They’ve been there since 2003 :-)

DSC_0002

We’re having a rather perfect weather today, even though the sun mostly is behind clouds right now it has been shining a lot during the day. I think it has been around 20C (68F) and there’s a weak breeze that tried to dry up bot the ground and grass but with no bigger success. I know because I’ve just mowed the lawn and the grass was dripping wet and it clogged the lawn mower the entire time. It took twice the time to mow my lawn than it usually does but since the weather was so nice and the flies just a bit annoying I actually enjoyed doing it.

 

DSC_0010
DSC_0011

DSC_0013

 

I was looking for some fish in the freezer the other day when Orvar was a bit wobbly in his stomach when I suddenly found a ziplock bag with the numbers 03-03 written on them. I had no memory of it at all so I opened it up and to my big surprise I found lots of seeds in it πŸ™‚ I have no idea what so ever to what kind of seeds they are πŸ™‚ I had placed them on a wet paper towel and placed them in the freezer and I’m pretty sure my intention was to pick them out after a short while. I have no idea if they still will germinate but I’ve placed them warm and light so now I only can hope for the best so that at least one seed will germinate and that I at least will know what they are πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0019

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

 

I’ll do very little for the rest of the day, that cold I have is still hanging around, not really breaking out but not really leaving me either. So I’m tired and just want to go to bed to be honest but I’ll fight it and stay up for at least a few more hours πŸ™‚ I’m boiling rice for Orvar and it seems to take forever for it to start boiling today, the problem is that when it starts it never seems to want to stop doing it πŸ™‚ I normally make the water start boiling, then I turn of the stove and place some thick handkerchiefs on it. The rice is ready at the same time as it should have if I’ve kept it on the stove but there’s no risk of burning it.

 

DSC_0079

DSC_0080

DSC_0081

 

Just as I wrote that last word my fire alarm started to beeping loudly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s time to buy a new battery πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0059

DSC_0063

12 responses

  1. jaz

    i hope orvar feels better soon! i love the spider webs. we have them everywhere right now. i always see lots of webs when we are going to have a strong winter. i hope i am right! we have a long weekend here because it is labor day. it is horribly hot and humid. my worst weather!

    August 29, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s getting a bit better every day but it comes and goes, it might be the medicine he takes that does thgis to his stomach. Well he loves rice and fish so I think I’m the only one bothered by this πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We had even more webs here last autumn and got one of the mildest winters so I won’t trust them on that πŸ™‚ We also had loads of Rowan berries which akso indicates a cold winter so I don’t trust them either πŸ™‚

      Rather nice here today even if the sun won’t shine through the clouds and we had a few drops of rain too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 12:19 pm

  2. poor Ovar, I really enjoyed the photos of the forest floor, the moss is lovely , the red toad stool are outstanding,

    August 29, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I don’t think he minds this as much as I do πŸ™‚

      I’m fascinated by moss and lichens and thankfully we have lots of them here.

      That is actually not a toad stool, they have become rare here. It can either be a delicious mushroom or one just as deadlΓΆy as the toad stool though πŸ™‚ Beautiful no matter what it is.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 12:21 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Nice shot of of Nova and Sune. She looks very intense.

    I got a cheap rice cooker from the big box store. I don’t eat enough rice to justify a spiffy one with all the bells and whistles. This one will do about 2 cups. I bought it because I’m a huge fan of things that time themselves since I have a tendency to forget to time them. πŸ™‚
    It doesn’t have an off button. When plugged it, it goes to the Warm setting. I put the rice and water in and flip the button to Cook. When the rice is done it flips back to Warm and keeps the rice at that temperature until I get around to unplugging it. If I leave it for a long time on Warm, it even makes a little bit of concΓ³n at the bottom which, if one is Dominican, is a very nice thing. I’m not Dominican but I still like concΓ³n. πŸ™‚

    The grass in the back of my house has died off in one place again. It’s the lawn guys. They use a ride on mower that turns with all four wheels. When they mow that area they always turn in that same spot and every time they do, it tears up more grass. You think they’d notice what they do since they are lawn guys. But no. It’s the very shady spot and the grass doesn’t recover.

    Lovely day today. Sunny with a cool breeze. This has been a great summer as far as I’m concerned. Warm enough to grow things but not hot.

    Enjoy the evening.

    August 30, 2014 at 12:20 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      They wanted to follow me down to the concrete pipe I was standing on πŸ™‚ They still haven’t repaired the road but one can walk over to the other side if jumping up on the concrete pipe. So now it’s possible to walk along the creek again from both directions if one wishes to.

