Tomorrow morning will be tough :-)

DSC_0013

I remember from back in the days when I had muscle soreness the day after training hard that I thought, good that only shows it did some good. All I can think of now when feeling soreness in my muscles after walking so far two days in a row is bad, that showsΒ it did something bad in my legs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ To be honest, I’m not sure I’ll be able to walk at all tomorrow because it hurts something nasty after only have been sitting down for a few minutes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

 

But I don’t regret it, the walk today was wonderful despite the weather and despite the fact that we couldn’t decide who was the boss. I was pretty sure it was I but Nova and Sune had very different ideas. The question wasn’t solved until I growled loudly and both of them understood that it was me after all πŸ™‚ They stopped every second meter and just refused to leave so I had to drag them long stretches until they gave in. I guess there were lots of scents they hadn’t smelled before but there is a limit to how long and to how often I’m prepared to stop, especially since we only had five hours to reach our goal. We would never had come there in time if we had walked like they wanted πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0009

The open fields starts just outside the village. I'm so glad the rain kept calm while we were walking there.

The open fields starts just outside the village. I’m so glad the rain kept calm while we were walking there.

DSC_0011

DSC_0012

 

I tried to avoid walking on the big roads as much as possible and it would have worked fine if it hadn’t been for one farmer that had fenced the road with barbed wires so it was impossible to continue. May he burn when that day comes. Farmers know they aren’t allowed to do that but they really don’t care. I could see where I was supposed to go but the fence forced me to go nΒ¨back to the place we turned in to, that took away 35 minutes. Well time wasn’t a problem really, we reached the garage in good time after three hours and some minutes but still!

 

Bjurums Castle seen from the side.

Bjurums Castle seen from the side.

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

 

I took 114 photos and after deleting some bad ones and some duplicates I still have over 90 photos I can show, so I’ll do that the coming week. Many look alike though, it’s forests or open fields and some houses too πŸ™‚ The ones predicting the weather must be either drunk or high! There si simply no other explanation I fear πŸ™‚ They predicted no rain until 8pm tonight and if that’s right 8pm came already at 1pm today. We only got a few light showers but now, long before 8pm the rain pours down and with the help of the strong winds we’re having anything living out there might drown if they open up their mouths πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0019
DSC_0020

 

 

They are renovating the castle from top to basement and it is much needed.

They are renovating the castle from top to basement and it is much needed.

DSC_0022

 

It’s time to start the fire in the stove and to make a pot of tea. I’ll also give all the animals something to eat and perhaps something to myself too. After that I’ll rest my feet by placing them high πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0023

I wonder if it is a shed because it actually look like that.

I wonder if it is a shed because it actually look like that.

This is the creek I often photograph here where I live.

This is the creek I often photograph here where I live.

Pumpkins! The only ones I've seen this year.

Pumpkins! The only ones I’ve seen this year.

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Your poor feet! You should wear slippers to work tomorrow! πŸ™‚ That certainly is alot of walking but I know too well how long it takes when you have dogs in tow. Twice as long if not more….our husky is famous for stopping at every tree, pole, fire hydrant, sign, blade of grass. You would think he’s a bloodhound! Lovely pictures today, you sure can tell autumn is here! Lovely castle, does someone live in there all the time? Have a good evening!!

    October 7, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes my poor feet πŸ™‚ My ancles has actuallyswollen so much that I’ve lost the feeling of touch in big parts of the feet πŸ™‚ I guess one shouldn’t walk that much in just two days if one is rheumatic πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      This walk did actually take twice as long as it did yesterday and the onbly reason it went that fast was because I didn’t allow them to stop every second meter πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Yes autumn is here for sure and now it won’t be long till winter arrives, I do hope it’s a short and warm one πŸ™‚

      Yes the owner live there all the time, not sure about now though since the renovations goes on all day. I’ve been inside it a few times and it’s run down badly so the renovations came in the last seconds before it would have been too late.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 7, 2014 at 4:50 pm

  2. hope your feet heal quickly, poor joyce would not survive in your land, NO PUMPKINS!!!! lol, a least not enough,,,

    October 7, 2014 at 4:54 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I hope so too πŸ™‚
      She wouldn’t like it here at all πŸ™‚

      What happened to Your blog? I read the latest post and had written a comment when I suddenly got a new page teling me that Your blog doesn’t exist any longer??

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 7, 2014 at 5:17 pm

  3. jz

    hi christer! i think laurie is switching to wordpress or something. she should be back up and running soon! that was a looong walk! hope your feet are better soon! swedish pumpkins! they look the same as ours! joyce

    October 7, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I just got so surprised when the entire blog suddenly just was gone πŸ™‚ Thanks for the info!

