Chilly and damp.

I only took a few photographs this morning but luckily I have plenty from earleier in the week.

I only took a few photographs this morning but luckily I have plenty from earleier in the week.

It’s a damp, cloudy, chilly and somewhat windy morning here in the village at the outskirts of the world. It’s actually nicer out there than it sounds like but I did wear a fleece sweater when we were out walking earlier. No sound could be heard and no hunters could be seen, even the cows, cranes and geese were quiet. I did see a car pass my cottage later on though so I know that I’m not the only human left in the world πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

Kirengeshoma palmata.

Kirengeshoma palmata.

 

It will rain big parts of the day so mostly I’ll just stay indoors reading a book or watching a dvd or two. I’ll do the laundry too and I have already ordered a time for the annual vehicle inspection, it doesn’t matter if I know there’s nothing wrong with my car, I know I still will be close to panic while they go through my car, I always am πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I guess it has to do with tha fact that without a car I might as well live on an island far out in the ocean without a boat because I wouldn’t be able to get to work from there either πŸ™‚

 

My Black Walnut grows really well.

My Black Walnut grows really well.

DSC_0010

I have two rose hips on my Rosa nitida.

I have two rose hips on my Rosa nitida.

 

We had thunder here yesterday, the kind that rumbles a few times and when You think that it’s over and is just about to go outside starts again and then goes on like that the entire day. Rather annoying in the long run because I was watching the athletics European Championship and had to pull out the cord every time there was a Swede competing πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0106

DSC_0107

DSC_0109

 

I won enough at the lottery this week to buy another ice cream πŸ™‚ This time however I think I’ll buy a normal one and not a soft ice cream, it was just too tricky to drive, shift gears and have a soft ice cream in my hand at the same time :-)It melts way too fast and if leaned a bit too much it will slide of the cone and in to the lap as soon as one makes a turn πŸ™‚ By the way, do You know that one of the inventors of soft ice cream was the former British Prime minister Margaret Thatcher)? I can’t even pretend I liked her but she did what she wanted to and at least she did do one good thing in her life, the soft ic cream πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0105

DSC_0111

DSC_0112

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and after that I guess it’s best to do that laundry.

 

Life is good, I am cool.

Life is good, I am cool.

My god what was that?

My god what was that?

s  said, life is good and I am cool.

As said, life is good and I am cool.

 

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. Wendy from NY

    Oh too funny! LOVE your doggie captions! Perfect! Gorgeous shot of that horse, I’m going to save it to look at again. I hope you get that laundry done! LOL!

    August 17, 2014 at 7:28 am

    • Hi Wendy!

      I was lucky with those photos, it happened during a few seconds πŸ™‚

      The laundry is done and I have a bread going on now πŸ™‚

      Have a greatd ay!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 10:08 am

  2. jaz

    margaret thatcher invented soft ice cream? that’s a new one for me! we are back to being hot. it was almost 70 degrees when teddy and i went out at 5:00 am. i am hoping this is our indian summer! i hope your car inspection goes smoothly. hardly anyone drives sticks here anymore. my camaro is a stick and so i am the only one that can drive it. well, my husband can if i don’t mind my clutch burning out!!!

    August 17, 2014 at 9:55 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I was so surprised when I learned that πŸ™‚ She was in a group of chemist that tried to make ice cream softer. They tried all kinds of chemicals until they realised that all one had to do was to get as much air in to the ice cream batter as possible and then it stayed soft as long as it was in the freezer πŸ™‚

      It will be rather chilly here for the entire next week, around 61-63F as warmest. I’m not sure we’ll reach even that today πŸ™‚

      We usually get a week of warm weather when Britt has her names day here and that’s around October 7. I do hope we’ll get some warm weather back before autumn starts for real.
      The car inspection isn’t until September 30th, so I still feel calm πŸ™‚

      Almost everyone drives with a stick here but clutches do burn out every now and again anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 10:14 am

  3. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Driving while eating any type of ice cream doesn’t seem like a good idea, Christer, because it’s like holding a cell phone in one hand which is what so many people continue to do. I always want to take a photo but fear an accident could happen because the cell phone user might freak out.
    I enjoyed the rainy day photos even at the expense of you getting wet…thanks. My car inspection is also due in Sept so we can worry together that they will passπŸ˜‰

    August 17, 2014 at 10:55 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It’s only the first two to three hundred yards that are tricky to drive and eat ice cream at the same time, after that I have long straight roads for several miles and very little traffic when I drive home after working and grocery shopping. I would never do it in a big city though. So much more to think about when trying to take a photo though, so I never do that unless I can stop while doing it.

      Yes, we’ll worry together πŸ™‚ Still lots of time for anything to break down in our cars πŸ™‚

      Havce a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 11:30 am

  4. love the dog photos with the captions!
    you make me wonder what it’s like to live somewhere where it’s possible to think the world has ended.
    people walk by my house non-stop and there’s always a car coming.

