Soo many of them.

DSC_0001

I love my dogs but sometimes I do wonder πŸ™‚ They can be so smart sometimes figuring out how to open up doors and how to rob the food sack without me knowing it or to steal my socks and hide them so I can’t find them. But only one gets the poochie bells that I got from Joyce and she never needs to go outside at night πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ When Sune needs to go outside he runs around like crazy making quiet little sounds but in good time. Hector goes to my bed and sort of say humpf rather quietly and it is pure luck that I actually understand what’s going on when it happens during night.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

Orvar, the big kind bear sits close to the kitchen door and hopes for the best πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ If the best doesn’t happen he looks for a place where he knows I’ll notice what he has done and goes to sleep after doing his business. Well it is easy to find no matter where he has been because of the incredible nasty smell πŸ™‚ But suddenly I’ve noticed something, Nova comes to my bed and wakes me up, I go down to the kitchen door and let all dogs out but Nova doesn’t go outside, she goes back to bed. It turns out that when Orvar really needs to go outside but never seems to know what to do than to sit by the door, Nova wakes me up instead πŸ™‚ She has saved me twice this week because Orvar has been a “bit” wobbly in his stomach.

 

DSC_0006

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

And how many spiders live here?

And how many spiders live here?

 

I wonder how this started? When did she realise that it was a good idea to wake me up even if it doesn’t concern her at all? and why doesn’t she use the poochie bells? The only time those are used is when we are on our way out and Nova jumps up and hit them πŸ™‚ Perhaps I too one day will have a dog that actually understand the greatness of those bells πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

Under construction.

Under construction.

 

I woke up to a world covered in thick fog but at the time we went out for a morning walk and it was light enough to get any photos it had become much less thick. At the moment we came home again it thickened again πŸ™‚ It didn’t feel that cold to be honest because there was no wind what so ever but it was actually only 3,9C (39F). I guess it was the fog that saved us from a first frost night. It’s just around the corner to be honest, we usually get it around 6th-7th of September. Days will now turn towards warmer again though and we’ll actually see the sun again πŸ™‚

 

I wonder how this web works. Is it luring any insect down the "tube" towards a sticky "carpet" web at the bottom?

I wonder how this web works. Is it luring any insect down the “tube” towards a sticky “carpet” web at the bottom?

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat before I go to bed. I hope we’ll get a foggy morning again tomorrow.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Nova realizes the poochie bells are not going to wake you up in the middle of the night. Very clever of her to tell you that Orvar has needs. Maybe she doesn’t like the smell either. πŸ™‚
    Last week Piki Dog ate half a bowl of sour cream and jalapeΓ±o dip and he was very sorry for several days. In the middle of the night while I was mostly asleep I heard a thud. It was like the sound of a small dog falling off his sleeping spot at the end of the bed. I woke up (sort of) and flailed about looking for Piki Dog. He was by the door. I managed to get him outside in time for the explosion. It was 1:30 in the morning and I didn’t get back to sleep again for several hours. He doesn’t use the poochie bells either. Rocky uses them but only when he wants to go out for some other reason and I’m not buying it. Then he pulls the bells off the door.

    It’s much warmer here than it has been lately. I am no longer used to it. All the fans are going in my house today but I haven’t turned on the AC. Yet. I’m holding out until tomorrow when it will be in the 90’s F. After that it will be back down in the 70’s again. I can take it.

    Enjoy the day.

    August 26, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You might be right there and no one likes that smell πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I’ll never know if I hear those bells at night since no one ever use them πŸ™‚ No mastter what, I am very grateful that she wakes me up and can only hope Orvar needs to go outside a bit later next time and not before 4am a working day πŸ™‚

      Half a bowl πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Well do You think he has learned anything from this? I doubt it, they never do πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But You are lucky that he made it out before it was too late πŸ™‚ The joy of having dogs, nothing beats it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We’re lucky if we’ll get over 68F, most likely it will stay below that but I’m just glad it will get warmer again, I’m not done with summer yet even if it is autumn here now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 26, 2014 at 6:54 pm

      • Caryn

        No he has not learned anything from it. I dropped the open can of jalapeΓ±os on the floor the other day and he was right there to eat them. Rocky, too. I got to them before they could. I guess they both miss the boiled rice diet Piki Dog was on for a few days until his tummy settled down. πŸ™‚

        August 28, 2014 at 5:41 pm

      • It’snice to know they all are the same all over the world πŸ™‚

        August 28, 2014 at 5:48 pm

  2. Christer,
    Gracie took to the poochie bells in about two or three days. She was still a puppy and used to stand by the door and hope I’d notice her. It was the front door so I didn’t always see her so she’d do what she needed right there. The poochie bells solved the problem. Even now, and she is 8 and a half, if the back door to the yard is closed, she’ll ring the bells and at night too if she needs out. She rings them long and loud at night and I always hear her.

    It is quite intelligent for Nova to act as Orvar’s let me out dog. I had one who would go to the cellar if she couldn’t wait. I then put papers down the cellar and she’d go on those.

    The sun in the fog is magnificent. I love those pictures.

    Hope your evening is a good one and frost free.

    Kat

    August 26, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Only Nova gets it, the others just stare at me with wonder in their faces πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It would have been so much easier if they coukld use them! Well perhaps the next dog will πŸ™‚ (no I have no plans of another one yet πŸ™‚ ). Bertil the angry cat goes to the shower if the litter box isn’t as clean as he wishes but my dogs can’t go there (unless it is thunder because that’s Hectors safe place) because I’v put a hasp on the door. Too many cat poops have been eaten I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      We didn’t get frost but it was close, 37F.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 27, 2014 at 5:01 pm

  3. jaz

    what a smart pup nova is! teddy has never gone in the house not even once. she will hardly even go in the yard. occasionally she will pee in the yard but that is rare. she has no problem waking us if she needs to go out. she will push and shake the bed until i get up. we are still really hot here and have had no rain so i guess i have to start watering again tomorrow.

    August 26, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      She is my little girl πŸ™‚ Orvar has the occasional accident, now when he’s rather senile he also can pop while eating πŸ™‚ I’m pretty glad I have floors that can take it πŸ™‚

      Cold this morning, only 37F but sunshine and fog too. The morning walk was rather nice πŸ™‚

      No need to watering here after all that rain πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 27, 2014 at 4:53 pm

  4. our old dog never ever barked to be let out, he just stood and stared at me, somehow I could fell his stare even in my sleep! He would stand and just look at the door in the day time to be let out, he was a strrange fella, but I loved him, the spider web shot is amazing,

    August 26, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      If he at least stood and watched me πŸ™‚ But Nove is here to save the day thankfully πŸ™‚

      I do like all the different kinds of spiderwebs!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 27, 2014 at 4:54 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I hope you get a foggy morning too! We had a bit of one today, but more misty than anything. Nova is a clever girl!! Our husky, Tor, gives us signals when the other two dogs are outside and want in. They never make noise, but he sure does. Then he goes and lies down happily elsewhere when they have come in. Funny how they do this isn’t it? I can only imagine how many spiders made those webs!! There’s alot of them!! We were chilly this morning – 8 degrees. Not quite 3, but darn close! The sun is out now which is nice – but considering the time difference I am sure it is dark where you are and you are sleeping already! Have a good Wednesday!

    August 26, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I did get another sunny and foggy morning πŸ™‚ 3C and no wind made the morning walk rather nice πŸ™‚

      I once forgot to bring Orvar in one evening πŸ™‚ He didn’t make a noise outside and no of the other dogs cared about where he was πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The entire field was filled with webs like that so I guess in total there must have been thousands! Strange really that we have any flies at all πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 27, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