      It was a long but very nice walk, despite the weather. I do hope I’ll be able to walk down to the kitchen tomorrow morning, it’s rather hard now πŸ™‚

      I guess these pumpkins are imported and I guess it’s the same varities You have but so small πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 7, 2014 at 5:41 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    If you have Epsom salts on hand, pour some in your bath and soak in it for awhile. It helps to draw the excess fluid out of the tissues which might help with some of the pain. If you don’t have a bath, pour some in a bucket and soak your feet. I used to use it for my hand when I was doing a lot of massage. It helped.

    Painful as it may have been, your walk looked lovely. I love the red house that badly needs a paint job. The roof is wonderful. My first thought was of the last line in Love Shack by the B 52’s. Tiiin Roof RUSTED! πŸ˜€

    It was a combination day today. Sun, drizzle, clouds, rain, pouring rain, sun and rain together. It was relatively warm and humid, too. T-shirt weather again.

    I went to get my oil changed and ended up having to buy a new battery too. I noticed it was sounding a little tired the last couple of days. They checked the output and couldn’t get a reading because of the corrosion on the terminals. After cleaning, the battery was found to be producing a fraction of what it was supposed to do. The old battery is original to the jeep. It’s been in there for 10 years. It took 20 minutes to get it out of the bracket.

    Rest up and enjoy the evening.

    October 7, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      had neither Epsom salt nor a bath tub I’m afraid πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find some epsom salt when I’ll go to the store next time.

      πŸ™‚ it is a cute little cottage but I think it’s too late to save it. I wonder why they just let it fall appart since it actually stands only a few yards from the big house. I’m pretty sure it has an interesting history, it stands on the property to one of those that is “the wrong people” when we’re having our road association meetings πŸ™‚

      It was a really nice walk even if one farmer had cut of the road like that!!!

      Isn’t it yttypical! It’s always something more one need to get that wasn’t counted in the equation. It isn’t that long ago I had to buy a new battery too and then I realised I needed oilt too πŸ™‚ But I have to admit that one really can’t complain if it has been working for ten years πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 8, 2014 at 5:06 pm

  5. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hello Christer –

    Well, Sune & Nova behaved about like I thought they would on your hike today. I knew they would want to stop every few steps to sniff all the new scents, but I did not think you would have to drag them to get them to move. Don’t they know they are supposed to listen to their master?:) If it had been me & I saw that barbed wire fence I would have let go with every curse word I knew. I hate barbed wire. Years ago I foolishly decided to cross over one & I have the scars on my legs to show how stupid I was.

    You didn’t say, but hopefully your car was repaired & ready for you when you arrived at the garage. I cannot imagine how sore your legs are. I wish you had a hot tub so you could soak some of the soreness & pain away. I was surprised that you do as much walking as you do on a normal day with your hip replacement. I know when I had my first knee joint replacements when I was 31 yrs. old, I have always been told that the more activity you do, the quicker the prosthesis wears out. Did the doctors tell you the same thing about your hip replacements? When I needed the 3rd replacement, I didn’t know that they ran out of places in the bone to place some of the screws necessary for the operation. If they had told me that early on, I might have been more cautious about how much activity I did with them. I always found the best help for pain & stiffness like you have is to soak in a tub of really warm water. I always found that there was nothing like wet heat to make sore joints feel better. I wish I had somewhere to put a hot tub. I would use one year round if I did.

    That 4th photo you took of the clouds with the opening in the center is wonderful. It looks like an alien spaceship will descend through that opening at any moment & land in the field. It is great that they are completely renovating the castle. It really is such a beautiful building. The architecture is simple, yet elegant. I wonder if they will also do some nice landscaping with some flower gardens. In that one photo today where there is a small white cottage hidden back in the woods by the water, I was wondering if the house was deserted or if someone was still living there. It looks abandoned with the path overgrown and kind of spooky. The red house where the yard is plowed under would be really cute if it had a fresh coat of paint. I was reading some of the history as to why so many Swedish houses are painted red. It was interesting to find that the color, other than being one of the 1st cheap pigments available to be made into paint by the homeowner, became a sign of one’s status in society. Red was originally used to copy the red brick homes of royalty and when farmers & those of lower status were able to paint their home red, the wealthy began using white or yellow linseed paint. It was much more expensive than the red paint and so it denoted wealth. I imagine the castle is painted yellow as a sign of being upper status.

