Well, that was a surprise.

DSC_0036

We had one of the worst thunderstorms that I can remember the night towards yesterday. It wasn’t the lightning that was worst, even though we had plenty of that too, it was the rain. But it was the rumble that woke us all up in the middle of the night and most of us couldn’t fall asleep again so we were all a bit tired at work yesterday and today too to be honest. I had two rather big trembling dogs that tried to hide behind me and two smaller that got a bit jealous when the big ones were allowed in the sofa (no dogs in my sofa normally) so they too wanted to stay there.

 

The sun started to shine for a short while after I had come home after work yesterday.

The sun started to shine for a short while after I had come home after work yesterday.

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

 

I can understand how Noa felt when the big flood started because it was something like that here too πŸ™‚ I’m surprised the little road outside my home still is there and in such good condition because it wasn’t a little road that night, it was a river πŸ™‚ I had big lakes in my garden and that’s unusual since there’s only sand beneath the grass. I went down twice in my cellar because I was sure the water would go down there but luckily it didn’t. I texted to work that I most likely would be late because there was no chance to get Orvar and Hector to the dog yard as long as the thunder continued and I wouldn’t even have tried since I know how afraid they are.Β 

 

This is not a puddle, the water flows from one side of the road to the ditch on the other side :-)

This is not a puddle, the water flows from one side of the road to the ditch on the other side πŸ™‚

He never misses a chance to take a bath. This is not a lake, it's the bog.

He never misses a chance to take a bath. This is not a lake, it’s the bog.

DSC_0014

 

The rain was still pouring down when I drove away to work and the wiper blades on my car worked on highest speed. I passed the river Lidan and it was no longer a calm sort of sleeping river, now it roared and for once it actually looked alive πŸ™‚ But that was nothing really. Before I enter the village where I work I must drive over a tiny creek, much the same size as the one I usually show photos of here. It had almost reached the bridge I drove on and that is around two meter (much the same in yards) higher than normal. This village is on a big area called the Vastgota plains and it is absolutely flat for miles and miles in all direction so if this little creek wood go any higher the entire village would be in trouble. It did get higher.

 

This is a glimpse of how it must have looked some centuries ago when this was a shallow lake.

This is a glimpse of how it must have looked some centuries ago when this was a shallow lake.

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

Almost the entire village was covered in up to half a meter (the same in yards) of water just after I had reached my work place. My work place however is slightly higher than that but even there water poured in since the drains outside started to spraying up water instead of swallowing it. A rather new hotel and restaurant with a bowling alley in the basement got flooded and they think it will take at least foutΒ΄r months until the bowling ally can open again. I have no idea how the grocery store managed through this but I guess they too got flooded.Β 

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0008

DSC_0017

 

The entire neighbor factory where I paint some times was covered in 30cm (12 inches of water and they had to send home most of their employees and they were closed today so they could clean up. Almost the only place that didn’t get flooded in that factory is my paintbox πŸ™‚ A few more drops and that too had been drowned πŸ™‚ Β So what happened here in the village at the outskirts of the world? Not much thankfully but the bog now looks a bit like the lake it once was and every single little ditch now are more filled than they ever have been before πŸ™‚ It rained quite a lot today as well but most of it fell over the bog and not here, lots in the village where I live though. Today they have even bigger problems further north, a semi big dam broke and the water filled a city close to it.

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. Tomorrow’s Friday and a short working day, couldn’t be much better πŸ™‚

 

Yestrday.

Yesterday.

Today after more rain.

Today after more rain.

DSC_0012

 

Have a great day!

 

Charlotte.

Charlotte.

12 responses

  1. jaz

    wow…that sure is a lot of rain. we got rain again here too but not that much. teddy is not afraid of storms. when they get really loud, she barks at them. teddy is fearless. a raccoon got in our yard last night and washed it’s paws in teddy’s water bowl and left muddy tracks all over the patio. i am going to have to keep an eye open for it. i sure don’t want teddy to run into it.

    August 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I’ve never seen so much rain πŸ™‚

      Orvar and Hector never used to be afraid but it is getting worse the older they get. Hector was so afraid that he drooled poor thing.

