What You all been waiting for :-)

DSC_0002

They’re having the first autumn storm further north in this country, we have strong winds bt far from storm and we’ve also had rain most of the day. It’s that kind of rain that is like mist and eats its way in to the body in seconds, especially with lots of help from the wind. I do like windy days, especially now when it blows away most of the mosquitoes πŸ™‚ It didn’t reach in to the forest though so we had to fight our way through a wall of them on our way out to the bog.

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0005

 

I have a fire in the stove, not because it’s cold, far from it actually, but the dampness eats its way in to my cottage now when the wind blows so hard. I do like days like this when the wind bends the trees and leafs fly by my windows and I can hear the sound from the fire, all I need right now is some cocoa and a couple of cheese sandwiches πŸ™‚ I won Β dollars in the lottery this Wednesday but I didn’t buy myself any soft ice cream today, I’ll save that for a sunny day instead. I could have bought some chocolate but I forgot most of what I wanted to buy anyway, even if I actually had a written list with me πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

DSC_0011

 

So now to the thing You all have been waiting for πŸ™‚ I drove to the post office (in the grocery store in Gudhem) and I opened the package as soon as I sat down in the car. It’s very fine even though it is rather old. Not as heavy as I thought it would be though. Once this brand was seen as the Rolls Royce of its kind and they still are to be honest. A new one of this brand would cost me three months pay if I didn’t pay any bills and didn’t eat either and that’s the cheapest one they sell πŸ™‚ To use this one will take much longer time, will be much more complicated and I’ll have to wait for the result for at least a week or so πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

DSC_0019

 

Some of this brand actually made it to the moon and one became the first satellite made in Sweden, by mistake since an astronaut dropped it on a space walk πŸ™‚ I have bought myself a Hasselblad camera (some of You guessed that but also took it back again πŸ™‚ ). The model is called 500C and was made until 1970. I don’t think it can be called antique but vintage is probably right. I think I have the big picture when it comes to how it works even though it is a bit complicated πŸ™‚ I forgot to open it up at the top when I took the photo but if one does one see that there’s where they have placed the view finder. I have to say it would be easier to have the kind of viewfinder we have on todays modern cameras because it must be hard to get a clear photo this way.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

I have found two businesses that sells both film and develop it too. I’ll also get a cd with the photographs and I can choose how many MB I want the photographs to contain. However, this camera uses a not especially common film called 120 (common when it comes to really old cameras and is called medium format film). These older cameras can be a bit slow but if one just place new grease in it, which is said to be very easy) it’ll go back to normal again. I thought I might need a light meter to be able to take photographs but I realised that the viewfinder get lighter or darker when I adjust the lens.Β 

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

 

I can also tell You already now that this is not the camera one uses to take a quick photograph with πŸ™‚ It might be a fantastic camera but it is not user-friendly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I found a manual on the internet and I’ll be reading that very carefully, it’s in English. So it will take some time until I can show You any result I’m afraid. I’ve ordered five film rolls with color film and one in black and white. I can’t take good photos in black and white so I’ll use that first to see how the camera works πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

 

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0043

Here it is πŸ™‚ The lenses weigh around 2,1-2,2 pound each but I think the camera weighs slightly less πŸ™‚ All adjustments are made on the lens and not the camera itself and the film is put in the back half of the camera which one take off and place the film in. Before one is able to take a photo a thin metal lid must be removed (slided out on the side) before the camera allows ant photo taking πŸ™‚

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I knew it! I was figuring something a lot older, though. It looks like my really old Kodak movie camera from the 1950’s. The lenses are heavy. You might want to use it with a tripod. Maybe even look around for an adaptor that will allow the tripod to be mounted to the lenses for more stability.
    Black and white film is difficult and is almost guaranteed to be disappointing while learning. I think I’d mess around with a roll of color to get used to the camera first.
    Can 120 film have different ISO ratings? I forget. I still have a Kodak that took 120 film but I was a kid when I last used it and didn’t give fig if it had ISO (or ASA as it was then). It only had to take my snapshots. πŸ™‚
    I’ve not tried doing film and having it come back on a CD. You’ll have to tell me how that works out. How much editing, if any, can one do with the CD files? I remember that editing was mostly done in the darkroom under a red light bulb using messy chemicals from brown bottles and doing a lot of burning and dodging. So much easier now.

