The first fire for the season.

DSC_0001

Autumn is definitely here now, the trees are changing colors and some trees have already lost almost all leaves, the days are a bit chilly and I started a fire in the stove for the first time this season. We have a rather persistent wind outside so I thought I might as well try to start a fire with the help of it. Normally I get a back draft the first time after summer so the entire cottage get filled with smoke and the fire alarm starts beeping loudly πŸ™‚ Not today though and I kept the fire alive for two hours and now the cottage is hot as h… πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0004

DSC_0006

 

I baked a couple of scones while I could, it would take too long to bake a bread and the heat would probably driven us out of the cottage for hours πŸ™‚ I could of course have opened the windows and doors but it was nice to push out the last of the dampness and not letting it in again by doing so. Naturally I also put te kettle on so I could make myself a nice pot of coffee πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

 

I’ve started to move in some of my potted plants now, the week when we get ourΒ΄first night with frost is almost here (next week) and I’ve placed the more hardy ones on my patio, the frost rarely reach in there beneath the roof. I’ve checked the weather forecasts but none of them show any temperatures even close to frost but they tend to miss this little village at the outskirts of the world. But then again, this year has been odd weather-wise, we had very warm summer temperatures in April and May, cold in June, really hot in July and rather cold now in August. It makes me wonder what winter will be like πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

This is how a photo looks when You're trying to concentrate in a bit too dark place and Orvar walks straight in to an electric fence. The poor dog shouted like crazy and even scared a marten. It was too quick for me to get a photo of though.

This is how a photo looks when You’re trying to concentrate in a bit too dark place and Orvar walks straight in to an electric fence. The poor dog shouted like crazy and even scared a marten. It was too quick for me to get a photo of though.

DSC_0019

 

It’s time to start making dinner for next week at work, I think I’ll do something easy like tomatosauce with lots of minced meat and spices in it. Too bad the fire in the stove has died out, now I must use the electric stove instead πŸ™‚

 

We have lots of Field mushrooms in this area.

We have lots of Field mushrooms in this area.

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    i wish i had a wood stove in my kitchen. it does look like fall has found you. we finally got some rain but we are still very hot. poor orvar! is he okay? i had the news on this morning and they were saying we might get some light sprinkles. meanwhile it was pouring rain outside. all they needed to do was just look out the window!

    August 31, 2014 at 2:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s my favorite thing in my entire cottage πŸ™‚ But one has to get used to sot on everything during winter πŸ™‚

      Yes he’s ok now and I hope he learned that tjose fences hurt, he tends to forget from one year to another.

      That would be just to easy, wouldn’t it πŸ™‚ They have their computers and they trust them more than reality πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 31, 2014 at 3:27 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It is the last day of meteorological summer so I suppose your weather is right on time. πŸ™‚ It’s cloudy and a little cool here today but we are supposed to be getting a heat wave next week. Most of the week is supposed to be in the upper 80’s to low 90’s F with high humidity. I will be turning on the AC for sure otherwise I won’t be able to sleep.
    There are signs of autumn though. The black walnut is dropping a few yellow leaves every day. It’s a medium crop of walnuts this year. Last year there were practically no walnuts. The year before there was a huge crop. The following winter and spring were harsh and the trees just took a rest. Not many walnuts are falling yet, though. I can see them up in the trees just waiting to bonk unsuspecting passersby. That would usually be me. Sometimes the spawns of Satan assist the trees by picking the walnuts and dropping them on my head. πŸ™‚
    I saw a skein of geese flying overhead last night. I thought Oh, no, they are leaving already. Too soon! Then I realized they were headed West. Maybe they were confused. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the scones and the first fire of fall.

    August 31, 2014 at 3:48 pm

    • Hi caryn!

      I think we see that different here as we do spring and summer πŸ™‚ It all has to do with the average temperature during one week. But Your right, our weather fits with Your meteorological summer/ autumn πŸ™‚ It’ll stay around 67-68 degrees during the days here and they say weΓ€ll have sunshine too. No surprise since we’re working all day and it’s cloudy while we are free from work during weekends πŸ™‚

      My walnut tree looks fine and I so hope it will survive winter again, the more winters it manages to survive the hardier it gets. But this year I think it won’t get surprised by the frost, it’s been so cold at nights that it must be prepared. No squirrels are daring enough to come to my garden so I would be safe from them if I had any nuts of any kind πŸ™‚ Seeing the martin probably means we have fewer squrrils here again.

      I’m not sure these geese fly south yet, they seems to fly between the different lakes at the moment. Well it was many this morning so uit might indicate an early move after all.

      I did enjoy both the fire and the scones πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 31, 2014 at 5:35 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We had a fire in our chimnea last night – sat around it, drank tea and watched the sky turn from blue to dark. It was lovely. Today it is raining cats and dogs!!!! Tomorrow should be better. This is a long weekend for us, Labour Day. All I know is it will be nice to have an extra day! I made perogies today – they are resting and freezing comfortably in the freezer now. Next is cookys. That red mushroom looks very poisonous! Not sure if it is. Poor Orvar!! I hope it didn’t hurt him. We have a lovely wood stove in our cottage at the lake. Its the best thing ever!! We have cooked everything from biscuits to Thanksgiving dinner in it. We love it. Your pictures today look like autumn is on its way!!! I have noticed a few leaves here and there changing around our neighborhood. Anytime now! Have a good Sunday!!

    August 31, 2014 at 4:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do enjoy my kitchen stove πŸ™‚ even if it means summer is over. We’ll get sunnier weather no when we’re going back to work again, just typical really πŸ™‚

      Cookys?

      It is a rathger poisonous mushroom πŸ™‚ It’s a read toadstool but it can actually be eaten if it is boiled several times and in new water every time. It is also hallocugenic and it is said the vikings used it to get in contact with the gods. I won’t try that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      He seems to do this once each year but I can’t for my life understand why they have the electricty on when there are no cattle in that pasture?

      I’m afraid autumn already is here but I do hgave my stove πŸ™‚ I only use that one during winter so I’ve learned how to cook on it and how to use the oven, it took a while but now I can do anything in it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 31, 2014 at 5:42 pm

  4. I wonder Ovar was thinking when that happened, wouldn’t it be wonderful if we could understand dog language, lol, I smelled wood smoke on the air last night, it makes me so homesick,

    August 31, 2014 at 5:36 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It would be rather nice to fully understand my dogs, I’m afraid Orvar wouldn’t make much sense anyway πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I to wonder what he might have been thinking the poor boy.

      I’m so glad they saved that stove. The man that once lived here and renovated the cottage wanted to get rid of it but his wife threatened to leave himn if he did πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      August 31, 2014 at 5:44 pm

  5. JD

    The pictures are wonderful! I am cooking (literally myself) in AZ right now. Soon, it will be over and fall will begin. The cranes will fly over and the migrating birds will stop for food and water.

    August 31, 2014 at 8:12 pm

    • Hi JD and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚

      No risk of cooking oneself here πŸ™‚ It has actually been rather nice outside today but it is starting to feel a bit chilly now at 7:20 in the evening. Still lots of cranes around and I guess most of them wait until the last minute to fly south.

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      September 1, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Leave a Reply

