I wonder.

DSC_0001

I wonder if tonight won’t be the first night with frost. I can feel it in the air, a kind of raw, nasty feeling that screams COLD COLD COLD! Just after I wrote that I checked the predictions and they too say frost tonight, not desperate cold though, just enough to kill all the dahlias I have out there. I will most likely have to scrape the car windows tomorrow morning too I’m afraid. The good thing however is that lots of moose flies will die and hopefully some mosquitoes too but they are a tough crowd that needs more than a light frost to give up.

 

Lots of small birds were flying in the sun, shining like silver and I was trying to get them in a photo. Nomatter how I tried none of them showed in the photo. Only this one shows a tiny bird in the middle of the photo.

Lots of small birds were flying in the sun, shining like silver and I was trying to get them in a photo. Nomatter how I tried none of them showed in the photo. Only this one shows a tiny bird in the middle of the photo.

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

 

The rain was so heavy last night that the sound made it hard to fall asleep πŸ™‚ I guess it might have been thunder in that sound too because it sure looked and sounded like thunder showers. It kept on raining until way in to today and only just before I drove homewards the sun showed itself. It never got ant warmer than 10C (50F) so the first thing I did after coming home after our walk was to start a fire in the stove. Even the fire seemed to think it was a bit too cold to use any energy to actually do something πŸ™‚ But now finally it burns nicely in there and I hope the heat soon will have spread to the entire cottage.

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

 

The first part of my own birthday gift has arrived and it was heavy, I wonder how much the mailman fought with that parcel to get it down in to my mailbox and still have room for the rest of the mail πŸ™‚ Some letters were squeezed at the bottom but it turned out to be junk mail so I didn’t care. Now I’m just waiting for that second part to arrive so I can tell You what it is πŸ™‚ From what I understand is the second part even heavier and it will not fit in my mailbox, that’s for sure πŸ™‚ I have serious thoughts of buying myself Β my christmas present already now too but if I do I can’t buy a single thing I want for the rest of the year :-). It’s much the same as the first thing I bought as my present but “more modern” and even heavier πŸ™‚ But it might be something else similar to the second part instead.

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

It is time for a pot of tea and something to eat. It’s already beginning to get dark outside and I can feel winter breathing down my neck.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. OK, so I see my predictions of a snow blower are wrong, lol, you are really keeping us in the dark with this gift!!!! We have a warm spell fall upon us, the cold snap left for the next week,

    September 22, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how effective a snow blower would be here since we usually get wet snow. To be honest, I only have a few meters that I need to showel here in my garden and just around my car so I can get to work. Heavy enough when I need to do it and hopefully they don’t push the snow eher I need to go when they scrape it of the road πŸ™‚

      It’ so cold outside now and I’m so happy that they didn’t remove the stove when they renovated this cottage πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 22, 2014 at 6:07 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Now I’m really intrigued about that birthday present. Heavy and heavier but still small enough for the postman to stick in your postbox. Hmm. Exercise weights! πŸ™‚
    I’m still waiting for my snowblower to be back in stock. No news yet. But the new e-reader I bought is scheduled for October. They’ve already emailed the payment plan which I didn’t even know I was going to get. I assumed a one time big punch to the wallet. Now it will just be a minor pain over 5 months with no interest. I can take that.

    I know what you mean about the bird picture. I keep trying to do that with snowflakes in sunlight but I get only white blurs instead of the lovely sparkly things.
    The picture of the road right after that one is really lovely. The road is almost rainbow colored.

    It’s a lovely day here. Sunny, big puffy clouds, warm. Summer’s last fling since the autumnal equinox is tonight. We’re supposed to have this kind of weather for the rest of the week. Maybe even an 80ΒΊF day on the weekend.

    Enjoy the day.

    September 22, 2014 at 6:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚ I’ve decided not to buy that thing as a christmas gift instead I’m thinking of another thing connected to what I’ve already bought πŸ™‚ But who knows, I can change my mind many times yet πŸ™‚

      I don’t have any e-reader but I guess it’s like an app? A program You’ll download into Your computer? I always prefer that one big punch even if it means no difference in the long run πŸ™‚ But I like to have it behind me and start over saving again I guess.

