So calm.

DSC_0041

It’s very calm outside and I guess it is the calm before the storm. To be honest we’ll only have gale here but that’s enough when it also will rain a lot and also snow a lot at the same time. But the predictions have changed slightly. We’ll most likely get less snow than they first predicted but colder and with more rain. I don’t like the combination rain and cold, it sort of invites to slippery roads and car crashes. The snow won’t start to fall until early Thursday night.

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

DSC_0046

 

But I think the roads will be warm enough so that no black ice shows up, well black ice never show really πŸ™‚ It will stay chilly until Saturday when it gets warmer again. I don’t like this but the Farmer’s Almanac says that if snow falls on unfrozen ground the winter will be mild so I hope that’s right πŸ™‚ We had a very mild winter last year and I would not complain if we got one more πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0051

DSC_0054

 

Nothing much has happened here to be honest. The only thing I’m interested in now is how it goes in the US elections. I hear worrying things, that the republicans might get majority in both places. Normally that would perhaps not be something to worry about but since the Tea party took over it definitely is something to worry about. Those people do scare me and I feel they are no better than the Taliban’s in Afghanistan. I can only hope that there still are some sensible people left in the republican party that might be able to do something.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0010 - kopia

 

It’s time for a pot of tea, something to eat and to keep that fire burning in the stove, from now on the temperature will start to drop.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. jz

    we have a sunny 65 degree day here today but rain is on the way and then really cold temps move in. i am watching the voting closely. it is all a bit scary. i will be so glad that the ads will stop appearing on tv. i am really sick of them.

    November 4, 2014 at 7:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I would love to have Your temperature but then again there would be no use of a fire in the stove and I do like to have that πŸ™‚

      I’ll see what has happened in Your elections when I get up tomorrow morning. I’m so glad that we have very few of those television ads over here and the ones we do have are mostly fact based. I’ve heard what Yours can be like and I would get sick of them.

      Have You ever read Jim Wright’s blog Stonekettle station? It’s only about politics but I think You would like it, I do. Here’s a link to it: http://www.stonekettle.com/

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 4, 2014 at 8:56 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    I was worried too until I read Jim Wright’s most recent blog and then I breathed a sigh of relief because, of course, he is correct. Nothing will be done because that’s all they’ve got; nothing.
    http://www.stonekettle.com
    I’m avoiding the news until later this evening because I hate to be told who has won before the polls close. I like to be surprised. Pleasantly or otherwise. I will note that my polling place had no waiting time this morning at 8AM but all the voting booths were constantly in use. Just the right amount of busy but I wouldn’t have minded if I had had to wait. Bodes well for democrats if turn out is high.

    Here it is mostly cloudy and in the high 50’s Fahrenheit. No wind. It’s not bad. I saw that thing about first snow on unfrozen ground. I also saw a woolly bear with equal orange and black parts which argues for a normal winter. Unfortunately it was being eaten by a spider so I don’t know if it counts. Anyway, I’m not sure how it’ll go but I’m hoping the fact that I now have my first ever snow blower counts heavily in favor of a mild, open winter so I won’t get to use it. πŸ™‚

    Piki Dog trapped a mouse in the middle of the night last nigh. He spooked it so it jumped into or fell into a large flower vase and couldn’t get out. I got it before Piki did and threw it outside. The mouse, not the vase. If I hear any more disturbances from that part of the house, I’ll put down some kill traps. I can’t use poison anymore because Piki Dog eats everything he finds. Oh joy.

    Enjoy the day.

