Today eleven years ago.

Hector.

Hector.

Orvar. It is a warm day so I couldn't get any photo where they had closed their mouths :-)

Orvar. It is a warm day so I couldn’t get any photo where they had closed their mouths πŸ™‚

Today eleven years ago I almost lost my dog and all the puppies she was carrying, almost everything went wrong during the two days she tried to give birth to the puppies and to make a long story short we had to go to a vet clinic rather far away to save my girl Erna and hopefully rescue her puppies too. It almost worked, Erna survived and so did four puppies but four died. Two of those puppies and the only surviving today lives here and I call them Orvar and Hector. I also call them “Are You totally deaf” and “You must be the most disgusting dog ever eating that thing” πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

DSC_0044

So dreads are popular amongst sheep now πŸ™‚

DSC_0045

 

Old Erna was anything but a good mother, she wanted nothing to do with them but she did allow them to feed. She rather quickly decided that it was something wrong with Hector and made his life a misery as soon as she could. She wasn’t kind to him until she was ten years old, Orvar did nothing wrong and if he actually did she punished Hector. To be honest, we all realised that Hector was a bit odd because he just can’t interact with other dogs. I’m pretty sure he’s a bit autistic, very smart but sort of living in a world of his own. He doesn’t like to be hugged but he does like that I rub my head towards his πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

DSC_0049

DSC_0051

 

Orvar on the other hand is the kindest dog there is but he sure hasn’t all the horses in the stable πŸ™‚ All canoes are manned but no one paddles in the same direction if You know what I mean πŸ™‚ But he does understand his brother and he is a master of searching for things even if I’ve never taught him to do so. Once he found the neighbors dog within ten minutes even if they already had been out searching for him for several hours. He can also hold a grudge longer than anybody, human or other animal, that I know of πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0059

DSC_0063

DSC_0065

 

All four wereΒ suposed to get marrow bones today but they are all a bit wobbly in their stomachs after eating something yesterday that they most likely should have left alone. So that’ll have to wait till next weekend I think but they have gotten a few smaller treats, after all it is aΒ birthday today.

 

DSC_0054

DSC_0068

DSC_0071

DSC_0073

 

We’re having a wonderful summers day here, around 22C (72F), sunshine most of the time and a light breeze to keep the flies occupied with something else than me. They also need to stay alert because of the wast numbers of troll spindles, or dragonflies as You call them. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this many here. Some are so tiny and others really big but few stay still long enough for me to get a good photo of them I’m afraid.

 

Common Buzzard.

Common Buzzard.

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

 

It’s time to make a pot of coffee and perhaps I’ll make an apple pie. I’ve picked the most delicious apples there is and that kind only grows here in the entire world because I once sowed it myself πŸ™‚ It is soo sweet but still a bit acidulous. It wouldn’t work for apple sauce but I think it would work fine in a pie. But then again, they are perfect for eating just as they are πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

The most delicious apples there is! Not many but that's my fault since I prune the apple tree in the shape of a hand hels fan. Hand held fans are called Sun feathers in Swedish.

The most delicious apples there is! Not many but that’s my fault since I prune the apple tree in the shape of a hand hels fan. Hand held fans are called Sun feathers in Swedish.

DSC_0087

 

Have a great day!

22 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Happy Birthday to Hector and Orvar!!!! I hope their tummies feel better so they can get a nice treat!! They are handsome dogs!! I laughed out loud about your comment of the sheep and dreads. That is too funny!! Your photos today are fantastic!! I love the barns and the mushrooms! We are going to get a mix of sun and cloud today – should be around 19 degrees. Its funny how we can go from 25 degrees right down to 7 in a week or so. I have to get my house tidy today – my brother and his family are coming for dinner. We also have a free giveaway weekend in our city. If there are household items you do not want anymore and are in good condition, you can put them at your curb with a “Free” sign taped on to it and people help themselves. Its popular here and its funny to see how crazy some people get. Humans are funny to watch!! Happy Saturday! Hope your pie turns out delicious!

    September 6, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      They both say thank You πŸ™‚

      I guess they will stay wobbly for a while, they usually do when having eaten something nasty πŸ™‚ They’ll get their treat next weekend instead.

