The first photos are taken.

Finally I reached the best part of our walk, Forentorp Nature reserve or Forentorp meadows as it also is called.

Finally I reached the best part of our walk, Forentorp Nature reserve or Forentorp meadows as it also is called.

But it will take some time until we can see any result. I have absolutely no idea how these will look but I am pretty sure that they are sharp πŸ™‚ It was a bit tricky to watch through the seeker from above but thankfully a previous owner has made some changes so I didn’t have to see the objects I photographed up side down πŸ™‚ That was fairly common in the old cameras but it could be fixed by changing something inside the camera.

 

The trees are mostly old oaks and their branches twiunes together so that very little light comes down to the ground. So very few flowers but lots of mosses and lichens. I never walked in to the fields though since I was on my way to my car.

The trees are mostly old oaks and their branches twines together so that very little light comes down to the ground. So very few flowers but lots of mosses and lichens. I never walked in to the fields though since I was on my way to my car.

DSC_0082

It does feel like walking in to a big cathedral here and it is a nice place to take a break and a cup of coffe if one brought it. No place to buy things like that here.

It does feel like walking in to a big cathedral here and it is a nice place to take a break and a cup of coffee if one brought it. No place to buy things like that here.

DSC_0087

 

It took some time until I understood why it was impossible to wind to the next photo after taking the last one. One sort of winds a spring in the camera so as soon as the photo is taken and the protective plate (there’s a protective plate in front of the film in the cassette just in case one would accidentally release it from the camera which was the first thing I did πŸ™‚ ) is back on place. The shutter button stays pressed down and I need to release it before I put in the plate, when I’ve done that it’s possible to wind the spring again. Easy πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Here one can find buildings almost 600 years old, this barn however is much younger :-)

Here one can find buildings almost 600 years old, this barn however is much younger πŸ™‚

DSC_0089

This mill however is very old. In tomorrow's post You'll see the ruins of the old Abbey up on the hill and this was the Abbey mill. The creek in the previous photo must have been bigger back then I guess because that is what powered the mill.

This mill however is very old. In tomorrow’s post You’ll see the ruins of the old Abbey up on the hill and this was the Abbey mill. The creek in the previous photo must have been bigger back then I guess because that is what powered the mill.

DSC_0091

 

No special objects this first film roll but I have to say some of them refused to come and when I forced them they looked as if I was torturing them πŸ™‚ I also used both lenses I have and followed the cheap sheet in most photos but tried some adjustments myself too of course πŸ™‚ I had the camera on my tripod to get it as steady as possible and I do hope it helped. I think the best thing is to release the camera from the tripod when walking elsewhere because it was a bit tricky to keep control of it all with that heavy camera on it and it has happened with my other cameras that it just released the camera itself πŸ™‚

 

The forest opens up later on and small patches of fields shos up instead.

The forest opens up later on and small patches of fields shows up instead.

DSC_0093

DSC_0094

 

DSC_0095

 

I think I’ll wait to photograph with this camera again until I get back this film roll. I’ve written down every adjustment I’ve done before taking the photo so I’ll know what I did to each and every of them. If they turn out good I just carry on like this if not I might need to actually learn how to use this camera πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It was fun though and it takes no time to take twelve photographs. I must admit that I do like the wonders of technology so that we now days can delete a bad photo the second after we’ve taken it πŸ™‚

 

For years I've thought that the next time I'll see this barn it has fallen. It's much tougher than I thought because it has looked the same all the time :-)

For years I’ve thought that the next time I’ll see this barn it has fallen. It’s much tougher than I thought because it has looked the same all the time πŸ™‚

Theraods ai walked on are ancient and I just love walking around here between these walls.

The roadsΒ I walked on are ancient and I just love walking around here between these walls.

DSC_0098

DSC_0099

 

I’ve taken lots of photographs during these days when I’ve shown the photographs from our walk and I’ll use them as spares when it is too dark to take photos after work. The sun is now going dow just after 6pm so it won’t take long until that happens and I must start to save photographs taken during the weekends again.Β 

 

DSC_0100

This is an old pilgimage and they are still used today for that reason. The signs needs to be restored though, snow plowing does remove much more than snow :-)

This is an old pilgrimage and they are still used today for that reason. The signs need to be restored though, snow plowing does remove much more than snow πŸ™‚

DSC_0102

The first really steep hill towards the garage and to areas where more people live.

