Raindrops keep falling on my head but it’s better than snowflakes.

DSC_0002

The rain has been falling most parts of the day and it is pouring down at the moment too. Can’t say I like it but it’s better than snow anyway. But we will most likely get snow from Wednesday evening through big parts of Thursday. Strong winds are predicted too but no degrees below 0C (31F) so it will most likely melt as soon as it hits the ground. After that warmer winds will reach us again and already by Friday evening it will turn back to more or less what we’re having now.

 

DSC_0007

DSC_0008

DSC_0011 - kopia

 

The very odd program All for Sweden is back on tv again. It’s originally a Norwegian idea. They bring over some people from the USA with Swedish back ground and they compete to win a meeting with their Swedish relatives. It is a bit sadistic to be honest, they travel around this country and they will all see the place where the person/ persons that left Sweden grew up and lived. Each week one of them get tossed out if they lose a competition, different each week and has nothing to do with what they actually might know of this country, just so that all have an equal chance of winning or loosing. But to be fair to the program. Everyone that must leave will get a family tree and all information they could find about their Swedish family back in the days. It can go back several hundred years because the churches kept notes of all that happened to us during our lives.

 

DSC_0012 - kopia

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

 

What do we Swedes learn from this program? Well it seems people from the US cries for almost everything Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ They cry if they win, they cry if they lose. They cry when someone has to leave and they cry when they are at the place where their ancestors lived πŸ™‚ They cry even more when they read how difficult life was back in the days, of course it was otherwise they most likely wouldn’t emigrate in the first place. Normally they have a few that cries more than the others but this year they have found a bunch of Americans that cries all the time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t cry if I saw the place where my Serbian grandfather lived or where my Russian ancestors on my mother’s side lived either.

 

I saved the three worst Hasselblad photos for last :-)

I saved the three worst Hasselblad photos for last πŸ™‚

20

21

 

But I must admit that I like this program and one do get favorites that one wish will go all the way and get the chance to meet their Swedish family. But still, it is a bit sadistic to just let them go home before getting a chance to get what they want even if they get that family tree and all the info. Especially when it comes to the three last ones. Just imagine how it must feel to become second or third on that last day and to know how close it was that they had won.

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0004

DSC_0007

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. All the dogs are sleeping and the cats are outside in the rain, hunting I guess. I just want to go to sleep too πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    I love those mossy stumps with the little gardens growing on their tops.

    It’s a fair bet that program chooses people who are very demonstrative. Contest shows like people who scream and cry at everything. For some reason they think it shows the people are involved. Simply smiling at one’s good fortune is no longer entertaining enough for us. πŸ™‚

    You’re getting my weather. I don’t know if our two day northeaster has made it across the Atlantic to you yet but it sounds like the same weather. There was still snow left in the hollows of the grass and on the fallen leaves this morning. Piki Dog was unhappy about that for a bit but he got over it.
    The walnuts are all down now. πŸ™‚

    Today is sunny, windy and cold. I did my errands very early this morning so I can goof off for today.

    Enjoy your day.

    November 3, 2014 at 7:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like them too πŸ™‚

      You are so right! This time however it seesm they’ve only managed to get criers πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ and I wouldn’t be surpruised if they have been instructed to cry a bit extra too πŸ™‚ I feel it gives us a rather wrong view of how Americans are πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I think this weather is from the arctic though, I read something about the arctic winter arriving, so I guess Your weather will turn up shortly after that πŸ™‚ I’m hoping that it will turn to rain instead but I’m usually not thast lucky πŸ™‚ Nove loves the first snow and after that she dislikes it with all her heart πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 3, 2014 at 7:59 pm

  2. that is a very odd program, I know for a fact that I would not waste my tears on such matters but I’m not American, I would not even think of joining the program, the chance of losing and being sent home without accomplishing the end result would not be acceptable, I don’t like to gamble, lol,

    November 3, 2014 at 11:55 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I agree with You in every word You say πŸ™‚ I have to admit that I’m not sure I would want to meet any relatives either, what if they are awful πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 4, 2014 at 6:17 pm

  3. Hi Christer,
    I think the directors choose people who tend to cry. On game shows here they try and find people who scream and yell and jump up and down. I wonder how they find the people who go to Sweden. I figure when they have their family tree they can always go back and keep looking.

    Sorry about the snow.

    Have a great evening!

    November 4, 2014 at 12:02 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes they sure do πŸ™‚ I guess they think it’s dramatic but I just think it is embarrasing πŸ™‚

      I think our game shows still are a bit calmer but we’re getting there πŸ™‚

      They showed us once but I can’t remember. I think it was several different ways one could go, via ads and I think they also looked for people that was asking our embassy questions about how to find relatives.

      It lookd like we’ll get much less snow than predicted though but all weather predictions show around two or three inches that will melt away fairly quickly.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 4, 2014 at 6:22 pm

  4. jz

    i don’t know that i would think i was winning if i met some of my relatives! i can’t stand the few that i have. we are about to get warm again. i rarely cry.

    November 4, 2014 at 12:38 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      They search for those that easily show emotions but instead of making the program dramatic or emotional it’s just embarrasing πŸ™‚

      What if I went down to Serbia and won and found out my relatives there all were war criminals πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think I pass that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I rarely cry either, I’m not that kind of person I guess.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 4, 2014 at 6:24 pm

  5. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Christer, The show you described would not be on my watch list, but then ai don’t watch any TV shows so it really would not matter to me.
    Every year when you post about how you dislike snow, I keep thinking that you need to move to where the winters are not so bad. Hope any snow you do get this week is quickly gone, so you will feel better!

    November 6, 2014 at 4:46 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It is an odd show, I agree πŸ™‚ It comes directly after the news and I’m just too lazy to change channel πŸ™‚ But to be honest, thereΓ€s nothimng else to watch, the other programs are even worse πŸ™‚

      I should move to southern Portugal but it is impossible to find any jobs outside Scandinavia and Germany. Well possiblu Britain then but otherwise it is impossible. I need to win a lot of money so I don’t need to work if I would move abroad πŸ™‚

      Almost no snow here at all but I’ve heard it was much, much worse eastwards.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 6, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Leave a Reply