      I’ve never seen a sheep with dreads before πŸ™‚

      Mostly sunny here but clouds comes and goes, really nice temperature and the kitchen door has been open all day πŸ™‚ I vacuumed and scrubbed all floors today and they are actually clean still πŸ™‚

      That’s such a smart idea! If people did that over here they would most likely beb charged with littering πŸ™‚ or someone would just pickup the stuff that has some value and try to sell it themselves πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2014 at 2:53 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Happy Birthday to Orvar and Hector. Such a dramatic birth story.
    Are they on a rice diet today? Mine think plain boiled rice is a special treat. They were not very pleased when their stomach problems went away and they got regular food again. They gave me very disappointed looks when they saw brown dog kibbles instead of nice basmati rice. πŸ™‚

    You should make slips of that tree so that there will be more of them. You can call them Sun Feather Applesβ„’. πŸ™‚

    Is the red toadstool photo the same as the one on Nat Geo? I saw it on FB but didn’t follow the link. It looks better here than on FB. Much more color.
    I like the apple photo, too. So sunny and refreshing. I want an apple, now. πŸ™‚

    The red barn with the trees changing color behind it looks very much like Vermont. Maybe a little flatter than Vermont.

    Dreads have always been popular with some kinds of sheep. I can’t remember the different breed names but there are several wool sheep that sport dreads. People who spin wool like them.

    It’s very hot here today. Worse than yesterday. I took the dogs out at 8 AM and we walked with one of my neighbors. It was already humid and warm and the two of us were sweating after only a few minutes. The dogs didn’t care about heat. They were playing. I think I will be doing mostly indoor activities today. Perhaps reading and eating ice cream and drinking iced tea. Sounds good.
    Enjoy the day.

    September 6, 2014 at 1:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They both say thank You πŸ™‚

      Yes rice diet today and they do love rice here too πŸ™‚ Especially Nova gives me that sad look when she realises there’s no rice in the food any longer πŸ™‚ I sometimes boil some and put in the food as a treat for them πŸ™‚

      I have been thinking of doing that and I think I know what other apple tree pollinates this one. I think the kernel I sowed was from a variety we call Aroma, so it must be the tree that pollinates this one. But I’m not sure how that really works πŸ™‚ It could be the other apple tree I have that pollinates the Aroma tree too πŸ™‚

      No it isn’t the same photo. I always take two photos if I’m unsure if the first one got too dark or too light. This one got too dark so I edited it a bit and then we’re not allowed to have it in our NG albums, well we can write that it is edited oif course but then it has no chance of being chosen for the daily dozen which doesn’t happen too often anyway and they always seem to chose the photos that one think is the less good ones πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      This is at the edge of what is called the westgota plains, after my village the mountains and hills starts to dominate the landscape. But You’re not the first one that says this place looks a bit like Vermont.

      I’ve never seen dreads on sheep before πŸ™‚ Too bad I’m bad at Jamaican English, could have been fun to write something beneath the photo πŸ™‚

      I think that reading and eating ice cream sound just perfect πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2014 at 3:03 pm

      • Caryn

        Just say it’s ayri mon. Spelling’s iffy but close enough, πŸ™‚

        If apples don’t grow true from seed, the apple you grew from seed probably isn’t anything like an Aroma anyway. I don’t know how that works either. You could make one of those multi-variety apple trees just to make sure you got the correct combination for Sun Featherβ„’ Apples.
        It’s never as easy one thinks, is it? πŸ™‚

        September 7, 2014 at 12:43 pm

      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Well, it could have been. I think there’s a chance in a million or something like that that a seed sown apple comes close to its parent πŸ™‚ Pollination is a strange thing though, it’s just not any other apple that works as a pollinator but I guess that the parent must be one of those pollinating any offspring and probably any tree that pollinates the parent too but I can be wrong πŸ™‚

        Nice name πŸ™‚ and I do like that tiny TM, have no idea how You do it though. I know there’s something that have lots of symbols but I have no idea how to get to it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Christer.

        September 7, 2014 at 1:31 pm

  3. Happy Birthday Hector and Orvar!!!
    I must say, this post is just bursting with beautiful photos!
    Enjoy your lovely weather. We are having much of the same.
    I hope everyone’s tummys feel better soon!

    September 6, 2014 at 2:04 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      The boys says thank You πŸ™‚

      Today and tomorrow will be this wonderful and on Monday the raining starts again.

