Nothing much is happening.

DSC_0005

Yesterday by this time I thought we would get it nasty cold here during the night but clouds came and covered the sky so it was actually a bit warmer this morning when I drove to work, I guess we did get some frost for a few hours though, the thermometer did sink quite a lot. It is unusually warm and has been so all autumn and I don’t complain, it’s not as cold as it should but chilly enough to have a fire burning in the stove πŸ™‚

 

Today the photos come as I find them :-)

Today the photos come as I find them πŸ™‚

DSC_0002

DSC_0030

 

Nothing much is happening here, at work things goes along as it should and here at home it’s as it should too. There’s no use in hoping for my photos to come until next week, it would take a miracle to get them already on Friday and I think miracles should be used for something more useful to be honest. They are rare nowadays, the miracles I mean. I guess that if they happened too often we would get too used to them so that we wouldn’t notice them after a while πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0031

 

I’ve always wondered why so many athletes always thank God for helping them to win what ever they are competing in. Doesn’t matter what religion they have, they all believe they’ve been helped by God. I have to say I doubt that, more often it is steroids and other forbidden drugs and must admit that IΒ think that a God, no matter which one we believe in should be more interested in saving people from wars or diseases? Not that I’ve seen especially much of that happening either to be honest and by the way, shouldn’t it be more fun if it actually was all the training they did that was the reason for that winning?Β 

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

 

The tea is ready and it’s time for something to eat. Today I’ll make some sandwiches with ham, blue cheese, tomatoes and some ordinary cheese too. Perhaps I’ll put in some liver pate and some spotted sausages too πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0006

18 responses

  1. jz

    i would like your sandwiches! i always wonder the same thing about athletes. why would they think that god would favor one team over the other!

    October 14, 2014 at 6:02 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I have to admit that they were rather tasty πŸ™‚

      I do hope that any god at least don’t meddle sports πŸ™‚ But if it should be so I know he doesn’t like my soccer team πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2014 at 6:53 pm

  2. I totally agree!
    Truly, God has more important things to tend to than some silly game.

    October 14, 2014 at 6:54 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Or he can at least help my soccer team πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 14, 2014 at 7:11 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    What is the yellow bird? It looks like our Yellow warbler.

    Athletes will tell you that they thank God for giving them the talent. I always figure God gave them the talent to play the game so that God wouldn’t have to be bothered with such mundane things. πŸ™‚

    That’s a fabulous sky. Sunrise or sunset? It’s beautiful. Doesn’t look like sky at all.

    Laundry happened here today and some leaf raking that I did while waiting for laundry. It was very warm, almost into the 80’s F. There was a wind, too, which made it somewhat risky to be raking leaves under the black walnut tree. It tends to throw walnuts at my head. Piki Dog almost got konked while we were out there. There are a lot of walnuts left up in the trees.

    Enjoy the evening.

    October 14, 2014 at 10:57 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s a Yellowhammer (Emberiza citrinella) and one of my favorite small birds. I love it when I have lots of those and lots of Bullfinches at the same time at the feeders during winter.

      You might be right about that πŸ™‚

      Sunset, one of the few I’ve shown here πŸ™‚ Normally I don’t see it since the forest is in the way but I caught this one when we were out walking.

      It’s amazing how hot it was! That is an awful lot here during summer when it is as hottest :-)They say winte will come for a visit later this week but they change the predictions all the time so I doubt it will come after all πŸ™‚

      I long for the day when I can complain about getting hit in the head with walnuts πŸ™‚ I’ve given up hope of ever having a mango tree in my garden πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 15, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      • Caryn

        I think a mango tree is a bit of a stretch even for you. Unless you get that greenhouse built and manage to figure out a free way to heat it. πŸ™‚

        October 16, 2014 at 3:06 pm

      • I was hoping for the green hoiuse effect to jump in πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        October 17, 2014 at 12:08 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Great photos today! What kind of bird is that yellow one? I have never seen one like it, its quite pretty!! Good point you make in saying that perhaps its all the training that the athletes do, and not their god. Or steroids, I am sure those have something to do with strength and winning as well. I think I will join you in that cup of tea and ponder the world! πŸ™‚ Have a good Wednesday!!

    October 15, 2014 at 12:40 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thank You πŸ™‚

      It is a Yellowhammer (Emberiza citrinella), one of my favorite amongst the small birds.