      I’ve read that raccoons can get truly nasty so I understand that You don’t want any close to Teddy. Even if she most likely would kill it even she would get badly injured. I hope You can scare it away before >Teddy see it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm

  2. Christer,
    The flooding is unbelievable and to think the whole village was a bit underwater. Do you know how many inches fell? We got 3 last week, and it was cause for some roads flooding, but the sandy soil did suck it up around houses and other buildings. I’m glad your pain box stayed dry.

    I’m so sorry Orvar and Hector are so afraid. I had one dog that was and nothing i did comforted her. Gracie sleeps through thunder, and I am grateful.

    Have a wonderful eveing!

    Kat

    August 21, 2014 at 5:44 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I was really surprised to see this πŸ™‚ At one time I thought the water might be too deep for my car when I drew through it πŸ™‚ My work friend drove through even deeper water, on the flat road and he got worried when his car started to sink πŸ™‚ The headlights actually got filled with water in his car πŸ™‚ I know that the worst places got 6 inches of rain so I guess it was something like that in this village too.

      They never were when they were young but now it get worse the older they get. Both their grandmother andmother were both blind and death at this age so they never noticed anything πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2014 at 5:59 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, that was quite the storm you had! We sometimes get storms like that here on the Canadian prairies, with flooding all over the place. It sure does make you wonder doesn’t it, how that much can fall from the sky? The poor ground where you are couldn’t keep up. Too bad your paintbox didn’t get flooded, then you could have spent the day at home! πŸ™‚ That would be fun. We are due for thunderstorms today, but so far nothing has happened and its is already past the noon hour. Oh well. They aren’t really good at predicting. I thought since today will be a rainy one I will bake. I am making blueberry sour cream muffins. The house smells good! Have a good Thursday evening!

    August 21, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      We rarely get that much rain at the same time and there was no chance for the ground to take it all. I’ve seen photos showing places that were even worse hit. Still, this is nothing compared to what happened in southern Europe where people drowned because of floodings.

      I was supposed to go to that paintbox tomorrow but the bosses in that factory thought it best to wait until next weeks since they still had it a bit chaotic there.

      There were no predictions for any thunder but lots of rain that night but nothing like this πŸ™‚

      I’ll bake bread this weekend, I feel I have just too little time after work but I do it when I really need to πŸ™‚ Those muffins do sound delicious πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  4. such beautiful photos, the water the green all so beautifully reflective, even the spider with those creepy crawly long legs is beautiful, thats a lot of rain!!!!

    August 21, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      These photos just don’t do the place justice, it’s so beautiful out there at the moment. I guess it will go back to normal already tomorrow night unless we don’t get more rain which they predict πŸ™‚

      Charlotte do look a bit creepy πŸ™‚ But she and all her sisters do their jobs well and take lots of flies πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2014 at 7:11 pm

  5. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Wow. That was some lot of rain. Figures that your work station was not flooded out. You could have had an early day.
    We had a few deluges like that earlier in the month but there was no flooding around my neighborhood. Probably my back swamp looked like your bog but there’s so much vegetation growing back there that nothing of the ground can be seen. I’d just sink up to my armpits all of a sudden. πŸ™‚

    Charlotte is a very delicate spider. She has a nice location there on the window pane. Bet she gets a lot of visitors to her parlor. πŸ™‚
    I learned something about spiders recently that I guess I always knew but didn’t really think about. All their legs grow out of their head section which is a bit weird to contemplate. πŸ™‚

    It’s a nice day here today. Mostly cloudy but with a good amount of sun. I’ll take it.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    August 21, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Unfortunatelky it was the paintbox in the neighbor factory and not at my ordinary work place, so for me things wouldn’t have been any different. I would just have kepton working at my usual place instead πŸ™‚

      It’s probably the same in the bog but Sune weighs too little to sink anywhere πŸ™‚

      Yes that Charlotte gets lots of visitors and she has been kind enough to take those few deer flies that came inside πŸ™‚ I didn’t know that tough, from the head part?! Yes that is weird πŸ™‚

      We might get nicer weather next week and I do hope so because it is a bit too chilly now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 21, 2014 at 7:40 pm

  6. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –

    I feel so sorry for the dogs, especially Ovar & poor Hector, being so afraid of the thunder & then having it do on for so long. I got a funny picture in my mind of you with all 4 dogs squeezing onto the sofa & all of them wrapping their paws around you for dear life as the thunder roars. Good thing the roads & bridges weren’t covered & glad you were not living where the damn broke. How scary that must have been for the people living in that town. What is it with these insane amounts of rain falling. Almost 14 inches in less than 24 hrs in places like NY and lots of other places. I was going to ask if you had been able to see the Northern Lights, but it sounds like all the clouds would make that impossible. All the photos show how all that rain made everything look refreshed & glistening after getting a good washing. I love how fresh the air smells after a good rain. Great photo of one of dogs (Hector?) shaking off the water after a dip in the bog.

