It shines like a lonely star in the night sky.

DSC_0001

 

I drove to the garage yesterday to leave my car there and to borrow the one from the garage which incidentally was almost the same car I have. Much newer but I must say I didn’t like it especially much, can’t put my finger on it though. There was plenty of petrol in it but as I drove homewards I could see how the meter rather quickly sank downwards. Still lots of petrol this morning when I drove to work though but as I parked the car at my space I only had that part called the reserve marked red on the meter.

 

DSC_0004

I'm pretty sure this is One eyed Rune.

I’m pretty sure this is One eyed Rune.

DSC_0006

 

I thought that either did this car drink petrol as an alcoholic drinks booze or there must be a leak somewhere. As soon as I drove out from the parking spot that red light started to shine. I figured I would have enough to go to the garage though so I started to drive away. Suddenly the red light stopped shining and then the meter moved upwards again so that I had almost as much petrol in the tank as I had in the beginning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can’t say I felt less stressed πŸ™‚ It started to drop again as soon as I came close to the garage. The owner said that a previous customer had told him that the meter had behaved odd when he had it and he had forgotten to tell me that πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0009

DSC_0010

 

My car was ready and I had driven almost two meters (much the same in yards) when the engine light started to shine again πŸ™‚ He took it directly and I stood there watching how he turned that light of and I drove to the store nearby to get some cat and dog food. As soon as I had started to drive homewards the light started to shine again πŸ™‚ I know there is no problem with my car, I saw when the computer told us so, still that bloody light shines like a lonely star in the night sky! He told me to come by before I’ll go to the inspection if the light started to behave badly again, so I will. But he has an employee that said that they have given up on those engine lights at the inspection since they always shine but he couldn’t remember if the year my car was built belonged to those they just didn’t care about if the light shone. He thought it was up to -01 and mine is a -00.

 

DSC_0012

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

 

So all I can do is to go to the garage tomorrow and after that hope for the best πŸ™‚ The only thing wrong with that car is that tiny light that just keep shining all the time πŸ™‚ My dogs and I walked out to the bog when I came home and guess what, there are still some moose flies left and I think we got most of them with us home. I have killed two or three that was walking around on my head and neck already and it feels like there might be one more. It could be my imagination too, they are truly nasty so as soon as I feel something I believe it is one of those.

 

DSC_0017

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and then something to eat. I can sleep for long tomorrow if my dogs allow me to but I guess they won’t. I took the day off as I always do when it is time for the annual inspection, I’m so stressed even if I know there’s nothing wrong with the car that I rarely am useful at work anyway and now that little light just shines πŸ™‚ By the way! Someone asked if there was any spaniel in Sune because it looked like that. Yes there is a lot of spaniel in him, 50% actually πŸ™‚ His mother is an English hunting Cocker Spaniel. Hunting Cocker Spaniels doesn’t follow any of those rules about how a Cocker Spaniel should look, the only thing hat matters is how good they hunt. So his mother is a rather tiny dog 15 kg (around 33 pound) with very short ears. His father on the other hand is a Bernese Mountain dog, more than three times as big πŸ™‚ An accident and the mother didn’t suffer even if her puppies were very big πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

DSC_0015

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. jz

    i don’t know what is worse, car problems or computer problems! well i thought the stink bugs had moved on to warmer climates but they arrived back today. not as many as in the past but honestly, one is too many for me! i killed as many as i could find. they seem to not die from the spray as easily as they have in the past? i guess this means our weather is about to finally get cold. i hate those bugs but they sure know the weather!

    September 29, 2014 at 8:44 pm

    • I can live without a computer, how annoying that might be but I do need my car out here. This must be something they can fix! I’ll go to the garage again before the inspection and hope or the best πŸ™‚

      I guess it still is warm enough for them to hang around. They must be totally covered by the spray and especially the back because there’s where they breathe. Not even stnk bugs can survive suffocation πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I do hope You’ll get rid of them now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 30, 2014 at 3:31 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    My engine light goes on from time to time. I haven’t figured out why. Nothing is wrong. Sometimes it goes on if I put the jeep in 4 wheel drive but it goes off after a few days. Sometimes it goes on if I use the emergency brake. Again, it goes off after a day or so. Sometimes it goes on because it’s cold outside. Off again maybe the next time I start it or the next day. Very annoying. I stick a Post-it note over it so I don’t have to see it. If I could reach underneath the dash, I’d disconnect the stupid thing.

    It does look like Rune but shouldn’t his antlers be bigger? He grew a very nice rack last season. Not as big as Longhorn but quite respectable.

    It was not as warm today. Yesterday got up to the high 80’s F. Today is only in the low 70’s. Even so, when I walked the dogs this morning it was humid. When I got home, I turned on the fan in the AC unit just to move more air through the house.

    Enjoy the evening.

    September 29, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      No one seems to know why they keep on shining like that since there’s no alarm?! Mine just doesn’t seem to like that I drive the car πŸ™‚ I would love to just pick out that damned light but then my car wouldn’t pass the inspection because it didn’t work πŸ™‚ Damned if I do and damned if I don’t πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      He did have great antlers last year but they do get smaller after they have reached a certain age. Normally they don’t live that long because of the hunting but here they had a stop in hunting bucks for many years so I think Rune is quite old by now. Still going strong though πŸ™‚

      A bit cold here now in the morning. I went up at my normal time since I need to tomorrow anyway, I started a fire in the stove te push out the cold air that tries to get inside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 30, 2014 at 3:40 am

  3. Beatrice P. Boyd

    You must really get quite stressed, Christer, to take a day off for your inspection, so I do hope that the car passes OK and that the light stops shining or at least presents no problems. Luckily, I have never had a similar problem, but then all cars are different.

    September 30, 2014 at 12:29 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I do and it doesn’t matter if the car is going through its first inspection (when it is three years old) or if it is an old one. I still get really stressed. I thought perhaps it’s because I need my car so much here but then again, I was just as stressed when I lived in the big city and could take the tram or bus wherever I wanted and go there fast too πŸ™‚

      I’ll go to the garage before the inspection and after that I can only hope for the best πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 30, 2014 at 3:43 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Technology nowadays on cars boggles my mind. So much computer stuff that can go wrong, even if its only a little “thing” that needs to be fixed on it. I always get nervous when a light comes on in my Nissan Cube. Its usually something like change in the weather and the tire pressure goes off – but it still bothers me! πŸ™‚ My husband loves your camera. He knew immediately the brand of it. He loves photography and was really impressed with your purchase! I told him once you get your pics on your National Geographic site he should check them out. Can you believe that on Friday our temps were 33-34, today we hit a high of 9. And its COLD. Autumn has arrived! Have a good day off – I hope its not too stressful.

    September 30, 2014 at 1:46 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I like the old cars, no lights shine unless they need to and there are only a few of them as well πŸ™‚ It’s so annoying when there isn’t any kind of alarm that tells us what’s wrong!!! I’ll go to the garage this morning again and after that I can only hope for the best πŸ™‚

      It is a nice camera, no matter how user unfriendly it is πŸ™‚ So right now I’m waiting for the film rolls to arrive, they didn’t have them in stock so it might take some time

      It sure changes quickly now πŸ™‚ It has been more steady here, around 17 but tonight is cold and below 0 so I’ve started a fire in the stove and it burns rather nicely now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      September 30, 2014 at 3:49 am

Leave a Reply

