Perfect autumn food.

DSC_0011

I’ll have to tell You why Sweden is the most extreme country on Friday instead since it needs some explanation and it seems the universe has decided to not let me sit still for more than two minutes at a time today πŸ™‚ It’s either a cat that wants to get in or a dog that wants to go outside only to regret it the same second I’ve reached the door to open it up πŸ™‚ I also suddenly remembered that it was my mothers birthday, yesterday πŸ™‚ We’ve never been much of a birthday celebrating family to be honest so she was happy that I at least remembered it almost at the right time πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

DSC_0015

 

I had a letter in my mailbox, that I’ve longed for some time, when I came home today. A manual to my camera in Swedish. Even though I am descent in English it still is so much easier to understand what they mean when it is written in ones native language. I’ll read that one after writing this. I also had an e-mail waiting from the film developers. I can now see my photos online and they are much better this time. Yes they are slightly over exposed but much less than the last time. I also saw that I really need to get closer to what ever it is I want to photograph πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0018

DSC_0019

 

The cd with the photos will arrive some time late this week or early next and I’ll of course show You how they look. This time I’ll only reduce the size and nothing more before I show them here. From now on I will have the help of a light meter and I will hopefully remember to get closer to what ever it is I want to photograph πŸ™‚ I will also try to remember that these photos are squares and not rectangular like modern cameras take.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

It’s time for some tea and I’m making rice porridge now, perfect autumn food, so I’ll have some of that too. It’s persimmon season now and I was wondering if they are any good to make jam from? or will it be just too sweet? They are now my favorite fruit after bananas and mango.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0020

DSC_0021 - kopia

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. you’ll have lots of reading now your manual came, beautiful forest photos, the colors are amazing,

    October 28, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is actually surprisingly thin that manual πŸ™‚ I guess every single word is important though πŸ™‚

      I do love to walk aroun in the forest now with the autumn light, it makes everything shine.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 28, 2014 at 8:29 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Has Sweden elected some totally unsavory group of folks?

    It’s always nice to find the manual to complicated things. Especially if they manage to write it your native language without making a complete hash of it. I have a number of “English” manuals that leave much to be desired in the area of intelligibility. Sometimes I just want to get the original language manual and translate it myself. I could do a better job with a dictionary and Babelfish. πŸ˜€

    That little peach colored mushroom is very elegant. It’s like a silk parasol.

    Here it was warm and mostly cloudy though it started out sunny. They said the clouds were a sign of the warm front that is pushing up into my area. It’s supposed to be in the 70’s Fahrenheit tomorrow. BUT snow flakes are predicted for Saturday. Well it has to come sometime, I suppose. Hope it comes much later though. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening and the porridge.

    October 28, 2014 at 9:45 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      No, we’re just extreme in our selves πŸ™‚ and the odd thing is that we sort of makes the immigrants become the same way πŸ™‚

      Thankfully it’s a Swedish camera so they didn’t need to translate this one and thankfully there were no translation programs back then, they barely had computers to be honest πŸ™‚ Has Babelfish become any better? I used it long ago but didn’t like it especially much.

      Mushrooms can take the most amazing shapes don’t You think! There’s one on the American continent that grows on trees and it actually looks like an animal crawling in to a hole in the tree!! It’s delicious too they say.

      It’s between 50’s and 60’s here day and night but this evening feels chilly, like frost chilly. I do hope the frost stay away.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 29, 2014 at 5:34 pm

      • Caryn

        I don’t know about Babelfish. I haven’t used it in years because Google Translate is right up there on my browser bar, thank you very much Apple for sticking it there. πŸ™‚ I should check it out to see if A. it’s still around and B. it’s any better than Bing Translate which, as we both know, is horrendous.
        I have never heard of the mushroom that looks like an animal crawling into a hole. Very odd. So when you eat it, you are eating something that looks like the back end of a squirrel? πŸ˜€

        October 29, 2014 at 6:09 pm

      • Bing is so bad that I laugh out loud every time fb translates things my Brazilian friends write πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I’ve seen it on photos and I would say it looks more like the back of a Pangolin πŸ™‚

        October 29, 2014 at 6:22 pm

  3. jz

    we eat persimmons like apples. i’ve never made them into jam but it seems like you could? you have the most colorful mushrooms i have ever seen. i love the photo of bertil. teddy has hurt her bad paw even worse and is limping horribly. i can’t believe halloween is almost here. it was 78 degrees today.