      I guess it’ll take a few days until their stomachs are back in business again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2014 at 3:04 pm

  4. Thank you for the chuckles! That sheep picture is hilarious!!!
    And happy birthday to the dogs πŸ™‚
    Your pictures are as amazing as ever… My Mom says Finns hold the longest grudges πŸ™‚
    I hope you have a great day too!
    Alice

    September 6, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    • Hi Alice!

      πŸ™‚ I do like that sheep and it is now my favorite amongst them all. My neighbor has plenty now but this one will be easy to spot with its dreads πŸ™‚

      The boys says thank You πŸ™‚

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚ I think that Orvar actually is slightly worse πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So far my day has been rather great πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2014 at 6:10 pm

  5. jz

    happy birthday to the boys! sorry they have wobbly tummies! what kind of apples are they? we were i the mountains this morning and there was a young boy selling apples on the side of the road. i asked how much they were and he said 5.00 a bag. he had picked them all himself. i expected a small grocery size bag but he handed me a large garbage sized bag. i only took a few but what a bargain! i also found some pumpkins! but, yuck….it is still stinking hot and humid here.

    September 6, 2014 at 6:59 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      The boys says thank You πŸ™‚

      They come from a tree I’ve sowed myself so they have no name, yet πŸ™‚

      That was a bargain! We’re having a bad apple year here, late frost destroyed almost all flowers so I guess Swedish apples will be expensive this winter.

      All my pumpkins rotted after the heavy showers we had and all the tomato plants too.

      It will stay nice tomorrow too but on Monday it will start to rain again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 6, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  6. Hi Christer,
    Happy Birthday to the boys. You gave me an out loud laugh when you listed the other names for the dogs. I totally understand. Great looking sheep, and I love their dreads. The descriptions of the dogs’ personalities also gave me a laugh. I have a dog who thinks she is in charge and is prone to talking back. She is feisty and is also darn funny.

    I saw some changing leaves which definitely says fall is coming. My fall flowers are in bloom, and the garden still looks lovely. The days this whole week have been ugly with humidity. My air conditioner is on even now. The rain they predicted hasn’t appeared yet.

    Have a great evening!

    September 6, 2014 at 8:27 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The boys says thank You πŸ™‚

      I say those things so often that they respond to it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It is a cool looking sheep πŸ™‚ Sune is more of a dog answering to what I’m saying, like Are You hungry and then he responds in the same way every time and it’s impossible not to understand that he is πŸ™‚

      I still have a few flowers that aren’t open yet so I do hope for a long and warm autumn. But autumn is definetaly here now, we even have trees without leafs now. It is warm Scandinavian warm here so stuill far away from needing an AC πŸ™‚ It doesn’t look as if the thgunderstorms hit You when looking at the lightning map.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 8:18 am

  7. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –
    Happy Birthday to Orvar & Hector. I didn’t know they were siblings. The photos look great even with the tongues hanging out. Now I can see that Hector has a much narrower head & face than Orvar with his broad The brothers certainly had a dramatic birth. It must have been such a relief to you that their mom & at least 4 puppies survived such a complicated birth. How long did you have their mother Erna? I always think of Hector as your “special needs” dog. I didn’t know Orvar had some quirks too. Hopefully they will all be feeling better in a few days so they can enjoy their bone treats.
    It sounds like you had a rough few days at work this week with everything breaking down & having to be done manually. I can also understand your refusing to have to supervise school kids brought in to work a day. Are they brought in because they can be paid less or do the regulars want the day off?.
    Toby had surgery on her chin yesterday. The vet thinks it is a sarcoma based on the tissue he saw & felt & a second vet agreed. He cleaned the ulcer up & sutured the skin together. I decided not to pay for tissue pathology to be done. It would be expensive to confirm that it is cancerous & wouldn’t make a difference in the prognosis or treatment. I would never put her through having her lower jaw removed or chemotherapy which might only buy her an extra month or two. Eventually, they expect the ulcer will come back, burst & heal and then cycle again. The vet thinks it is a slower growing cancer & Toby may have another year or so.. At her age, any additional time is a bonus. When we got home she was still quite sedated from the bit of anesthesia she had. Her back legs did not work at all & she lay on her side spinning herself in circles on the wood floor. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry at such a sight. Then she was driven to try & pace for a few hours. On the carpet she was almost falling every few seconds, but then she would hit a patch of wood floor & go down. Finally I put her back in her carrier since she was supposed to be resting. Then she started rubbing her stitches until she started to bleed. I was able to get her to sleep in bed with me & she is much better this morning & ate her breakfast.

