Really bad connection today.

Todays photos are a mix from both yesterday and today.

Todays photos are a mix from both yesterday and today.

I don’t know why though,perhaps it’s because of the strong winds we’ve had during the night? So it takes a long time to download any photos if they download at all. Too bad because today I have lots of autumn colors in them. It’s much warmer than predicted, just as warm as it was yesterday which isn’t that good when it comes to my indoor climate. I started the fire early this morning and now it’s hot as h… here. I had both a window and the kitchen door open for a while, besides from helping nothing it also let lots of mosquitoes in and now I have tiny blood stains all over my home πŸ™‚ They might drink our blood but I’m not letting them out with it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0001

DSC_0002

DSC_0003

 

I’ve just come home after getting a replacement car from the garage. It’s time for the annual vehicle inspection and that engine light still shines like a tiny star in the dark. That’s not allowed so it must be dealt with before the inspection. It doesn’t matter that there isn’t any alarm starting it, it is still not allowed during the inspection. The garage owner is a kind man so he said to call today so I could get the car now and not miss that much from work. I said that they are happy if I show up at all while my car is at the garage and that I just could wait until Monday morning but he insisted. Guess what kind of car the replacement car is? It is almost the same car I have, a SAAB 95 πŸ™‚ I don’t like this one though, it’s something about it that I just can’t put my finger on.

 

She got just as surprised as we did when we stumbled upon each other.

She got just as surprised as we did when we stumbled upon each other.

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

 

I don’t know what You are like but I can’t stand it when people tell me something, a story or joke or memory and they never come to the end because they always want to put in irrelevant things in to it. Like suddenly get lost in however the person was slightly older or younger than himself or if he had a sister living in a village no one ever have heard of πŸ™‚ I could take it if he, because it is usually a he, told me that this particular sister had a thing for stuffed porcupines and jelly fish but that she stopped collecting stuffed porcupines after one fell down from a cupboard and hit her in the head. That would at least have been funny πŸ™‚ I have a few people like that around me, the kindest people there is and I’ve noticed that I tend to snap at them if they do this too much. I feel so mean but I only have this life and it would be fun to hear the end of the story before I retire in 17 years or so πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0004

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

 

It’s time to make a pot of tea and after that I’ll kill some more mosquitoes. I’ll do my best to keep the mosquito population as small as possible next year πŸ™‚

 

 

Ravens playing in the air.

Ravens playing in the air.

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I laughed when you started on people who ramble in a story. But there are two kinds of people that ramble; the ones who put in all the boring unnecessary details and cannot tell a story unless they are allowed to finish all the details, and the ones who digress but come back to the point, eventually, after taking you on a long and winding journey through a fascinating wilderness of stuff. I don’t really mind the last kind of rambler.
    I once knew a woman named Claire whose stories were very much like that. She was a genealogist and her stories were like detailed genealogical charts of very large families. Talking with her was like playing Double Dutch jump rope. You jump in fast, make your point and jump out.
    Some people were really flummoxed by Claire but I loved her stories. I would smile and watch them unfold like complicated flowers.
    I also loved the fact that whenever Claire walked in the shop the woman I really detested would immediately get up and leave. πŸ™‚

    Lovely action shots of the deer. Is it one we know? And is that the shadow of your head in the bottom of the third shot photobombing yourself? πŸ™‚

    The dogs and I spent some time in the back yard yesterday. It was warm and shady back there so of course the few die hard mosquitoes managed to find me. I got a bite on my lower thumb knuckle. I don’t know what else to call it. I hate getting bit there. It’s no pleasure scratching that part because there’s not enough flesh or something. Itchy bug bite on top of a boney bit with no cushion in between just doesn’t work well. Like getting bitten on the ankle bone. Argh.

    It’s warm and sunny here today again. Summer is making a final appearance, probably.
    Enjoy the day.

    September 28, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They just drive me mad sometimes and I know both kinds but especially when I work I don’t have the time to just stand there until they finally get back on track πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t mind that much if those facts sort of gave something to the story, like being fun or giving some curiosity to it but usually they don’t πŸ™‚

      I didn’t get the chance too see the front properly so I’m not sure if we know it. Even if she do know us I think we got a bit too close so she ran away rather quickly. But it’s Orvar’s head You can see, there was no sunlight this morning.

