I’ve seen my photos :-)

DSC_0001

I got a mail from the film developer and a link to my photos today. Well, I’ve seen better πŸ™‚ One actually look good, a few are too dark and a few too bright. This was just a test to see how the photos will turn out while following that cheat sheet I found so I’m actually quite content with how they look anyway. I have written down every adjustment I did and how the weather was that day. So now I’ll just wait for the cd to arrive so I can see them better, it isn’t always photos seen online look the same when the cd show them or as they’ll look as a paper photo. I’ll show them here and how they look after I’ve edited them some as soon as I can. I only got eleven photos and one of them showed only half the photo, the rest was totally black. I wonder what I did to do that?

 

DSC_0003

She wasn't sure of what to do today. The forest is full of hunting humans and on the road were my dogs and I. So she just sklowly turned and walked towards the village, most probably the safest place right now even if she isn't a moose.

She wasn’t sure of what to do today. The forest is full of hunting humans and on the road were my dogs and I. So she just slowly turned and walked towards the village, most probably the safest place right now even if she isn’t a moose.

DSC_0007

 

Sorry about yesterday, I worked over time and I and my dogs didn’t come home until it was more or less time to go to bed again. I can’t say I like working over time and it’s nice that it’s over, next week we’ll most likely not have to do it. It is great that we have so much to do, there are still lots of people with no job at all so I really can’t complain. It’s nice to be able to pay the bills and still have money left to do other things, like buying food. Well I can do more than that, my “new” camera sort of tells You that πŸ™‚ We were really poor when I grew up and even if I never thought of it then I’m glad as long as I don’t have to go back to that.

 

DSC_0008

We still have some trees with leafs on them but they are getting fewer and fewer now.

We still have some trees with leafs on them but they are getting fewer and fewer now.

DSC_0012

 

There’s a nasty cold hitting one after the other at work now and yesterday I worked close to one that had head ache and sour throat so I guess it’s just a matter of time until I get it too. I have had a head ache all day but I think that’s because I’ve slept too little. My dogs woke me up at 2 am last night and I know I let four dogs in and I know I counted to four when I let them in again. I’m however not sure it was four dogs I counted πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I might have counted a tiny cat as a dog because I now have big muddy paw prints on the kitchen door window and on the entrance door too :-)I might have locked out Orvar for two hours this morning but I’m nor sure πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It isn’t easy when one is so tired one barely can see πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

I stood on the concrete pipes where the road used to be and took this photo towards the forest.

I stood on the concrete pipes where the road used to be and took this photo towards the forest.

 

I bought new fire logs last Friday and they really don’t burn as I wish. There seems to be two kinds, the ones that burns fast and gives nice heat rather quickly and the ones burning rather slow but gives heat for a longer time and these seems to belong to they second category. Great to have if one wants it to keep on giving heat long into the night but not so great if one wants it warm in the cottage fast. I need to buy both kinds so that I can get it warm as soon as I come home and to keep it warm for a longer period at night. But they sell the first kind in Skara and the other one in FalkΓΆping, how fun is it to drive around for hours just to by fire logs πŸ™‚

 

Hector.

Hector.

Orvar.

Orvar.

DSC_0022

 

The weather predictions said almost winter tomorrow but that has changed, now it will be much like today, just below 10C (50F) and some rain in the evening. Sunday will rain away totally but we all know how these predictions are like πŸ™‚ It’s time for some food and a pot of tea.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Wendy from NY

    Seems like that camera has a pretty big learning curve. In this day of instant gratification it sure seems like a giant step backward. My parents were both professional photographers and had a big darkroom in our basement to develop their pictures, that was back starting in the 1950’s. I remember standing in the dark with them and watching the photos develop in the tanks. Personally, I think even the cheapest point and shoot camera can do better than those old Canons and Nikons, but I don’t have the “eye” that you really need to take great pictures, so that is just my humble opinion. πŸ˜‰

    Love the close-ups of the doggoes, a formidable looking group!

    October 17, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      It sure has πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I didn’t follow the cheat sheet totally, I tried some adjustments just to see what would happen, otherwise I think I would have gotten better photos πŸ™‚ I must admit that it was a lot of fun and I guess it can be a good thing to go back to the old sometimes to learn the new better.

      My best friend had a dark room when we grew up so I’ve done that too and I remember that I loved it πŸ™‚

      A really good photo taken by these old cameras is still better than a great taken with a digital camera but it’s just a matter of time until that’s no longer so. Those point and shoot cameras are just as good as my big Nikon, the difference is that I can do more with the big camera than with the point and shoot. The quality of the photo is up to the photographer though. A great photographer can take amazing photos with anything πŸ™‚
      I do like my dogs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2014 at 3:40 pm

  2. you have great skills with a camera and I think you enjoy the challenge, I hope you manage to avoid that cold but I suppose its inevitable, such handsome beasts you have, lol

    October 17, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I do enjoy the challange! Now I know better than to take photos of dark dogs in front of a dark background πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      My throat does feel a bit sour but that could be anything.

