The last day with summer warmth?

DSC_0003

I woke up to a chilly and foggy early morning and it looked for a while as if the sun would break through the clouds but instead it turned and now later in the morning it’s even more dimmerΒ than it was before. I don’t mind really, I like fog but it would be nice if it was a bit warmer by now. This is after all the last day with summer warm weather, tomorrow real autumn weather will come and I guess we won’t see weather like this again for the rest of this year.

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

 

It is a bit surprising that Orvar reacts bad to even the slightest change in his dinner. He can eat the most disgusting things while we are out walking and nothing happens (well he does get a wobbly stomach sometimes and those times the things he has been eating is so disgusting that I don’t want to know what it was πŸ™‚ ) but the slightest change in his normal diet and his stomach goes berserk πŸ™‚ I bought that expensive food to mix with the ordinary so that Nova would start eating properly again, of course I must give all of them some and Orvar reacted directly. I’m so glad Nova wakes me up when he needs to go outside πŸ™‚ So once again I have boiled lots of rice to put in Orvars food πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0017

 

So how did it go in the Swedish elections You might wonder since I said I would tell You last Thursday. It didn’t go at all πŸ™‚ The only winner was the racists party. The government lost clearly but the opposition didn’t really win to be honest. The Social Democrats got more or less the same result as last election and so did the Left (former communists) The Environmental part had been rather cocky before the election and said they would be the third largest party, oh how wrong they were πŸ™‚ They became smaller than before and no one but themselves are surprised. Moderaterna( the conservative) lost almost 30% of their votes and the smaller right-wing parties stayed more or less at the same point as they were before. The racists however is now the third biggest party with almost 13% of our votes and are now the tip of the scale. Especially since the right-wing parties are very hesitant with cooperating with the coming middle to left government. Most of us are guessing we soon will have a new election, one tat most likely won’t solve a thing.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0026

 

Scotland voted no for independence from Great Britain and since I don’t live there I have no idea if that’s a good thing for them or not but I was surprised to know that any person living in Scotland that also is a citizen of the European Union was allowed to participate in the voting. I think that’s a bit strange to be honest, I understand that any British citizen living in Scotland could vote but Swedes and French people? I’m not sure I would like any people not even a citizen in my own country would be allowed to vote in such an important question if anything similar was going on here. Am I wrong doYouΒ think?

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0039

 

I think I’ll take a walk in the fog again now when there’s lots of light. Hopefully it’s so cold that the moose flies stay calm if we go to the bog. I’m so tired of finding them hiding in my clothes, especially since it can be hours since I even was close to home. After that I’ll start a fire in the stove unless the sun has started to shine again.

 

Seen from my not so clean kitchen door window.

Seen from my not so clean kitchen door window.

DSC_0008

DSC_0012

 

Have a great day!

 

Jay's aren't that common around houses here but my neighbor has a few smaller oaks with acorns, something the Jay loves. So I managed to get this photo while it was flying back to the forest. Their Swedish name is Nut screamer :-)

Jay’s aren’t that common around houses here but my neighbor has a few smaller oaks with acorns, something the Jay loves. So I managed to get this photo while it was flying back to the forest. Their Swedish name is Nut screamer πŸ™‚

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Poor Orvar. He doesn’t learn. Or maybe he really likes rice in his food and he just does it to get more. Hmm.

    Screamer seems a very apt name for almost every jay. They seem to spend a lot of time screaming at something. Here we have Blue Jays. I may start calling them Blue Screamers. They always sound so offended at whatever has made them scream, too.
    Lovely shots of the birds through your kitchen window. The yellow breasted one seems so self-satisfied in that second photo of him. All puffed up.

    It was 56ΒΊF in my house this morning. I turned on the heat and took the dogs for their walk until the house got up to 65 at which point it was a civilized temperature for taking a shower. The thermostat is now set at 60 just in case. I’ll have to remove the AC unit from the window before I turn on the heat permanently. It’s supposed to be sunny and warmer today. So far, it’s not.

