I’m prepared for the arrival of King Bore.

DSC_0001

It is rapidly getting darker outside, it’s a bit foggy and down to the bones chilly. I’m so glad that it will turn towards warmer already tomorrow. But todays and yesterdays weather was a warning bell so today I have my winter tires on. I hope they will be mostly unnecessary this winter but it’s always best to be prepared for King Bore’s (a name we’ve given winter) arrival.Β 

 

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

DSC_0007

 

Orvar and Hector were like usual muddy when I came home, I just can’t understand how they prefer to lie down on the ground rainy and cold days when they gladly can go inside the dog house on rainy days in the summer and that they hate to get wet πŸ™‚ It’s a good thing I stop working early on Fridays. It is impossible to get any of them into the shower but I am allowed to shower them in the garden?! That is a much easier task if I actually can see what I’m doing πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0008

DSC_0010

DSC_0012

 

I turned around when I was showering Hector and to my surprise I saw something rather big orangey/ pinkish beside my raised bed where I had grown tomatoes and the two pumpkin plants. At first I though it was a plastic bag but to my very big surprise it is a pumpkin πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I can’t understand how I’ve been able to miss it at all because it is rather big πŸ™‚ I think it weighs around 10kg (22 pounds) ! I’m not sure what to do with it now since Halloween is over but it does look good on the entrance stairs πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

 

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat and the dogs are also prepared to get some food, well they always are but they sure know when they always get their food and complains loudly if I would be a bit late πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0016

 

DSC_0031

 

 

DSC_0030

 

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. jz

    you can have that pumpkin for thanksgiving! i just picked up a few things for you in ohio today! i am working on your xmas present!

    November 8, 2014 at 12:57 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Whenis Thanksgiving? We don’t have that holiday here. It is an awful lot of pumkin just for me though πŸ™‚ I feel I must do something with it and if I grow pumpkins next year I’ll prepare better just in case I actually would get one more πŸ™‚

      πŸ™‚ I’m just like a little kid when it comes to that package πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2014 at 5:15 am

  2. Christer,
    King Bore will be here as well later in the week. It was bone chilling cold today because of the dampness. They keep throwing the word polar about, but it can’t get as cold as last winter. That was the worst.

    Gracie is snoring on the couch. I keep checking her, but she seems fine. One cat is on a chair and the other is on her afghan. We all stay together while watching TV. Grimm is on tonight. I hope it starts for you soon.

    Have a wonderful morning!

    November 8, 2014 at 2:53 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is the damnpness that makes it so nasty cold! I remember when living by the ocean, days when it was 14F there were much colder than when I was up in the far north of this countr where it is much dryer in winter and it was -22F. If we’ll get that warm winter they predict it seems You will get that cold winter again. Even though I would be used to even colder winters I still am very happy if You get it and not I πŸ™‚

      I hope these new pills will help but it took me a long time to relax again after that similar thing happened to old Erna, she wasn’t bothered at all though πŸ™‚ She was also a dream when it comes to pills, the easiest dog in the wolrd to give pills to πŸ™‚

      I keep looking to see if They will start showing Grimm here again but so far no luck. Channel Six isn’tthe best one to give any information either unfortunately, sometimes it seems they do what they can to lose viewers πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2014 at 5:27 am

  3. Hi Christer,
    I had to google King Bore. At first I thought you were going to have to attend a work meeting that involved a long PowerPoint presentation. πŸ™‚ I see it isn’t that bad. Only winter.
    It started out okay here this morning. A little sun, a little cloud. The temperature didn’t get out of the high 40’s F which was okay but the wind picked up and the wind chill factor set in. It was cold. Well, compared to what it has been, it was cold.

    Congratulations on the pumpkin. It is an interesting specimen. You should save the seeds and plant them next year since you already know that variety managed to make it in Sweden.
    I thought of you this afternoon when I was at the local farm store. They had boxes of crab apples for sale and I was tempted to buy some but didn’t know what one was supposed to do with them. I just remembered that you did jam or something. Which reminds me that I have one small quince from my old quince bush that the deer missed. I’d like to save the seeds. Do you know how to do that?

    Enjoy the day.

    November 8, 2014 at 5:31 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      I laughed when I realized how it would look when reading that name in English πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But to be honest, isn’t winter a bore πŸ™‚

      Crab allpes are perfect to mix in to any jam but they are usually very sour. If they are towards sweet they are pefect to make apple sauce from but since they usually are rather small one need plenty just to make a little πŸ™‚

      If the quince is ripe just pick out the seeds, wash them and let them dry for a while. They need a cold period to germinate if I remember it right. So either sow them in soil now and place the pot outside coveren with a net so no one eats them πŸ™‚ Or do the paper cloth method. Put the seeds in a moist but not wet paper cloth, You know the kind we use when wiping babies after changing diapers, fold the cloth around the seeds and place it in a plastic bag and in to the fridge with it. Check every now and again so that the cloth doesn’t start to mold. The seeds usually only need a month or so to start germinating so just keep the seeds dry in the fridge until early January and then do the moist paper cloth thing.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2014 at 6:14 am

Leave a Reply

