And suddenly everything went black.

DSC_0011

I was so tired when I went up this morning, it felt like I hadn’t slept at all. My nose is a bit stuffed and my throat feels a bit sour so I guess a cold is slowly taking control of my body. It didn’t help that it Β was pitch black outside because of heavy clouds and rainfall. I think I saw some fog too but didn’t care to be honest, all I wanted was to go back to sleep πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

 

But off to work I went and everything was working as normal and I was just waiting for material to arrive to the paintbox when the power died. It only lasted for a minute or so but I had to restart everything again. But the paintbox brain had decided to change painting program so the paint guns collided withe the material πŸ™‚ luckily enough nothing broke, a paint gun costs around 33000 Swedish kronor, that would be around 5077 Us dollars πŸ™‚ We started working again when we had a tiny power break again and naturally I had to restart everything again.

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

 

We did look outside and the weather was reasonable fine and no thunder what we could see or hear of. So everything went on as it should and suddenly everything went black. It turns out there was a thunderstorm rather far away from the factory after all and the lightning had hit a common wooden power pole that burned up and almost the entire county lost their power πŸ™‚ It took them almost 40 minutes to get the power back again.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

It’s amazing how one power pole can take away the power from an entire county πŸ™‚ The lightning also hit the telephone masts that controls the mobile internet so many didn’t have any connection to the internet for a very long time πŸ™‚ It also hit our computer system at work and they were still working on that when I went home from work this evening. The thunder never even came close to home though, I live very close to the county where my job is, just 200 meters (much the same in yards) but get my power from another place πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0027

This is never a good thing to see in the forest. It usually ,means deforestation machines will arrive later on.

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat and then I think I’ll have an early night.

Have a great day!

9 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s odd how one pole can take down such a big swath of customer service area. I remember back in the 60’s the whole eastern seaboard of USA was knocked out because lightening hit a relay switch in Quebec, Canada. What really happened was that relay switch caused a cascade effect by overloading other switches which shut down for safety. But still…Quebec?
    You could look on the bright side of the red ribbon. No forest flies. Other kinds of flies, yes, but no forest flies. πŸ™‚
    Interesting mushrooms. You have lots of different ones. I see the same ones all the time. The red ones, the white ones, the leathery-looking ones and occasional shelf mushrooms.
    What type of oak do those interesting looking acorns belong to? They don’t look like any of the acorns here.

    This morning, as I opened the door to go out with the dogs, a small hawk sailed by me and bashed into the neighbor’s dogwood tree. There was some bird squawking and the hawk flew away empty taloned. About 10 minutes later, I saw one of the crows chasing him out of an oak tree near the church. The crow left and two young squirrels came out and began to eat acorns under that very tree. Wham. Down came the hawk trying for the black squirrel. He missed again. He saw us and flew off. I think he was a young Coopers or one of that type.

    Sunny and warm here. Like summer again. It will get warmer, too.
    Enjoy the day and take care of the cold.

    August 25, 2014 at 6:26 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is odd, I thought they had taken care of those rsisk because I have read about that black out You’re talking about. Wasn’t it another one later on too, almost as big but for another reason, a solar storm or something like that?

      There will be enough forest left so I’ll never get rid of those forest flies πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I swept away a moose fly from Hector after the walk today, those are truly nasty and it seems they can spread plenty of nasty diseases too!

      Yes we do have lots of different mushrooms here but my favorites hasn’t show yet, they are very orange with a scaly skin. Possibly deadly if eaten but I just look at them and there’s that strangely clear green one that does look deady πŸ™‚ It has the most oss green color and almost look plastic πŸ™‚

      Must ahve been a young hawk since it missed twice. I looked them up and they are very beautiful!

      I just watched the fog roll down the road in waves here, too bad it was too cold and dark to get it on a photo. I think we would have frost here already if it wasn’t for the cloudy sky so I’m pretty glad we’ll get warmer weather again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 25, 2014 at 7:23 pm

      • Caryn

        That hawk was hanging around the English sparrow roost at sundown. The crows were up in the walnut trees keeping a close eye on him.
        There was another blackout a lot later on. I forget what caused it. I was a lot older then so it was just a pain in the butt and not a magical thing. The earlier one happened in the late fall on the night of a full moon. That was when I first saw what was meant by “midnight blue”. I’m sure I’d seen it as a child on the farm in Maine but it didn’t register. Probably I wasn’t allowed to stay up late enough to see a full moon. πŸ™‚
        Thanks for the oak names.

        August 26, 2014 at 12:56 am

      • Many keep their eyes on them so it can’t be easy πŸ™‚

        I think it was a solar storm and that’s why they warn about it now days so power plants and wel all of us can be careful and shut down sensitive equipment.

        We don’t have that expression here but I sure know what You mean. The first time I really noticed it was when I rented a cotage in a remote part of this country, soo different πŸ™‚

        August 26, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    • I forgot the oak! It’s a Quercus robur. We just call it oak or forest oak. We only have two different ones and they look almost identical. We call the other one Mountain oak, Quercus petraea.

      August 25, 2014 at 7:29 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Sorry to hear you are feeling under the weather. I hope with a good sleep and some tea that you feel better. That was weird about that power outage wasn’t it? Too bad it didn’t happen for longer then you could have gotten sent home! Since I work in a hospital that would never be my luck, they have generators all over the place in order to run this institution! Bummer I say!! πŸ™‚ We are a balmy 13 degrees today! Can you believe it!?!? From 37 to 13. Strange, strange weather. I hope this will stay and then I will be much happier! Have a good Tuesday!

    August 25, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      This is probably one of those colds that comes and gose within a few days, tirtesome anyway but not a long company cold πŸ™‚

      We were hoping for a longer stop, some workplaces did send home their personel but we stayed πŸ™‚ I think it is odd that an entire countyu can be shut down like that because of one pole πŸ™‚

      Yes all hospitals have those πŸ™‚ No chance to ever get home early because of power loss, it’s most likely You would have to work extra if there was one πŸ™‚

      So it was warmer here, 15 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It will turn towards warmer again though and the sun will show itself more too thankfully πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 25, 2014 at 7:27 pm

  3. Mona

    Hi Christer…yes, I am about seven hours south of where the earthquake was…didn’t feel a thing. However we are all a bit on edge. My daughter and granddaughter live nearer..but they are fine.
    HOW I do hate colds. I am still having symptoms from my last cold and that was nearly a year ago..I am fine until I lay down at night..then my head gets stuffy..it’s slowly going away..slowly… miserable things..colds! It’s been beautiful here…but I’m sure it will warm up again before it’s all over.

    August 26, 2014 at 5:06 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I did think You lived far south friom that place. Good that You didn’t even feel it! I’m so glad they are fine, earthquakes are nasty.

      I’m not especially fond of colds either πŸ™‚ I’m tired all the time and I tend to sneeze all the time too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This one seems to just wait and wait, waiting for the right momebnt to hit me πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 26, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Leave a Reply