The first really steep hill towards the garage and to areas where more people live.

 

It’s time for a pot of coffee (I forgot to buy tea but thankfully I still have coffee at home πŸ™‚ ) and after that I think I’ll take a nap.Β 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Thank you. That was a lovely walk. It’s great that you didn’t have to walk on the big road for most of it. The forest is beautiful but seems like it would have been damp and cold with no sun shining in. Must be great in winter for snowshoeing or X-country skiing.
    I was thinking the same thing about that barn. That’s the one from the other day that needed thatching? It does look very bowed out.

    Yes, it’s really annoying when some of the photographic subjects refuse to come when called and are vinegar-faced about it as well. πŸ™‚

    I was fooling around with manual settings on my camera. Everything looked fine in the viewer and on the preview screen but on the computer all those photos were blue. 😦 The same subjects in the same light using automatic were not blue. I thought of you. πŸ™‚ My photos were not blue for the same reason as yours.

    Today is cold and rainy. It was not supposed to be rainy. The dogs are sleeping on the couch and I am bored. I have things to do but I don’t feel like doing any of the things I have. Ah well. I’ll get over it. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    October 11, 2014 at 4:35 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like to walk there and should really drive to that place and bring the old boys too. But it was anything but damp there, the wind reached everywhere and dried up the place.

      It’s a much bigger barn than the one I showed before. Same kind of roof though.

      Yes, they looked as if I was trying to kill them πŸ™‚

      How odd! I got some blueish photos this morning and I think it was because I had a too fast shutter time.

      Quite nice here today, mostly sunny and fairly warm but it will get worse from now on. I was a bit bored for a while but then they started to show Finding Nemo on tv πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      October 11, 2014 at 5:28 pm

  2. Christer,
    I really enjoyed this walk. It seems different than our usual walks. I loved the old houses and other buildings. I think I would build a house using stones as part of the foundation as they look great. The concrete foundations we have have no character.

    You make me want to start using my old camera again. It took great pictures. I wonder, though, how much it would cost now to have them developed. It would have to be at a camera store, and the one near me is quite expensive. When I had my slides converted to jpeg, that store wanted $300.00, but I found a place on-line which charged only $85.00 and they included two copies of the disc. Maybe I’ll just get a new lens instead.

    The day is still gloomy, but it is nor unexpected. They said on the news last night that the Cape would be rainy. As soon as I finish here, I’ll get dressed and go to the dump.

    Yesterday I made cookies so today my back hurts which is a great excuse to do nothing other than the dump.

    Have a great evening!

    October 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It does looke very different on that side of the road but I think it looked much the same here before they planted pines and spruces. The ground was too poor to grow anything on it so they planted trees instead, unfortunately conifers have always been more popular to grow than decidous ones.

      I think the foundation tonthis cottage is made with stones but they sort of covered it with concrete as it was the thing to do back in the days. I agree, stone foundations do look so much better.

      It is fun to use this totally outdated camera πŸ™‚ I think that real camera shops only excists in the three big cities here so I found an on-line store. There are several and they cost more or less the same. I remember when they competed to get our films and the prices were so low that they can’t have made any money at all πŸ™‚ now they do πŸ™‚ I was thinking of buying a new lens but I’ve always wanted a camera like this and when the opportunity came πŸ™‚

      We’re having a nice evening here and the rain won’t arrive until tomorrow around noon.

      I hope Your back get better fast!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 11, 2014 at 6:32 pm

  3. the moss on that roof looks wonderful, like my grand fathers house,,, I think you are enjoying the camera, it sounds quite challenging,

    October 11, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do like those roofs even if I think it would be best if moss didn’t grow there πŸ™‚

      I do like this camera, I can only hope I’ve figured out how to use it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 11, 2014 at 6:44 pm

  4. jz

    i would have loved to have gone on this walk with you! it is beautiful! though moss on the roof looks good, it sure is bad. i have some growing on mine…eek! i need to take a few days off from trips. i am tired of driving and i need to do a lot of catching up here!

    October 12, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!
      I think You would have loved it, especially since there was almost no insects around. The ground is so much dryer there so the worst biting ones don’t like it πŸ™‚

      Yes moss on roofs can be a really bad sign! Esdoecially on those made from grass. I doubt that it will hold much longer.

      You have been driving around a lot lately but I would have too if we had had so many great markets and festivals.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 13, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