    August 17, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      It is very calm πŸ™‚ Cars drive by here too, the forest owners come here sometimes and I have two neighbors living furter down on the road too but that’s it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 17, 2014 at 2:25 pm

  5. such great photos, the dogs have such personality, the horse is a beauty, I can just see you shifting with a ice cream cone melting down your arm lol!!

    August 17, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    • Hi LKaurie!

      They sure dio πŸ™‚

      It wasn’t far away πŸ™‚ But I managed to keep it in the cone all the time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 18, 2014 at 4:50 pm

  6. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I am the Queen of eating ice cream while driving a standard shift vehicle on a winding road. My favorite ice cream place is at the end of several long and winding roads. I have a lot of practice. πŸ™‚

    The black walnut appears to be doing very well. Will this be it’s first winter out or was it out last winter? I forget.

    The dog captions are so cool. It’s fun when one can capture a sequence that works out like that.

    Today was cool and mostly cloudy. I was up at 5:30AM. Walked the dogs, fed the dogs, loaded the dogs into the jeep, drove two towns over and fed the cats. I hung around there for an hour in case the invisible cat showed up. She didn’t. There’s no bad smell in there so she’s probably not dead. The litterbox looked as though 3 cats had used it in the last 24 hours. πŸ™‚
    After that I took the dogs to the lake where they ran around like mad things because they were p’d off at being in the jeep for so long. We met some other little dogs and they played and fought for awhile. I didn’t take many photos because the dogs were crazy.
    When we got home hours later, I watched 3 out of the next 4 lectures in my online course. They are so boring. I skipped the last lecture, took the quiz and got an 80%. But I might listen to the last lecture because I’m curious about the answer to the question that I got wrong. I have defeated myself, I guess. πŸ™‚
    Then we all had a nap. I feel like I have slept the entire day away but it was only a couple of hours. Ah, well. It was a lovely day to nap. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the evening.

    August 17, 2014 at 8:32 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      A ready made from the freezer in the store is no problems but I have to admit that a cone with soft ice cream was a bit tricky πŸ™‚

      It will be the second winter outdoors for my walnut, so if it will be cold I hope for enough with snow so it’s protected by it.

      It happens so rarely but when it does it’s usually Hector in those photos πŸ™‚

      Dogs are soo god att being p’d off πŸ™‚ They can use that for hours πŸ™‚ But I guess Yours forgot about it as soon as they met those other dogs πŸ™‚

      At least You did get interested in that last lecture πŸ™‚ Too bad it’s so boring, wasn’t it an interesting subject otherwise, I think I thought so when You told me about it.

      I wish I could have taken a nap today πŸ™‚ But it’s so hard to get back to work again if I nap during lunch break πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 18, 2014 at 4:56 pm

      • Caryn

        I’m afraid that I have only completed one of the four lectures I signed up to audit. The astrophysics one was way beyond my math skills. The astrobiology one was cool and the only one I finished so far. The Bible in history was not dull exactly but it required considerable outside reading of things that cost money. I’m not looking for a degree. I’m just trying to keep my brain functioning. This one is A Brief History of Humankind. Not a boring subject and the instructor has some very interesting and controversial points to make. His lecture style is not very engaging. I will persevere.

        August 18, 2014 at 8:06 pm

      • A bad teacher can destroy any interesting subject I’m afraid but they all sounded rather interesting. I wouldn’t want to buy extra stuff either!
        Christer.

        August 19, 2014 at 5:08 pm

  7. Christer,
    My father would tell you that soft ice cream is really ice milk. It comes in a powder and mixed with milk then put into a machine to freeze. He worked for an ice cream company and was indignant if we called it ice cream. He’d correct us all the time.

    We hd rain on and on all afternoon. The rain came down really hard then the sun would come out. I’d open the windows again and then the rain would start and I’d shut the windows. The sun would reappear and the windows were opened yet again. I met my friend for dinner and on the way it poured, really poured. I had left my windows opened.

    The evening is getting cooler which will be good for sleeping.

    Gracie spends a lot of time in the yard at night. She sits and checks out the yard. Every now and then she comes in to make sure I’m still here then she goes out again. She is enjoying the cool nights.

    I hope your car passes with flying colors!

    August 18, 2014 at 1:19 am

    • Hi Kat! (not Caryn as I wrote at first!)

      We don’t call it ice cream in Swedish, we say glass and I have no idea where that word comes from, none of the other nordic countries use that word. Now days I don’t think it’s a poweder any more, it’s a liquid and I think they mix it in water. I remember it as a bit thicker when I was young than it is today.

      It rained hard at work today but my neighbor said we only had one heavy shower here in teh village, the sun even shone when I returned home even if it just was for a few minutes.

      Sune and Orvar likes to go outside at night, the two others like to stay indoors sleeping πŸ™‚

      I hope so too but I doubt it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 18, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      • Actually that was me rather than Caryn, I guess I labeled my name wrong!

        Kat

        August 18, 2014 at 5:45 pm

      • Sorry! My fault! I did know it was You I answered to but for some reason I wrote Caryn πŸ™‚

        I’ll change it directly!

        Sorry about that!
        Christer.

        August 18, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Leave a Reply