    You’re going to have so much fun playing with your birthday presents! Whoo-hoo!!!
    Enjoy the day.

    September 26, 2014 at 3:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You did get it last time You wrote here πŸ™‚ I did wonder however if anyone could want a type writer since he was a kid though, as Your other guess was πŸ™‚

      I have a tripod but I’m not sure it fits to this camera, especially since this one is so heavy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But as long as the camera doesn’t shake around I could hold it steadily during that short time the shutter will stay open. I’ll only take photos in bright day light withg this one πŸ™‚

      120 fil has the same ISo (well there was this ISO 160 but I ordered ISO 100 and ISo 400 I think) but the camera uses ASA as You write πŸ™‚ I must check if they are the same or if one can convert it easily.

      Before the end of film we got all photos as a paper copy and on a cd. One just dowmloaded the cd photos into the computer and then edited them as we do with our photos now. So even if one messed up the editing one still had all original digital photos left on that cd. I have loads of cd’s with photographs, I could post some of them perhaps.

      I will have loads of fun but expensive fun too, it’s so rare with film now days that the price has sky roketed πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      I edited this text by spelling right and adding a comma πŸ™‚

      September 26, 2014 at 3:41 pm

      • Caryn

        The typewriter was just because I couldn’t think of anything else that was old, had separate parts that could be used together and was heavy but still light enough to be carried around by the postman and put in a mail box.
        And an IBM Selectric was a cool piece of technology back in the day when you were a kid and perhaps an aspiring young writer. The changeable font ball was a spiffy idea. It replaced those strikers that came up, hit the typewriter ribbons and impressed the letter or number on the page and then got tangled in the next striker because people always typed faster than the silly things moved. When you hit a key, the ball swiveled around to the desired letter and pressed the ribbon to the paper. No rollers either. The ball and the ribbons moved across the paper.The movement was very small and no tangled strikers. It was cool. I had a red one that lived a long useful life until it died one day in the late 80’s. They said it would cost $300 USD to fix. I put it in the cellar where it stayed until The Great Cellar Cleanout. It would have made a lovely doorstop. πŸ™‚

        September 26, 2014 at 5:19 pm

      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I do remember that type writer and it was fantastic to be honest! I wonder if type writers excists any longer πŸ™‚

        Big and effective door stop πŸ™‚

        September 26, 2014 at 5:23 pm

  2. well now I am truly embarrassed, lol, i guessed snow blower, tractor, what a dumb dumb I am, I should have known this with your love and talent in photography but I was really stumped, I know you have a great passion for your animals, the forest, gardening and photography but it never dawned on it would be a vintage camera, well done!! What a treasure you bought, enjoy using this lovely gift!

    September 26, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I think You missed that I had wanted this since I was a little kid πŸ™‚ But I know for a fact that a few wanted both a snow blower and a tractor when they were kids, they still want them because they are farmers now πŸ™‚

      I would love a modern Hasselblad camera but they cost so much that I could almost buy a second home for that money πŸ™‚

      I hope I’ll be able to use this camera well πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 26, 2014 at 6:09 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! That is a lovely camera! I will have to show my husband – he appreciates the vintage cameras. Can’t wait to see what kind of pictures it creates! Well, I wish we were having your weather. We are ridiculously hot and I am cranky because of it. And the wind is blowing hot wind so strong it doesn’t matter. We are supposed to cool down Sunday. We’d better – its almost my favorite month of the whole year!! I think with the humidity we are at about 33 again. Silly. Lovely pictures today. The picture of the orange fungus (I think that is what it is) looks like little flames coming up from a fire. Beautiful! Have a good Friday evening!

    September 26, 2014 at 6:51 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is, heavy and user unfriendly but really nice anyway πŸ™‚

      I’ll get the film rolls sometime next week and then I’ll wait until the weekend until I try take any photos. 12 pictures will be taken quickly so I’ll send in the first film the Monday after that and then it most likely will take a week or at least a few days before I get it all back so I can show You all πŸ™‚

      The weather predictons here are more uncertain than normal and that says a lot πŸ™‚ We were supposed to have a cloud free day here but now they show we’ll get lots of them later today. But we won’t get any rain for a while anyway, perhaps πŸ™‚ We’ll have strong winds today anyway and here it’s a good thing since it is so much cooler here than it is over at Yours.

