Half a century ago.

The night sky. I think one must see this photo in the dark to be able to see anything at all :-)So many stars and galaxies I normally don't see, cameras are fantastic in that way.

The night sky. I think one must see this photo in the dark to be able to see anything at all :-)So many stars and galaxies I normally don’t see, cameras are fantastic in that way.

Half a century ago, early in the morning this should have been two egg triplet was born. They discovered me when my mother had a miscarriage and my identical twin never developed as he should and parts of him has been removed surgically, from my buttocks πŸ™‚ well just beside my tailbone tobe honest because it caused an inflammation. I have most likely more parts in there somewhere but as long as he doesn’t argue with me I’ll let him stay.

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

These four photos are all I took today, the rest is a mix from before.

These four photos are all I took today, the rest is a mix from before.

 

I have a paid day of from work today since it is my half century birthday. I had planned to go to a cafΓ© to have a pot of coffee and a Budapest pastry or if they wouldn’t have that some Swedish Schwarzwald cake. The original Schwarzwald cake is a chocolate cake and the Swedish one is a nut meringues cake. But instead I spent some time at the vet office. Nova has a really bad ear infection this time. We stopped the latest treatment on Thursday and she was back to her happy self again but then on the night towards Saturday she started flapping her ears so bad that she woke me up in the middle of the night.

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0003

DSC_0005 - kopia

 

So I cleaned her ears and started the treatment again. As soon as I had done that she stopped flapping er ears and everything seemed ok. At least until yesterday afternoon when Sune showed a too big interest in her right ear. I thought it was because of his intense licking her ear was soaked but it turns out that puss was running out of the ear. So now she takes really strong pills for ten days and after that I’ll continue with the other stuff we already have used.Β 

 

This is an unusually looking red toadstool. Normally it's deeo red and spotted but this one was almost pink from the beginning and no spots, more like circular strings.

This is an unusually looking red toadstool. Normally it’s deeo red and spotted but this one was almost pink from the beginning and no spots, more like circular strings.

DSC_0011

Bertil and Salmiak. Good friends now and Salmiak thought it was ok to come to us as well but Teodor was anything but happy!

Bertil and Salmiak. Good friends now and Salmiak thought it was ok to come to us as well but Teodor was anything but happy!

 

I was lucky to get the old vet and he had the same thoughts about the vet I met last Friday πŸ™‚ He said that it doesn’t matter how good grades or how a good vet You are if You can’t handle the human in the right way. She hadn’t even said hi to him when they met the other week. He will continue to work there because he loves the job, he just don’t love the new demands they put on every vet now days. They have never used computers in this vet station but that is now a demand and all nurses must from now on have a license. His nurses have worked there for ages and knows very well what to do, when to do it and how. So until they get that license they aren’t allowed to work as animal nurses. I would trust them with my animal’s life but that counts for nothing I’m afraid.

 

The Aronia is turning red.

The Aronia is turning red.

A Monkshood I once sowed. I think it's quite rare but I can't for my life remember its name :-)

A Monkshood I once sowed. I think it’s quite rare but I can’t for my life remember its name πŸ™‚

Jerusalem artichoke, perennial sunflower.

Jerusalem artichoke, perennial sunflower.

 

So no pastry or cake for me today but I got a surprising text message on my phone when I was waiting at the vet office, my newest neighbors (the ones with the bees) invited me for a piece of apple pie later tonight :-)I guess they had seen an ad in the papers this morning. The news papers put in ads when someone has his/ hers 50th, 60th 65th and so on birthday. I haven’t said anything and I doubt anyone in the village knows when I’m born.

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0048

DSC_0057

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0008

18 responses

  1. Christer,
    Many happy returns today and a hearty Happy Birthday. You have reached a milestone. Congratulations!

    Because my birthday is in the summer, I always have the day off. It is also the day I retired so I always have to reasons to celebrate.

    Sorry about Nova’s ear, but it sounds as if you’re on top of it. Poor baby! I always hate it when one of my animals, my babies, gets sick. Luckily the cats seldom go to the vets and Gracie has only gone for well dog visits.

    Cold here this morning. I hope for a few more warms days as I refuse to turn on the heat in September. My sister in Colorado has already had snow.

    Enjoy your special day today!!

    September 15, 2014 at 2:11 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Thank You πŸ™‚ As I said at work, all I can look forward to now is death πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Just joking πŸ™‚

      I would have been grumpy if my birthday had been on the weekend this year, a paid day off from work is just fair I think πŸ™‚

      Her ear is built to get infections the vet once told me so I always have to be alert and check it often but this happens anyway. I hate that too and thankfully both cats and Sune seems to never get sick. Well Bertil is fighting all the time but his wounds are usually easy to fix πŸ™‚

      I was going to start a fire in thew stove today but the sun shiowed itself just in time to stop me πŸ™‚

      I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 15, 2014 at 2:23 pm

  2. jz

    happy birthday christer!!! you are joining the old bunch of us!!! how nice that they give you the day off. sorry to hear about nova’s ear. it is so hard to handle these infections. i am still fighting the one in teddy’s eyes. it’s nice that your neighbors invited you over for pie! enjoy your day! joyce

    September 15, 2014 at 3:21 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Yes it is a nice thing to do and I’m so glad my birthday was on a Monday and not the weekend πŸ™‚

      Yes this infection has stayed around for quite some time and I really thought it was over for this time but oh how wrong I was.
      So Teddy’s eye still isn’t better either, I sure hope it will be better soon!