      I eat even less rice so I didn’t think it would be worth buying a rice cooker at all, I mostly cook rice for the dogs and by doing it this way I also tell myself I save a lot of electricity when turning of the stove and let it cook on the left over heat. I’ve never had cocΓ³n so I have no idea what it might be like πŸ™‚

      That grass has a tough life πŸ™‚ It’s the same here where Nova and Sune runs all the time, the grass has no chance what so ever to grow back until they are too old to run around like crazy πŸ™‚

      Our summer has been a bit of all, sometimes really hot and sometimes really cold, not great fro growing things I’m afraid but at least it was hot while I had my vacation πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 12:29 pm

      • Caryn

        http://www.dominicancooking.com/1007-the-secrets-of-the-perfect-concon.html
        It’s delicious. Like toasted rice. It’s even more delicious when made with basmati or one of those “popcorn” tasting rices.

        I think I will reseed anyway and just block access to that part of the yard. Something has to be growing there because the soil is clay and gets very slick when wet. It’s dangerous to walk on. If I could afford it, I would turn it into an East Boston lawn; green cement. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

        August 30, 2014 at 5:06 pm

      • I haven’t eaten toasted rice either πŸ™‚ but I’ll try this!

        Green cement is never wrong πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
        Christer.

        August 30, 2014 at 7:00 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well. That’s a long time to be in a freezer! I do hope one at least germinates so you have a clue. Wouldn’t that be something if they all germinated?!? We had a strange weather day today – lots of rain this morning, sun then more rain in the afternoon now its going down to 5 degrees tonight. Autumn is coming! Its giving us a gentle nudge. Sorry to hear your cold is still lingering. I hope it doesn’t get worse!! I hate getting sick. The photo of your dogs is really cute! Such intent looks they have! The last picture is perfect!! Have a happy Saturday. I am going to the farmer’s market in the morning, hopefully to get some nice vegetables.

    August 30, 2014 at 1:13 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      It would have been no time at all if it had been lupin seeds. They found deep freezed lupine seeds in the permafrost in I think it was Canada and they had been there for almost three thousand years and as soon as they wewre defrosted theyb started to germinate πŸ™‚

      Autumn is here already but we did have a rather warm night. I would say thatb we’ve ha a stabile cloudy day bhere with a few rain drops, not too bad to be honest.

      The cold is stabile too πŸ™‚ I guess it will stay for a while, they usually do when they don’t break out properly.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 12:32 pm

  5. I ALWAYS have a time finding you, Christer!! I used to go visit Joyce, then hop from there over to see you but now it just takes me to your old blog. I wonder why it doesn’t bring me straight to this blog?? Anyway…I now have you in my “favorites” so I can go out and find you there..I just wish your comments would take me striaght here. Shoot!
    I wrote a tiny bit about the mirror on a post tonight…the mirror I sent you info on…but..as I did with you..I got a bit nervous speaking of it. I realize it’s controversial..and some begin thinking it’s an “evil” thing. You were very nice listiening to me about it. The reason I spoke to you was I thought perhaps a lot of things of that nature might happen in your country and maybe you were more knowledgable about things of that sort. Now I am considering blogging about it…but really not so sure I should. I have to think about it more. I almost did then backed away from it. It’s interesting, but I have a lot of religious blogger friends that I don’t want to stir up.

    Bertil looks a wee ticked off in his picture..but then he looks like he is about to spit nails a lot of the time and it NEVER fails to make me laugh.
    The dogs…well..they are just beautful. So healthy looking…
    Mushrooms…I think after reading what you wrote about them….If I lived there I would just NOT eat any mushrooms. Wouldn’t it be easy to make a mistake? Then saying “OOPS!” would do you little good! :):)
    The country, at least what I’ve seen of it where you live…is beautiful. Those flies are the only drawback…those woods are sort of spooky but beautiful!!
    G’night, Christer. We are going off to bed and your day is probably just getting started.
    Have a nice one..
    Mona

    August 31, 2014 at 6:35 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I don’t know why but when I try to comment with my new blogs address it refuses to do so, I get a message from WordPress that I’m not the owner of this blog??? Very odd and there’s no one I can ask it seems. I have changed everything here so I have no idea why WordPress does this to me!

      Yes I guess many religious people would probably tell You to teka en exorcist to Your home πŸ™‚ Well, I think that as long as You can live with it there’s no use in doing anything really. I’m pretty sure that what ever it is likes You otherwise it would have been much, much worse. Never post anything You’re not sure of or feeling awkward about posting!

      Bertil’s just the way he always is and I got one photo where he relly looks evil but it got a bit too blurry.

      No OOPS won’t help much πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But I’ve learned which ones I can take from someone that really knows mushrooms and there are one group of them that is totally safe to eat in this part of the world, the boletus mushrooms. The worst ones I can find here taste so bad that it destroyes all food prepared together with them but they aren’t poisonous at all.

      Yes, the flies sure destroys much of the joy of summer but if we get a relly dry spring most of them die before hatching and those summers are few but just wonderful πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 31, 2014 at 8:24 am

Leave a Reply

