It’s just a way too slow and painful way to die.

We had sun for about half an hour when I came home.

We had sun for about half an hour when I came home.

It’s amazing how much rain that can fall during a day, it has been pouring down since late last night. It came down so hard that it woke me up in the middle of the night. As soon as I understood what it was I heard I fell asleep instantly again. Falling rain is one of my favorite sounds to fall asleep to. It didn’t stop raining until I came home after work, I read in the news that lots of places have been flooded so the first thing I did when I came home was to check my cellar. Thankfully it was as dry as it always is.

 

This was over my cottage when we came home from our walk.

This was over my cottage when we came home from our walk.

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

 

I found rather many mushrooms on our walk yesterday (and there were even more today, even on the places I already had picked them at). No I don’t pick mushrooms that I’m not certain they are edible (it’s just a way too slow and painful way to die if eating a toxic one) and I think I know more poisonous mushrooms that edible to be honest πŸ™‚ The ones I picked yesterday was boletus mushrooms. We have no poisonous ones in this part of the country, we have two kinds and they are so rare that they only grow in two places. We do however have two that taste so bad that they destroy any kind of food they might be cooked together with. Thankfully I know both of them but even I can make a mistake if being tired and some dinners have been totally destroyed πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0016

Butter boletus.

Butter boletus.

This one is called Corpse mushroom ( Phallus impudicus) here in Sweden. Not because it looks like a body part from a man :-) but because of the smell. It smells of rotten flesh and it's plentyfull here.

This one is called Corpse mushroom ( Phallus impudicus) here in Sweden. Not because it looks like a body part from a man πŸ™‚ but because of the smell. It smells of rotten flesh and it’s plentiful here.

 

The ones I picked yesterday is called (directly from Swedish, I don’t know their English names) Butter boletus and Sand boletus. The butter boletus is always rather slimy on the top so it takes quite some time to remove that from the hat and it sticks to everything πŸ™‚ I cleaned up the mushrooms on a newspaper and had to toss it all away when I had finished πŸ™‚ After that I placed a big lump of butter in a hot frying pan and poured in the mushrooms. Mushrooms contain a lot of water and that needs top be boiled away and when that’s done one can either stop and be happy with that or continue to fry them so they get a nice surface which I usually do. I’ll put most of it in the freezer so I can have it in my dinners next week, which will be reindeer shavings.

 

DSC_0012

Finger mushroom.

Finger mushroom.

I really don't like when two mushrooms look very much alike. This one can be a rather nice mushroom to mix with others but it can also be very poisonous, I never pick it :-)

I really don’t like when two mushrooms look very much alike. This one can be a rather nice mushroom to mix with others but it can also be very poisonous, I never pick it πŸ™‚

 

They say we’ll have warmer weather and sunshine again next week and I won’t complain if that’s true. It’s so chilly and damp now that I actually am thinking of turning on the radiators. I guess the chimney is so damp that it might be best to try and start a fire in the stove on a weekend, it tends to look as it is burning in my cottage every time I start that first fire after summer πŸ™‚ My fire alarm starts shouting and I must always shout to my neighbor that he don’t need to call the fire brigade πŸ™‚ After that my home smells like a forest fire for a week or two πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0015

We watched each other for quite some time, then she got bored and continued to eat instead.

We watched each other for quite some time, then she got bored and continued to eat instead.

The pumpkin growing in that big wooden box.

The pumpkin growing in that big wooden box.

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. It’s so dark outside already, even if the sun won’t go down for an hour or so, that I need to have the lights on to be able to see anything.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

This one is edible but one can have or lose it, doesn't taste much.

This one is edible but one can have or lose it, doesn’t taste much.

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. so many mushrooms! The ones called Finger mushrooms are quite a brilliant color, I know of family here that all became ill after choosing the wrong mushroom, its good to know your prey before hunting lol, they chose unwisely!!!

    August 19, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Those finger mushrooms shines like the sun even in a dark forest and is one of my favorites when it comes to colors and shape.

      Some mushrooms are very tricky, You can eat them for decades and suddenly Your kidneys just fails and dies. So I never pick any that I’m not sure of!
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 19, 2014 at 7:07 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I wouldn’t even attempt to eat andy mushroom growing around here. I have no idea if I’d live or die. There are people who know exactly what to forage in the woods, and I wish I were one of them. It would be fun to make dinner from everything I’d found (though I’d have to skip the squirrel course). We do have blueberries and beach plums which grow wield. People make beach plum jelly but you have to know where to find them. No one will share their secret of where they are.

    Stay warm and have a great evening,
    Kat

    August 19, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I think I would manage to survive for quite some time if they for some reason couldn’t sell food in grocery stores any longer but I would avoid squirrel, badger and hedgehog πŸ™‚ Mushrooms however have very litrtle nutricial value to be honest but they taste rather nice πŸ™‚

      I’ve read about beach plums but they don’t seem to exist here, perhaps they aren’t hardy enough? It would be fun to see how they taste though. I just read that they are dying out because of too much use of the areas where they live.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 19, 2014 at 7:47 pm

  3. Robin Larkspur

    Greetings Christer! Found you!!! Ha! Thought you could hide from me!!! Glad to see you again. Did Joyce send you the pumpkins seeds of that pumpkin growing? I am finally back blogging for real this time. All is well with us. Hope all has been well with you and your sweet family. If there have been earth shaking events in the last 4 months, email me so I will know. Take care. I love your header by the way.

    August 19, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Nice to see You here again πŸ™‚

      No I bought those seeds, they do sell them but few grow them, it just takes too long for them to become big.

      We’re all fine here and nothing special has happened to be honest. As my new blog title says, life goes on πŸ™‚ I’m glad to read that You all are ok πŸ™‚

      Have a great day, I’ll pop over to Yiou tomorrow, it’s bedtime here now πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      August 19, 2014 at 7:50 pm

  4. jaz

    i wish i could mushroom hunt. i am too chicken to do it! it is so hot and humid here….and sunny! it’s awful! we have had such a mild summer and now this. plus i think it is going to last for weeks. i sure hope we don’t have a hot september. i bought the first local pears today. i could use cool damp weather!

    August 19, 2014 at 10:41 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s a good thing to be chicken if one doesn’t know for sure a mushroom is safe to eat. The best thing is to take a class in mushroom picking or go with people who knows what’s safe and what’s not.

      We have just ther opposite weather to You and we had the worst thunderstorm I can remember last nighht. It went on for hours and several towns and cities were totally flooded.

      I don’t think anyone grows pears here, they aren’t hardy enough, at least not the ones that are delicious πŸ™‚ Unfortunately we get our weather from You, otherwise I would send some to You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 20, 2014 at 4:55 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Those mushrooms look good enough to eat! πŸ™‚ I only buy the ones from the store that I know are safe or the ones in the can. Those I know are totally safe!! We had rain Sunday night complete with thunder and lightning and now we are dry and hot. Again. But they are calling for cooler temperatures starting Friday. I am looking forward to those days! I am almost done my holidays and it doesn’t really feel like I have had any. My son had to have an operation so we have been taking care of that while he heals, I think I may have to take a few more days here and there in order to balance myself out!! Have a good Wednesday!

    August 19, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They are so tasty πŸ™‚ I do like to buy fresh mushrooms from the store too, they taste a bit different than the ones we can find here.

      Last night we had the worst thunderstorm that I can remember! It went on for hours and we had flooding everywhere. Little creeks became huge rivers withing an hour πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I hope the operation went well! I always feel that I need a vacation after the vacation πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

