He’ll be the end of me one day :-)

The photos will be a mix from yesterday and today, the sunny ones are from yesterday, today has been grey and rainy.

The photos will be a mix from yesterday and today, the sunny ones are from yesterday, today has been grey and rainy. No dreads on this one πŸ™‚

I’m pretty sure that Orvar one day will kill me, totallyΒ unconsciously but still he will kill me. I don’t know how he does it but suddenly he just stands behind me and when I turn around and tries to walk way I fall over him. Or like now when I stood up from the chair meaning to go to my pot of tea and realises that he’s lying just beside me when I stumble on him. I mean, he’s a big dog and he shouldn’t be able to just be there without me knowing it πŸ™‚

 

It looks like the entire Smurf community have moved to my part of the world :-)

It looks like the entire Smurf community have moved to my part of the world πŸ™‚

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0036

 

One drawback of having four black dogs is that they are impossible to see in the dark. Like when I’m going to bed and think the big boys are sleeping downstairs, Nova in my bed and Sune beside me. I can’t turn on the light in my bedroom until I reach my bed so there’s about four meters (much the same in yards) of total darkness (in autumn and winter) before I can see anything. Nine times out of ten Hector sleeps beside the chimney, which I have to pass on my way to my bed. It’s hard to see where to fall best too when it is ark and I also scare the poor dog. One could think that any of us would learn one day that this most likely will happen, every night but oh no πŸ™‚

 

Lots still in bloom in my garden, like the Californian poppy.

Lots still in bloom in my garden, like the Californian poppy.

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

Illiamna remota.

Illiamna remota.

I really want to see that thistle flower before the frost comes, it is a Berkheya purpurea.

I really want to see that thistle flower before the frost comes, it is a Berkheya purpurea.

 

Only one of all the dogs that I’ve had living with me has been black, she was a Golden Retriever mix and had that deep golden color that I love so much. To be honest, most of my dogs has been born in my home and since their mothers and fathers been black it’s no surprise they too was born black. Nova was an emergency move so I didn’t choose that color and Sune was the only male dog in that litter and I wanted a male one and once I had met him I just couldn’t look after another dog πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0020DSC_0021

DSC_0023

 

I’ve never understood people who say no to a dog because of its color?! I’m not a superstitious person and I doubt that the color has anything to do with how a dog turns out or that the color in any way would affect my life, well beside tripping over them in the dark πŸ™‚ I’ve also had a few black cats and they have been just wonderful, no one ever even close to be as nasty as Bertil the cat usually is πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0035DSC_0037DSC_0039

 

It’s time for that pot of tea and something to eat. No blog tomorrow because I’ll work overtime and my dogs and I won’t be home until it is time to go to bed. I really wish I hadn’t agreed to this πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. you need to bring a torch with you when you go to bed!!!! Those are amazing Toad stools, wow they are so bright! I have never heard of a person choosing a dog on color, but it does not surprise me, we choose our animal friends by first impressions but more often they chose us,,, they were all strays, lol!!! We have always been stray magnetst!!! Always, cats and dogs, they always ended up on our door step, I don’t know why,,,

    September 8, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      The problem is that I usually forget it the next morning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      They are my favorite mushrooms! Lots of them this year too.

      It is common that black dogs and cats are the last to be adopted or bought, especiallly in the USA but it happens a lot here too. Superstition is a great power I’m afraid.
      I think we already are too many here for strays to dare going to my home but they would be welcome if they did. They normally move to the farm next door or any of the other farms around here. They all allow stray cats because they eat so many rats πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 10, 2014 at 5:05 pm

  2. Great pictures as always.

    Ah, don’t badmouth Bertil. He looks like a wonderful cat! But maybe I’m glad he isn’t in our neighborhood. My husband saw a strange cat out in our yard last night and tried to scare him off. But one of ours is limping today so maybe they had a confrontation first.

    September 8, 2014 at 8:49 pm

    • HI Joyce F!

      I never badmouth Bertil, I just tell the truth πŸ™‚ He is a truly nasty cat but he’s still charming in his own strange way πŸ™‚

      Bertil fights with anything so he has an ugly wound on his head right now but it seems to be healing good thankfully.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 10, 2014 at 5:07 pm

  3. jz

    i call teddy the stealth puppy. she is right under my feet and i never hear her coming. how she does this i will never know! ugh…overtime. do you take the pups with you to work?

