The last photos of the long walk.

These are the last of the photos from our walk. The closer one comes to Gudhem the more houses one see. The old pilgrimage is well kept so it's easy walking all the way.

These are the last of the photos from our walk. The closer one comes to Gudhem the more houses one see. The old pilgrimage is well kept so it’s easy walking all the way.

The rain was pouring down most morning and I postponed our walk for as long as possible but had to finally give up. The rain was still pouring down but Sune loved it, Orvar and Hector accepted it and Nova just hated it πŸ™‚ Her speed while walking home was considerable higher than when we walked out to the forest πŸ™‚ For the first time in a long while I didn’t bring my camera and isn’t it amazing how many animals suddenly show when I haven’t brought it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0105

This should be a perfect area for Dog roses but I only saw these. Here at home we have them everywhere.

This should be a perfect area for Dog roses but I only saw these. Here at home we have them everywhere.

DSC_0107

DSC_0108

 

The fire has been burning in the stove since we went up, not because it’s especially cold, on the contrary and not because the wind chills down the cottage because there’s no wind at all. It is to push out the dampness that slowly enters our homes days like this. So it is a bit too warm here now but since it doesn’t rain at the moment I’ve had the kitchen door open for quite some time, the heat in the cottage still keep the dampness outside even if the door is open. I hope the laundry will dry fast now. That was the only chore I had today and I did it as soon as we came home from our walk.

 

DSC_0109

The road up to the top and to the Abbey ruin.

The road up to the top and to the Abbey ruin.

This gate hasn't been used in a long time :-)

This gate hasn’t been used in a long time πŸ™‚

The ruin.

The ruin.

 

I’ve realised that I had understood so much more about how my “new” camera actually works if I had read the manual I’ve downloaded πŸ™‚ There are lots of technical words I don’t understand fully but google translate is so much better now days that I’ve solved most of their meanings πŸ™‚ For instance, there are two red lines on the lens that I couldn’t figure out what they were there for, they changed when I changed the aperture and focal length. It turns out that it shows from what distances it gives sharp photos! So if the aperture is on 2,8 it only shows the actual motiveΒ sharp but if it stands on 11, the photo gets sharp for a much longer distance both in front and after the motive. I knew that higher number on the aperture gives a depth in the photo but now I actually can see exactly how deep it gets.

 

I didn't walk in to the ruin this time, I wanted to get my car and go home :-)

I didn’t walk in to the ruin this time, I wanted to get my car and go home πŸ™‚

DSC_0115

DSC_0116

It's fun how the last part before reaching ones goal is the hardest. Here my legs said: we won't walk any more :-) The garage is just behind that old barn

It’s fun how the last part before reaching ones goal is the hardest. Here my legs said: we won’t walk any more πŸ™‚ The garage is just behind that old barn

 

The rain has started to fall again and all the hunters just arrived to the forest. They are preparing for the start of the Moose hunting season. It starts tomorrow and it will be as most intense this first week and depending on what kind of license they have it can go on for as long as 4-5 months. Every hunting area get a quota of what they are allowed to shoot. They have now put together two such areas here so my guess is that they’ll be allowed to shoot at least one cow and one calf and perhaps a bull or a second calf too, it all depends on how the hunt went last year and if there is a surplus of bulls. Every year they shoot around 100 000 moose here and it isn’t noticeable to be honest. I’ve read that this country have more moose to its size than any other country in the world.

 

These four photos are not from the walk.

These four photos are not from the walk.

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

DSC_0061

 

It’s time for a pot of coffee and something to eat and after that a short nap. I hope the raining will slow down some so we can take a proper walk later.

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    That was a long walk but a lovely one. I like that little house with the double decker deck. πŸ˜€
    I kind of want to adopt the abandoned gate, too. It’s elegant and should be used and appreciated.
    Someone has put three solar lights on the ruins. Just in case?

    100,000 moose culled each hunting season? That’s a lot of moose. If they are going to shoot the cows, shouldn’t they shoot the calf that’s with her as well? Seems kind of cruel to leave the calf without its mother. I don’t know how independent a moose calf is by this time of the year but it’s probably not as independent as it needs to be to handle its first winter.