    Your photos today are lovely. Your sheep in dredlocks is adorable. I love how curly his wool coat is too. The mist makes the scenery look so clam & quiet.I noticed how low the moon has been in the sky this week. You got some great shots of it. It must be really nice to get some good eating apples from your own tree. Some apple varieties are just best eaten fresh from the tree. When I was a kid our family used to go to an orchard every fall & store baskets of apples out in the cold garage to use all winter.It isn’t normally consistently cold enough here in the winter to do that. My favorite eating apple is a McIntosh, but they are hard to find on the west coast. We are supposed to be around 95 degrees today. I am so hoping this is the last of our hot weather. By Monday it is supposed to go down to the mid 70s which is below normal by 15 degrees for this time of year. It will be nice to actually sleep with a blanket on at night again. I remember watching Keeping Up Appearances. My Mom loved that show & I would watch it with her on PBS when I stayed with her on the weekend. If I remember right that was the show with Mrs. Bucket who called herself Mrs. Buquet. Her family was such a strange group & yet every family could recognize some of themselves when you watched each show. The woman who played Mrs.
    Bucket was an amazing actress. My Mom told me she was quiet the famous dramatic actress when she was younger. She clearly had a talent for
    comedy too.

    September 6, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      The boys says thank You πŸ™‚

      They do actually look more different than most people can see but even I say the wrong names sometimes πŸ™‚ There are so many breeds in them so none of the siblings looked the same. Orvar look more like a Labrador and Hector towards German Shepheard and Border collie but bigger than both of them πŸ™‚ Orvar is very social and knows how to interact with all other animals but he is slow as molasses when it comes to the brain πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Their parents were siblings so I guess things like these were to be expected πŸ™‚

      I had Erna for 13,5 years, she was born in my kitchen in the cottage I lived before I moved here. Her mother was the mother of all living things even if they didn’t want her to be πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Erna was my little girl but to be honest, she was a pretty nasty one and demanded that all othger dogs and cats should treat her as the queen of the universe or else she bit them πŸ™‚

      Too bad for Toby! I would do just like You and make her life as comfortable as possible for as long as it lasts. She’s an old Lady so putting her through a treatment that wouldn’t help especially much and most likely be awful would be cruel. They are always behaving odd when waking up from surgery and I guess it must be much worse for a Lady in her age. I’m glad she’s better today!

      I do like that sheep and I think it is another breed than they have now, I could just see this one clearly of the three that goes in a pasture of their own but I guess the two others are like this one.

      I was lucky to get such a delicious apple from a kernel. It is both rather big and tasteful, not always the fact when sowing apples. I have another tree that has tiny but sweet apples, one need six of those apples compared to a normal sized one. Besides this one my favorite apple is one we call Aroma. I guess it wouldn’t work well down south because it needs cold winters. I’ve never tried a Mcintosh but I have heard of it.

      I do like Keeping up Appearances πŸ™‚ So I hope I have this channel next week too πŸ™‚ Yes her family was a strange one indeed πŸ™‚ Two really poor sisters and one really rih Nad then we have her son πŸ™‚

      Yes Patricia Routledge is a fantastic dramatic actress and she has even been on Brodway for a few years I’ve read. Most of the British actors/ actresses are good in both drama and comedy.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 8:43 am

  8. Great pictures as always, Christer. Mele is about the same age as your dogs. She will catch up with them in November.
    I don’t remember you making coffee before. Usually it’s tea. Be sure and take a picture of your apple pie. Maybe I will make one tomorrow too. Sounds good!

    September 7, 2014 at 3:59 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      It happens occasionally that I make coffee. I always have some at home for visitors. I drink a lot of it at work though but here at home it’s usually tea I have in my cup πŸ™‚

      I never made an apple pie, I decided I wanted to eat these as they are, I only get a few every year so I better enjoy them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 8:45 am

  9. Caryn

    On my Mac Option plus the 2 key pressed together = β„’. Option key is Alt key on PC’s. Don’t know what it would do on a Swedish keyboard though.

    September 7, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    • Most likely not the same πŸ™‚
      Nothing at all as it happens πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find that thing I’m talking about πŸ™‚
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 6:11 pm

      • Caryn

        Try Alt plus 0153. Good luck pressing all of them at the same time. πŸ™‚

        September 8, 2014 at 3:14 pm

      • Nope nothing happened and it wasn’t easy to do that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        September 8, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