    October 28, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I too but then I started to think about how they would be as jam on a pancake πŸ™‚ Ellen has a recipe I’ll try. The ones they are selling now are very big and fairky cheap. Compared to apples they are very expensive though πŸ™‚

      I wish I could find that green mushroom again, it is so green it looks like it is made from plastic πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Poor Teddy! I wish she could allow You to take her to the vet! I’m so glad my dogs only look like I’m about to kill them when I bring them to the vet πŸ™‚

      It’s around 50-60F here day and night and for us that’s very warm. Tonight feels chilly though so I wouldn’t be surprised if we have frost tomorrow morning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 29, 2014 at 5:38 pm

  4. 'Ellen in Oregon

    Hi Christer –

    It was nice that you remembered your mom’s birthday. Better late than never & I’m sure she appreciated your call. It was fun to see the photos of Bertil traveling through his forest jungle and creeping among the twigs and underbrush like a feline explorer. The photo you have as the header on your NG site where he is rolling in the soil is a great shot too. He is such a photogenic cat. The autumn forest shots have those wonderful russet colors that pop among the daper browns & greens. Fall has the most wonderful color palette. The mushrooms that you have near your cottage never fail to amaze me with their colors, shapes and variety. Only nature could create such beautful things. Glad to hear you are more pleased with your latest photos taken with the Hasselblad . The fact that the photos are square rather than rectangular would require you to keep that in mind when framing your subject. Are the photos 6″ X 6″? Those sound like pictures my Dad would take when I was a little kid. He used one of those Kodak Brownie cameras for many years. I wonder if it used similar film to your Hasselblad? It’s great that you were able to find a copy of the manual in Swedish. I had thought such a technical manual would be a nightmare to try & read even though your English is excellent, having it in your native language may be easier…or not. Some of the technical manuals I read in English make no sense sometimes. Sometimes I don’t understand how companies hire some of the technical writers that they do. Most have no talent for clearly explaining things step by step. It is an art for someone who is an authority on a subject to be able to remember how to bring a subject down to the same level as a person who is just being introduced to a topic. I saw that all the time when I was in college. There are professors who are wonderful teachers because they can see a topic through the eyes of a student and others who are the most boring lecturers in the world because they talk over everyone’s head.

    I love persimmons too. Even though they are grown right next to Oregon in California, it has only been the past couple of years that I have occasionally found them in a few local markets. Here is an easy recipe I had in my jam cookbook you might want to try:

    Persimmon Freezer Jam (makes 6 cups)

    5 cups pureed persimmons (if you don’t have a blender, find some way to crush the fruit as smooth as possible. If you prefer a chunkier consistency, then leave some of your fruit in small diced pieces)
    3 cups white sugar
    1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
    1/2 teaspoon grated orange zest
    pinch nutmeg

    Place all ingredients in a large saucepan and bring to a low boil over medium-high heat. Cook at a low boil for 30 minutes, stir occasionally.
    Pour into containers sterilized by placing them in boiling water for 5 mins. Keeps in freezer at least 3-5 months & in fridge for 3 weeks.

    Yesterday I make a loaf of beer bread. I made one plain loaf that was delicious, esp. toasted in thin slices and a 2nd beer bread with sharp cheddar & diced bacon. I think this bread will make a fantastic grilled cheese with thin slices of apple on it. I had some pumpkin puree left over so I ended my baking with a loaf of pumpkin spice with golden raisins & walnuts. The beer bread is my kind of bread it only take a couple of ingredients and is in the oven in less than 5 minutes from start to finish. Now I need to wrap most of it and get it into the freezer before I eat it all.

    I laughed when I read your review of the Godzilla movie. When I was a kid I loved the original Godzilla movies. Mothra was the best monster the Janpanese created. Those movies are so hokey I may just have to see this new one. I love movies that are so badly done that they are funny. The worse the acting and script the better. Netflix just added Chasing Fire so I will watch that this weekend. It must be almost time for the final movie in the trilology to be released. Maybe at Christmas time.