      Yes that is a finger mushroom, one of my favorite because of that bright orange color πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 27, 2014 at 3:27 am

  4. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hello Christer –

    Your new old camera seems like a fantastic present to give a photographer like yourself for a 50th birthday present. Although I cannot imagine trying to read a manual not in one’s native language no matter how good your English skills are just because manuals are bad enough to figure out when they are in a person’s native language. Hopefully, the manual is old enough that people were still writing directions one had a chance of actually comprehending. I was reading some comments online from user groups that also own the Hasselblad 500C and people were recommending Kodak Ectar 100 for landscapes, outdoor photo (esp. summertime) & architecture. It is supposed to give very saturated color. Portra fiim gives a “more natural look”. The medium formate is known for giving a 3D like quality. Fugi Reala 100 also seemed to be a favorite among users. You probably know all that already, but I just found it interesting what other enthusiasts of the 500C thought about different films. I also took a look at many photos taken with your camera. I actually love B&W photographs, but all the portraits (people & animals) and landscapes were particularly stunning. I can’t wait to see what you create once you get the hang of the camera. Unlike a modern camera I imagine you have to put more thought into what kind of photograph you want to end up with. Just meaning the process is slower & more thoughtful than with an SLR or digital camera. Just the expense of the film & process would make me slow down & put more thought into what I wanted to end up with as the final product. It’s great that you can edit off the CD. I imagine it is a slower learning curve to figure out all the ways to use the camera to impact the photos. I am sure you have lots of fun trying new techniques and that this camera opens a whole new aspect to photography for you. By the way, there are still a few companies that make typewriters. The old ones are a big collectible, but there are still a lot of authors & journalists that have never abandoned their typewriters for the computer and who say they cannot create their wirting on anything else.

    September 26, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      I do hope it is an easy manual to understand. As long as I understand what everything is I can always find info about it in Swedish πŸ™‚ At leat it isn’t a translating program that has done the translation, thedn tey are totally impossible tounderstand at all πŸ™‚

      Today it’s almost impossible to find film at all so I must take what I can find but You are absolutely right in what You say. People over here seems to think the same thing. Kodak Ectar wasn’t avaliable when I ordered the fil rolls so I bought Fuji film instead and it has good reviews too. Naturally the first thing I find now in the morning is of course Ectar.

      It is always interesting to see what the others think, those that have used this kind of camera for a long time. They do know what goes and what goes not. It is a good camera but it is still up to me as a photographer to be able to use it properly. I do have to put more thought in when I want to use this camera, it is impossible to just take a photo like I can with my digital Nikon. Small misatkes can be edited but I really don’t like editing especially much. I do make my photos slightly brighter sometimes and I do make them smaller too but that’s about it. Unless the photo is a total disaster but still shows something interesting, then I can edit a lot but I always tell You all when I do.

      I have loads of all cd’s here that I can just put in my laptop and edit if I need to. It was the thing here the years before the digital cameras became big.

      I haven’t seen a new typewriter in years πŸ™‚ I guess it is like with cameras, one need to know where to find them. I have an old travel typewriter that I do like a lot, it weighs only 14 pounds πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 27, 2014 at 3:50 am

  5. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Guess I should have stuck to my original thought that you might have bought photo equipmentπŸ˜‰ Christer. In addition to using 35mm SLR film camera and now digital ones, i also owned a medium format one, Mamiya 645′ which used 120 roll film as well. It was not the same as a Hasselblad, which I also admired. When I was talking a photography course as part of college, I could use the darkroom to develop and print black and white photos. Mostly, I used the camera for class assignments. I sold it shortly after the course ended as it was difficult and costly to get the film processed. I wish you all the best with your 50th birthday gift to yourself!

    September 27, 2014 at 1:29 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      How fun! I was looking at a Mamiya 645′ too πŸ™‚ Just in case I wouldn’t get this one πŸ™‚ My Hasselblad was placed in the pawn shops web shop but if a customer came in the same day and wanted to buy it that customer would get it. The web buyers are always placed after a customer even if they ordered it the same day. Strange but so are their rules. I do like the Mamiya 645 too.

      It does cost a bit much to develop the film rolls and to get paper copies and on a cd but I do have my trusted Nikon that I’ll use every day anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 27, 2014 at 3:57 am

Leave a Reply

