We are the most extreme people in the world :-)

Square photos means Hasselblad photos :-)

Square photos means Hasselblad photos 🙂

Did You know that Sweden is the most extreme country in the world? It is or should I say the Swedes are. Something called the World Value Service shows that. The World Values Survey (WVS) is a global research project that explores people’s values and beliefs, how they change over time and what social and political impact they have. It is carried out by a worldwide network of social scientists who, since 1981, have conducted representative national surveys in almost 100 countries. The WVS measures, monitors and analyzes: support for democracy, tolerance of foreigners and ethnic minorities, support for gender equality, the role of religion and changing levels of religiosity, the impact of globalization, attitudes toward the environment,work, family, politics, national identity,culture, diversity, insecurity, and subjective well-being.

 

 

Take a look at the picture above, if You look at the top right corner there’s a little dot showing the values of Swedes. It shows we aren’t especially traditional when it comes to religion but very much secular, only the Japanese people are more secular than us. On,y 5% goes to church/ mosque/ synagogue regularly in this country. Family in the traditional way isn’t especially important to us either, You know the wife-husband- children family where the mother stays at home is very rare here. No one raises an eye-brow if the family is a single mother or father or both male or both female family with children here and almost always both parents work, if they have a job that is.

 

13

14

15

 

We have a very strong support for the freedom values and don’t believe in a strong leader. We also reject gathering power of experts or the Armed Forces, and are convinced that democratic government is the best possible system even with its flaws and shortcomings. The fun thing is that this seems to rub of on our immigrants so they tend to get the same values as us after a while. But to be honest, many of them already have values like ours and that’s why they felt the need to leave their country. So if You want extreme just come to us 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

12

16

I'm not sure what I focused on here :-)

I’m not sure what I focused on here 🙂

 

Another thing that I think might be a bit different but I don’t think they knew this when they did the survey is that the former government fell because they had lowered the taxes too much so that we didn’t have that great social security net that we once had any longer. So before the election almost all parties told us that they would raise our taxes and even the conservatives said they wanted to do that 🙂 They wanted it too little and to late though 🙂 How many countries in the world is like that 🙂

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0011

DSC_0013

 

Here’s a link to the World Value Service if You want to read what it is all about and how they did it: WVSIt’s quite interesting if one manages to read it through, it’s very much text 🙂 It’s time for a pot of tea and some nice sandwiches, Today I’ll have blue cheese, normal cheese, liver pate, spotted sausages, ham and some paprika on them 🙂

 

DSC_0016

DSC_0017

DSC_0019

 

Have a great day and Happy Halloween!

 

DSC_0021

 

I found  this video just after posting this 🙂 

10 responses

  1. I cleaned a summer home for a family from Sweden , they came here every summer and told Garry and I we would adapt and fit in so well in their country , lol, I never asked why they thought this ,,,,I think the world should take notes from Sweden, beautiful photos of your family today,,,, 😉

    October 31, 2014 at 2:38 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      According to that picture You are similar in some ways, but more traditional than we are 🙂 I posted a video just after You commented here so I hope You’ll come back and watch it 🙂

      Havce a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2014 at 2:50 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    If it weren’t for the dark and the cold, I’d move to Sweden. Much more civilized. Even the spawns of Satan are unassuming.

    Funny video. I thought it was the Russians who were the Ugly American Tourist types nowadays 🙂

    My lawn guys just left. I think they picked up all the walnuts and blew away the leaves. It was not my intention to have them do it and it’ll cost me many extra dollars but…YAY!!!!
    Now I can wait another week for the rest of the walnuts to fall before I have to think about cleaning them up again. Yes, there are still plenty up in that old tree. I can hear them falling even as I type. It was an excellent year for black walnuts.

    Hasselblad stuff is looking much better each time.

    Time for my coffee now.
    Enjoy the day.

    October 31, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Don’t forget all the biting insects 🙂 🙂 The cute squirrels are less shy in the cities though but I barely see them here.

      I laugh every time I see that video and the fun thing is that at the time they made it that was our prime minister 🙂 🙂 🙂 Swedes are infamous abroad 🙂 Some hotels in the Alps down in Europe won’t have young Swedes 🙂 To be honest, that video is actually quite accurate 🙂

      Yay for service You didn’t want 🙂 I hope You’ll manage to remove the rest before those guys show up again 🙂 So far I’m only hoping for my tiny tree to survive the winter 🙂

      Yes these photos are so much better. Now I’ll only have to remember everything else 🙂 I have my light meter so now I really need to focus on what I actually want to show in the photo 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      October 31, 2014 at 4:55 pm

      • Caryn

        I went out a couple of hours after the lawn guys left. There aren’t any leaves but there are more walnuts. And there are more walnuts still to come down. My tree is at least 100 years old. Probably older. It’s tall and very wide because it was topped by lightening a few times when it was young and grew several leaders that are now as big as normal trees. I hope your little tree lives long enough to give you some walnuts.

        October 31, 2014 at 7:13 pm

      • I hope so too 🙂

        There were several pines and spruces with multiple tops in the area where I lived before moving to this house and they said it was because the lightning had hit them. I don’t know if that was true but there was an awful lot og lightning there when the thunder passed 🙂

        November 1, 2014 at 4:09 am

  3. jz

    funny video!!! happy halloween christer! are you going to show us your decorations? i would love to see the only halloween decorations in your town!

    October 31, 2014 at 5:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is fun and very accurate 🙂

      You mean the one and only pumkin? It depends on how bad it looks 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2014 at 6:06 pm

  4. Christer,
    I loved that video. It gave me a few laughs. If I had known all the perks swedes get like vacation, sick leave and the like, I might have emigrated there. The only drawback would be the language which looks and sounds so complicated.

    Raising taxes here means defeat for any politician who tells the truth when running for office. People scream about what they have lost but don’t chose to pay for it.

    Your dinner was such a wonderful combination of foods!

    Have a great evening!!

    October 31, 2014 at 6:25 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It is a really fun video and soo accurate too 🙂
      I’ve heard that Swedish is very difficult to learn and by the way many Swedes writes and talks today it seems right 🙂 🙂

      It was the same here until people started to realise what we were loosing 🙂 Another thing that turned many people was a survey that showed that it was the countries with high taxes that managed this latest economic crisis best, all the Scandinavian countries and Germany.

      It was quite tasty sandwiches 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      October 31, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Leave a Reply