      It looks like many of those thanking god also are the ones taking steroids so isn’t it to insuklt any god by thanking him then πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Tea is never wrong and I have a pot ready right beside me πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 15, 2014 at 4:32 pm

  5. Wendy from NY

    I think that thanking God is more a political move than a religious one. Those athletes know better than anyone how hard they worked to get where they are.

    These pictures are beautiful, I need to buy more computers to put the pictures on as wallpaper. I am still using the picture with the single leaf suspended by a spider’s web on my work computer. Pray tell, what IS that bird?

    We have not had a frost yet, just a couple miles down the road has, several times. My ornamental corn is still trying to ripen, and my beans are still chugging along. I am so relieved to not be keeping up with the hummingbird feeders, glad they are done and gone. Getting to be time to drag out the old snowshoes! πŸ˜‰

    October 15, 2014 at 1:20 am

    • Hi Weendy!

      I think they should know that since they do work very hard, I guess it can attract sponsors too πŸ™‚

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚ That is a Yellowhammer (Emberiza citrinella), one of my favorite amongst the small birds. They get a bit less dull during winter but not especially much.

      It was close the other night and they say we’ll get a visit by winter this weekend but I doubt it. They change the predictions all the time πŸ™‚ I do hope the corn ripens before You get any frost!

      We don’t have hummingbirds here so I would love tro keep up with those feeders πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I haven’t started to feed the birds we have here yet, we usually don’t do that until the first snow falls or it’s getting really cold.

      I do hope I won’t be needing snow shoes for quite some time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 15, 2014 at 4:37 pm

  6. I don’t know Christer..I have thought a lot of it was for show…promoting themselves..it fires people up and they get their photo in the paper showing them down on one knee apparently praying. Who knows exactly what they are doing. If I sound cynical, I probably am. Such a small planet spinning out here in space..and we can’t get along. Everyone seems to think other should, worship as they do, look like them, live they like do..etc. etc. I try not to think about it..makes me feel helpless when I do. I think we are in real trouble with this ebola thing.

    October 15, 2014 at 4:43 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I guess it can bring in good money from sponsors by showing how much the thank god πŸ™‚

      They might be thinking of the next time they’ll bet on something so they can win lots of money πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ No Your not cynical at all,I think You are very close to the truth!

      Yes we do have lots of problems here and this ebola virus seems nasty and they say they must stop it now or it will be too late. Lots of politics in that statement but a bit of the truth as well I’m afraid. As long as it doesn’t mutate so it can spread with the help of the wind I think we’ll be safe up here in the north.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 15, 2014 at 4:41 pm

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Even when you say that you don’t know what to photograph, Christer, you still always show amazing images, so thanks for doing so once again.It is the day-to-day images that are the most meaningful because they are the world around you.
    As for thanking God and/or praying to him for certain things, I agree that he has more important things to be concerned with. That’s why I believe in being thankful for good things hapoening, but try not to ask for things out of my control. Also, many people tend to blame God if they pray and ask for things, and then the reverse happens, then they become bitter or angry.

    October 15, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚

      Blaming god is just dumb πŸ™‚ after all it is us humans that do all bad things that we know we shouldn’t. I think being thankful for the good things that do happen is what we should do but some never understand that I’m afraid. I promise that if I ever get famous for anything I won’t stand in tv crying and thanking god for making me so awesome πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 15, 2014 at 4:45 pm

  8. Christer,
    Other than the blue cheese, I love that sandwich. My favorite one of late is avocado, tomato, cheddar and bacon with a spicy mayo in a panini. I even got a panini machine just to make one.

    We have had the most amazing weather. It was 65˚ last night at midnight and nearly 80˚ during the day. Even now I have my windows opened.

    Great pictures. The sky was amazing and so filled with color. The cattle were just doing their thing. A regular day all around!!

    Have a great day!

    October 16, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The first time I tried blue cheese it was a really strong variety and the only thing I was wondering about was why people wanted to eat something that tasted like candles πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ After that I’ve trioed so many tasty ones πŸ™‚

      Your favotite does sound rather delicious πŸ™‚ I don’t have a panini machine but something similar that could be used as one but I’ve never really tried it.

      Pouring rain for most of the time since Tuesday but finally it will calm down some they say, it might be really cold too and if it does I do hope it will kill those last nasty biting flies πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Leave a Reply

