tomatoes look sometimes. Other times they just disappear entirely.

    One of the dogs pooped under my dining room table early this morning and someone, possibly the same one, peed in the kitchen. Piki Dog, I think, although both of them were awake at 5AM when the deeds were done. 🙂 I stepped barefooted into the pee. At least it wasn’t the other.

    We were out early today. I’m cat-sitting as I already said. There are three cats. I have seen two. I have put down food for 3 but only 2 show up to eat. I hang around for awhile but the third does not appear so I put that food away or the big male will hog it. Shy cat has missed 2 meals so far. I expect she will miss the next 2 as well. They’re indoor cats so she’s around the house somewhere.

    I like the photo right after the orb web. Lovely shades of blue. Ground fog and sunlit clouds. Very beautiful.

    It’s cool here. The sun is warm but the house is almost cold. The lawn is mowed, the laundry is done, the dogs are fed and walked and have had a ride in the jeep and they are asleep now. Maybe I will join them.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 16, 2014 at 4:02 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      My guess is that it’s the Black bird or the Field fare, both love fruit and vegetables. The big one grows close to the kitchen entrance so I think they don’t dare fly to it.

      Not a nice way to start the day, one of my cats peed on Orvars favorite blanket, my guess is that it’s Bertil. His brother most likely used the litter box before he wanted to use it and god forbid that he would have to use it then 🙂

      My neighbors cats are outdoor cats and I met Sally every day but Salmiak only showed up once during two weeks. Sally is a big eater but I doubt that she would manage to eat that much so I guess he turned up after I had left.

      I really don’t have any favorite today, I found something I didn’t like in each and every photo I took this morning 🙂

      We had thunder close to here and heavy showers on and off all afternoon, now the sun shines again but the thunder cooled down too much. Still warm and nice in the cottage though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 16, 2014 at 5:20 pm

  3. anything will grow in sand? hmmm

    August 17, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Just cover it with cut grass so it doesn’t dry out.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