      I do like my dogs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2014 at 3:42 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Well, it seems that the photo subjects for today did not refuse to come. πŸ™‚

    It’s easy to let out 4 animals and let in 4 animals that are not the same 4 animals you let out. Zero dark thirty in the morning is a good enough excuse. I only have 2 animals yet I am constantly losing track of Piki Dog. He follows me into a room but doesn’t follow me out and gets shut in there when I close the door. He doesn’t bark to come out which is unusual for him. He just waits for me to wander around the house calling his name until I remember where I last saw him and let him out.
    My sister-in-law once let her dog out into the yard at midnight after she got home from work. She forgot that she had let the little dog out and went upstairs to bed. The poor little thing spent the rest of the winter night on the deck huddled up against the slider door. My brother came home from his shift in the morning and found her out there. She was fine which was very lucky because they have coyotes, too.

    The half exposure and the black frame might not be you. It could be due to the film slipping and not going forward all the way. At least that’s what I remember from 35mm film. The holes slip off the tangs on the little wheelie things that roll up the film. Do you not love my techno-speak? πŸ˜€ Anyway, it would put the frames off count and I’d get half shots. I don’t know if 120 film is divided up that way, though.
    My father’s camera had a shutter curtain that would malfunction and only open part way. He’d get half frames when that happened.

    It’s sunny and cooler here today but still not fall weather. I’m sitting here with a fan running. Yesterday morning I gave serious thought to plugging the AC unit in and turning it on. It was humid and in the mid to high 70’s F. Very weird.

    And my cordless electric snowblower arrived. I put it all together and got the handle on upside down. I fixed that. It was kind of obvious when I looked. πŸ™‚ The battery had a bit of charge in it so I put it in and turned it on, It runs! The little headlight works and everything. Whether it actually throws snow will have to wait. I hope I will have to wait for a long time. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day. I’m looking forward to seeing the special photos.

    October 17, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Sune and Nova were leashed to a fence pole so they couldn’t walk away πŸ™‚

      I have actually forgotten to let Orvar in before butb that was a rather nice spring night πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure he would have been safe for a coyote if we’d had any πŸ™‚ But sometimes when it is dark it is impossible to see black dogs and how many one really lets in πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I think it might have to do with something like You mention. no tangs here though, it’s built somewhat different. I wind up the wheel before taking the photo and as soon as the photo is taken the camera roll the film to the next stop. I had some problems there for a while until I understood what I was doing wrong and it might be when I was taking that photo and the next one since there’s one missing. I’ll put a new film in the camera tomorrow and try all this again πŸ™‚ Now I’ve learned not to photograph black dogs towards a dark background πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It didn’t rain that much today and tomorrow will be mostly cloudy with a chance of sunlight every now and again.

      I do hope You won’t have to use that snow blower for quite some time πŸ™‚ I think it most likely will work perfect as long as it isn’t wet snow, that’s almost impossible to move with a shuffle πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2014 at 3:51 pm

  4. Dianna

    HI Christer! There is sickness all over the place! Its still ongoing around these parts. I hope you don’t catch it!! Good luck with viewing the pictures properly. I am sure they turned out good no matter what! Love the pics of the dogs today! Orvar looks very wise! πŸ™‚ Have a good Friday evening!

    October 17, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It’s just starting here so I’m destined to catch something πŸ™‚

      No, they didn’t turn out good πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But at least I can see what I did wrong and try to correct it. I’m having lots of fun while doing it and spend a fortune too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure if he looks wise though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 17, 2014 at 6:43 pm

  5. Christer, I totally agree with your comment that the quality of an image depends on th photographer taking it. As I recall one of the most famous photographers, Henri Cartier Bresson (spelling?) took photos using a rangefinder in the days way before zoom lenses and digital images. And, of course, there are so many others who used camera with limited settings and it was up to the photographer to determine the correct aperture and shutter release instead of the camera deciding. Glad to read that you are having such a fun time with the Hasselblad. It’s the camera I once wanted to own, especially when I was doing B&W photography. I did my own developing and processing for several years and fondly recall the chemical smells and the thrill of seeing an image come to life in the processing trays.

    Warmer weather here most of the week and some rainstorms. Chillier temps seem awhile off for now, but I am looking forward to some.

    October 18, 2014 at 5:02 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Yes it’s all up to the photographer so if I don’t understand how to take a good photo it just doesn’t matter what kind of camera I use. But I guess it can be funnier to fail with a modern Hasselblad for around $21500 US πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      He was a fantastic photographer that one only can wish to become as good as.

      It is so fun and it takes soo long time to take just one photo πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I brought my modern camera with me with the most light demanding lens on it. It shows that the cheap sheet shows that I should use much the same aettings as I needed to use with that equipment, so I used that camera to decide what settings I should use πŸ™‚

      I think Hassleblad cameras are poefect for black and white photos but I’m not sure I’m especialy good at taking black and white photos πŸ™‚ I’m still waiting for that film though. Perhaps I one day buy equipment to be able to develope black and white film and to make paper copies too. My best friend when I grew up had all those things and I do remember how fun it was.

      I don’t mind this slightly chilly weather even if I would prefer Your temperatures πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 18, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Leave a Reply