      I know where You mean and I don’t even have that word for it πŸ™‚ I have a few on my ancle bones and I’m so gkad I don’t feel that itching any longer because it would have been a bloody mess there now πŸ™‚

      Really nice weather here today, cloudy but warm. They predict cooler tomorrow but then again, that was the prediction for today too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 28, 2014 at 3:20 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, our weather changed a full 360. Today is rain, cloud and 9 degrees. Perfect! Yesterday was hot but not as bad as Friday. That was just stupid. Love the pictures of the deer in mid flight. Great capture!! I lose patience with people too, I think its a getting older thing! πŸ™‚ I am off to bake brownies and do some more laundry. Have a great Sunday evening!!

    September 28, 2014 at 4:06 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I have to admit I like my weather better than Yours πŸ™‚

      Somtimes it happens, I manages to keep the focus at the same time as I follow the deer πŸ™‚

      Perhaps it is a getting older thing πŸ™‚ I did have more patience when I was younger πŸ™‚

      I did the laundry before 9 this morning and after that I only had to get that other car. I actually felt bored today and I didn’t mind at all πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 28, 2014 at 6:04 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    The deer pictures are wonderful. You got such amazing shots. I also love the sunlight on the trees in that first picture. Everything still looks colorful with the yellow leaves. I do hope all your mosquitos leave and give you some peace!!

    Kat

    September 28, 2014 at 6:55 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I was so lucky to get clear photos of that deer, there was really no time to adjust the lens, the autofocus doean’t work on that lens πŸ™‚

      That first photo is my favorite for the day, I see these deers almost every day anyway πŸ™‚

      Everything happens too fast here now, suddenly almost all trees are yellow and start dropping the leafs. It should stay like this for a much longer time πŸ™‚

      They won’t leave until the temperature realy drops down, so they will keep annoying us until then I’m afraid πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 29, 2014 at 4:36 pm

  4. jz

    my husband is a rambler. after 32 years, i just cut him off. we are horribly hot here . at least we don’t have bugs. we used to have lots of mosquitoes but now i have so many birds, i rarely see a mosquito. and only 3 stink bugs so far and they were all outside! i hope it stays this way!

    September 28, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      You are so much more patient than I am, I would go mad after only ten-fifteen years πŸ™‚

      Much nicer weather here than predicted, just enough warm to have trouble deciding if a sweater is too much to wear πŸ™‚ Perfect autumn weather to be honest.

      I have loads of birds here but living beside a bog means lots of mosquitoes I’m afraid, especially now since so many birds that eat flies have moved south. I have only seem trhee or four of our more harmless relatives to Your stink bigs, the berry farts, all summer. I hope You won’t see any morestinkbugs from now on!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 29, 2014 at 4:41 pm

  5. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –

    I’m afraid I have been having a few good laughs at your expense out of today’s post. The woman who stopped collecting porcupines figurines because one fell off on her head is the first one causing me to laugh out loud. Good thing Toby is deaf or she would be looking at me like I was nuts. The 2nd thing that had me smiling was how your house overheated after you lit your wood burning stove & then the weather warmed up. I lived in a house that was heated by a wood burning stove. I quickly learned that the down side to wood stoves & stoves like your wood burning oven is that once you heat them up, it take hours for them to cool down. Sorry you were hellishly hot all day πŸ™‚ No wonder the mosquitoes love your place. It went back up into the high 80s again this weekend & the stink bugs covered the windows and siding, well they were everywhere in large numbers like a plaque of locust only stinky. I was going to suggest you try my vacuuming method for getting rid of your mosquitoes. Unfortunately, mu stink bugs are too large & smelly to suction to death by vacuum. I have been collecting those who are unwilling to leave my house in a large mason jar the past couple of days & now I need to think of how to humanely put them to eternal rest as they say. I think the best plan is to put the jar in the freezer tonight and let hypothermia do it’s work & let them drift off to sleep. That way I don’t have to see the aftermath & in the morning I can toss them away down the trash shoot in in their glass coffin. Sounds like a plan to me.

