She’s five today.

Not happy at all after ear cleaning.

Not happy at all after ear cleaning.

 

The deadly pitbull Nova is five years old today and she has been living with me and my old boys for almost three and a half year now. She’s a bit annoyed at me at the moment because I had to clean out her bad ear so she refused to eat the treat I gave her after cleaning it. She just looked at me with those eyes showing very clear that I almost killed her by doing so. She had no problems eating the treats when I brought out the best treats she knows, those she gulped down 🙂

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0005

 

The day has been rather nice with sunshine and warm weather and the morning was even better. Just enough cool to keep the few flies in the fields calm but still warm enough so a fleece sweater was a bit too much to wear. But the sun goes up later and later now, two minutes later every day at the moment so soon it will be too dark to bring the camera with me. It’s too dark already now if the morning is cloudy to be honest.

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

I killed four moose flies when we were out walking by the bog this afternoon.They land on the t-shirt and stays absolutely calm until I go indoors, then they crawl to a safer place, usually the hair if it is long enough, and stays there until it is dark. They bite when it is dark and it’s no chance in h… that one can sleep through a bite like that 🙂 🙂 🙂 The tick is at least polite enough to make the skin numb before doing its nasty deed. I think and hope I didn’t bring anyone with me home today.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0020

DSC_0023

 

Bertil the angry cat is best friends with Salmiak and one day he walked in to his home. He was very quick to go outside again when he understood that humans too live there 🙂 I’ve warned the humans that he is not to be trusted and that they better show him that he isn’t welcome there. I wouldn’t have said anything if it was Teodor who walked in there, he loves anyone that gives him anything to eat 🙂

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

It’s time to have a pot of tea and something to eat. The evening is so warm that no fire in the stove is needed and that’s how I like it this time of year.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0032

18 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! happy birthday to nova! teddy hates having her ears cleaned. these days she hates having anything cleaned. you really have horrible bugs. it sure is getting darker here too. it is dark when i get up and when i go to bed now. i guess your first frost will come soon. i pulled out my carrots and a lot of peppers today. even if it stays warm, they aren’t really doing much of anything anymore. soon it will be time to pull out the tomatoes too. i am not thrilled with how my troughs worked this year. i think i need to mix in more sand with the dirt next spring. i am waiting for storms which are headed this way! joyce

    September 2, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Nova says thank You 🙂
      Personally I like to clean my ears so I can’t understand what they think is so bad doing it 🙂

      Yes we do have a few:-) nasty insects here. My personal favorite is the one that aquirts its larvae in to the eyes of moose. Sometimes it mistakes humans for moose and they say it hurts somethibng so bad that it is impossible to open up the eye and a doctors visit is a must.

      I failed with most of my vegetables this year, almost all tomatoes rotted and I don’t know what happened to my red onions, I can’t find especially many and thiose I find are tiny.

      We’ll only tet warm and sunny here, I’ve had enough with rain for a while now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 2, 2014 at 6:14 pm

  2. Christer,
    Happy birthday to Nova. I can’t believe you have had her for so long. It just seems like yesterday you were trying to get her trained to a leash.

    Your flies just never leave. That would drive me crazy too. We have black flies for a time in May then they disappear. We do have deer ticks which carry Lime disease and now they have found another disease they carry. I check Gracie for ticks but she doesn’t ever seem to get any from the yard. My dogs never get fleas, and only one had a tick which I found right away. I got more ticks when walking them in the woods. Gracie doesn’t like other dogs so I can’t walk her on the usual trails which is probably why she doesn’t have ticks.

    This is the worst week all summer so far. It is so hot and humid and ugly.

    Have a great evening!

    September 2, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Nova says thank You 🙂

      Time just run! I’ve finally managed to make her walk well in a leash if Sune walks without, they are totally impossible when walking leashed at the same time and it is Sunes fault 🙂

      No, not until heavy frost comes and when one is gone another takes over 🙂 Deer ticks are closely related to the moose fly and they carry thge same diseases! Nast critters but thankfully their season is short. Flees however is very rare here, I’ve only seen one dog that had flees in my entire life. I guess our climate helps us there.

      We’re having a rather nice week here thankfully and now they say the weekend will be warm and sunny too 🙂

      Havce a great day!
      Christer.

