Beschterew’s and I.

DSC_0018

We’ve had a rather windy and rainy weather here lately and today is no big exception, it doesn’t rain yet this morning but it will come. It snows not too far north but warm winds will soon melt away that snow and it will change to rain instead. I’m at home still and I’m pretty sure I haven’t had a cold at all. This morning I barely managed to get out of bed, I have a relapse in my rheumatism. I have Beschterews disease or  Ankylosing Spondylitis (click on the names and a new window should pop up that will explain what this is) and it hits my back rather bad but thankfully it’s rarely as bad as it is today. It can start with much the same symptoms as a cold: fever, pain in the joints, being very tired all the time and just feeling unwell. Now I have an inflammation in my lower back that does its best to make my life difficult 🙂

DSC_0021

DSC_0033

DSC_0037

The best thing to do is actually to move around which isn’t that easy when the back says it will kill You if you even think of trying that 🙂 🙂 🙂 I can’t take any medication since my stomach can’t take it. So after crawling up from the bed we took a short walk and even Hector walked faster than I did 🙂 🙂 🙂 But it does help even if it takes a while before one feel it 🙂 I’ll try to take a walk later on if it doesn’t start to rain a lot, I have a rowing machine that I use when this happens (well I use it otherwise too) but I doubt I’ll be able to sit down on it today 🙂 🙂 🙂 and if I would manage to do that I’m not sure I’ll be able to get up again 🙂 🙂 🙂

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

I ordered more film to my camera yesterday but this time a more light-sensitive one, ISO 400. For those of You not growing up with old-fashioned cameras that used film ISO is the measure of how light-sensitive a film is (we have it on digital cameras as well and can choose what we like when we use our camera in a manual mode). The higher the ISO the more sensitive the film is for light. Normally it means that the more sensitive it is for light the less it’s sensitive for color and the photo can be a bit grainy too but then we’re up at really high ISO. Fortunately they came up with rather good high ISO films before the digital era took over, so yesterday I ordered ISO 400. It will be so much easier to take photos now because with high ISO I can have higher speed on the shutter. That however doesn’t mean my photos will be better in themselves 🙂 🙂 🙂

B87578-00005

Here are two photos that didn’t need that much editing. This is the original and the below is the edited one.

B87578-00005 - kopia

I managed to make this one a bit warmer in its colors but they are very similar.

B87578-00006

Same with these two. The black edge in this photo is something I’m not sure why it’s there. Tomorrow I’ll show a photo I now know is my fault that it’s only a half photo.

A bit warmer here too but not much. I now also must think of that these photos are totally quadratic.

A bit warmer here too but not much. I now also must think of that these photos are totally quadratic.

It’s time for a pot of coffee, I have no tea at home and there’s no chance in h… that I’ll manage to get in to my car to go to the grocery store today 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I have enough coffee for two pots so I’ll save the last for tomorrow morning. Tomorrow I must go to the super market because I have almost nothing edible at home now. I filled the bird feeders for the first time this season, we don’t usually feed the birds during the summer here. It took the birds a few hours until one of them realised there was food in the feeders. I have rather much seeds left from last winter and wasn’t sure they were any good but the birds gulped them down so I guess they were 🙂 I’ll put soe cheese pieces I have left over too and perhaps some fat from pork I’ve had in the fridge for some time. I need to know the birds have eaten that fat before I let the dogs out though, Orvar reach everywhere  🙂 🙂 🙂

DSC_0006

DSC_0010

DSC_0011

Have a great day!

15 responses

  1. oh I am so sorry you are suffering, that is a nasty disease, I hope it eases up for you soon. Beautiful photos!

    October 23, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m still lucky, I don’t have the most aggressive variant anyway. It usually takes a few days until I at least can start moving properly again :.-)

      I’m glad You like them 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 23, 2014 at 2:04 pm

  2. Christer,
    I always used 400 film because it was perfect for inside without needing flash. Some places, like museums, would not allow flash so 400 was perfect. For outdoor film I’d use a different camera so I’d sometimes carry two.

    The rainstorm was spectacular last night. I was in bed listening to the thunder for the longest time. Tonight we’re having a lunar eclipse. I just hope the sky clears.

    I’m glad you felt good enough to get out. Stay on the mend!

    October 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I used either 200 or 400 in my old Minolta. To thius one I’ve had 100 and that’s just too little. I found a Kodak ISO 400 that I ordered and I think it will arrive some time early next week. I still have one 100 film left to use though but I can save that one for a sunny winters day 🙂

      I think it was the wind making the rain looking worse than it really was here but I still feel we’ve had enough now 🙂

      I had no choice really, I had to start moving around no matter what otherwise it would have been much worse 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 23, 2014 at 5:38 pm

  3. I’m so sorry to read about your back and this horrible illness. 😣
    I’m sure my back doesn’t hurt anywhere near what yours does but just the pain that I’m feeling is enough to sympathize. I thought I had just a pulled muscle in my upper left arm and assumed it will eventually heal. After a month I went to my brother-in-law (he’s a chiropractor) and I’ve been getting adjustments almost daily. Apparently my back and neck are all messed up. I skipped going yesterday because I was so sore but I need to see him again. And today I had to handle 2 retrievers who were crazy insane on leashes…so I feel some of your pain.
    Love the photos!

