Even more windy today.

DSC_0057

It seems to be blowing even harder today and the predictions says this will continue for some days, it’s the rest of an old hurricane that pass us right now and after that more low pressures stand in line to visit us. I don’t mind as long as it doesn’t rain and for today that seems to be a wish come true. The sun even peeks through the clouds for a few seconds every now and again and that’s always nice.Β 

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

 

I’ve done the chore I had for today, the laundry and it is now hanging beneath the roof on the patio. I guess the wind will dry it rather quickly even if the temperature is just 13C (55F). I don’t need it right away so it can hang there for a few days if necessary πŸ™‚ I could of course vacuum the floors but my vacuum cleaner is heavy (one of those that can take both water and dirt) and I’m not sure my back will be able to manage it yet. Well nothing will go away by itself so I’ll get a chance to get it later πŸ™‚ I bought lots of clothespins but I can’t for my life find them! I really don’t have that many places to put them but I still just can’t find them. I guess the first thing I’ll see when I bring in the dry clothes will be those clothespins.

 

Normally Hector avoids the camera but he just refused to move until he heard that clicking sound from my camera :-)

Normally Hector avoids the camera but he just refused to move until he heard that clicking sound from my camera πŸ™‚

DSC_0022

 

We walked down to the creek this morning but walked upstream instead. I’ve avoided that road since the grass get so high and ticks love to wait for victims in it but I’ve only taken one from theΒ dogs lately so I think they stay rather calm right now. I talked loud to the dogs all the time which seems to have been a good thing, we saw absolutely fresh tracks from one wild boar and at least two sows. No little ones though and the mud was so soft that it would have shown if any were there, it was also so soft that all tracks were gone by the time we turned homewards too. There were some tracks of moose too but those were older and on harder ground.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

I saw some other rather obvious tracks too, some that made me rather happy πŸ™‚ The beavers are back πŸ™‚ Much upstream from the last time and if they disturb them again they will most likely move further upstream and in to the nature reserve. If they do and of their young ones spread they will most likely stop the flowing of water from the area and the old lake will most likely slowly start to show again. Ok, that will take years but still. Unfortunately that will also most likely give all kinds of biting insects a paradise here, as if we don’t have plenty as it is πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

This is very new!

This is very new!

DSC_0033

 

I watched the last movies yesterday, Godzilla and X-Men, Days of Future Past. Godzilla is a really, really bad film πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The special effects are many times poor, most of the film is therefore made at night-time. Some actors are so bad that I laughed as soon as I saw them, especially the two Godzilla experts. The female one looks like she’s going to throw up the entire film and the male one looks like he’s about to have a heart attack πŸ™‚ It is so bad that I love it!!! Mothra is also showing up in this movie, they call it something similar but it is Mothra and that’s never a bad thing πŸ™‚ So if You like me love really bad monster movies You must see this one πŸ™‚ It is charmingly bad and I’ll watch it when ever I need a laugh πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The X-Men movie is a bit boring to be honest but as always really well made!

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

 

I’m not sure there will be anything here tomorrow, I have some things to do that I couldn’t this week and I’ll do them after work. My back is still not especially good but I think it won’t be worse by working. I’ve posted some new photos in my NG album and here’s a link to it if You want to see those photos: NGΒ The link will open up a new window if things works as they should.

 

DSC_0048

I think this mushroom is a Pezizales. We call them Bowl mushrooms. Wonderful color!

I think this mushroom is a Pezizales. We call them Bowl mushrooms. Wonderful color!

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    A freshly chomped tree with lots of beaver mouth sized chunks all around it is a pretty good sign that the beavers are back. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    I love the orange on that mushroom. Oddly enough, it is exactly the shade of orange that seems to be quite popular in restaurants nowadays. Supposedly, that shade of orange is stimulating to the appetite. If so, I hope that mushroom is not too poisonous. πŸ™‚

    Your new bag of clothespins is probably hanging out somewhere with my new bag of clothespins. πŸ™‚

    Is your Godzilla the old black and white one with Raymond Burr looking very out of place among all those Japanese people or is it a newer remake? The old one is the best one, IMO. Cheesy, cheap, funny as hell. They don’t make them like that any more. Probably a good thing. πŸ˜€ Were the three fairies, or whatever they are, that guard Mothra in your film?