      Yes it’s so typical! There were lots of small birds until I tried to take a photo πŸ™‚ for some reason they all vanished or didn’t flap their wings when I took a photo πŸ™‚ Sunflake are just impossible to get a good photo on πŸ™‚ Not unless they are as big as the palm of our hands πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It’s already rather cold outside and I fear it’ll be concrete ice on the car windows tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 22, 2014 at 7:14 pm

      • Caryn

        No, an e-reader is a separate device for downloading and reading books. Kindle is one, Kobo is another, Nook is a third. There are others. I have Kindles. You can get an app to do the same thing on a computer, phone or tablet but I really like reading on a Kindle. It’s not backlit so there’s no eye strain which I get from reading on computers or tablets. This will be my third Kindle. The one I have now works okay but it’s starting to do wonky things and it has a tiny but permanent blotch in the middle of the screen. I keep thinking it’s a squashed spider but it doesn’t wipe off. πŸ™‚

        September 22, 2014 at 11:55 pm

      • I really need to look that up πŸ™‚ I do like real books too much to give them up though but it would be nice to ujderstand what it is πŸ™‚

        It’s never nice to have something that looks like a squashed spider in the middle of it πŸ™‚

        Christer.

        September 23, 2014 at 4:42 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    You really have my curiosity aroused about your birthday gift. I keep trying to come up with something but haven’t been successful.

    I always hated having to scrape my windshield in the morning. It was cold enough without standing out there clearing off the two side windows as well. Now I mostly get up late enough that the sun has melted the windshield.

    I had my heat on the other morning. Today two windows were opened as it was such a lovely day, but I have closed them because I can feel the cold air as the night approaches. I did see the forecast, and we’ll have some lovely days this week.

    Have a great evening!

    September 22, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      You hasve most likely already tought about something like this πŸ™‚ I was surprised about the weight though πŸ™‚

      It’s never fun and this morning wasno exception but it wasn’t concrete ice as I had feared :-)The back window get very clean though and that’s a plus πŸ™‚

      No chance of lovely days ahead of us I’m afraid but the risk for nightfrost is minimal again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 23, 2014 at 4:37 pm

  4. jz

    hi christer! i wonder what it is you bought? areas around us are getting their first frost tonight, we will go down to about 40 which will probably kill my basil. we haven’t had rain in so long that my gardens are dying anyway. but, we start warming up again which does not make me happy. i am just about to build a fire i the firepit. it is just outside of my back porch so i leave my door open and it smells like it is inside! joyce

    September 22, 2014 at 9:50 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Nothing strange really but rather old and heavy πŸ™‚

      It was very cold here this morning and I had to scarpe the windows but thankfully it wasn’t any concrete ice this time πŸ™‚

      No more risk for nightfrost but the days will stay around the 50’s and the nights too.

      I do like the smell from a burning fire but don’t get it that much here in the kitchen, only when I open the hatchet to put in more fire logs.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 23, 2014 at 4:40 pm

  5. Wendy from NY

    Hi Christer! I am loving the fourth picture down from the top, what a beautiful background it will make, although I am still using the picture of the single leaf hanging from a spider web! So fun to think they came from so far away.

    You are really building suspense with your gift! I can’t wait to see!

    This is my favorite season, so beautiful, different colors every day ;)…Shame it has to end with winter =(. Dreary gray days, wet sloppy snow, penetrating cold. So it goes!

    September 23, 2014 at 5:27 am

    • Hi Wendy!

      I do like those colors, autumny but still rather mild.

      It’s nothing odd but I have to say I was surprised over the weight πŸ™‚

      Spring is my season but autumn is ok, at least after the moose flies and mosquitoes are gone πŸ™‚ I didn’t like winter even as a child, growing up by the ocean iot meant either snow and so cold one couldn’t go outside or rain and rather warm πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 23, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Leave a Reply

