He’s really big this one.

DSC_0005

I’ve done my chores for the day, the laundry that is and now it’s hanging outside in the sunshine and wind to dry. We’re having another rather wonderful day here, the wind is perhaps a bit strong but I don’t mind. The troll spindles (the Swedish name on dragonflies for those of You that doesn’t know that) flies around outside my open kitchen door catching the flies that seems to love hanging around there and in my kitchen. It’s tha big kind so I hope at least one of them can sit down and relax for just a short moment so I can get a photo or two of it.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

 

One of my neighbors honeybees insisted on going in to my kitchen the other day, I got her out after a while just to see her trying to get inside again. The last time she did this I told her that I would have a chat with her owner if she didnΒ΄t stop this and finally she went away πŸ™‚ Yes all honeybees are females and sisters to the queen. The males only live for a short time, until they have done what they are supposed to. After that they are either killed or pushed out from the hive, left to starve to death. It’s the same with Bumblebees, wasps and ants too. So it is rather surprising that when they do animated movies with these animals they always make them male πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

My neighbor walked by this morning and told me he had met my little friend from the forest and I knew exactly what he was talking about πŸ™‚ He had been sitting in one of the hunting towers when suddenly that huge wild boar had walked towards him. It had been watching him from all angles and then he slowly had walked in to the forest again. I wonder if he understood that the rifle my neighbor had brought was too small to kill him? They are truly smart so I wouldn’t be surprised if he actually understood that. I do like it when more people than I see this huge animal because I will always be the one from the big city and most likely exaggerate the size on any animal I see πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0020

I do like this kind of grass. The straw is so thin that it's hard to see all they way to the seeds.

I do like this kind of grass. The straw is so thin that it’s hard to see all they way to the seeds.

DSC_0022

 

He said that he once had seen a boar that had weighed 120kg (around 265 pound) and that one had been much smaller than our friend πŸ™‚ So he guessed that our boar might weigh up to 170Kg (around 375 pound) πŸ™‚ Normally all hunters unload their rifles when walking home from a hunt but yesterday both he and his hunting friend didn’t just in case they would meet the boar again πŸ™‚ But I’ve read that it isn’t these big ones we have to worry about, they know their strength and what they can do to us and they know we know too. It’s the smaller ones we must look out for because they feel the need to prove themselves before other boars and sows.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and after that a walk I think. I hope the wind is strong enough to keep those nasty moose flies away because I want to walk out to the bog. I normally avoid doing that this time of year when those nasty flies are around.

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

It's so fun. All tropaeolums growing towards south has this color and all growing towards north has the one in the photo below.

It’s so fun. All Tropaeolum growing towards south has this color and all growing towards north has the one in the photo below.

DSC_0033

 

Have a great day!

 

Nicotiana sylvestris can get rather high, this one is higher than I am and I'm six feet high :-)

Nicotiana sylvestris can get rather high, this one is higher than I am and I’m six feet high πŸ™‚

A passion fruit. Not the kind we eat though but most likely edible if it has anything inside. Sometimes they create fruits even if the flowers never got pollinated.

A passion fruit. Not the kind we eat though but most likely edible if it has anything inside. Sometimes they create fruits even if the flowers never got pollinated.

DSC_0036

12 responses

  1. jz

    that is a big wild boar. i think i would faint if i ran into one of those on a walk! today is the home opener for NFL football! what an exciting day. i wait for it all year long. and the best is, it is nice and cool outside. i have my windows open ad a fan blowing i the cool air. how wonderful! some days life is really good!

    September 7, 2014 at 10:53 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      I think one would be too busy thinking out ways to flee to be able to faint πŸ™‚ But he’s so big that he has no need to attack, thankfully πŸ™‚

      I’ll have a very tired workfriend at work tomorrow, I know he wants to see the first games of the season

      Really nice day over here too, the last of them they say, tomorrow the rain will arrive again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 11:08 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Wow. What a boar! πŸ˜‰ I wouldn’t want to meet a boar of any size in the forest. It’s scary enough meeting skunks. πŸ™‚

    I like that fine grass, too. There’s some like that here and it looks so ethereal in the low morning light. I haven’t been able to get a good shot of it.

    The dogs and I just came back from the morning walk. It’s lovely and cool outside compared to what we have had the past many days. It started out cloudy but now is mostly sunny. I have all the windows open and the AC is off for the first time in over a week. The fans are still on low because moving air is always nicer.

    I still have a bit of laundry to put in the dryer and that’s it for the day.

    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    September 7, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Still they say that our wild hogs are much smaller than the ones living on the continent πŸ™‚ I sort of hope they don’t shoot this one since I now know that the bigger they are the more relaxed they are.

      I guess yhat grass grows all around the northern hemisphere. It is hard to get a good photo of it even when there’s dew on it.