      September 2, 2014 at 6:19 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Happy Birthday Nova! Pretty girl!! 🙂 She looks like she’d like to do something to your ear back in that first picture! 🙂 Dogs are so funny arent’ they? I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the picture of the sun in the window. That could sell for millions! 🙂 We just had a massive thunderstorm but now the sun is shining! It sure did cool down with that storm though. I really don’t like the darkness at night now. Makes me sleepy too early!! The middle of winter is the worst when the sun is down by 5 p.m. and my body is telling me that its dark, I should go to bed. Have a happy Wednesday!

    September 2, 2014 at 9:55 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Nova says thank You 🙂

      I can just imagione what she wanted to do to me that moment 🙂

      That photo was a bit too blurry though but the best of those I took. I just hope my neighbors were asaleep so they didn’t wonder if I’ve gone mad 🙂

      Summer seems to have returned for a short while but the early nights says different. You won’t hear me complain about the summer temperatures though 🙂

      I’m just the same, I want to o to bed when it gets dark but I’m still at work when that happens during winter 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 3, 2014 at 4:43 pm

  4. Five years??? Where has the time gone? And her muzzle is grey, sigh.
    Happy Birthday Nova!

    September 3, 2014 at 12:35 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      Time just flies! It feels like it was just yesterday she arrived here and not 3,5 years ago 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 3, 2014 at 4:44 pm

  5. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –
    Please let Nova know that Toby & I send her Happy Birthday on her big 5th. Although I will say Christer, a vigorous ear cleaning is not much of a gift. I’m sure it surprised Nova, but what a let down. At least she knows that she can hold out for the good treats. I had a whole week of catching up to do. Bertile is looking especially ticked-off in the photo where he is looking down the path.. He gets such a bad rap just because his face falls a certain way. Did you not want him being allowed in Salmiack’s house because he might pee somewhere & embarrass you? That was the only reason I could think of for Theodor to be OK visiting & Bertile not. It is funny to think that Bertile might actually believe another cat has a cottage of their own.
    The flies sound just awful. I am glad I don’t live where there are moose or deer flies. On another blog I follow, the woman lives on a farm in Pennsylvania and she got tired of the flies biting her while she gardened, so she found some mosquito netting and put it over her head & tucked it into the neck of her tee shirt & said it worked great.

    When I saw your recommendation for the Vicar of Dibley I had a good laugh. I was just looking for new programs/movies on Netflix last night and they had just added the whole series. It looked like a series I would enjoy, so I saved it to my library to watch this fall when the rain begins (if we ever have rain again that is). I just good minds think alike. Since BBC America really shows much of anything besides Grahm Norton & the BBC World News I am lucky that Netflix carries a lot of British TV series & foreign films. Quite a good selection of Swedish films/TV series. I even enjoy the depressing films out of Ice Land & Green Land. Are you able to get the same BBC as people in the UK do on your cable TV? It bothers me that we can only get BBC America which has nothing much other than BBC World News & Graham Norton repeats. There are lots of shows on the real BBC that I would really enjoy watching. Even the Canadians get the real thing. I have heard that there is a really good series called Mrs. Brown’s Boys that I would love to see. When you see American TV shows in Sweden, is there a channel that shows only US shows or are they just randomly shown? I see you finally found out how much you were being charged for your “Free” laptop – what a rip-off. These big companies are as scammers. There is no free lunch as they say (or free laptops either).
    /

    September 3, 2014 at 6:39 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      Nova says thank You 🙂 I think it would have been a worse gift to just let the ear be 🙂 and yes she’s smart 🙂 I had planned to give the favorite treats later but she knew I had them and knew how to get them 🙂

      Bertil can be truly nasty, teeth and claws can be a common sight here and he’s know for attacking other dogs than his own ones. I actually throw him outside every now and again until he calms down and that usualy do the trick. After that he says calm for a while again. He is better now days though. His face mirrors his real self, nothing else 🙂

      I’ve tried to find it as a dvd collection over here but it’s hard even if I buy it from Britain. Perhaps I can ask the producing comapny. It is hilarious and sometimes they even go beyond that 🙂

      I had BBC Prime when Ilived in Gothenburg and they showed lots of different programs. Now they only show BBC comedy or BBC news on cable or sattelite and it’s not the same at all. Lots of reruns all day long. Mrs. Brown’s Boys is hilarious too but very different from the Vicar. I’ve only seen a short clip from that show and I laugfhed so much that I cried long after it was over 🙂 They show it on our PBS channels (our biggest channels actually) but so late that I’m well asleep when they do.

