Their season is short but they are truly nasty.

Our weather didn't get much better than thgis today.

Our weather didn’t get much better than this today.

 

So far the day has been rather nice even though it isn’t especially warm, the sun doesn’t shine through the clouds and we’ve had a few drops of rain. It would even be too much to cal it a drizzle. I haven’t done much to be honest, walked with my dogs and napped for quite some time. It’s a quiet day, I can’t even hear any twittering from the small birds living around my cottage.

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

The Moose fly, or Deer fly, season has started and it seems I always bring one home with me. I truly hate them and they are truly nasty. On moose and deers they live like ticks, dropping their wings as soon as they’ve bitten their way in to their skin and it happens they bite humans too. It hurts like hell to be honest and they think they might spread the same diseases as ticks does but they’re not sure about that yet. Luckily for me they usually reject me as a food source but I had a neighbor that constantly got bitten. A deer or moose that gets bitten a lot usually start loosing a lot of fur and that can’t be a good thing.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0019

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

But even if they don’t bite me they are creepy! Their legs work look hooks so they are hard to sweep away and even if You hit them hard they just laugh out loud not bothered at all. Sometimes they lose their wings too while we try to get rid of them but that doesn’t bother them since it’s natural for them to lose them when they live like tics. They usually hide in the hair and even if one showers and wash the hair they survive and I don’t know how many times I’ve woken up in the middle of the night feeling how one or two crawls around in my hair!! They haven’t existed that long in this country and they are working their way north in a pretty fast speed.

 

DSC_0027

Finally they open up! I didn't think I would get a chance to see them flower before the frost came. Too bad we have no butterfies around because I've heard they love these flowers.

Finally they open up! I didn’t think I would get a chance to see them flower before the frost came. Too bad we have no butterflies around because I’ve heard they love these flowers.

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

 

But their season is usually short compared to other flies ( a few nights with frost and they are gone and frost comes early to this area 🙂 ) and they only fly around in the forest so the fields are moose fly free. Too bad I love walking in the forest 🙂 There are lots of mushrooms in the forest too so I think I’ll bring a basket with me tomorrow. Lots of mushroom poisoning at the moment too, no one has died so far but it’s bound to happen, it always does. The thing with mushroom poisoning, at least here in Scandinavia, is that one won’t die directly. It actually takes around ten days before one does but it always starts with food poisoning symptoms, really bad stomach and most likely stomach pain too (but to be honest, there are loads of different symptoms depending on what kind of mushroom one has been eating). After that people usually feels better but not good and after around ten days the injuries can be so bad that one won’t survive. Some mushrooms, like the white Toad stool gives no symptoms until the injuries in the body are so bad that You won’t survive. So it’s always best to be sure of what You’re picking.

 

Jerusalem artichoke, a perennial sunflower and a rather beautiful weed. It's so high that I must look up to the flowers now.

Jerusalem artichoke, a perennial sunflower and a rather beautiful weed. It’s so high that I must look up to the flowers now.

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0044

This is hard to see what it is but it is a cherry tree, Prunus pumila. It doesn't grow high but wide instead.

This is hard to see what it is but it is a cherry tree, Prunus pumila. It doesn’t grow high but wide instead.

 

As You know I don’t pay extra to get more tv channels since I feel they mostly just show garbage anyway but right now I do have an extra channel that they send to everyone for free but I don’t know for how long. Yesterday they showed one of my absolute favorite tv series ever, The Vicar of Dibley. It’s a British sitcom about a female priest in the fictional town Dibley somewhere in the Oxford area I think. If You like British humor this is a must, if You don’t I feel sorry for You 🙂 🙂 🙂 Yesterdays program was the Christmas special for 2006 (unfortunately they don’t show it any longer) and I think I laughed the entire hour the program lasted 🙂 I hope I have this channel next Friday too because they’ll show the New Years episode then and it’s a following to what happened in this program. It was so fun to see this show again that I’ve decided to buy the entire series. If you ever see that they’ll send this on a channel You have and You do like British humor do watch it 🙂

 

This and next photo shows two Nanking cherries, Prunus tomentosa. They are very hardy (unless they are grafted) and very draught tolerant (unless they are grafted).

This and next photo shows two Nanking cherries, Prunus tomentosa. They are very hardy (unless they are grafted) and very draught tolerant (unless they are grafted).

DSC_0034

Balkan Mallow.

Balkan Mallow.

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

Corydalis cheilanthifolia.

Corydalis cheilanthifolia.

