I got more today.

DSC_0003

Today became my Monday so I’m late πŸ™‚ I couldn’t do much of what I had planned since Nova is more important than anything so I had to do them today instead. Novas ear is still yucky but she got her appetite back and finally ate everything I gave her so that’s a good sign.

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

I got lots of delicious apple pie and even more custard yesterday evening πŸ™‚ I also got a jar with absolutely fresh honey from their new bee hive πŸ™‚ I really want to open up the jar right now to taste it but I still have some old honey left and I think I should finish that one first πŸ™‚ They say it’s rather sharp (but very delicious) in the taste and we all wonder what kind of flower gives sharp honey? Yarrow? because we have that everywhere here.

 

Is it a Bog Lady (forest nymph) or just a rotten tree stump? One never knows by the bog :-)

Is it a Bog Lady (forest nymph) or just a rotten tree stump? One never knows by the bog πŸ™‚

On the stage tonight: A new lingonberry bush :-)

On the stage tonight: A new lingonberry bush πŸ™‚

DSC_0014

 

We were two fifty years old men that got birthday presents from the factory owner today, my work friend had his birthday during our vacation so they thought it would be a good idea ti give him his present at the same time I got mine. We got a bouquet with Alstromerias, gerberas and hydrangeasΒ and also a gift certificate to the concert hall in Vara. Worth 500 Swedish kronor (around 77 US dollars). I’ve never been to that concert hall but I’ve heard it’s really nice and lots of our biggest stars go there when they are on tour. The Gothenburg Opera is there regularly and also the ballet. Well, ballet is something I’ve never understood but I do like opera.

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

The temperature fell down to 1C (34F) but it must have been during one minute or so because it rose to much higher degrees directly after that. I think it was the very thick fog that saved us from frost. It was so thick that it was hard to see the road on my way to work πŸ™‚ I also filled up my car on the way to work and I always want to cry a little while doing that πŸ™‚ Today it costed 14,68 swedish kronor per liter, that is around 8,58 US dollars per US gallons.

 

I ran out of photos from today so these three are from July.

I ran out of photos from today so these three are from July.

DSC_0059

DSC_0061

 

It’s time to have a pot of tea, something to eat and then watch some tv. The results of the elections You may ask about, I’ll tell You more about it on Thursday. The result was a mess and most of us believe in a new election quite soon πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. jz

    i can’t get over how they celebrate your birthday at work. that would never happen here. i also can’t believe how expensive your gas is! ours is about 3.28 per gallon. plus, you get credit on your food purchases so sometimes i only pay a little over 1.00 per gallon. we are going to warm up a bit and then get a lot colder. glad nova ate.!

    September 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is a rather nice way to celebrate the employees and we all get something for the same amount no matter if one is a worker or higher up in the hierarchy.

      It is so expensive to fill up the car and it’s teh same all over Europe. They put over 300% of taxes and environmental toppings on the price. If the environmentals could decide the price it would be even higher and no one wouyld be able to go to work. . per gallon πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ That’s so low I even can’t imagine it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It will stay much the same here for quite some time they say, chilly in the mornbings and pleasant during th days.

      I’m so glad too. She isn’t enthusiastic about it but she does eat πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 17, 2014 at 4:56 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, that sounded like a lovely evening!! Pie, custard AND honey. And then presents from work! Lucky guy you are! I am glad to hear Nova is feeling better, poor pup! I laughed out loud about your comment about the lingonberry bush being on stage! πŸ™‚ That was funny! I LOVE lingonberry anything! We only get it in jars (like a syrup) here but I would love to grow my own. They are so tasty! Like you, I cried a little yesterday when I filled up my Jeep. Gas here is $1.24/litre so not sure what that equals in kronors but its expensive no matter where! Cost me $42 Canadian and it was only half empty. Never easy to see your money go. Have a good Wednesday as I am sure its almost bedtime where you are!!

    September 16, 2014 at 6:40 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Could have been worse πŸ™‚

      Her ear is still yucky but it doesn’t contain any blood now. She isn’t enthusiastic about the food but she eats it anyway πŸ™‚

      I thought it just looked like a stage with the spot light right on the lingonberry bush πŸ™‚

      You are very swedish πŸ™‚ We have lingonberry jam on almost any food, especially meatballs but many have it on pancakes and even fish.

      They have actually grown special garden varieties of lingonberry bushes now and the berries tastes just the same but thrives in sunshine and the same soild rhododenrons like. As long as the soil doesn’t dry up too much one get lots of berries πŸ™‚

      You pay 33% less than us when it comes to petrol, for us that would be like getting it for free πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but it’s just painful to fill up the car anyway, compared to the people in the USA You pay a fortune πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 17, 2014 at 5:04 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Cute little lingonberry bush. Is that a good place for a lingonberry bush to start out?

    Apple pie, custard, honey, flowers, tickets to the concert hall. Nice birthday. πŸ™‚

    That honey will probably be excellent. When my friend first had her bees she got a huge amount of honey out of the hive and still had plenty to get her bees through winter. We all got bottles of honey as gifts. It was the best honey I’d had ever and I made it last a long time. It was good all by itself, like Nutella. πŸ™‚ I was sad when I ate the last spoonful. By then my friend’s hive had suffered one colony collapse and one very hard winter when the bees starved to death because they didn’t want to leave the bee ball to feed on the stored honey. My friend gave up her hive after that though she’s still involved with the bee enthusiasts.

    It’s sunny and in the mid-50’s F here right now. It’ll get a bit warmer before the day is over. We may have some frost later in the week.

    I’m waiting around for grocery delivery today so I’ll be doing laundry and other stay at home tasks until they show up.

    Glad to read that Nova is improved.

    Enjoy the day.

    September 17, 2014 at 2:07 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think it is a good place, I’ve seen plenty of lingonberry bushes growing on old tree stumps

      It could have been a worse birthday πŸ™‚

      I think so too πŸ™‚ So I want to open it up but still have it for as long as possible πŸ™‚ We all hope that this bee hive will go through winter without any prolems. No toxics are used in the area because all farmers are licensed ecological farmers so the thing we fear is the varroa mite but it looks like this hive is free from those nasty pests.

      We’ve had a rather nice day here, cool and foggy in the morning and pleasant warm the rest of the day. They say this will continue for quite some time πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad too! She isn’t enthusiastic about the food but she eats it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 17, 2014 at 5:10 pm

  4. Belated birthday wishes from Grenville and myself, Christer. I am a bit late on blog reading as we have been doing some travel and then working on downsizing projects like our recent yard sale with another one upcoming. Sorry to read that Nova wasn’t feeling well; ear infections are common with humans as well, just ask Grenville! Your fall colors and cooler temps will be most welcome here when they finally arrive, which will be a bit later on the VA eastern shore since we are warmer for a longer time. The birthday treats and the concert tickets sounded like wonderful gifts!

    September 18, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      I know that You’ve been busy and have lots to.

      I’ve never been an ear child myself thankfully but my older sister and broters all are so I know how bad it can be. But Nova is getting better day by day now. Today she even wanted to play with Sune after our walk, the ear is still yucky though but still a lot better than it was.

      No bad gifts at all πŸ™‚

      They had been saying we would have this rather nice weather for quite some time but they chanbged their minds yesterday so soon it will be much colder here but not cold enough to kill all those moose flies πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 18, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

