It feels like summer again, when the sun shines.

Foggy up on tne mountain, rainy down in the valley.

Foggy up on the mountain, rainy down in the valley.

It has been a rainy, damp, cloudy and chilly day until the sun suddenly shone through the clouds, then suddenly it became way to warm to wear that sweater I had when we were out walking πŸ™‚ It feels like I can turn off the radiators tonight, it was way to early anyway to be honest but I do hate to freeze when I get up early in the morning. This nice weather won’t last for long though, we shouldn’t have it now either according to all predictions I’ve seen πŸ™‚ More rain is on the way but it looks like we’ll get sun and slightly warmer weather from Wednesday and onwards.

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

 

The air was suddenly filled with butterflies and dragonflies when the sun showed itself and the few other flies that still are around stopped their insane interest in us as well but they have started that again and I could hear thunder from a far distance right now and the clouds are big, dark and threatening above the mountain. They don’t seem to go this way though and it’s always nice to see the lightning hit the mountain, I got a perfect view from my kitchen πŸ™‚

 

They grow barley in a field close to the creek, the farmers get paid to do so because this is what the cranes will get to eat next spring.

They grow barley in a field close to the creek, the farmers get paid to do so because this is what the cranes will get to eat next spring.

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

 

I should have brought a basket with me when we were out walking this afternoon, mushrooms are popping up everywhere now, we barely had any last summer and autumn and now when the rain came they were so ready to grow up. Do You know that mushrooms aren’t plants nor animals? Fascinating isn’t it?! and did You know that trees grow much better when interacting with funguses? In fact some can’t even live at all without the help og funguses. The trees even allows the funguses to get inside their cells without starting to fight them off. By allowing that they both gain on it, the funguses give the trees minerals and nutrients that live so deep in the ground that the trees can’t reach them and the funguses get other things in return, I think it was different carbohydrates that the funguses can’t produce themselves.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

But funguses are also the ones that finally ends the tree’s life, as soon as it gets very old and doesn’t have enough strength to fight other kinds of funguses attack and slowly break down the trees. By doing so they create homes for other animals and the nutrients that were locked in the tree returns to nature again. It’s all a circle but we humans tend to break that circle by consuming everything but give very little back to nature. Anyway, I picked almost 2 kg (around 4 pounds) of mushrooms and I’ve just fried them all. They do contain a lot of water sop I might have around half a kilo left (around a pound) but that’s not bad. I’ll freeze almost all of it so I can use it during late autumn and winter πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0001 - kopia

DSC_0003 - kopia

DSC_0007 - kopia

 

It’s time to make a pot of coffee, I’ve already had two pot of tea and need a change πŸ™‚ I think I’ll make myself some warm sandwiches later tonight but for now it’ll do with some vanilla quark.

 

DSC_0009 - kopia

DSC_0011 - kopia

DSC_0016 - kopia

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

This is my favotite Dahlia, I love those colors. But the top one isn't bad either but it is very big and get really heavy when filled with rain.

This is my favorite Dahlia, I love those colors. But the top one isn’t bad either but it is very big and get really heavy when filled with rain.

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We are having the cool, cloudy, chilly day today! Still no rain, but its apparently coming. Isn’t it great when you can watch the storms, and if you have a mountain even better! No mountains here on the prairies, just flatness. Tomorrow you should bring a nice big basket to pick some mushrooms. Do the wild hogs eat them? I would imagine they would. I am going to make myself another cup of coffee right away, seems like the first one I had just didn’t quite do the trick! Have a great Saturday!

    August 23, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’s cloudy and rather cold here now, I didn’t see any lightning but the temperature plunged down. It is nice to be able to see those storms in the distance πŸ™‚

      I do have a really nice basket but my cats use it to sleep in πŸ™‚

      Yes wild hogs eat a lot of mushrooms but usually those I don’t care about. They do love my favorites though but we have very few of those here anyway.

      I’m on my second cup of coffee right now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2014 at 3:42 pm

  2. oh my such beautiful photos, there is nothing I love to see more than photos of the forest, I never knew of the relationship trees have with mushrooms but maybe that explains why they are so good for us as well,

    August 23, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do miss the ocean but I love the forest and bog even more πŸ™‚

      I just learned about it myself, I’ve always thought funguses meant the end for trees but they also mean life. A strange but fantastic combination!

      Mold is funguses and just think where we would be without penicillin!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2014 at 5:43 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I do love that top dahlia. Red and orange-yellow and pink and yellow are great color combinations in my book.

    Somewhere I read that the underground mycelium of mushrooms combines with the interlaced roots of trees and other plants in a forest to form one giant network that transmits chemical signals across the entire forest. The network allows plants to communicate what kinds of stresses they may be under to other parts of the forest so those plants can start to muster their defenses in response.

    This morning was a rushed morning. I had a funeral to go to at 10 AM so figured I would put the dogs in daycare because funerals tend to take more time than you might think they should. First I couldn’t find the dress slacks I was going to wear. Then I couldn’t find my regular set of keys. Didn’t have time for breakfast but really needed to eat something or I would be very cranky. I ended up with Burger King breakfast. πŸ˜› At least the coffee was okay.
    While I was waiting at a traffic light, I saw a bird come soaring past in front of my car. My first thought was Crow! but wrong silhouette. It crashed into the weeds across the road. There was a short rustling of ragweed and the bird flew up with a small rodent in its talons. Red Tailed Hawk out for breakfast. Of course, no camera. πŸ™‚

    Oh, I did find my keys and immediately went online and ordered RF key finders to stick on them.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 23, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think I would like it more if it wasn’t so high, it’s almost 1,3 yards high πŸ™‚ The only reason it still stands up is that it tangeled itself in a small tree πŸ™‚ but the colors are fantastic!

      Yes it is a gigant network, it’s like the forests own internet πŸ™‚ that network can also transfer different minerals and nutrients to where it is needed the most!

      Funerals are never nice to attend and it doesn’Γ€t get better when one is stressed in the morning. Over here none of those places have anywhere near decent coffee πŸ™‚ The best place is at the petrol stations πŸ™‚

      Well, that’s not the time nor the place one expects to see something like that πŸ™‚ I almost hit a Common Buzzard on my way home yesterday and for several hundred yards it flew in front of my car, I drove slowly so it didn’t stress but sort of wanted to fly there πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2014 at 5:52 pm

      • Caryn

        The buzzard was probably riding your car’s bow wave like dolphins do. πŸ˜€

        August 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        August 24, 2014 at 2:46 am

  4. jaz

    that is very interesting about trees and fungus. i never knew that. it is 85, sunny and SO humid. just awful weather. i have mushrooms growing with my tomatoes which does not seem to be a good thing. i was in the country this morning and bought my first pumpkins!!! yay!!!

    August 23, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is! I just learned it myself. Those funguses are also connected to others and creates a huge network and communicate with each other. I’m not sure about tomatoes and mushrooms though πŸ™‚

      the temperature fell down to 50 during the day here, a bit too cold this time of the year.

      So they are ready already! Mine has stopped growing but at least it hasn’t started to rot πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 23, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