    November 4, 2014 at 7:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You are so right, he is always right πŸ™‚ I had read something similar in one of our news papers. Nothing much will happene because Obama will veto and they will stop any balance in any budget πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’ll see how things went when I get up tomorrow morning and I hope I’ll get a plasant surprise πŸ™‚

      I don’t think we have those woolly bear here, lots of different ones but no with those colors. I guess that the spider eating the woolly bear means the warm weather will kill the cold winter πŸ™‚ But all folk lore signs here says warm winter and even the experst says El NiΓ±jo will keep the winter warm most parst but when it comes it will be short and nasty cold. I don’t believe neither the folk lore nor the experst so I guess it will be long and normally cold πŸ™‚

      No one here in the village use poison to get mice and rats, that’s why we have so many cats here. But I have a have a heart trap and I need one more because they can get in to my pantry from the back side of it. Not a nice place to have a crushed mouse in πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 4, 2014 at 9:03 pm

  3. we have the same type of day here, winter is on approach for sure, this apartment I think will be cold, this is when I miss my wood stove, hopefully this will be my last winter here, should be interesting how the U.S makes out, it will be all we will have to watch tonight, there are so few Canadian stations, the U.S dominate our television,

    November 4, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      So You will move back again? πŸ™‚ I know You want to and I so understand why! It doesn’t matter how nice a town might be, the countryside is always best πŸ™‚

      I’ll see what has happened in the US elections when I get up tomorrow morning.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 4, 2014 at 9:05 pm

  4. Christer,
    Some of the races will be close so those will be slow to name. I’m thinking the governor of Massachusetts might be one of those. None of the stations seem to have coverage until later in the evening.

    We had the worst winter-as cold as I remember any being-so I’m hoping for a warmer one. That polar vortex hung around far too long. Today was a nice fall day.

    Have a great evening!

    November 5, 2014 at 1:10 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I saw that ghey now have the majority in the senate too but You should check outb the link Caryn posted in her comment, he’s really good. He is always right and he says nothing will happen so I believe him πŸ™‚

      It looks like if we’re having a warm winter You’ll have a cold one. They say ours will be warm because of El NiΓ±o so I guess that means Youll have a cold one again. But why can’t eastern Siberia and China take it this winter πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 5, 2014 at 6:31 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Just catching up on the blogs – I have been at a conference the past couple of days and have been “off the grid” so to speak! πŸ™‚ We had snow this morning – big Hollywood type snow which melted immediately as it hit the ground. I was happy for that. Its cold and we are due more snow Friday. Its coming – its only a matter of time. The pictures of the trees are amazing. The trees look almost not real they are that crisp. Have a good Wednesday!!

    November 5, 2014 at 1:24 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I can’t say I like going to conferences but it is good to be off the grid every now and again πŸ™‚

      I think well have that kind of snow too but it will fly sideways because of the strong winds πŸ™‚ It will get warm again on Saturday so this is just unnecessary πŸ™‚

      Some lights just do that with the photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 5, 2014 at 6:34 pm

  6. texasann

    Christer – Sorry to hear you find us conservatives so scary. Quite frankly, we find the other side the same – scary. With so many of our individual and states’ rights being confiscated by the feds, I’m looking forward to some level heads taking over, no matter what label they wear. Closing our borders to the illegals and making them go through the legal process of entering the US is important to me, being in Texas. And I’ve lived overseas and had to follow the immigration policies of those countries, so have worn those shoes. So is closing the big DC checkbook and living within our budget. We have to do it as individuals…. OK, enough politics.
    Thanks for the photos – hope there are some snow shots tomorrow.

    November 5, 2014 at 3:00 pm

    • Hi texasann!

      It isn’t the conservatives I worry about, it’s tthe tea party members because they have shown they rather see Your country go down than to even try to compromise. Politically I’m actually right in the middle between both Your parties but have started to almost fear what direction the Tea party people has taken.

      Immigration politics is always difficult, we don’t even call it that any longer, we call it policy πŸ™‚ When it comes to that part I think it’s even worse over here.
      Ok, no more politics πŸ™‚

      I’ll see if I can get any snow photos before I drive to work tomorrow but I do hope there won’t be any :-)It is pouring down at the moment and the wind is howling. I should have gone out to see if I had to tie anything but it seems the wind comes from the right direction so that my garden won’t be hit at all πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 5, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

