Padded envelopes.

These photos are a bit old but it looks much the same here today, foggy before thge sun sunk down behind the forest. This however is in the early morning.

These photos are a bit old but it looks much the same here today, foggy before the sun sunk down behind the forest. This however is in the early morning.

I’m late as always on Mondays so this will be a short one. I took the padded envelope where I had put the film and drove to work early this morning. It’s the first day of the moose hunt and most hunters were already at their places, most because I met the first on to arrive to this area πŸ™‚ They have always been late here. I most other places they go out to their spot long before the light returns, just so they won’t scare away any animals. Here they usually walk together talking rather loudly and have a good time. I’m not surprised at all that they always have problem getting any moose πŸ™‚

 

The photos I took today however have more deers in them but I'll show You those another day.

The photos I took today however have more deers in them but I’ll show You those another day.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

Any way, the padded envelope with my film in it. There’s no mailbox even remotely close here and even if I know that I can put it in my own mailbox and the mailman then takes it with him, or her I’m not sure which now days I thought it best to bring it with me to the village where I work and put it in that mailbox. I couldn’t help but laughing for my self as I drove away, this is the week they all have been waiting for, many take vacation the entire week for this and the first morning has thick fog πŸ™‚ I could barely see the road sometimes πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

Back to the letter, the padded one with my film in it. I suddenly came to think about Christmas cards. You see I almost always post my Christmas cards in that mail box and to be honest, lots of them never reach their destination, especially if they are headed over the ocean. I wonder if someone perhaps rob the mailbox stealing letters while looking for money in them? So I decided I shouldn’t use that box this Christmas.Β 

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

 

Anyhow, I went there and just as I had dropped the padded envelope with my film in it I suddenly came to think about stamps and if I should have placed some on it? Back in the days no one ever put stamps on these envelopes because the competition of customers was so fierce that they rather pay for it themselves. Of course it was us customers that in the long run paid for it anyway but we didn’t have to put any stamps on those envelopes.

 

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

DSC_0014

 

All day I’ve been thinking about this. I know any business rarely wants to pay extra to get a letterΒ some idiot forgot to put stamps on πŸ™‚ But I thought that if I e-mailed them and explained that I was prepared to pay extra and before they even started to develop any film that they might do it anyway. I thought of all kinds of ways to do it and it wasn’t until I came home and looked at another one of those padded envelopes that I realised I had been using my brain needlessly πŸ™‚ It stood on the envelope that I don’t have to put stamps on it πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0015

DSC_0017

DSC_0020

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I hate it when my brain rattles around on a stupid detail that I can’t check until I get home. It’s so annoying and tiresome but it is a huge relief when I do finally get to resolve it. πŸ™‚
    Didn’t you worry about whether or not your film would get to where it was supposed to go? If they are stealing Christmas cards, why wouldn’t they steal a package looking envelope?

    It’s cloudy and a little damp but not too cool. I had lunch with my two brothers and we talked about work. Bleh. Oh, well. One of my brothers still does work so I guess he has to talk about it. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    October 13, 2014 at 6:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is annoying when I know it’s no use in thinking about it but still can’t stop πŸ™‚ The day passed quickly though since I had no time watching the clock while thinking about how do fix my eventual mistake πŸ™‚

      No, I didn’t. This isn’t sending money in envelope season πŸ™‚ and it says on the envelope that it contains a roll of film πŸ™‚ Christmas cards are perfect to send money in πŸ™‚

      I really don’t like to talk about work when meeting other people πŸ™‚ especially not if I happen to meet work friends. It’s like people that have made military service, they never stop talkimng about it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 13, 2014 at 6:53 pm

  2. jz

    that is so different than it would be here! we always have to use stamps. we are having very hot summer weather and i am not happy at all. we went out to dinner and the restaurant was so hot we could hardly eat. once the weather gets cold here, businesses turn their heat up high. they never turn it down until spring. so, if the temps go up, you roast in those places.

    October 13, 2014 at 10:32 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Lots of businesses do like thet here, I guess people just are so lazy that it looks like an advantage πŸ™‚ They don’t seem to understand that it is us as customers that pays for it anyway πŸ™‚

      It’s towards the chilly side here and it’s rather nice and I have an excuse to have the fire burning in the stove πŸ™‚

      I have to think back some, long time since I was out eating on a restaurant. I can’t say it’s like that here. All buildings in the cities have district heating and no one wants to pay too much in heating costs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2014 at 4:19 pm

      • Caryn

        I think, in the case of film that gets sent off for processing, the cost of the postage to and from the user is included in the cost of developing and printing the film. We have plenty of places around here to process film to negatives and CD’s so getting it done is not the problem. Remembering to get it done is the problem. πŸ™‚ Some people have mail order processing here because they don’t live near a big box store that does it. They get prepaid envelopes with their film.

        October 14, 2014 at 4:48 pm

      • We have almost no such places left here, in the big cities there might be some places left but not here in the countryside. I have no problems remembering it πŸ™‚ The camera is so new so that’s the least problem πŸ™‚ I just remembered it said that I should mark the film roll too, just in case they mixed up the different rolls they get and that is of course not going to happen πŸ™‚ I didn’t mark my film roll πŸ™‚

        Yes naturally the postage is included in the price but lots oif people don’t think of that, especially since it says that the business pays the postage on the envelope πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
        Christer.

        October 14, 2014 at 4:55 pm

  3. Lol! You sound like me!
    I’m always second guessing myself.
    Here’s my question, did you pull down the mailbox handle and drop in your envelope and afterwards open it again to make you it dropped?
    Lol! I have to do that each time . πŸ˜‰

    October 14, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I’m not quite sure of what You are meaning πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I thinbk You mean my own little mailbox? We don’t hane handles on those, just a rather heavy lid so that the wind doesn’t open it up on windy days and if You mean the big mailbox in the village? we just have a thin hatch that we open up, place the envelope and close it. The envelope doesn’t fall down into the box until we close it. I do hope I managed to answer Your question πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

