So nice here today.

DSC_0004

It’s summer warm here today, that is Scandinavian summer warm and not that awful heat You so often have on the American continent πŸ™‚ 20C (68F). The day has mostly been cloudy so far but now the clouds finally blow away and the sun heats up the air even more. We’re having a fairly strong wind as well now so I can have the kitchen door open without getting in too many mosquitoes.

 

DSC_0005

A bit hazy here this morning.

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

 

We’ve just come home after a short walk to the bog and it seems that the mosquito spray works fine against moose flies too. Instead of hiding in my hair as they usually do they now tried to hide on my sweater. So much easier to see them and kill them. I killed some crawling around on the dogs too so I think this was the first time in a while that we came home without a single one of those nasty critters.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

The hunting leader said yesterday that they had built a wind shelter out in the forest somewhere but that they today would put up a fourth wall so they could sit inside on windy days. They would also build a fire-place so one could make coffee and grill hotdogs there. He said that I can use it as I please since they mostly only use it after the hunting day is over. I couldn’t find it today though, I had put on a sweater and it was way too warm and I just wanted to get home to take a shower and cool down πŸ™‚ Well, I have plenty of time to find it and it won’t stay this wonderful for too long I’m afraid.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0070

DSC_0072

 

They say we’ll get even better weather tomorrow so perhaps I should mow the lawn for the last time this year. The grass isn’t especially high right now but this warm weather will keep it growing and it is so much easier to keep it poop clean if it is shorter. I’ve done my chores for the day though, vacuuming the floors but there was no need for scrubbing them this time thankfully πŸ™‚ Tomorrow’s laundry day and then perhaps mowing day too.

 

DSC_0076

Each species of tree has its own color on the leafs. The pastel pinkish-orange comes from cherry trees, the brown orange comes from white beams, the pure yellow from birches.

DSC_0077

DSC_0078

DSC_0079

 

It’s time for making a pot of tea and something to eat. No need for a fire in the stove since it has been so warm and they say the night will be too. It has been warmer at nights now these last days than it was the entire summer πŸ™‚

 

A self sown Rowan in my garden.

A self sown Rowan in my garden.

The cotoneaster gets fiery red leafs.

The cotoneaster gets fiery red leafs.

The only good thing with the Aronia bush is the autumn color.

The only good thing with the Aronia bush is the autumn color.

The sloe becomes light yellow.

The sloe becomes light yellow.

 

Have a great day!

 

A bit late but finally I have a bud on my water lily.

A bit late but finally I have a bud on my water lily.

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I hope you get enough Swedish warm summer weather to allow that water lily to bloom for a bit.

    There was one lone survivor of 6 mum plants that I bought last fall. I coddled it all summer long while it was just an ugly green plant. I was doubling that there would be any flowers on it this year. Two weeks ago it got buds. Today it has several small dark brownish red flowers with more to come. Even though I fed it well, the flowers are not as big as they were last year.

    The different species of trees do have different colors in the fall. You can also see it in early spring when the leaves are just budding out. If you stand where you can see an expanse of tree tops, you will notice that the overall effect of leaf budding in early spring looks like a misty pastel version of the same view in fall.

    My wild cherries aren’t all that pastel pinkish orange. They are more pastel bronze with some yellow mixed in. The black walnut is yellow. The sugar maple is flaming orange-red. The swamp maples are pinkish red but not so flaming. The oaks are reddish brown. The Virginia creeper is scarlet but some of it is orange red.

    It’s cold, dark and drippy at the moment. I’m turning on the heat for a bit to get the damp out. I have no plans for today but will bask in the victory of finally having gotten the bathroom sink to drain properly. One must savor these small triumphs. Ice cream will be appropriate. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    October 4, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do hope so too and by the predictions they are making it might actually happen πŸ™‚

      Even if it is hard top see when You buy mums they have removed lots of buds so that the remaining ones can grow big. So the ones You have are just normal sized. But just the fact that You have one flowering in Your garden is great, here they almost always freeze to death every winter and if they would survive they almost never get a chance to flower because they start so late. I have problems even getting most autumn asters to flower before the frost takes them and they can take a lot of cold nights πŸ™‚

      Yes, it is like their own finger print πŸ™‚ Our oaks get yellow one day and the next they’re brown. So that’s why I hope those small red oaks I’ve planted will survive here. Usually they turn red or bright orange here in Sweden and keep the color for a while before they drop the leafs. Our oaks usually keep their leafs all winter.

      Yes it is those little victories we must celebrate πŸ™‚ and I agree, Ice cream is very appropriate πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 4, 2014 at 2:23 pm

  2. jz

    hi christer! we have our first cool day…..45 degrees. i have all my doors and windows open.. i LOVE it!!! i am putting flannel sheets on all the beds today too. i wish we had this weather all year long! i am hoping to get some good photos of fall leaves on my trip tomorrow. if not, sometime next week the leaves should peak. joyce

    October 4, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Congratulations to Your first cool day πŸ™‚ I know how much You love them. I’m born on the wrong continent, I should have been born where it’s warm all the time πŸ™‚

      I always get the feeling that autumn is so much more colorful on Your continent! We have way to many spruces and pines here and the birches turn brown so fast. We need lots more maples and cherry trees here so we too get lots of colors beside green, brown and yellow πŸ™‚
      Yes You’ll go on a trip tomorrow! I’m looking forward to see those photos You’ll take!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 4, 2014 at 2:57 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    It will rain again today. I’ve forgotten how the sun looks though the weatherman claims it will be here tomorrow. I need the weather to be dry so I can shut down the deck and cover all the furniture. I gave in and put the comforter on my bed as the nights have been chilly. Today i=t is about the same temperature as where you are.

    I did stuff inside the house yesterday but still haven’t gotten to that cabinet. I need lots of energy to do that. Gracie and I may go to the dump today or maybe tomorrow. I haven’t decided yet if I really want to go out. I will place a grocery order on line for tomorrow delivery.

    Gracie has been in and out all morning. Her paws prints are all over the kitchen floor but there is no sense cleaning as she’ll just bring in more.

    Enjoy your summer-like day!!

    Kat

    October 4, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ll get rain in a few days so I’ll enjoy this weather to the fullest now. But since the ground is as dry as it is I don’t get any paw prints on the floors at the moment πŸ™‚
      I had a fire burning yesterday and I wish I hadn’t because it was way to warm in my bedroom, not even the dogs wanted to say there for especially long πŸ™‚

      I so understand Your unwillingness to go outside in weather like that but thankfully my dogs force me to anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 4, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Leave a Reply