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat I think. I might make a pie today, the weather sort of invites to it 🙂

 

DSC_0064

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

This tree always start changing colors on the same branches every year.

This Maple tree always start changing colors on the same branches every year.

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. jaz

    those flies would do me in! i hate bugs to begin with but ones that bite and attack!!! ugh! all of the flowers are beautiful! our maples have not started to change yet.

    August 30, 2014 at 3:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I remember the first time one of them walked around on me and the panic I felt when I couldn’t get rid of it 🙂 Now days I kjnow how to kill them but they still make me feel slightly panicky 🙂

      Lots of trees are turning yellow, orange and red now, very beautiful but a bit too early.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 6:44 pm

  2. The Vicar Of Dibley we watch too, we see it here on Public Broad casting, it shows all the British Television shows, Midsome Murders, , Heart Beat, Inspector Frost, Inspector Linnley, I could go on but I won’t, lol, in fact we became so interested in the BBC that we paid extra with our satellite provider for the BBC channel, your Moose fly is similar to our Horse fly, then we have the Deer fly which is smaller than the Horse fly but just as nasty, they are both in season now also, I wish I hadn’t read the bit about them crawling in your hair because I now feel them in mine!!!!! Power of suggestion!!!!

    August 30, 2014 at 4:11 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      They showed the first season on PB here but then another company bought the rest, too bad because I really like it 🙂 I used to have the BBC when I lived in Gothenburg and it was the best channel Iäve ever had, especially the comedies were fantastic, like One foot in the grave 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It’s amazing how many nasty flies there are 🙂 I shave my head twice or three times every year and I did it just a few weeks ago so now they can’t hide in my hair, still just thinking about it makes me want to check my head 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 6:48 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Those fly/tick things sound vicious! I am glad we don’t get those here. We have enough bad creatures that we don’t need another. Just thinking of their little hook feet gives me shivers. Its lovely here today – but starting tonight we are going to get rain and thunder and all day tomorrow. I plan on baking lots and making some perogies (cheese and onion I think). I am doing laundry now so I can get it outside to hang it up before the rains start. I LOVE Vicar of DIbley!!! One of my most favorite shows ever! Love the humor and everything about it. 🙂 I love most British shows and prefer watching them over anything else that is produced. Have you ever seen Friday Night Dinner? Another one I highly recommend. You might even be able to YouTube the shows. Funny stuff!! Have a good rest of your Saturday!

    August 30, 2014 at 4:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They are truly nasty! They are the only reason I like those first frost nights 🙂 🙂 🙂
      We’ll get much the same weather tiomorrow, slightly warmer and perhaps some sunshine with a bit of luck.

      Pierogies were the number one fast food for a few years here and I love them. Then we discovered the turkish kebab and now days it’s impossible to find pierogies anywhere.

      I have a very british sense of humor and The Vicar of Dibley is my absolute favorite 🙂 I have never seen Friday Night Dinner though so I’ll see if I can find anythiung on Youtube.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 6:54 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’ve watched the Vicar of Dibley for some time. WGBH Boston has something to do with the production and it gets shown on Public Broadcasting. Is that Christmas special the one where Alice has her baby? That one was hilarious. There are a number of Britcoms that I watch and love. My family isn’t into British humor and most of them can’t even understand the accents. They can but they don’t want to listen hard enough.

    You can keep the moose flies. We have deer flies, horse flies, stable flies, black flies, midges, no-see-ums, dog ticks, deer ticks, mosquitoes. I think I’ll stop now. The list of things that want to drink my blood is making me twitchy and itchy. 🙂
    Actually, I guess we have moose flies, too. At least Alaska and Canada have moose flies.

    It’s a nice day here. Sunny. Not too warm. It’s warmer outside than I thought. The house was cold this morning so I’m walking around in long sleeves. Okay when inside. Too warm for outside.
    I’m not doing much today either. Paying bills. 😛

    Enjoy the day.

    August 30, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      No this one was when the new villager Harry proposed to her, it was so fun that I start laughing when I think of it 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I have seen the one Yiou mention and it was hysterical too 🙂 🙂 🙂 We learn what I call BBC English in school so no problems understnding them 🙂

      It’s amazing how many nasty blood sucking animals there are out there 🙂 We just got the brown dog tick to Sweden, it can’t survive outdoors but it loves kennels so it is spreading like crazy here.

      I paid my bills a few days ago and I’ll do the laundry tomorrow so today was a nice relaxing day here. We’ll get much the same weather tomorrow as we had today but perhaps slightly warmer and with a slight chanse to see the sun too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 30, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Leave a Reply

