More photos from the long walk.

I want a stone wall like this!

I want a stone wall like this!

Yesterday morning was a bad morning, well the entire day to be honest πŸ™‚ I had problems walking down the stairs to my kitchen and I had had cramps in my thighs at night, I had to walk around for twenty minutes before I could go back to sleep. Next time I’ll do this I’ll bring proper shoes with me. The walk to the garage was so much comfortable. But I went to work and it got better during the day. Instead I now have bad pain in my right shoulder πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

There's mostly spruce forest at the beginning of our walk.

There’s mostly spruce forest at the beginning of our walk.

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

 

My work friend was going to paint some big lampposts, the big kind You find along the pavements. I’ve lifted these several times without any problems I just lift them up and place them on my shoulder.For some reason, I guess it might be my rheumatism, this was a bad thing to do this time. Now I can’t lift my hand especially high without a nasty pain hits my shoulder. I’m a bit swollen and even a light touch hurts like h… πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0035

Red is our color :-)

Red is our color πŸ™‚

I have no idea what this might be and I thought it best to leave it alone.

I have no idea what this might be and I thought it best to leave it alone.

DSC_0039

 

Luckily I’m ambidextrous so I’ve used my left hand when painting all day but my finger joints in my left hand isn’t too happy about the change, not a bad thing that it’s Friday and a short working day tomorrow πŸ™‚ Who knows what else would break in me if it only was Monday today πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Once there was a road here and the only reason one still can walk here is because they like to drive their four wheels here.

Once there was a road here and the only reason one still can walk here is because they like to drive their four wheels here.

DSC_0042

It goes along the big road and as You can see there was loads of cars there :-)

It goes along the big road and as You can see there was loads of cars there πŸ™‚

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

 

I now know when they made my “new” camera! There’s something called the Hasselblad code, not even close as interesting as the Da Vinci code I’m afraid πŸ™‚ The code is VHPICTURES where V = 1, H = 2 and so on and the S = 0 Every camera ever built there has a series number that starts with two letters, the ones in my camera is T and I. T = 6 and I = 4, so it is built 1964, the same year I was born πŸ™‚ So for my fiftieth birthday I bought myself a fifty year old camera πŸ™‚ The package with the film rolls has arrived so tonight I’ll figure out how to load the camera with the film, it looks easy enough but we all know things seldom are as easy as they look πŸ™‚

 

Suddenly the old road shows again but as You can see in the next photo nature slowly takes back the ground. It gets thinner and thinner.

Suddenly the old road shows again but as You can see in the next photo nature slowly takes back the ground. It gets thinner and thinner.

DSC_0047

If it looks like it doesn't belong because of an odd shape it's most likely an old tomb in this area. This does look odd.

If it looks like it doesn’t belong because of an odd shape it’s most likely an old tomb in this area. This does look odd.

DSC_0051

No risk of walking hungry, lots of small and big apple trees along the road.

No risk of walking hungry, lots of small and big apple trees along the road.

 

So the first photos will be taken either tomorrow or on Saturday. I’ve bought a light meter but it hasn’t arrived yet so it’ll be a bit tricky. But I found a sort of cheat sheet on the net that they used back in the days when light meters were rare and expensive. I’ve drawn most of it on a paper so I’ll show You how it looks like as soon as I’m done and can take a photo of it.

 

It looks like a small village and it probably was one time long ago. Now it's a hotel called Tree House Hotel.

It looks like a small village and it probably was one time long ago. Now it’s a hotel called Tree House Hotel.

DSC_0049

DSC_0053

The sign says: Tree House Hotel.

DSC_0054

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Christer,
    You had me confused when you said good thing it is Friday. Sorry but you’ll have to wait until tomorrow.

    I really enjoyed the pictures of your walk. I agree it might have been a tomb from the configuration of the hill. The hotel looks like it would be a lovely place to stop for a couple of days. When I saw the apple trees, I was reminded of the Wizard of Oz when the trees threw apples at Dorothy and her friends.

    Gracie would have loved walking in the woods. She’s an old girl now so long walks are tough on her. She’ll be 9 next month, the oldest of my own Boxers though the one I grew up with lasted longer. I’m thinking that you and she would be great company-you with all your aching joints and bones. It is tough getting older.

    Have a great evening!

    October 9, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      But I wrote that it’s a good thing it’s Friday and a short workingday tomorrow πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      More photos will come already tomorrow and I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚ We have so many tombs around here that no one even reacts when seeing them πŸ™‚ Just in my village we have so many that it’s hard to get exited any longer πŸ™‚

      They have a cafΓ© in that hotell during the summer months and it is a really beautiful place. I wouldn’t mind living there if I didn’t already live in the area. Calmer tees here πŸ™‚ and these apples were soo sweet and delicious. Some are just the opposite πŸ™‚

      Gracie would fit perfect with the old boys, I didn’t dare taking them with me since their joints are even worse than mine are πŸ™‚ But their medicine is perfect for our shorter and calmers walks around here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 9, 2014 at 5:37 pm

  2. sorry to hear about the joint pain, hopefully it wil lleave as quickly as it came, the ferns growing from between the stones on the rock fence are beautiful, You live in such a beautiful area, it must be karma that you bought a camera made in the same year as your birth year, that makes it meant to be yours!