      Yes apple pie is never wrong πŸ™‚
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 15, 2014 at 4:06 pm

  3. Birgit

    Happy Birthday Christer! Also to your part twin brother wherever he is.
    May your day continue better than it started and end up really great. Enjoy the apple pie. I reached the 50 in summer and so far I like this age and can recommend it.
    Thanks for blogging, I still enjoy your beautiful photos whenever my time allows. Living in a light polluted area I’m always a little bit jealous when I see your great moon and night sky pictures πŸ˜‰

    September 15, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    • Hi Birgit!

      Thank You and I’m pretty sure my twin says tha same πŸ™‚

      Nice to see that death isn’t around the corner quite yet πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Now I’m looking forward to retirement in around 15-17 years πŸ™‚

      I’m glad You like my photos and the only reason it’s so light clean here is because very few wants to live here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 15, 2014 at 4:09 pm

  4. Dianna

    HI Christer!! Happy half a century old!! My husband turns that in a few weeks too!! πŸ™‚ Sorry you didn’t get any cake but kind of your neighbor to invite you over – very nice!!!! And you get the day off, that’s really nice!! Poor Nova! I hope this does the trick! Those ears are tricky! Love the mushroom pics! Enjoy your birth day!

    September 15, 2014 at 3:42 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I can buy a cake later though and I’ll get apple pie instead and that’s not bad πŸ™‚ and a day of is always a good thing πŸ™‚

      I do hope so too! Hear right ear is just a mess right now.

      I do like those poisonous mushrooms and the red toadstool is acxtually a Christmas symbol here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      September 15, 2014 at 4:11 pm

  5. kmac22

    Happy Birthday, Christer! How nice you get the day off–I usually work. Not sure I would appreciate the newspaper blaring my age to everyone in town! lol Treat yourself to something nice.

    September 15, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    • Hi kmac22!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I can’t say I complain about being at home and still get paid πŸ™‚

      They have always done that here but I think one can tell the papers not to write anything and it’s also possible to tell the papers what to write in that little ad.

      I’ll find something to treat myself with on Friday instead and I did get lots of delicious apple pie just now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 15, 2014 at 7:09 pm

  6. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Happy Birthday! A half century of wisdom is yours. With apple pie, too. Lucky man. πŸ™‚ You should still have the Schwarzwald cake, too, (even if it isn’t Schwarzwald kirsch torte which I loooooove).

    They give you a day off for your 50th birthday? Wow. I got black balloons taped around the top of my cube and mylar teddy bear confetti scattered all over my computer terminal. One of the guys tried to tell me the balloons symbolized black pearls which everyone knows are rare, precious and valuable. Yeah. Right. Nice try. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Telling those nurses they can’t work as animal nurses until they get licensed is depriving them of their normal income. Anyone who is already doing that job should be grandfathered in and given their license. When my state went to statewide licensing for massage therapists, I only had to show that I had graduated from an approved program, had insurance and was licensed to operate in the community where I was employed as a massage therapist. And pay the huge licensing fee, of course. πŸ™‚
    Originally the state didn’t want to grandfather us in which would have meant that all massage therapists who weren’t registered nurses or working with a physician or physical therapist would have had to stop immediately and go back to school for the amount of hours they needed to meet the requirement. Some therapists who had been in business for over 15 years hadn’t gone to school at all. It wasn’t required when they started and their city licensing grandfathered them in. They would have had to spend several thousands of dollars and be out of work for over a year in order to qualify. That would have been a huge economic hardship for many. The professional associations fought that version of the law and it didn’t pass.

    Enjoy your birthday and the apple pie and the rest of the evening.

    September 15, 2014 at 6:50 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thank You πŸ™‚ It can also be half a century of folishness πŸ™‚ I think I’ll by myself a Budapest pastry or Schwarzwald cvake on Friday instead. I wonder why we changed it so dramatically here? But it is one of our favorite cakes and the Budapest pastry is very similar in taste to be honest. I’ve never tried the real Schwarzwald cake though.

      Yes they do and I wonder if all businesses do like that here, I think so but I’m not sure.

      Nice try with those black balloons πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I agree in all You say but from what I understood they had to get that license by passing some tests, almost all education is free here but they stilkl most likely have to take loans to be able to survive their bills. Much smarter to do like they did in Your state!

      I did enjoy that pie to the fullest and we had very fun talking about my old home town where she lives too at the moment and we talked about the results of the elections yesterday, a bit scary to be honest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 15, 2014 at 7:18 pm

  7. happy birthday to you! What an interesting beginning you had to this life,, I hope Nova’s ears heal fast!!!

    September 15, 2014 at 11:12 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I didnΓ€’t notice much about it though, except when they removed some parts of him πŸ™‚

      She got her apetite back this afternoon and that’s always a good sign πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2014 at 5:11 pm

  8. Susan

    Happy Birthday! Hope all is well with Nova.

    September 16, 2014 at 12:20 am

    • Hi Susan!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I think it’s going the right way already, she got her apetite back πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2014 at 5:12 pm

  9. Happy Birthday Christer! Welcome to the fifties πŸ™‚
    It sounds like you have a good day planned – I would take apple pie over cake any day πŸ™‚
    Our dog gets ear trouble a few times a year, and it smells really bad. We use some kind of drops for a week or so and it clears up. Luckily he is very cooperative getting the drops because he knows there is a treat when it’s done!
    Have a great night!
    Alice

    September 16, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    • Hi Alice!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      It was a really nice apple pie with lots of custard πŸ™‚ I’ll try to get some cake on Friday instead πŸ™‚

      I’ve used drops in Nova’s ears the entire summer. It works for a short while but then it’s back again. Her ear is made to get infections they said. But it looks like she’s getting better now, she got her apetite back today πŸ™‚ They all know treats comes after what ever I do with Novas ears so it is rather easy to give it to her πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 16, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Leave a Reply