      We can see American shows on all our channels here so no one is specialized on them. We’ll see it here just after You if it is a popular show. Sometimes they show it so close after it is shown over atb Yours that they bhave to stop for a while, the rules on that are rathger strict.

      Yes they always trick us, it’s just a matter of finding out how and how much it really costs 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 3, 2014 at 4:54 pm

  6. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Happy adoption anniversary to Nova and you, from Rocky, Piki Dog and me.
    In 8 more days it will be Rocky’s adoption anniversary. 5 years. It goes very fast, doesn’t it?
    Nova does look annoyed. 🙂 Mine just look at me as though I have betrayed their trust and wounded their tender feelings. Treats make everything alright again.

    Love the photo of the window.

    It’s still early here. The air was cooler and a bit drier for our morning walk. It was nice not coming home all sweaty and sticky from just walking around. It isn’t going to stay that way. The AC running and it looks like it will be running until Sunday night. Temperatures are really up in the high summer range.

    Last year I had some potted mums on the front steps. When they were done with flowering, I moved them around to the side of the house where they spent the winter in their pots. Out of 6 pots, only one made it through the winter and I planted it by the front steps. I noticed the other day that it is covered with buds even though the crab grass moved in on it. Tough plant. I cleared away most of the crab grass. We’ll see if it actually flowers. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    September 3, 2014 at 11:55 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      Nova says thank You 🙂 Time just flies and it feels like it was yesterday we were in the cow pasture playing with sticks 🙂
      Thank god for treats but it took several before she forgave me 🙂

      Too bad it got so blurry though, I posted a new one on NG today, it isn’t blurry but not as good as this one when it comes to colors.

      We’ve gotten summer temperatures too now! No need for any Ac though, I mean Scandinavian summer temperatures 🙂

      Mums almost never survives during winter here and if they do they rarely get a chance to flower again since they flower rather late. I’ll try to plant some thgis year and cover them well during winter, perhaps perhaps they will survive. I do like those bronze/ orange colors some of them have. I’ll cross my fingers and hope it will flower for You!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 3, 2014 at 5:00 pm

      • Caryn

        I saw that one on Facebook and Nat Geo and think it is the better of the two. The sunrise is not so intense but the blue frame of the window in the dark wall makes the photo more interesting.

        September 3, 2014 at 11:41 pm

      • I like the colors better in this one and the one I’ll show in my blog today is edited to look as good as possible 🙂

        Christer.

        September 4, 2014 at 4:39 pm

  7. Wendy from NY

    Oh, belated happy birthday to Nova, she looks like such a sweetie! Vicious pitbull indeed! Love all the pictures, great looking mushroom!

    My garden was pretty much a bust this year also, tomatoes have the blight something fierce and squash have powdery mildew so bad they almost glow in the dark! My onions did very well, peppers are just now coming in, and I am still waiting on my Glass Gem ornamental corn. My field flowers did the best of all, Rudbeckias are my favorite. I have introduced fancy varieties of them and it is fun to see when they bloom!

    We had a cooler than normal season, but now we are getting hot, hazy and HUMID. Could so live without the humidity.

    Keep those nasty insects at arms length!

    September 3, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      Nova says thank You 🙂

      She is a sweetie and my little girl 🙂
      The red toadstool is my favorite mushroom and poisonous as it is it’s one of our Christmas symbols 🙂 We usually decorate our Advent candlesticks with small papier maché or plastic ones 🙂

      My vegetable garden is a huge failiur this year but the thistles I’ve grown seems to do fantasticly well, I haven’t tried the roots yet though 🙂 I do like all the fifferent rudbeckias but my favorite is the yellow cone flower, Ratibida pinnata). The ones I had have died though so I need to buy more seeds this winter.

      This season has been very odd. First much hotter than usual, then cooler than usual,then much warmer than usual and lately much colder again 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I wish I could, one even followed me to work!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 4, 2014 at 4:36 pm

  8. nova may have been irritated with you, but her gentleness shows in her eyes.. She just seems to be thinking ” HOW COULD YOU do that to me! Your friend!” Whatever her breed…she got the best of both.
    Beautiful sunset! Enough to bring tears at the beauty!
    Mona

    September 3, 2014 at 10:24 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      She has the most kind eyes there is 🙂 She sure knows how to use them to get a treat 🙂 🙂

      No sunsets here, I can’t see them from my cottage so You will almost always see sunrises here 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 4, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