    October 9, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      That’s the life for us with rheumatism and normally I don’t think a lot about it, only when I do things I really shoulnd’t, like walking over 10 kilometers with working shoes :-9 and then have to pay for it like I’m doing right now πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but the shoulder was a new thing I wasn’t prepared for.

      I do like that stone fence! Too bad it’s so heavy to make them πŸ™‚

      I’ve just been struggeling with the camera trying to put in the film πŸ™‚ I’ve lost one film just because I didn’t watch a video on Youtube on how to put in a film in that kind of camera πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But it would have been worse if I had taken a lot of photos and then realised all of them were crap just because I didn’t do as I should have πŸ™‚ It’s fun that it is just as old as I am πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 9, 2014 at 7:26 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Sorry to hear about the pain in your legs and shoulder. The joys of getting older! πŸ™‚ I am sure you felt it as you were walking with the work shoes and wishing you had walking shoes on! Fantastic pictures today! My favorite is the one with the all yellow tree peeking through the green ones. That one is really lovely! Well, you could eat the apples on the trees but remember to not eat too many! Just in case….. We are off to our cottage this weekend, it is the Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Have a lovely weekend and catch up with you next week!

    October 9, 2014 at 8:02 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes, the joys of getting older πŸ™‚ But my legs and feet are rather fine today so now it’s only my shoulder that still is sour.
      I didn’t think of it until I almost was at home and my feet strarted to feel like they were burning πŸ™‚ These shoes are rather comfortable but not when walking that far πŸ™‚ But it was so nice to have my real walking shoes, or are they called hiking boots? such a difference πŸ™‚

      I do like that photo too πŸ™‚ and I only ate one apple from the apple trees along the road πŸ™‚ I still remeber what happened last time πŸ™‚

      Have a great weekend and Holiday at the cottage!
      Christer.

      October 10, 2014 at 12:50 pm

  4. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Christer –

    I’m glad to hear you were able to get up & walk this morning. I really though you might not be able to walk under your own power. To injure your shoulder now must be frustrating. Good thing you can use both sides equally well to make it though the work day. I think it is a good thing you are falling at the end of the week or they might be bring you home on a stretcher:) Hopefully, you will do nothing more strenuous than using your “new” camera. It’s great to hear that some of the film arrived so you can try it out. I think it is a good omen that the camera is the same age you are. What an amazing coincidence! It would be great if loading the film turned out to be easy and you can get on to taking some photos. Have you been thinking of what kind of images you want to try & capture?

    You had lots of nice scenery along the road you traveled. I can see why Sune & Nova kept stopping to smell all the things that were new to them. Is most of the forest land around your home privately owned or does the gov’t protect some of the wilderness & forests by owning land that is to be preserved in it’s natural state? It is always interesting to see your tombs rising out of the flat landscape. They are so similar to the Indian burial mounds in the valley here. I don’t know if I mentioned to you that in college I was very interested in archaeology and spent a few summers working on dig sites unearthing these mounds and recovering many artifacts and skeletal remains of people buried that carbon dating showed went back to 1432. So few people know what those mounds really are and just assume they are part of the natural landscape. The Tree House Hotel looks like a very nice place to stay. Did you sample any of the apples from the trees you passed on your walk. I was surprised at how big the apples were on that one tree in the photo since the tree look like it was no longer being pruned or fertilized and was just growing wild. That stone wall was pretty impressive. I can see why you would like to have one around your property. Can you imagine having to drag each stone and then get it into just the right place for a good fit. I would think horses or oxen were used to haul these heavy stones as the wall was being built since they look too heavy for a man to move. Part of what I love about New England aside from the beautiful stone houses are the wonderful stone fences you see there. Although the large stones used there are more smooth & rounded and in every color from dark grey to very light colors and they fit much tighter together. There are also some rock slab fences, probably slate or granite, but they are less common. I know someone with a retaining wall that looks like the one you photographed and she planted all kinds of plants to turn it into a beautiful rock garden. After the plants had grown for several years it was beautiful when all the flowers were in bloom & trailing down the stone. It looked like it had been there for hundreds of years.

    The weather here is finally starting to cool down & after it being 93 degrees the other day, they are predicting that in a week our daytime high will be 52 degrees which is much lower than the average of 72 this time of year. I really hope this long & very hot summer weather is finally over. The trees are usually colorful by now , but many are still green and some have yellowed. The geese & Canadian ducks are now almost 6 weeks late in arriving. Maybe Canada is now so warm they will be staying there all winter. After months of hardly a drop of rain, we are finally supposed to get some next week. There is concern that with the drought & all the land burned by forest fires that there will be lots of landslides when the rain starts in earnest. Heavy rain saturates the soil and then the trees begin to fall. I am glad I do not have any hills next to my home, so there is no risk of landslides. Well, I hope you get through the end of the work week without anymore strains & sore muscles. Have fun with your camera this weekend

    October 9, 2014 at 9:06 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      I did wonder that evening if I woukld be able to at least get down to the kitchen πŸ™‚ It took its time but I did it. As soon as I started to walk around it felt slightly better so I could go to work. I’m not sure what I’ve done to my shoulder though, I guess I might have gotten a tiny fracture in the bones there but then again it feels like it’s most painful in the joint so it is most likely my rheumatism.

