They don’t die just because we have frost.

DSC_0002

As predicted the temperature dropped last night and it dropped all the way down to -5C (23F). It was too dark outside to get any photos I’m afraid but I can tell You that the world was sparkling in the weak light we did have. I also had to scrape the car windows but thankfully it wasn’t any concrete ice this time. The only good thing with scraping ice from the car windows is that they do get clean, especially the one in the back πŸ™‚

 

I used my old Nikon today and it isn't as good as the newer one when it comes to show true colors.

I used my old Nikon today and it isn’t as good as the newer one when it comes to show true colors.

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

 

One could believe that these low temperatures actually would kill all the insects out there but oh how disappointed one would be when it got warm again πŸ™‚ Still a few normal black flies around but it seems as if most moose flies are gone. They do have a short season as it is and it usually ends with the first frost. Mosquitoes however seems to thrive when the nights are as cold as this one was. There were a gazillion of them out in the forest and even if it doesn’t itch any longer I still don’t like it when they crawl around all over me.

 

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

 

I didn’t buy myself a second one of the first one I bought to myself as a birthday present, instead I bought a second one of the second one, smaller though and lighter though (I hope πŸ™‚ ) and now I’ve spent much more than I ever intended too πŸ™‚ So no christmas present to me from myself this year.I still haven’t gotten the first thing I bought but I have the second one here at home and the second of the second thing is on its way since this morning :-)These things are used together but I can only use one of the second things at a time πŸ™‚ I feel that I’ve given You plenty of leads now πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. I’ve struggled for a long time with the fire in the stove and finally it looks like I’m winning but there’s no use in putting the kettle on, it would take forever until that water came close to boiling. Thankfully I have my trusted water boiler to use instead.

 

DSC_0023

 

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. the photos are still lovely, so much like here in our part of Canada, the cold North East winds that have been freezing us for two weeks have shifted and now we have warm westerly winds bringing warm temperatures 20 degrees celcius!!! They say we will be warm for two weeks, snow last week, sunshine and sandals this week, I still have no idea what your gift is,

    September 23, 2014 at 6:34 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do like that camera and it’s much better in normal daylight, today wasa bit too dark.

      I looked at the long time predictions and it looks like we’ll get warmer weather too later on. For now I’m happy as long as we don’t have below zero temperatures πŸ™‚

      You do live almost as far north as I do so I’m not surprised that it look much the same on both sides of the ocean.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 23, 2014 at 7:08 pm

  2. jz

    i too have no idea what you’ve bought. we were cool this morning but now summer is about to return and i am not happy!

    September 23, 2014 at 7:06 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      They say we’ll get warmer weather again next week and I won’t complain if it happens. I do hope all biting insects die before that though πŸ™‚

      Everything will be clear when I tell You what it is πŸ™‚ and I will of course take photos to show You.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 23, 2014 at 7:10 pm

  3. I go crazy when I get a riddle..and this is definitely a riddle! The reason I go crazy is because I can NEVER solve them..hmmm what would you buy two of that would be used together?? Nope..don’t know! Well, DARN!!
    Tell Teodor that even at his most serious, he just can’t pull off the “get outta my way!!” look that Bertil has! Teodor is beautiful though..he certainly has that going for him!! A lover not a fighter?? πŸ™‚

    September 24, 2014 at 4:11 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I’m lousy att riddles too πŸ™‚ That first part is now in the post office and I’ll get it on Froday when I quit work early.

      Teodor is the kindest cat inthe world πŸ™‚ Too kind to be honest. except when it comes to other cats and his brother too sometimes πŸ™‚ Those two are not friends at the moment and I guess it can have something to do with the neighbor cat Salmiak πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 24, 2014 at 4:23 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Wow, you got cold at night! We are currently in a heat wave (!!!) and they are calling for 31 degrees for Friday. Can you say climate change? Its pleasant at night however, but this is just too hot for me. I wish we could get a hard frost because when I walked the dogs last night they were horrid!! All bitey and vicious! I have no clue what you have bought for yourself but am anxiously awaiting its unveiling! πŸ™‚ Have a good Wednesday!

    September 24, 2014 at 2:08 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      That first frost every autumn is usually much colder, down to -10C so this was rather nice πŸ™‚ It will get warmer here too but no where close to 31 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ 18 is the highest we’ll reach. 31 is too hot for me too, I was melting away this summer when we reached that high πŸ™‚

      Yes they are horrid! Soo many and even if it doesn’t itch any loinger it’s still unpleasant having them all over myself and the dogs! so one night with -10 is needed as long as it gets warm again after that πŸ™‚

      That first part is in the post office so I’ll bring it home on Friday πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 24, 2014 at 4:28 pm

  5. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Camera and two lenses is all I got though why you would want a heavy camera or lens is a mystery so it’s probably not that at all. I’m not a good guesser of riddles, either. Too literal, I think. πŸ™‚

    Bertil does look like a cat on a mission.

    No killing frost here yet. The mosquitoes are still hanging about in the damp places during the day. They aren’t out at night because it gets too cold for them to fly, I guess. The bees are moving slowly even when they are working in the sunshine. I haven’t seen the big troll spindles the last several days, either, just the normal Autumn Darters. But we are supposed to have an 80ΒΊ day this weekend. We shall see.

    I have dinner cooking in the crockpot. I’m trying a new technique so I hope it turns out. If it fails, I’ll have dried out chicken, potatoes and peas. Oh, well. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    September 24, 2014 at 2:58 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I just weighed those two different things of that second thing I bought and both weigh around 2,1-2,2 pound and I think that first part weighs more πŸ™‚

      He’s always on a mission and at the momenbt he’s also fighting with his brother. Teodor is the kindest cat in the world but he does fight with his brother occasionally and he is so much bigger that Bertil doesn’t stand a chance πŸ™‚

      We need down to14F to get rid of those mosquitoes. They are around all day and it’s only the wind that keeps them calm. It’s no surprise then that we have barely any wind at all πŸ™‚

      I didn’t see a single bee yesterday and no troll spindles either but it will get warmer here again later in the week so we’ll know better then.

      I guess that if You dry them hard enough they’ll last for ever πŸ™‚ I hope things went well πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 24, 2014 at 4:35 pm

      • Caryn

        It came out fine. Looked like a dog’s breakfast but tasted good. πŸ™‚

        September 25, 2014 at 3:37 am

      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        September 25, 2014 at 5:10 pm

  6. Beatrice P. Boyd

    After reading this post and the one before it, Christer, I too am no closer to figuring out what you bought yourself. I was also going to say new photo equipment, but ruled that out. Then, I thought perhaps a telescope? Guess we will just have to wait and see the big surprise! It has nit turned very cold here, but cool and with a lot of rain this weel, all along the east coast.

    September 25, 2014 at 12:06 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I can say that this will make it harder to do what I do with what I have now and so much heavier πŸ™‚ Still, I’ve wanted one of these since I was a child πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 25, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Leave a Reply