    I hope your rheumatism is easing up a bit. I know how difficult is is to have your body become so painful that it makes life difficult to say the least. I know with the rheumatoid arthritis I have with the lupus, the hardest part is never knowing when that severe pain is going to make an appearance & then not knowing how long they will be staying. For me, the trick is not to spoil the good periods of remission by worrying about when the next flare will be. I wasted too much time doing that when I was younger. I hope you are feeling well soon my friend. I admire how you try not to let your rheumatism stop you from living life on your terms. It is still very dark & stormy here. We had wind storms twice this week and even a tornado nearby. Many people lost power, luckily I did not. Trees fell everywhere with a couple of inches rain after such a long period of drought and there are still lots of tree branches that need to be picked up by the city. I hope those massive tall pine tree in front & in back of my building do not decide to fall on my condo building as I am directly under the flat roof on the top floor. Even with this stormy weather I do not think that will deter the trick or treaters from going out on Halloween this Friday. They must collect their candy no matter what.

    October 28, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    • Hi Ellen!

      Autumn is more colorful than spring and I do like it I just wish it didn’t have to be dark so early at night. A nd the forest smell fantastic still, thankfully all the corpse mushrooms are gone because they smell awful πŸ™‚

      Bertil is an amazing cat, even I have to admit that πŸ™‚ Too bad he has that temper of his πŸ™‚ It’s fun that he follows us when ever we’re out walking. He behaves like a waild cat when he’s out there by the bog or in the forest. At the moment he’s waiting in front of the stove, he always sleep there when the heat starts spreading.

      Yes the photos are 6 x 6 and it’s the same kind of film Your father used. I was actually looking at one of those cameras too but decided it was enough with one camera I didn’t understand πŸ™‚ I’ve read a lot in that manual now and become a bit wiser πŸ™‚ I posted two of the latest photos in my NG album today, I just got the cd in the mail.

      Thank You for that recipe! I’ve sabed it and now I must change the meassures to the ones we use πŸ™‚ I have an ap in my phone that does that for me. Too bad persimmons doesn’t grow here, I have five tiny trees in my garden now and hope for some mild winters so they can grow up. They will most liukely survive but our summers are most likely too short for the fruit to ripen properly.

      I checked beer bread and I have used beer in bread before but not inthe way they explained it on the internet. I think I’ll try it as soon as I can remember to buy some beer πŸ™‚ I often put cheese in my bread but I’ve never tried bacon, that is a must try! Sounds delicious! I don’t think I can find pumpkin puree here unless I go to Gothenburg where they have a store where they only seel American food. I’ve read about that store and have always wanted to go to it one day.

      I love bad Japanese monster movies πŸ™‚ and this one is made in the same spirit I would say. I remember one of those Japanese Godzilla movies where it was fighting with a giant spider. The spider had captured Godzillas baby and the fight was one to remember, especially when Godzilla breathed fire πŸ™‚

      You are absolutely right! Nonuse in spoiling the good times by worrying when the next bad time comes. I at least have some warning because the pain grow slowly, it isn’t always that sharp pan that makes it hard to breathe comes and I can sometimes keep it away by using my rowing machine. I did everything wrong this time since I believed I had a cold πŸ™‚ So instead of moving around a lot which I should have done I stayed in bed which is the worst thing one can do πŸ™‚ It is getting better now tough. a little every day.

      It will calm down here in a day or two but the wind is still strong here. The ones tricking or treating will have a rather nice weather I think. Halloween is getting bigger here but mostly in the bigger cities. I have one pumpkin that I will carve on Friday πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 29, 2014 at 6:02 pm

  5. Bertil looked like he was doing some rather serious stalking. Your forest floor always looks so mysterious. Persimmions are a favorite of mine too. They have to be just the right stage of ripness or they don’t tast so nice. Wish I had planted one of those tree’s. Now Im out of room. We now have almost wall to wall tree’s.
    It doesn’t look like your really cold weather has begun to arrive yet. Joyce says they are expecting snow!! Soon!

    October 30, 2014 at 4:32 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I wonder what it was for kind of track he followed. Stoats live there so it might have been those he followed.

      I could eat lods of them but they are a bit expensive here to be honest even if it is high season right now. A friend of mine have persimmon on sandwiches with ham and cheese on them, it’s actually quite tasty! Thankfully most people don’t know when they taste as best so when they do I can often get them for half the prise since people believe they are going bad πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I have planted some small ones here and if the winter will be as mild as they predict they will survive and the more mild winters we get the better they will manage really cold weather when it finally comes. So I have high hopes πŸ™‚

      It is much warmer than usual now but we did have frost this morning and this evening is rather chilly too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 30, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