    October 23, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Still I have a rather easy variation of this, those with an aggressive one really have pain. Pain is a very subjective experiense so I think it would be wrong to say that my pain is worse than Yours (but I must admit that when it is as worst I hardly can breathe).

      That’s the best thing You can do, go to a chiropractor! and You should never skip going there! I’m not surprised that Your back and neck is all messed up, dogs do have a fantastic ability to yank the leash just when it is as worst for our backs 🙂 and I guess that You as an artist often paint with Your back in a bad position (my brother is an artist so I know that you often sit or stand up with a bad posture that in the long run will kill Your backs).

      Have a great day and take care of Your back!
      Christer.

      October 23, 2014 at 5:47 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Sorry you’re having a flare-up and hope it flares back down very quickly. I knew someone who had that disease. His had progressed to the point where his cervical vertebrae had mostly fused so he couldn’t turn his head very far to the side nor could he look up. He was taller than most of his friends so he didn’t have too much trouble with that part or so he said. 🙂

    Those two examples are actually pretty good. The one of the buildings is sharper in the edited version and the colors are enhanced. There’s very little difference that I can see between the two photos of the trees. Maybe the edited version is crisper but not by much. I don’t know what the black think is either. At first I thought it might be that you had used all of the frame but then I saw that there is a continuation of the image in those two little notches on the edge. Maybe the film is slightly off synch with the mechanism that moves it along?

    I used 400 film almost exclusively and there were lots of times that I pushed the 400 to 800. I had a film processor who could compensate as long as I told him that I had done it. I was shooting with available light all the time and often the light that was available wasn’t all that plentiful. 🙂

    We’re on the tail end of a nor’easter at the moment. Last night was rainy and wild. The wind howled all night long and is still howling now and then. Most of the walnut leaves and walnuts are now on the ground. I’ll start shoveling them up tomorrow when the wind has died down and the danger of concussion has passed. 🙂

    Enjoy the day as much as you are able.

    October 23, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s normally not this bad but every now and again it hits really bad, it usually don’t continue for long though. I’m still far from how Yor friend had it but I can have slight problems if I need to turn to the right, the left side is still very mobile.

      Yes I thought I should show those photos that actually came out rather good 🙂 I think it is the enhanced colors that makes that photo look more sharp, the sharpening in my editing program is actually rather bad, it just makes everything else a bit fussier instead 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think the difference in the second photos shows a bit more in my computer, the colors of the edited photo is more deep than in the original. But these photos did come out rather well. It is slightly out of sink there and I think it is my fault too, I didn’t understand how things worked so I did some mistakes 🙂

      I most often used 200 but every now and again I did use 400 too. I also used the asvaliable light, I never really liked to use the flash.

      Still really strong winds here and it looks like it has been a rainy night too, all leafs have blown away though 🙂 I’m just glad the snowe isn’t falling 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 24, 2014 at 5:10 am

      • Caryn

        I was just reading a photo tip blog that talked about color calibrating your monitor so that the colors in your photos will be true. Computer monitors have a blue tone to them because it looks better in the store. That’s what they said. 🙂 PC’s have a lot. Macs have a little. Anyway you get a color calibrator and it runs a program on your computer to recalibrate the color tone. If you have a Mac, you’re done. If you have a PC, you have to keep checking to be sure the PC is actually using the recalibrated colors on each program that it’s running because PC’s don’t play well with color.
        And you are supposed to recalibrate the monitor every month or so because the calibration drifts.
        Having done all this recalibrating, you can now edit away on your photos secure in the knowledge that what you’re seeing is what you’re going to get.
        Oh, and you have to calibrate your printer, too.
        Sooo complicated. 🙂

        October 24, 2014 at 1:17 pm

      • The joy of having a PC 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I’ll see if I can find any color calibrating program when I’m out on the web looking for other things to buy 🙂

        October 24, 2014 at 1:40 pm

      • I found a color calibrating program in the computer and I’ve tried it this morning. Not sure if there is so much difference but everything look a bit more dark so I had to adjust how bright the screen is 🙂 I better find that program 🙂

        October 25, 2014 at 8:38 am

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am sorry to read your rheumatism is flaring up. Nothing worse than hurting. I suffer from spondylolisthesis. Big word for essentially vertebrae that is off your spine, along with inflammation. I am in pain every day, but some are worse than others. I can ride my bike and walk – that’s about it. I used to to yoga, ride my horse, dance – not any more. I hope you got some food in your cottage and tea too! 🙂 The last picture on your blog made me smile. Perfect!!! Have a good Friday, I hope you feel better!! 🙂

    October 24, 2014 at 12:02 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can take the every day pain but when this happens it’s just a bit too much. Your condition isn’t nice either! I guess it’s very similar to how I have it.
      I wanted to try yoga but that’s kind of useless with backs like ours 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I do have food left but I need to get to the super market today anyway, it’ll be fun trying to get out of the car 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 24, 2014 at 5:23 am

      • Dianna

        You should see me on days when my back is really bad trying to get out of the car. I look like a 90 year old lady! 🙂 I am sure you know exactly how it is!!! 🙂

        October 24, 2014 at 10:04 pm

      • I guess it dfoesn’t matter what kind of back pain one has, we all look like 90 yeras old people when trying to get out of our cars 🙂 🙂 🙂

        October 25, 2014 at 4:51 am

Leave a Reply

