I wanted to cry a little.

DSC_0002

I’m late and I’m really hungry so this will be a short one. The first thing I bought has arrived and is waiting for me at the post office and I’ll bring it home tomorrow. I could have got it today but I wanted (well that’s not really the right thing to say πŸ™‚ ) to pay my bills after work today.

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0009

 

This is one of those months when all bills comes at the same time and I wanted to cry a little when I paid them all πŸ™‚ In total I’ll pay as much in bills as I paid for my birthday present, a lot with other words πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ No problems to be honest since I put away money for these bills but still, it hurts in my soul πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

DSC_0015

The Bog Ladies seems busy today. It is a bit damp and cold so I do understand why they lit their fires early.

 

All I’ll say about my present is that it weighs much more than I thought it would even if I knew it would weigh more. It will take longer time to use it and it is much more complicated than if I would use the modern thing I already have πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but I’ve wanted this since I was a kid and now the opportunity came. To be honest, I don’t understand how it works even if I already have read a manual πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0019

Doves on their way south.

Doves on their way south.

 

ItΒ΄s time for some tea and something to eat.

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’d have gone to the post office and paid the bills tomorrow. Pleasure before duty, I say.
    Especially when birthday presents are involved. πŸ™‚

    Antique bellows camera and lenses? Those are pretty heavy. I have one. I know.
    Or is it an old IBM Selectric typewriter with two font balls? That would be cool. Weighs much much more than you said, though, so not that either.

    That fourth picture looks almost like one I took yesterday of wild cherry leaves. I had to stand farther off, though, because I went out with the 75 to 200mm lens on instead of the 55mm. I discovered that I’m not tall enough to take shots straight down with that lens. It won’t focus that close. πŸ™‚

    It’s cloudy and damp here today. The temperature is about what it’s been all week but the dampness makes it feel colder. The heat might be going on in my house for a little bit just to take the damp off. A wood stove or pellet stove would be a welcome addition, if I could just figure out two things; where to put it and how to pay for it. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day. It looks very lovely.

    September 25, 2014 at 5:55 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You’ll know tomorrow πŸ™‚ By the way, how old must something be to become an antique and when is it still a vintage?

      I wanted the bill paying to be over since I knew how bad it would be πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But then again, I’ll have very few bills next month but that doesn’t make me happier today πŸ™‚

      Wild cherry leafs are so beautiful with their pastel colors, this is a raspberry leaf and almost have that same color. I had my 70-300 mm lens but I could back away some and it was slightly below me so it was easier for me. I rarely have any other lens now days, this one actually let just as much light into the camera as my 50mm does. The autofocus gave up after just a few times though so it might be my worst buy ever when it comes to camera things πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Cloudy with heavy showers half the day and sunn the rest but still rather chilly and very damp. Not especially nice at all but the fire is warming up my home now. I’m so glad that a previous owner refused to let her husband toss out the wood stove, she threatened him with divorce (and meant it according to her son πŸ™‚ ) if he even touched it πŸ™‚ If I had another hose and wanted a wood stove I would buy one for the kitchen. We always have our kitchens at the bottom floor so the heat travels up to the rest of our house. It’s too bad that they cost so much to buy and install though!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 25, 2014 at 7:06 pm

      • Caryn

        Legal age for antique probably varies according to country and item. Most things here have to be 100 years old to be antique. Terms like Vintage, Collectible and Classic just mean that stuff is old but not antique yet. Automobiles go through a “Classic” stage before they get old enough to be antique. I think Classic Auto is anything over 25 years.
        All the furniture and things my parents had in the house when I was a kid are now “Mid century” style. I feel so vintage. πŸ™‚

        I considered a 70 to 300mm but the tech reviews I read for the ones that went with my camera were so-so. I went with the Sony 55 – 200mm instead. It had a longer track record and much better reviews. Almost everything I shoot is with the 18 to 55mm. It’s my walking around lens. πŸ™‚

        September 26, 2014 at 2:28 pm

      • I think it’s the same here, it felt right when I read how it is over at Yours and I think I might have heard something like that on our Antiques Road Show.

        Always listen to the reviews! I did before I bought my lens at the pawn shops website. Too bad the autofocus gave up so soon πŸ™‚

        September 26, 2014 at 2:40 pm

  2. jz

    i still have no idea what you bought? it is hot and sunny here and i am very unhappy. it is just a bit more than month from halloween and i want my fall weather. it looks like the heat will be here for weeks too and no rain in sight. this is not what i expected!

