The fire is burning in the stove.

They don't know it's not their season to flower now.

They don’t know it’s not their season to flower now.

There’s a fire burning in the stove, not so much because my home is especially cold but because there’s a dampness outside that manages to break in like an unwanted thief in the middle of the night. It’s 10C (50F) outside and that is about what we’ll get today they say. The raining has already started some so that’s my excuse not to even try to mow the lawn today πŸ™‚ The only chore I have is to do the laundry and I don’t have that much so it’ll be done rather quickly.

 

DSC_0004

They grow dill beside all those sunflowers. Dill flowers are most likely the most important spice we have this time of year because this is the crayfish season. It's also the fermented herring season but that's nothing I look forward to :-)

They grow dill beside all those sunflowers. Dill flowers are most likely the most important spice we have this time of year because this is the crayfish season. It’s also the fermented herring season but that’s nothing I look forward to πŸ™‚

DSC_0007

 

They had promised fog for this morning and it rolled on already last evening, for a while it was so thick that I couldn’t see the lights from my neighbors houses. The rain however came much earlier this morning than predicted so most of the fog vanished and we have haze as best now. I had hoped for some nice foggy photos from the bog but instead I got some hazy photos from the fields.Β 

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

 

The birds seem to love this weather because they have been chattering a lot all morning. We’ve had rather quiet mornings here until now and it is a nice change. The mosquitoes seem to love this weather too and now I’m so bitten that I can’t feel the itching any longer, that’s a nice change too πŸ™‚ It must be the same with the dogs and cats too because I can see how many mosquitoes that sits on them while we’re outside but none of them scratches themselves any longer. Lots of mosquitoes mean lots of food for the birds so they can build up a layer of fat for the coming winter so I guess it’s a win-win situation πŸ™‚

 

I haven't seen many deers this summer and I think that's because they don't seem to like cattle and we've had lots of cattle around this summer.

I haven’t seen many deers this summer and I think that’s because they don’t seem to like cattle and we’ve had lots of cattle around this summer.

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

I decided it was time to start the greenhouse lamp in the cellar yesterday and to pick down the more sensitive plants I have in pots and those I really want to survive the winter, like my Sharon fruit tree. Well it should have been a tree by now but the frost managed to kill most of it two autumns ago, the roots and a small part of the stem survived so now it’s more like a bush πŸ™‚ It looks like it’s possible to take cuttings and root them in moist soil so I might have two more next spring πŸ™‚ That is if I don’t manages to kill them down in the cellar of course πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0004

There was some fog yesterday afternoon but it wasn't strong enough to fillthe forest.

There was some fog yesterday afternoon but it wasn’t strong enough to fill the forest.

DSC_0012

 

It was a good thing I started that fire because the rain is now poring down like the Niagara falls, sitting here in my kitchen must be like going in one of those boats that drives very close to the falls but without the need of rain clothes. It’s time for some breakfast and then the laundry.

 

It came back in the evening just before it went dark.

It came back in the evening just before it went dark.

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

 

Have a great day!

 

Troll butter.

Troll butter.

8 responses

  1. jz

    it sure looks like fall in your neck of the woods. our trees are just starting to change a bit. we really need rain! this is the driest spell we have had in a very long time. they say we might get some today but i will believe it when i see it. the ground and pots are so dry now that no matter how much i water, it doesn’t help. i guess your first frost should be coming soon?

    September 21, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes autumn is here for real now, lots of trees have no leafs at all and now the temperatures will fall down to normal autumn temperatures too. To bad. I liked these almost summer temperatures πŸ™‚ It stopped tp rain shortly after I wrote todays post and after that we’ve had some drizzle. But they say it will rain lots the coming week and like You I’ll believe it when I see it πŸ™‚

      Our first frost should have been here weeks ago and we almost had it two weeks ago but just almost πŸ™‚ It looks like nights will be cloudy for a while so I guess it will take some time more until it happens.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 21, 2014 at 1:06 pm

  2. beautiful misty photos! I hope your cutting survive the winter!

    September 21, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      There’s something with mist and fog that makes everything look so much better πŸ™‚

      I hope so too, otherwise I’ll try it next year again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 21, 2014 at 1:07 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The Troll Butter looks gross. Sorry. But I guess it’s a lovely yellow color to have in the forest.
    The fog photos are beautiful. It looks like smoke running across the ground.

    How are dill flowers used in cooking? I know the dill plant itself is used to flavor things and dill seed goes in pickles. I’ve not heard that the flowers can be used.

    There was a deer in my back swamp yesterday morning. It’s the first one I’ve seen back there since last year. If I saw one, there were probably a few more in the vegetation that I couldn’t see. They tend to travel in groups of 6 or so. It’s still very lush and green back there and the grasses and other things are taller than the deer. Six could hide very nicely.

    If those are roses trying to bloom out of season, that’s sort of normal for them. I’ve seen roses blooming here in late October. Forget the last rose of summer. These are the last roses of autumn.

    It rained during the night. Now it’s very humid and sunny and heading for the mid 70’s F. Rocky and Piki Dog are tired from spending yesterday at day care and have no wish to leave the couch to enjoy the weather. We went for a walk earlier and they were unenthusiastic.

    Enjoy the day.

    September 21, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is gross to be honest, it’s a slime fungus so iut actually looks better than what it is πŸ™‚ But I do like that bright yellow color when almost everything else now turns towards brown.

      Too bad I don’t live closer to the tombs, this is the kind of fog I like to see floating around them πŸ™‚ like a horror movie fog really πŸ™‚

      We boil the dill fliowers together with the cray fish. The traditional way to cook crayfish is with dill flowers, salt, some sugar and sometimes some beer too. We don’t have them spicy like they have around New Orleans. It is important that the dill flavor is very strong!

      Our roe deers usually come two and two or perhaps three but rarely more. The bigger deers comes many more at the same time though.

      No those are poppies and they should flower in early to middle of the summer but I don’t complain πŸ™‚ I have no idea how those seeds managed to get there though πŸ™‚ My japanese roses flower still and I can see them through the window in my kitchen door.

      I’ve heard thunder and according to the real time lightning map it goes on down in FalkΓΆping but I think it might be coming this way too now. Very little rain since that shower when I wrote the post though, mostly drizzle.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 21, 2014 at 2:39 pm

  4. Dianna

    HI Christer! Sounds like you had the weather we had yesterday. Today was better. We had again some nice fog this morning. I feel this is a treat because we don’t get much fog at all, so I was happy. We have a mix of sun and cloud now and its 17 degrees. Not too bad. We still have mosquitoes too. One frost and they will be done – which makes me perfectly happy! πŸ™‚ I don’t like them one bit. Lovely photos today! I have been in one of those boats in Niagara Falls, they called them Maid of the Mist. Boy do you ever get wet with those. Its surreal being on one of those and getting so close to the falls. Magickal!! I have 2 pies in the oven, pulled my carrots up and planted lettuce to grow in the house. That’s my Sunday! I hope you have a good evening and a happy Monday!

    September 21, 2014 at 8:53 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The rain came when I was about to fall asleep and it was so hard the sound made it impossible to faoll asleep πŸ™‚ Normally I love that sound and I wonder if we might have had thuinder too. We need a heavy frost to kill our mosquitoes and it feels like tonight will be the first night with frost here after summer. Only cloud can keep the frost away I think and so far the sky is totally free from them πŸ™‚

      I’ve only seen those boats on photos and I can imagine how wet one must be after a trip that close to the falls πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Pies! That sounds rather nice πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 22, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Leave a Reply