    September 8, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Some dogs are like that πŸ™‚ Sune however is always so close that I can feel him and he really needs to have his claws cut now πŸ™‚

      Yes I brought them with me, so they spent the day in an ac controlled office. Nova sat on my boss desk watching out a window almost all day exceot when she slept on his computer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 10, 2014 at 5:09 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I thought Smurfs were blue. πŸ™‚

    Here is what I did about blackness and dogs underfoot; I got some of those battery operated plastic pillar candles that run for 5 hours shut themselves off and then turn on again at the same time the next night. You can find them on Amazon. I set them to go on at 11PM and put one in a lantern on the kitchen floor and another on the bathroom floor. I have to walk through the kitchen to get to the bathroom. When I get up, the dogs get up and follow me. It’s nice to have just enough light to see where they are. I haven’t stepped on anyone since I did that. I have some outside on the stairs, too, so there’s a welcoming light when I come home late. Sort of like the candle you have on your stairs except not real fire.
    Barring that there are various kinds of rope lights and flat fibers that are solar activated, can be cut to any length and have long glow times. You could make collars for everyone. It would be really weird in the middle of the night to see glowing things moving about or sleeping next to you but you probably wouldn’t trip over them. πŸ™‚

    Only one of my dogs has been mostly black. The others have been tan, red, or white with tan or white with black. All of my cats but two have been tuxedo cats or solid black. One was a calico and the other was grey and black striped. The grey and black striped one was mean. Like Bertil. πŸ™‚

    We went to the lake early this morning. It was a bit windy and cool and the sun was low enough and bright enough to be blinding. Doubly blinding actually because the reflections off the water were just as bright.

    Almost forgot, what are those yellow flowers growing under the thistle? They look like balloons or thumbless mittens.

    Enjoy the day and don’t work too hard tomorrow.

    September 8, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes Smurfs are blue but they live in houses looking just like red toadstools πŸ™‚

      I’ve tried to find candles like that but they have others that can’t be adjusted like that. I have to turn them on and off if I want anything to happen πŸ™‚ and I never remeber to bring the flashlight with me from the bedroom in the morning πŸ™‚ I could of course go in to the bedroom while I have the lights on where my tv is, turn on the light and go back to the tv room and turn off the lighst there and then go back again πŸ™‚

      I’ve had two orange (including Teodor) Three black ones and Bertilthe evil one πŸ™‚

      We’ve had rather nice weather here again and really foggy mornings, so thick fog that I had problems driving to work this morning πŸ™‚

      Those are Slipper flowers (Calceolaria mexicana). Very easy to sown and likes it a bit shady.

      I did work too hard πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 10, 2014 at 5:16 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer!!! You need to be like the children’s nursery rhyme Jack Be Nimble. He has a candlestick!! You could walk with a candlestick up to your bed and not break your neck doing so! πŸ™‚ I am tripping over our dogs all the time. They have a good habit of standing just right there! I think there is no reason why the color of an animal should hinder whether you get them or not. I have had all colors and love them all just the same!! Good luck with the overtime tomorrow night – I get to do that Thursday night. I hate it but it is part of my job. Collecting the overtime hours is really nice tho! πŸ™‚ We are due colder temps starting tonight so I think most of what is left in my garden will not bloom past the cold. We got snow in 2 provinces to the west of us today. That’s not right!! Have a good Wednesday!

    September 8, 2014 at 11:43 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Jack Be Nimble is totally unknown here πŸ™‚ I could use a flashlΓΆight but I usually forget to bring it with me in the morning πŸ™‚

      Superstition is a great force I’m afraid and black cats and dogs are always the last to go when bought or adopted, especially in the USA but here also I’m afraid. I’ve never cared about the color of any dogs but it would be nice to have one that wasn’t black for once πŸ™‚

      So far it’s warm and nice, even at nights which is odd. So I still have hopes to be able to see those flowers that still haven’t opened up. No cold weather in sight from what I’ve heard.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 10, 2014 at 5:22 pm

  6. Christer,
    I do love those mushrooms. They could be gnome houses in the garden. The color is amazing and I haven’t ever seen one around here.

    You could keep a small flashlight near the door so you can find your way to the light without stepping on the dog. Luckily for me Gracie, who is dark though not black, stays in the den with me or sleeps in her crate. She’d never go upstairs without me. Maggie, the boxer before Gracie, used to go upstairs and sleep on my bed. I do have a black cat but she sleeps on a quilt in the guest room so I don’t worry about stepping on her.

    Have a great eveing!

    September 9, 2014 at 12:41 am

    • Hi Kat!

      They are my favorite mushrooms! and the blue smurfs live in houses that look just like red toadstools πŸ™‚

      I almost never remember to bring back the flashlight so the next evening I must go to the bedroom in the dark to get it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      My dogs go all over this cottage so I never really know ewhere they are unless I’m eating. Then they always are close to me πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christrer.

      September 10, 2014 at 5:24 pm

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Christer, I am late in catching up on blog reading and commenting, but after reading this post and all the suggestions…here’s mine, color code all the black dogs with glow-in-the-dark paint πŸ™‚
    OK, just kidding on the paint thought, but seriously it must be a huge problem to move around and not fall over a dog and darker times are coming soon with the onset of fall and winter and shorter daylight hours. So, maybe the paint idea?
    Very nicely colored mushrooms and waiting to see the blue smurfs next!

    September 10, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Good idea!

      I could go in to the bedroom and turn on the light befor turning it of in the other room and then go back and turn it of in the tv room. I could also get an electrician here to wire the room so I can turn on the light where the tv is and turn it of in the bedroom. Knowing me I’ll most likely keep on stumbling on dogs for a long time πŸ™‚

      I’ve been looking everywhere but no smurfs so far πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 10, 2014 at 7:13 pm

Leave a Reply

