They are no good but here are the first two photos.

It's a good thing I saved so many photos. Almost all are taken last week.

It’s a good thing I saved so many photos. Almost all are taken last week.

So what’s happening when it comes to the submarine hunt? Well the latest news says our ships have made contact with something on the bottom of the sea. The military says nothing though but why should they until they are certain of what it might be. It could after all be some old wreck but I doubt that since these waters are very well known. The mysterious man dressed in black that was seen walking in shallow waters outside an island is however identified, it is a retired man who often stands there fishing πŸ™‚ I guess we’ll all know if they have something at more or less the same time because that would be so big news that all the world will know it exactly the same second πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0006

DSC_0008

DSC_0016

 

I got the cd with my Hasselblad photos and I can say those photos are rather bad πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ To my defence: I had no light meter but followed an old cheat sheet and I guess the photos would have been better if I had used my brain more πŸ™‚ The cheat sheet said dark objects should have a different setting than light and black dogs are dark no matter how much the sun shines on them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ If I had done as it actually says that first photo You’ll see today is the one with all dogs and one with only Nova. I made the same mistake in both those photos. I’ll also show how much I manage to edit those two photos but they are still rather bad. Those photos are shown just beneath here.

 

This is the original first ever photo. I totally missed that black dogs never are bright no matter how much the sun shines on them :-)

This is the original first ever photo. I totally missed that black dogs never are bright no matter how much the sun shines on them πŸ™‚

The edited version isn't much better, I guess one needs a much more advanced editing program to make it look good than I have.

The edited version isn’t much better, I guess one needs a much more advanced editing program to make it look good than I have.

Same problem here, black dog towards dark background :-)

Same problem here, black dog towards dark background πŸ™‚

The edited verision is slightly better I guess. These two were the worst photos in my opinion. More will come later this week.

The edited version is slightly better I guess. These two were the worst photos in my opinion. More will come later this week.

 

But I can now happily tell You all that I have a functioning old light meter, it arrived in the mail and I’ve checked it with my Nikon and it shows just the same readings. It’s a Zeiss Ikon Ikonophot T and has no tiny pins that sooner or later will break, it works by lamps. I put in what kind of ISO the film has and when reading the light the entire circle lights up when it’s right. I then look at the meter who tells me what kind of shutter speed I should have to what aperture. So simple but still so ingenious! I now have two rolls of film waiting to be mailed and I have followed the cheat sheet when taking those photos but hopefully used my brain some more this time. From now on I can’t blame anything but myself when I take bad photos πŸ™‚

 

My "new" light meter. I think it's from the nineteen sixties or something like that.

My “new” light meter. I think it’s from the nineteen sixties or something like that. Works on a nine volt battery.

DSC_0015

DSC_0020

 

Another thing I must think of is that these lenses I have, have no zoom function, I’ll get a clear photo if I manage to adjust the lens good enough but I really can’t zoom in on anything special. That is a challenge because I need to go much closer to what ever I want to photograph unless I don’t mind getting much of the surrounding in the photo as well. It’s also rather hard to see through the seeker in this kind of camera since I need to look from above the camera and even if there is protection against the light it still makes it hard to see what I’m looking at when I use the longer lens. I now understand why they used to have a black blanket over themselves when looking through the seeker, it’s the only way to actually be sure if the motive is sharp or not.

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0014

DSC_0016

 

I do have fun though πŸ™‚ but taking just one photo takes so much time that I’ve so far walked out without my dogs, they don’t have the patience to wait and I don’t have the patience to keep them calm while waiting πŸ™‚ and since it is rather expensive now days to use film I won’t take too many rolls of film each month. I won’t buy any more ISO 100 films, it just demands too much light to be honest. I rarely have my Nikon on that ISO unless it is a very bright summer day or winter day with lots of white snow. It would be nice to be able to go out with the camera without any tripod, it’s just in the way when I don’t take any photos.

 

DSC_0018

DSC_0021

DSC_0028

 

It’s time for another pot of tea and lots of honey too, I’m still not especially sour in my throat but I’ve started to become hoarse. Still no news whether they have found something on the bottom of the ocean or if it was a false alarm.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. very interesting about the submarine,,, you sound like you are enjoying the whole process with the cameras,

    October 21, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is and now they have divers in that area it says in the online newspapers.

      I do enjoy it even if these first photos are anything but good πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Next time I’ll bring my new light meter and then I canΓ€’t blame anything but myself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 21, 2014 at 1:30 pm

  2. jz

    we are now hearing about the submarine over here. it seems the cold war is back on! i guess it will take some time to figure that camera out. or maybe you need to get some white dogs!