      It is actually quite easy to load the film even if there is a tiny room for mistakes which I naturally did πŸ™‚ I’ll try to explain it in todays post. Otherwise I think loading the film is the only easy thing with this camera πŸ™‚ I do have some thoughts on what will be the first motives and I’ll try it tomorrow morning, hopefully the weather is sunny and fine.

      It is a beautiful road to walk but it gets better further up the mountain, closer to the old abbey ruin. Most of the bog just outside my cottage is owned by the Environmental Protection Agency and also some of the forest by the way I was walking. Otherwise every part of the forest is private owned here. Even where there are so many tombs that they can’t use the land for anything but having sheep there. The rules about these tombs and other artifacst are so ridgid that people don’t tell when they find something, there are lots of interesting things in the cellars around here and other places where history has left signs πŸ™‚

      Yes I think You’ve mentined that and I wish I had done something like that when I was younger, now I know what problems it can give land owners if I would find anything that I feel it’s best I don’t dig around anywhere πŸ™‚ I’ve always found history interesting and I’ve seen a science program here that showed just what You’re talking about. None of those living close to those mounds knew they were old graves. We always went to places with old tombs when I went to school but I don’t know if they still do. Too bad if they don’t.

      Normally these stone fences or walls are like the ones You describe. more round big stones and usually granite. Especially further south in poor areas they carried these stones by hand or dragged them behind themselves on a piece of burlap. Amazing walls but so much work behind. Horses and oxen were just too valuable to use for that kind of work and many couldn’t afforn either to be honest. We had oe rather high around our summer cottage when I was a kid and I wish I could have brought it with me πŸ™‚

      It will be a bit warmer here again and most rain will miss us, we’ve gotten enough as it is now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 10, 2014 at 1:10 pm

  5. jz

    well, in not too long you will have the weekend to heal. maybe the pups will take care of you…or not! i was in the mountains today and all of the barns were red!

    October 9, 2014 at 10:58 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I feel better everywhere even if my shoulder still aches. I’ll use a heat pad as often as I can this weekend.

      I fear Nova and Sune will pull the leash especially much now if I need to have them both leashed πŸ™‚

      I do like red barns πŸ™‚ I’m surprised that we still use red paint that much when it comes to our homes!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 10, 2014 at 1:13 pm

  6. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s cool that your camera is the same age as you are. You were destined to have it. πŸ™‚

    It’s fun seeing pictures of your long walk. What was the one beige building? It looked like a farm but it wasn’t painted red.

    Sorry that your joints are complaining about all the abuse they’ve had. It’s like once you turn 50 you can’t really push the envelope anymore. Bad things happen. πŸ™‚

    It was another loverly day here. Sunny and a bit cooler than yesterday but still nice. The dogs were at day care. I drove around doing errands and got home just as the junk picker was cruising by my house. Junk pickers drive around looking for metal things that people are putting out for the trash to pick up. Normally they come by my house early in the morning so I never see them. Lucky break for me, this time. I got him to pull out my old extension ladder, the old lawn mower and three old chrome chairs from the 50’s. All of that has been rusting away in my back yard for years. Now they’re gone. I would have had to pay someone to take them away because our new trash system won’t let us put that big stuff out anymore.

    I look forward to more pictures of your walk and pictures from your birthday camera. Too bad about that roll of film. I forget how to load 120 but I didn’t think it was that complicated.

    Enjoy the day and I hope Friday is less painful. πŸ™‚

    October 10, 2014 at 12:50 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      I got a little surprised when I realised it was as old as I am πŸ™‚ but yes it is cool πŸ™‚

      That beige building is a normal home, probably a fairly modern style when it comes to architecture

      I think my joints should be ahhpy that I abuse them this much πŸ™‚ It’s just my way of showing I still trust them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I wish we had a daycare center for dogs like that here, it would be good for the both ypung ones. I know there is at least one place in FalkΓΆping but the waiting line to be able to go there is several years long πŸ™‚

      So You still have those junk pickers! Ours died out years ago when it became forbidden to throw these things away. Any metal must be recycled and we must go to the recycling station. The good thing is that they pay rather good for the metal we bring so few complains about it. But I miss those guys, so much easier to jut give it to them than to have to load it on something and brinbg it to teh recycling center oneself.

      It is actually very easy to load that film πŸ™‚ But there are two things one can do wrong and I did one of them. The first thing is to put it on the wrong way so that the paper cover these films have on one side covers the film and the other is a metal list that is used to keep the fil flΓΆat and that’s where I did my mistake. But I thought it best to lose this film roll than to take photos that surly will be bad πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Leave a Reply