    I seem to recall something like that red line on my old 35mm film camera. I think it was a bulls eye type thing that encompassed the part of the view that would be in focus. One of my cameras had a round circle that would split across its equator and the bottom half would be darker. When the two halves were finally aligned the circle disappeared and the shot was in focus. I wish my Sony had something like that depth of field indicator. I’m always screwing that up. πŸ™‚

    It’s sunny here and a little chilly. The heat came on a couple of times during the night and once again this morning just as we went for our morning walk. It’s warm enough now on the porch that I can leave the front door open.

    Enjoy the day.

    October 12, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    • Yes it was, this second walk was probably around 7,5 miles since one farmer had fenced of the road with barbed wires.

      I would like to have that house, so small that it’s easy to clean and that deck πŸ™‚ I’ve seen plenty of gates that haven’t been used in ages here. Suddenly they start walking out from the property in another direction and the gate is forgotten. Wouldn’t fit here though, the surroundings here sort of demands gate made from wood πŸ™‚ I hadn’t noticed those lights πŸ™‚ Why on earth have they put them there?? It’s not like they shine especially strong and no one is allowed to walk there anyway πŸ™‚

      Yes, that’s a lot of moose but still it isn’t noticeable. They are not allowed to shot only the cow if she has a calf but there are plenty of moose cows without calves. I guess it’s those that grew up the year before. If a cow has two calves they aren’t allowed to shoot her if their share says one cow and one calf. So last years cow with two calves walked around here totally protected because they were only allowed to shoot one cow and one calf πŸ™‚ I don’t think they shot any moose last year or some years back.

      These red lines are on the outside of the lens and I just couldn’t figure out what they were there for πŸ™‚ sometimes it is a good thing to read a manual πŸ™‚ I’ve also figured out how the light meter should work, I write should because I now understand that it is broken because it doesn’t react on light at all. I’ll bring it to work so I can open it up, I don’t have that small screw drivers here.

      The sun showed up in the early afternoon and after that I had the kitchen door open until the sun went down behind the forest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 12, 2014 at 4:38 pm

      • Caryn

        So a cow can only be shot if she has no calf. If she has a calf, she can only be shot by a hunter whose share allows him to shoot a cow AND a calf. A cow with two or more calves cannot be shot at all. Seems like the hunting rules are artificially selecting against cows that don’t bear calves and for cows that bear twins which means that the moose population will increase even faster. Just wait until the cows figure it out and start adopting extra calves. πŸ˜€

        October 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm

      • Well if they are allowed to shoot more than one calf they can of course shoot her and both calves. Some hunting groups are big and some areas have more moose than others and they calculate how many and of each kind any group can shoot every year. Rather complicated but their aim is to keep the moose population as healthy as possible. We’ve gotten some strange diseases hitting moose here in Southern Sweden. On our second biggest island most cows lose their calves and many give birth to really tiny calves and here in VΓ€stergΓΆtland they suddenly lean off, stops eating and dies. They have studied this for years and still they don’t understand why this happens.

        They might already have started πŸ™‚

        October 12, 2014 at 6:36 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I love the pictures of the ruins, especially the arch. There are a lot of red houses in many of your pictures. Is that a favorite color?

    I would be nervous walking around with Gracie where there are hunters. She tends to bolt, and I’d be afraid her roaming in the bush would give a hunter thoughts of something to shoot.

    We still have deer on the cape but so few none deer hunts any more here. They go to other parts of the state. Fishing is still king here.

    That was a mighty walk indeed!

    October 13, 2014 at 4:51 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      There is something with ruins I can’t resist!
      Here in southern Sweden I think almost 70% is red. It goes vback to when if was popular with red stone castles down in Europe. Here most castles were made from granite so they started to paint them red. Suddenly they found out a way to make red paint very cheap, so almost all small houses were painted red but all castles changed color because why should they look just like the common peoples homes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’m lucky to live in an area where no hunter ever would shoot a dog, no matter how much it might have destroyed the hunting. Here there’s a special connection between hunters and dogs even if they are no good for hunting they would never get rid of it. They’ll just keep it as a pet. But they would however said a few thing to You πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      They shoot a few deers here every year but it is the moose hunting that is important, this is the week when most people take vacation beside the summer time.

      It was a really nice walk even if it did hurt afterwards πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 13, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