    October 21, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it seems to be back I’m afraid. I do wonder why the Russians chose that way instead of trying to open up the world instead? The online newspapers says there are divers checking out the area now so soon we’ll know if it was a false alarm or not.

      Yes, the new camera makes it so easy. If the photo look bad just delete it, now I don’t know what it looks like until it has come back from the developer πŸ™‚ I’ve always wanted white dogs but for some reason I always have black ones πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 21, 2014 at 1:33 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Yes, I’d forgotten how difficult it was to get pictures of black animals. I had a black cat long ago. All her pictures are of a cat-shaped hole in space with a yellow-eyed something staring out of it at about the level where her eye should be. Possibly those photos are of the real Liantha, though, and the cat I had was just a front. πŸ™‚
    I don’t remember how to do spot metering for specific things in a scene. You might research that on the internet. If you expose for the dogs, the background gets burnt out but if you expose for the background, the dogs become black holes in space-time. Somewhere in between is best but how you decide where in-between is, I don’t remember. It’s so much easier now.

    I did see a bit of Russian sub hunting on the evening news last night but I’ve not seen anything since then. I’ve been out most of the morning. The poor retired guy who stands around fishing must have been a bit disturbed at being thought of as a Russian spy. Who knew walking around in the water and fishing would be such a suspicious activity?

    I hope the hoarseness in your throat does not develop into anything more than hoarseness.
    Enjoy the day.

    October 21, 2014 at 5:21 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes soo much easier today with our digital cameras πŸ™‚ Black animals towards white snow is a nightmare πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I laughed out loud when I read Your description of Your black cat in photos πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think however it will be easier to go half way now with this new light meter. I can meassure two different lights and I found a great American site that describes it but I must use google translate so I actually understand what it is I’m doing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I understand everything but two words and those are critical to know πŸ™‚

      They don’t call it submarine hunting here, they call it intelligence activities πŸ™‚ That’s another word for we can’t afford a real submarine hunt and it’s a good exuse if we can’t get what ever it is down there πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The submarine panic is gripping people too so now they see them everywhere. Two sightings are however seen as credible.

      It wasn’t the beat of days to go out in those waters without a fishing rod πŸ™‚ especially since they were looking for spetsnaz people πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So far so good when it comes to my throat πŸ™‚ But I’m more tired than before so who knows what it will be like tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 21, 2014 at 5:40 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I know absolutely nothing about cameras, although my husband knew immediately what kind you bought and he’s a camera afficionado just like you! I just like the outcome, all the lovely pictures! I have heard nothing about anything mysterious in your waters, so maybe its not what they thought? You never know….I am glad you are feeling a bit better. Drink lots of tea! πŸ™‚ Have a good Wednesday.

    October 22, 2014 at 1:55 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      The news about the submarine is spreading slowly all over the world now, so sooner or later You might hear of it too πŸ™‚ So far they haven’t caught anything and it looks like the navy is one steap behind all the time. I doubt they’ll catch anything, it’s almost impossible to find a hiding submarine.

      If one is interested in cameras one most likely know what a Hasselblad is, especially since they were the ones NASA picked for the first space travels and moon landings. It is hard to go back to these old cameras again πŸ™‚ The new ones do everything for the photographer, the only thing we have to do now days is to press the button πŸ™‚ Not so with these old ones, they do nothing πŸ™‚

      It goes up and down here, but it doesn’t feel worse I guess πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 22, 2014 at 4:25 am

  5. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Hi Christer, I read the story about the suspected sub sighting online and so far there seems to be no definite identification.
    While I am glas to read that you are enjoying the Hasselblad, I do know how hard it can be to adjust to it after using digital cameras. And, yes, using and processing film is costly, even more so now. I had a Gossen Luna Pro handheld light meter years ago and am sure yours will make a big difference in setting apertures/speed. And, the comments about the images being harder to see broight back memories too. I was wondering if it would be possible to buy an accessory eyepiece viewer for the Hasselblad.
    Hope you are feeling somewhat improved after resting at home. Honey is so good in tea or alone on a spoonful!

    October 22, 2014 at 11:07 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      No, we can’t say what countrty it comes from but Russian ships are behaving very odd and it is those messages to the Russian navy base. The Russians are mocking us too wich I think shows perhaps even more that it is them behind this, if it would have been any other country that we had suspected they would have warned about trying to get in to their waters.

      It is hard to see through that seeker πŸ™‚ I think I saw one of those accessories, a rather big one that covers the entire seeker on our ebay,m Tradera. It was gone before I could read the entire ad πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ it was expensive too, almost as much as the camera itself πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I did see one of those Gossen Luna Pro on Tradera too but that one was expensive!

      The cold comes and goes and I have a heac ache and runny nose at the moment.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 22, 2014 at 11:49 am

Leave a Reply