    September 25, 2014 at 6:23 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      You’ll know tomorrow when I post at least one photo of it πŸ™‚

      I would like warm and sunny but it is nice to have that fire burning in the stove at night πŸ™‚ You would love our weather here but hate all our bugs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 25, 2014 at 7:08 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I know it hurts to pay any bills and sometimes I want to cry a little too. I cannot wait to see you present you bought! For the life of me I have no idea what it could be. All sorts of things are running through my head right now! πŸ™‚ We are still in a nasty heat wave – its 33 degrees out! How can that be? Ridiculous. I love the pics and the bog ladies. I’d like to be a bog lady! πŸ™‚ Have a good night. Hope you got some stuff to eat.

    September 25, 2014 at 7:32 pm

    • Hi DiannaΒ½!

      Today was nasty πŸ™‚ I got one huge bill I totally had forgotten about and that didn’t make things better πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      You’ll see it tomorrow πŸ™‚

      I sure don’t want 33C πŸ™‚ and I do like to have a fire in the stove but I wouldn’t mind if it was a bit warmer here πŸ™‚

      Well, a Bog Lady is a forest nymph and I guess they have a rather nice life since they don’t have our human rules πŸ™‚ They can do as they please and do so too πŸ™‚

      I got some nice sandwiches πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 25, 2014 at 7:36 pm

  4. Christer,
    I hate to pay bills, and I procrastinate before writing them. Many are deducted on-line, and I’m glad for that but I still hate to see my money disappear so quickly.

    The leaves haven’t begun changing here yet as it hasn’t been cold enough. We are still all green. I just had some flowers planted as it is warm enough.

    I am so curious about your birthday gift!!

    Have a great evening,
    Kat

    September 25, 2014 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Kat!’

      I rather pay themn as soon as possible so it’s done, next month will be much better though πŸ™‚

      The leafs usually change colors here around no no matter if we’ve had cold nights or not, I guess they are worn out and the trees just want to get rid of them and then go in to resting mode until next spring.

      You’ll see it in todays post πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2014 at 1:20 pm

  5. this suspense is driving me crazy, lol!!!!

    September 25, 2014 at 7:55 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      That means I’ve been successful πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2014 at 1:21 pm

  6. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –

    I have been away and just finished catching-up on on the last couple of weeks of posts. First of all, Happy (belated) 50th Birthday! It sounds like yout employer treated you well. Since I worked for the gov’t, there was no birthday anything from work. Although our office always treated the birthday person to lunch and we didn’t hurry back to work. I have been trying to guess what your present to yourself is, but I doubt my guesses are even close. At first I thought you might be building yourself a green house, but when I read you have wanted one since you were a kid, that didn’t seem right. Maybe you are building yourself an observatory to take photos of the heavens or at least a special kind of telescope on a tripod with lenses for photography. Are those both way off? I hate paying bills too and I often procrastinate because I don’t want to part with my money any sooner than I have to. Most of mine are paid automatically. The mortgage is the one that hurts most. Do they have home mortgages in Sweden or do you have to buy property with cash? Every country has such different ways of selling property. I have never understood places like England where you can pay to buy a home, but you don’t own the property the house sits on. What good is owning a house, but you can be kicked off the property it’s on? Almost as crazy sounding as the way your gov’t is put together. When reading about your election, I thought it there is no way it could work well being split into so many small parties that required only 4% of the vote to get in. Of course, what can I say with only 3 parties my gov’t can’t get anything done. Although, the only reason they can’t get anything done is because they refuse to compromise like selfish brats.

    Fall has certainly arrived at your cottage in the last couple of weeks and the photos of it’s arrival were beautiful. The colors of the leaves are so bright & rich. Here, we suddenly went from 92 degrees to 70 the past few days and rain finally arrived. The air smells wonderfully clean again. After no rain for several months there have been lots of car accidents as everyone is sliding on the oil slick roads. I am not driving myself until the roads are washed clean. The leaves here are just starting to turn yellow now that the days are getting so short. The maples are the only trees who’s leaves are dressed in proper bright fall colors. It is odd that the Canada geese and mallards from Canada have not arrived to stay the Winter. Usually they fly in in large groups the 1st of Sept.. Perhaps the unusually hot weather has thrown off their schedule. I loved the photos of the birds you posted. The temps at your place have gotten pretty cold. Were you able to get all the plants into the cellar that you wanted to before the frost came? You seem to have some very young trees in your yard this year, like your walnut tree, is there something you do to help them survive the winter weather or just hope for the best?