      I’m glad it is cooler over at Yours now, I so understand why You have AC’s after two summers with long periods of heat waves here and still our temperatures were nothing to what You can have πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      Almost everything has dried now, still a t-shirt that seems to refuse to dry at all though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 1:27 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Wow, that boar sounds like he’s a big one!! I don’t think I’d like to meet any kind of boar in the forest – their size alone would scare me! We too are having a surprisingly wonderful weather day. It is supposed to get to 26 degrees but its just after 11:00 a.m. and its still sitting at 17 – but you never know! I made dill pickles today, have 2 chickens cooking in the slow cooker and chocolate chip cookys πŸ™‚ that just came out of the oven. Next I am going to go to the garden. I did all my laundry yesterday which is a bonus – it frees me up a little when it doesn’t stretch over 2 days. What kind of flower is the purple and white one you took a picture of? So pretty!!!! Your nicotiana is massive!! Ours never gets that high – but maybe different type. I love the smell. Have a good Sunday evening!

    September 7, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      He sure was and I have to admit that he was rather magnificent looking! Now when I know these old and big ones won’t care about me as long as I don’t chase them or corner them I won’t be scared if I meet him again. But if I happen to come across a smaller one I will walk the other way very fast πŸ™‚

      Temperature can change very fast so don’t hope to much yet πŸ™‚

      I’ve had no energy to make any kind of food today so I’ll have to buy dinner at work tomorrow. I better make some tomorrow evening though because I’ll work over time on Tuesday and my dogs and I won’t be home until 9pm in the evening, just in time to go to bed πŸ™‚

      The purple and white flower is a clematis, don’t know the variety name on it though. I have it as a ground cover where the pond used to be.

      This nicotiana is supposed to become high but perhaps not this high πŸ™‚ It’s the only nicotiana that likes to grow in shadow and it smells heavenly from early evening to late morning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 7, 2014 at 4:36 pm

  4. Christer,
    It seems you always have flies. I’d want the winter just to get rid of them.

    You have so much to see on all your walks. I do have horses in the field a few blocks from me. There is also a stable and a house on the property. The land went for sale a few years ago, and the town bought it to keep out anyone who might want to build. When I went by the other day, there were 5 or 6 horses in the field grazing.

    I love all the pictures of the flowers and the fruit. They look beautiful in the sunlight.

    Have a wonderful day!

    September 8, 2014 at 1:48 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes we have flies all the time and most of the nasty ones too, the price for living beside a bog I’m afraid πŸ™‚ Winter won’t get rid of them, as soon as I start having a fire in the stove on a daily basis they start flying around inside the cottage instead πŸ™‚ Ok that’s just for a very short time, they die rather quickly then.

      This is truly the countryside πŸ™‚ and this county have more horses than any other in the entire country.

      I do like my flowers but they did take a very long time to start flowering this year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 8, 2014 at 5:15 pm

  5. Hi…the difference between the look and attitude between Teodor and Bertil is so different. Your flowers are huge…do you feed them something or do they just grow that big in Sweden.
    I have heard horror stories of Boars going on the attack..I mean what on earth would you do, Christer, if you were out walking and that huge one decided to take after you. Between the bog and huge Boars ..I’m glad the dogs are with you..but would there really be anything they could do?
    Is there some sort of safety thing you are supposed to do if confronted by one? I doubt you could outrun one. Are the dogs a deterent?
    They tell people that are threatened by bears to play dead…and that never fails to make me laugh. I don’t think it would work for me. I had one run in with a bear…and when it happened, I had NO idea how dangerous they could be.
    This one was injured..which put me in worse danger..but I didn’t know..and got a stick and yelled and waved the stick around and luckily he ran off up the hill into the Forest. Shortly after a jeep with Forest Rangers came up the hill (late at night) and said be careful, we are tracking a wounded bear..and he has come this way and he is very dangerous! ” Never went on another camping trip in the Sequoia National Park. I was just lucky and I had six very young sleeping children and my husband in a tent just behind me. I had heard a noise and came out to see him devouring our food supply. He was eating our food after breaking into the chest it was stored in…
    The thought of a wild animal of the size you describe would…keep me indoors. πŸ™‚

    September 8, 2014 at 2:32 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes those two are like night and day πŸ™‚ Perennials and some annuals have a tendensy to grow bigger the further north they live. It has to do with how much daylight they get. So they are usually huge uop by the polar circle.

      We’v had a few nasty atytacks from boars here too lately and all of them have been smaller ones that needs to prove themselves. So now I’m less afraid of this one than any small one πŸ™‚ But they could easily kill me if they wanted too. Mostoy however they walkj away long before I even come close.

      I have actually no idea if there’s any safety thing to do, like with bears. Here they say that one should make lots of noise while hiking because the bears will walk away if they hear us. I guess You did the right thing that time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ WeΓ€’ve had some really nasty bear attacks lately and I doubt that anything would have helped those being attacked.

      I trust that huge boar now but I sure hope I never have to meet him that close again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 8, 2014 at 5:22 pm

  6. Susan

    Thanks for the amazing pictures! And the witty commentary…..

    September 8, 2014 at 4:31 pm

    • Hi Susan!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 8, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Leave a Reply