    Yesterday was pick up all the walnuts in the yard but I only managed to pick up the ones directly behind the house. I got half a wheel barrow full. I dumped them over in the rough where the squirrels will be very happy to gather them. My yard looks like a tatty grass tennis court that is covered with hundreds of tennis balls. πŸ˜€ Here’s a photo:
    DSC07707

    Today is sunny and mild. I might pick up some more walnuts. Or not. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the day.

    October 26, 2014 at 12:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I thought so too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I hadn’t heard that the hunters had been able to shoot them so I did wonder when and where they should show up again πŸ™‚

      It shines like a warning sign on the ground so I doubt it is even remotely edible πŸ™‚ I see some every now and again but I can’t say they are common here.

      Aha! So that’s where it went πŸ™‚ I did wonder if I was getting slightly insane or something like that πŸ™‚

      This Godzilla is the latest one, I’ve seen the original, before they put in Raymond Burr πŸ™‚ That is so badly done that I love it πŸ™‚ They had this idea in the late seventies on our PBS that they should show all those bad Japanese monster movies and the voice overs were so bad that I can’t understand how they even could think of showing them πŸ™‚ but I’m glad they did, I love those old movies! This one isn’t far behind in badness tough πŸ™‚ No they didn’t have those three fairies here, they had slightly changed it too. If You want to see a really bad movie one day look at this one πŸ™‚

      So You don’t eat any walnuts? They are my favorite nuts but I guess when one get that many it might be a bit too much πŸ™‚ It did look as if it was covered in tennis balls πŸ™‚

      Rather warm here but it just started to rain here, when we were out walking of course πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 26, 2014 at 1:33 pm

      • Caryn

        Black walnuts are rather bitter which would be okay but they are also almost impossible to open. They don’t have polite shells like English walnuts. You need to spread black walnuts out in the driveway and run over them a few times with the car.
        The wind has picked up again and I can hear the many walnuts left up in the tree banging down on the roof and thunking onto the ground. It seems my efforts yesterday will be in vain and the yard will be covered again.

        October 26, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      • I know those nuts are tough but not that they were that tough πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Well, when I get any I can toos them out into the forest and perhaps the wild hogs will take some and the few squirrels some and the rest will have to become a forest πŸ™‚

        The wind calmed down for a few minutes now it’s roaring again.

        October 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm

  2. jz

    wow…that orange mushroom is fabulous! i used to have black walnuts at my old house. it is sunny and warm here again. i cooked all day and now i am ready to settle down and watch football until bedtime! our leaves are almost all down now. maybe your clothespins are in your car somewhere?

    October 26, 2014 at 7:53 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does have a fantastic color!

      I have my almost five year old black walnut tree and as long as the winter doesn’t get too long or cold for some years more I think it’ll get a chance to finally become big enough to carry walnuts.

      No, I know I brought those clothespins inside and the last time I remember seeing them was here in the kitchen but I have no idea where I placed them after that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 26, 2014 at 8:10 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! I think we are sharing winds! It was again so windy today – gusting to 60 kms/hour. It is supposed to stop, but when remains the question. Graet photos today! The mushroom is amazing! I love the color orange and have never seen anything like this. Our mushrooms are brown or an off white color. I must google what the wild boars look like – I can only imagine the usual farm pig but somehow from your writing, I think not! πŸ™‚ They must be terribly dangerous. I hope the dogs never get to meet one. Sorry to hear about your back – I hope it feels better soon! Have a good Monday!

    October 27, 2014 at 1:54 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Still blowing rather hard here too, we’ll have it like this for a few days more and after that it will calm down again.

      We have a few funguses living on dead trees that are even brighter orange, I have one nearby and IΓ€ll take a photo of it on Friday if I remember it and it still looks goiod.

      We have one boar here that I and the dogs met one day. He’s so big that her knows he soean’t have to attack to keep other animals away,we were only meters from him. They say he weighs around 170kg! He’s huge! It’s the smaller ones one must keep a big distance to, they feel the need to atrtack just to show how great they really are πŸ™‚

      My back isn’t worse after one day of work anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 27, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Leave a Reply