    I thought of you last night when the local evening news had a story about a local dahlia grower holding their annual Dahlia Festival. This farm/nursery is the World’s largest producer of dahlias & draws thousands of photographers & dahlia lovers each year. They showed some of the hundreds of varieties and there were some (I think they are called dinner plate dahlias) that were the flower was at least 18 inches in diameter. It was amazing that the stem could even hold the weight of such a large flower. The grower was saying that the local sandy loam is perfect for growing dahlias. Your dahlias looked great, so I imagine your soil is pretty sandy or is it mixed with peat//mulch from the bogs? This whole area of the valley where I live in is home to garden nurseries of all kinds because the soil is a sandy loam whereas most soil in the southern valley is a hard compressed clay soil that has to be augmented with lots of mulch & garden soil or the roots cannot grow down into the soil. I have noticed over the years is that when I tried to grow dahlias in containers I could have problems with the roots rotting and then the unopened buds turn black with mildew. I think this happens because the potting soil can’t drain nearly as well as sandy soil does. I also wonder if potting soil may be too rich in some nutrients for what dahlias need. Do you augment your garden soil with any other mulch or soil? Do you use any fertilizer in your garden or plants?

    Well, here it is almost Friday again. The temps. here are finally out of the 90s and it actually got cold enough last night to have a blanket on & get a good nights sleep. Toby’s abcess on her chin was not getting better so she is on her 3rd round of antibiotics & steroids. I so hope that she starts to heal up & feel better. If it is not better in a week, the vet said that either she would have to have a biopsy requiring anesthesia that she is not likely to tolerate at her age. She also has developed a heart murmur. I would not put her through that because if she does have cancer & feels this badly, I would not treat it at her age & I would not want her to continue suffering. It is just painful knowing that the time to put her down could be here so soon. She does seem to be eating better & the large hole in her chin seems to have improved a bit, so I will just have to see what happens over the weekend. She is a tough cat & I won’t count her out just yet.

    Hope you have a good weekend & can catch-up on all that sleep the thunder caused you & the dogs.

    August 21, 2014 at 9:56 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      I do too and that’s why I wouldn’t go to work until it all was over. Thankfully I work in a work place where they understand these kind of problems. It must have looked fun πŸ™‚ and life got so much easier when we moved up to my big bed instead πŸ™‚

      All rain comes at once after the high pressure finally moved away, all low pressures went south as long as it stayed here. We did need the rain but perhaps not all at the same time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The climate change will give us more like this and even worse in the future, long periods of draught and then torrential down pours after that, much like the mosoon in the tropical countries.

      Yes Dahlias like the same soil as potatoes, sandy and with not too much nutricions in it, clay tend to make them rot if it rains a lot and sandy soil is what I have here. Those huga dahlias manage to stand upright as long as it doesn’t rain too hard, so if I had had them here they would lie down and rot right now πŸ™‚ I think the biggest of the ones I have is 5 inches wide and that’s rathert big to me πŸ™‚ No peat here though, it’s not that kind of bog but the opposite with lots of lime in it instead. They did try to get peat from the bog but they couldn’t find enough of it here.

      I let all green stay in the flower bed and never “clean” them upand that’s all my flower beds get. That makes the soil full of fibers and all the nutricion that once were in the plants goes back to the ground. I can sometimes rake leafs and place them in the flower beds too just as an extra treat πŸ™‚ I rarely fertilize but if I do I use the best and cheapest there is, we call it gold water and is one poart urine to nine parts of water. It doesn’t smell and can be given once a week without any problems. Sounds gross to many but it actually is the best there is.

      Poor Toby!I hope it will be enough with the antibiotics and steroids! But it is positive that she eats better so I’ll keep my fingers crossed and hold my thumbs for good luck! It is tough when ones old friends get sick.

      I do need that sleep now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 22, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Leave a Reply