    By the way, I when I went to Laurie’s blog today, I also got a message saying the blog was not available. I wonder if that is happening because she is switching over to a new computer software with voice recognition. Either it is because of that or she is not aware that no one can reach her post today. Well, I hope the morning finds your legs still functioning & less painful. If you are as sore as you are now, I can’t imagine being able to go in to work. Now that you are 50, it does not take too much to overdo it physically. Try putting wringing out some towels in really warm water and putting them on your sore legs. Warm hear is what I find best relieves pain & soreness. Some people swear by ice packs, but applying some heat will help relax the muscles. It might help you sleep better. Hopefully you will be able to get out of bed in the morning.

    October 7, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      The old boys knows how to behave but these two has never really understood it πŸ™‚ Sune walks perfectly unleashed and Nova when ahe is the only one leashed. But if those two are leashed at the same time itr is as if all rules are forgotten πŸ™‚

      My encounter with barbed wires aren’t much better I’m afraid. Thankfully most farmers use electric fences instead now days but it isn’t fun to get burned by those either πŸ™‚

      Yes the car was ready, they had done that the first they did in the morning. Now I must go back tro the vehicle inspection to show that everythin is like it should be anf after that I don’t have to worry for yet another year.

      Kne joints are so much more complicated! I’m so glad I haven’t had to do that surgery yet. I have implants in my hips because prostheses would only last ten years since I was only 38 when I got my first one and after that I would only get one more chance with that. So instead they kept my entire leg, chiseled my hip ball and placed a new hip ball in titanium over it. They also placed a lot of titanium on the other side where the ball must fit in. If this for some reason must be removed I still have two chganses with prosthesis’s. I have had no problems walking with this in both hips but I’m not allowed to do some thing, like jogging or kickboxing or jumping down from higher hights than two yards. I do miss the jogging the rest I don’t mind πŸ™‚

      I do like that 4th photo but I was messing around with the camera so I missed it when it looked as best.
      That little white cottage is actually a childrens play house and it is standing in the garden of the castle. It looks bigger than it actually is and that path goes just beside the property. I don’t know if they’ll do anything special with the garden, I doubt it though. Perhaps some at the entrance, the part we can see on the photo but it’s more like an English park on the back side. If one stays calm there in the evenings one can see beavers swimming around in the creek.

      It is a rather interesting history about our red paint and it’s fun that we still love it so much. The color of the castle is decided by the authorities and it is most likely a color it once had back in the days and most likely because of what You say. There are so many rules when they renovate a castle like this that it’s almost impossible to follow them. each and every step on the way must be ok with the authorities.

      Hoyce belives that Laurie might be changing to WordPress instead but I don’t know.

      My legs worked but they didn’t feel good in any way πŸ™‚ >I’ve been stretching all day and it does feel a bit better thankfully. The night was terrible though, cramps in my thighs and it hurt something nasty.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 8, 2014 at 5:26 pm

  6. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Thanks, Christer, for tqking a walk today because I was ‘t able to get out for one of my own. Many times, I don’t even take a camera because I would take too many photos and not enough steps!

    October 8, 2014 at 2:10 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’ll show photos for at least four more posts πŸ™‚ I had my goal so I knew I had to keep on walking πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 8, 2014 at 5:27 pm

  7. Hi Christer,
    Gracie does the same thing. I took her to the vet’s the other day to get her nails clipped, and it took what seemed like forever to get inside the door. as she stopped to smell everything.

    The last couple of days have been spectacular, sunny and warm. Today, though, is a bot chillier and is cloudy. The sun was here but has since disappeared.

    I love all the pictures you took on your walk. Your world is so much of fall with all the leaves strewn around. We haven’t yer had the leaves change so their dropping isn’t even close.

    I know about walking and pain, but it is my back which quickly gives in. I have to stop for a bit until the pain goes away then I can start again. Every walk is start and stop. I hope today finds you a bit better.

    Have a great day!

    October 9, 2014 at 2:30 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Normally this is no problem since all but Nova walks unleashed and she rareky stop this often., I guess sher already know all thye scents here.

      Quite the opposite here, windy, rainy and cold. It will be a bit warmer for a few days but it won’t be especially nice anyway.

      More photos comes today, even with some houses in them πŸ™‚ Lots of trees has lost all their leafs now soon there will be very few colors to brighten up the day.

      I wouldn’t have had half the pain if I had worn proper shoes, The ones I had on my walk to the garage was so comfortable and made for walkinbg long distances. Still I got cramps in my thighs at night πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I still have no feeling in the upper parts of my left foot πŸ™‚ but it has started to tingle some so I guess it’s on its way back πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 9, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Leave a Reply