    How are the dogs? Did Nova recover from the bad ear infection? Glad you did not have to deal with that new woman vet again. I feel badly that he get chronic ear infections. I had those as a kid until I had tubes put in, so I know how miserable they can be & for a dog I bet it is worse pain. Toby had to stay at the vets while I was in the hospital. When I took her back to have her chin stitches out, the ulcer had opened up again and she had stopped pooping at all for 2 weeks. I asked the vet to take an x-ray to see if her colon was narrowed with the inflammatory bowel disease that almost killed her 7 years ago. He agreed and her colon was quite bad. I also saw the second thing that I suspected might be there which was cancer in her lung. There is no way to know if the cancer stated in the lung and spread to the chin or vise versa. Supposedly both are slow growing. The mass in her lung takes up about 20% right now, but I had noticed her breathing at rest had changed in the past 3 months and now I know why. The ironic part
    is that her labs are all normal. Cancer in cats rarely is reflected in blood work. Her chin is healing in with new tissue now & she is eating better now
    that she is home. I am cooking her chicken which she loves and the occasional can of albacore tuna. Toby & I are just happy to be home & getting back into a routine again. Hopefully you will be revealing what your present to yourself is. I’m sure it will be nothing anyone has guesses. I bought myself a gas grill, had the store assemble it for me & rolled it onto my deck. A little odd for a 50th birthday gift, but I had wanted one for a long time. Handy if the power goes out in the winter too, although I worry that someone will see the smoke & think the building is on fire πŸ™‚

    September 26, 2014 at 12:30 am

    • years or soHi Ellen!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      My employer is very good even if he sometimes drives me mad πŸ™‚ He has a rather laidback style and so does two of his children that also work there. I rather have this slightly lower paycheck and stay tha go to a better paid place and stress the life out of me. I concider me lucky getting lost that day I went in to that factory to ask the way to the place where I actually was looking for a job.

      Yes we have mortages just like You and we can buy a home just like the British too πŸ™‚ Most people buy their apartements in that way, sort of like owning the air in the home but not the actual home to be honest πŸ™‚ We can also buy an apartement with the walls so to speak but that is very unusual here. Houses are usually bought with the land it stands on but can also stand on leased ground and usually those leases go for 99 years or so. That is a problem because one day when tey have to renew the leas it can cost way too much and then one has a house but no where to place it. I own both the cottage and the garden around it. Well the bank owns it since I loaned my money. Thankfully it was so cheap that I only pay around $ 158 US a month.

      Swedes are masters of negotiations and it works really fine most of the time. We have a very different style than You from the USA. When a business gets a new owner from the USA here in Sweden the owners usually get lots of problems since they don’t understand our company culture and how we do things here. Consensus is very important and an owner can’t just decide how or what he wants because if he does all hell breaks out πŸ™‚ A meeting here is never over untill all agrees on a strategy or action. All must agree or no decision will be taken. Some American companies that started businesses here have been surprised, like Toys R’ Us. They thought they could forbid unions and how mistaken they were. Everyone boycotted the store until they gave in πŸ™‚ I think Sweden still is the only country where thet copmpany allows unions.

      Yes autumn is here and they are having the first autumn storm further north today, we have lots of wind but far from storm. Most birds stays for as long as they can here and only moves further south when they need to. So we have lots of geese still around but very few swans, they are still further north.

      All the dogs are fine, Orvar still slightly wobbly in his stomach but nothing much and Nova is just finished with her antibiotics so now we’ll just have to wait and see what happens. Looks good so far though. Poor Toby! It isn’t easy to be that old and sick but I am glad to hear that she has a better apetite! Just being home again does help a lot! How’s things with You? Did everything go as hoped?

      A gas grill is never wrong but I have my wooden stove instead. You’ll see what I bought in todays post πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2014 at 1:47 pm

  7. mary jane s.

    I love your blog a lot, I read it daily, I pay the bills online and get it overwith, we live frugally and simply..I simply don’t buy anything I don’t absolutely need..It rained for the whole day yesterday, fall is here and winter soon, I guess we will get the polar vortex with over 22 days of 90’s and above and a hot hot spring..Nights in the 80’s no reflief unless it was yesterday..I am thankful for the rain, it is much needed..I wished I lived where you live it is lovely, peaceful and quiet..Happy Birthday belatedly..ciao from the pacific northwest!

    September 26, 2014 at 1:04 am

    • Hi Mary Jane and welcome to my blog πŸ™‚
      I’m glad You like it here πŸ™‚

      I too pay the bills online and I want it done as soon as possible since I dislike it so much πŸ™‚

      I usually don’t buy especially many things either but I took the chance when I saw this one πŸ™‚ I don’t make that much money that I can spend it as I wish and need to save for future renovations here in the cottage.

      We’ve had some nasty wqeather here lately but they say it will be nice tomorrow, windy but sunny and rather warm. It isn’t that cold today either but the rain has been falling for quite some time I hope You’ll get that polar vortex because that means a mild and warm winter here πŸ™‚ I’m not a winter fan but even I casn admit that it is beautiful with lots of snow, as long as I don’t have to go outside πŸ™‚

      This must be one of the most quiet and peaceful places in southern sweden even if a neighbors garage blew up this year πŸ™‚

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      Have a great day and welcome back πŸ™‚
      Christer.

      September 26, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Leave a Reply