    Letting non-British people vote in the election if they are living in Scotland and are European Union members is very odd. Would it have something to do with people who have permanent residence but not British citizenship? But then why limit it to European Union members? I’m sure people from non-European Union countries also have permanent residence in Scotland. Weird. The answer must be somewhere on the internet and if I really cared a whole lot, I would research. But I don’t. Not my sheep, not my haggis. πŸ™‚

    So are you saying that the Swedish election turned out to be a non-event? Everything stays the same except the party names have been changed to protect the guilty…I mean innocent. Sounds like here and we only have two parties. Well, one, actually: The Professional Politician Party.

    Enjoy the day.

    September 20, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Poor us I would say, he isn’t bothered by this at all πŸ™‚ Today it was so bad that it just ran out of him while we were walking πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I did think that they had to pour out dung somewhere because the smell never left us πŸ™‚ I had to wipe him clean with grass and yarrow. The yarrow took away the bad smell and replaced it with its own smell thankfully πŸ™‚ and he does like rice so …. πŸ™‚

      Yes they have a tendency to scream a lot πŸ™‚ Too bad that we don’t have Blue jays here, I do like how they look. Those and the Red cardinals are my favorite American birds because of their colors.
      It’s actually two different birds You can see in those photos πŸ™‚ The first one is a Great tit (we call them tallow ox) and the other one is a Blue tit. The Blue is much smaller but way more aggressive and it has to be if it will have any chance of surviving winter here.

      Much warmer in my home this morning but around 37 outside. No wind though so it was quite pleasant to be honest. We did get some sun after a long while and it has been fairly warm but not as I had hoped it to be, so I took a long nap instead πŸ™‚

      It is odd! There were two Swedish students living in Scotland that voted no for independence (probably more but they had interviewed them in the newspapers) Why on earth were they allowed to vote in this??? They won’t stay after the education is over. I really don’t care about the results but I just think it’s wrong! Like You I have no energy to find out why though πŸ™‚ :.-) πŸ™‚

      Sort of a non event but still it created so much chaos that they talk about the chances of making a government all day long. I’m already tired of it and I am rather interested in politics πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They are all political broilers that only are there because of how much money they can make, non of them really cares about why they should be there and very few actually kinows what it is like to have a real job πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 20, 2014 at 4:03 pm

  2. I’ll be glad to send some of our Blue Jays over to you. We have so many of the noisy buggers around her, I’m sure we could spare a few!

    September 20, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    • Hi Jim!

      I would gladely take some πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Our Jays are very noisy too but so shy here in the countryside U rarely come close enough to see or hear them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 20, 2014 at 7:16 pm

  3. oh oh, sick tummies, not good, our dogs would eat rotting fish or poop and not be sick but if we changed their dog food all hell would break loose, poopy messes!!! The last photo of the Nut Screamer is amazing!

    September 20, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes the nastier the better their stomachs takes it but give them good food and it totally collapses πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I was so lucky to get that photo! I almost took an even better one but just as I was about to take it two small dogs yanked the leash πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 20, 2014 at 7:18 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! We woke up to fog this morning too – not as thick as yours, we don’t normally get very thick fog (once in a blue moon) but it was lovely. The sun came out for a few minutes, but now its cloudy and raining. Poor Orvar!! Doesn’t that just figure, expensive food and his stomach doesn’t like it. I hope the rice does the trick. I am not one for politics, I never follow anything very closely so I have no clue to what is going on in the world! πŸ™‚ Makes for a blissful mind! πŸ™‚ Have a good Saturday evening!

    September 20, 2014 at 5:14 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do like a foggy morning and the fog rolled in already this evening and it is really thick now. I like it as long as I don’t have to drive around in it πŸ™‚

      Yes why is it like that, give them trash and they’re just fine. Give them luxury food and their stomachs just collapses πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The rice is making wonders right now, he has stopped farting thank god πŸ™‚

      I am very interested in politics but it’s just too much now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 20, 2014 at 7:21 pm

  5. jz

    poor orvar and his wobbly stomach! i hate blue jays. they are such mean birds. they swoop at you and yell. they bully the other birds too. teddy can have a tricky stomach. i am very careful about what i give her.

    September 20, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      My fault this time, I should have mixed in much less of thge new food at first and now both him and I must pay for that πŸ™‚
      I understand that Blue jays aren’t the nicest birds in the block πŸ™‚ but they are beautiful πŸ™‚

      I should have known better when it comes to Orvar, so now he eats lots of rice and at least the farting has calmed down πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 21, 2014 at 4:53 am

Leave a Reply