    I loved the photos of the deer, esp. the one where all 4 legs are off the ground. I hope it is Rune. It’s hard for me to tell from the photos, but you know them so well. In some of the photos you took in late spring, I thought I recognized Dot too. All the deer look so mangy this time of year. I can’t imagine how they have been tortured by the flies & ticks all summer.
    I am not surprised that your rental car does not feel exactly the same as your car. Every car seems to have it’s own personality and feels slightly different in how it handles. Just my opinion from test driving a lot of the same models. I can’t believe it is time for your car inspection again. It seems like you are having one much more often than once a year. I guess time has gotten away from me.

    I’m glad you were able to get the new camera to work with your tripod for now. I also wanted to let you know that you might want to check out Ebay for the different kinds of 120 film. They seem to carry a large variety of film brands and some of the auctions start pretty low at around $5.50 USD per roll. I don’t know what regional Ebay you use, but it might be worth checking when you have a chance. I hope you don’t have to have too many things on your car repaired for the inspection, but I hope your mechanic can figure out why that light is glowing on your dash & that it may just need a new fuse. I would hate for you to be hit with anymore bills to pay this month. Only a couple more days & it will be October. I had meant to let you know that the transplant evaluation was not even worth going to. I was flat turned down because the cardiologist said that a new heart is not going to fix my problems. Apparently, any heart that goes in will be destroyed by the high pressure in my pulmonary arteries. Disappointing, since that was the only possibility for a cure. On the other hand the drugs are finally getting the excess fluid under decent control for the first time all year. The better I can keep the excess fluid controlled the longer I may extend my life & the better I will feel, so I am happy that has improved. Now my biggest worry for the moment is that my kidney failure is continuing to worsen because my heart will always not pump enough oxygenated blood out to organs. Eventually the fix for that will be to start dialysis, but not until there is no other choice. I am trying to focus on the present and not worry myself about what may happen in the future for the moment. All the “what ifs” can be daunting and make it hard to keep a positive attitude which I think is just as important as any medication. I am feeling a bit better & my heart failure is finally getting under control. I am happy to have those improvements

    September 29, 2014 at 5:52 am

    • Hi Ellen!

      Just as I hoped You would then πŸ™‚

      I mean if people must put in facts that has nothing to do with what they are talking about, let it at least be funny πŸ™‚ and it is so typical when they predict cold weather and I strt the fire that the sun will show and make the day so much warmer than it should be πŸ™‚ As You say, it takles forever to get that heat out of the house.

      We don’t have stink bugs here, only their relatively harmless relatives, we call them berry farts. But I think You’re thinking the right way, put them in the freezer there’s no need to make it harder for them than necessary. We have a slug here that eats everything and that has no natural enemies here, the spanish forest slug. It’s so slimy no animals wants to eat it. People catch up to 1000 every day and some pour salt on them and that would be like if someone poured acid on us. The best way is to put them in bags and then in to the freezer.

      I was so lucky to get thse photos with good focus because the auto focus doesn’t work on that lens. I’m not sure which one this is, it could be Lotta, I haven’t seen Doris in a long time and I’m afraid it was she they shot at the end of last hunting season. I do however think I saw one eyed Rune today, he look surprisingly well, normally he looks like he’s about to die any second this time of year before the new fur grows out properly πŸ™‚

      Our ebay is called Tradera and that’s where I found the lenses to that camera. No film rolls there though.

      That engine light still shines like a star in the night! They turn it of and after a short while it starts shining again. But they had found out that they now days don’t care about that light in some models since it always shines and they think my car is one of those. I’ll know tomorrow if they are right πŸ™‚

      Too bad about the evaluation! I had hoped it would be an ok for You! But if they can get the excess fluid under controll and get that high pressure down could You then be placed in line for a new kidney? But as You say, no idea to worry about something that might happen in the future, I guess that would just make things worse adding that stress to it. Just enjoy life as it is and that will be the best medicine as You say.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 29, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Leave a Reply

