It’s a bit chilly today.

The morning sky.

The morning sky.

I had to drive to the super market this morning. I was planning on doing it like always after work yesterday but having four tires in the trunk gives very little space for anything else, like six big packages with fire logs πŸ™‚ I could of course have placed those packages in the back seat of the car but they weigh 10kg (22 pound) each and I doubt there would have been any bigger problems getting them in to the car but out πŸ™‚ I can just see how my back would be twisted while trying to lift and pull out those packages πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0003

DSC_0005

DSC_0006

 

I also had to get new Lotto numbers so I can win the big lottery tonight, the old numbers were just no good because I almost never won anything πŸ™‚ In this lottery we chose seven numbers between 1 and 35 and it doesn’t sounfΒ΄d that hard to get seven right then does it πŸ™‚ on each lotto form there’s also a pre printed number that we also can choose to play on or not. That one is much tougher to get any right at all πŸ™‚ but if one get seven right on the lotto and either the two first numbers or two last number on that other game one win the Dream Winning. That means at least 50 000 000 Swedish kronor (around $7142857 US). That happens so seldom that normally they win much, much more. To be honest it is impossible to win that but still, every now and again it happens. Not to me though πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

Mushrooms can look so odd. This one looks like it is furry :-)

Mushrooms can look so odd. This one looks like it is furry πŸ™‚

 

It is grey damp and chilly outdoors and with the weak wind we also have it’s kind of nasty out there. Still, my dogs and I were out walking for a bit more than two and a half hours today. We went in to the forest on the wrong side of the creek and walked down stream. We passed that little bridge made from wood and walked the creek upstream almost all the way up to the bog. It wouldn’t have taken so long if I had walked by myself but Hector can’t walk that fast. He loves to walk still though so we just take our time. There’s no hurry, I don’t start working until Monday morning πŸ™‚

 

It's hard to see that there is a road beneath all that grass.

It’s hard to see that there is a road beneath all that grass.

Here it look so much better but this time the grass hides all the water and mud instead.

Here it look so much better but this time the grass hides all the water and mud instead.

DSC_0028

 

For once they have put up a list on how we all want our Christmas vacations this year. It should have been put up much earlier to be honest but this is still much earlier than it usually is put up πŸ™‚ Normally the owner remembers it the week before Christmas but his daughter has been pestering him until he finally placed it on the wall πŸ™‚ If nothing unforseen happens I’ll stay home for 18 days including the normal weekends πŸ™‚ Even though Christmas eve and new years eve aren’t holidays here we still don’t work those days and still get paid. Christmas day, boxing day, new years day and twelfth day are holidays and free from work but still paid so I only need to take six days off really. I’ll use the rest of my vacation days and one day with compensation hours. Next year won’t be that good though since Christmas starts on a Thursday πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0046

Just look at the amazing color these mushrooms have! I can't but love them :-)

Just look at the amazing color these mushrooms have! I can’t but love them πŸ™‚

DSC_0052

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat. I think I’ll make some rice porridge today, the cold weather sort of demands that. I have two new movies to watch, the sci fi Elysium and the last? Die Hard movieΒ A Good Day To Die Hard.Β 

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. jz

    those mushrooms are amazing! i have never seen a blue mushroom before. i am guessing they are toxic? the sky looks like lava. you sure live in an amazing place!

    November 8, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It does look amazing and I am now pretty sure what it is, it is a Stropharia aeruginosa which is mildly poisonous. But we have another one that is so green that it looks like it is made of plastic πŸ™‚ Haven’t seen that one in a few years though

      It was a nice sky this morning. It lasted only a few minutes and then the clouds stopped the sunlight.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2014 at 7:35 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    The silvery blue mushrooms are cool. I don’t find mushrooms with neat colors around here. Not enough conifers maybe. Once in a while I find a bright yellow one but all the others are the usual field mushroom color or the darker brown colored ones. The birds nest fungus that grew in the mulch was orange but so very tiny as to go unnoticed by me for along time. I thought it was just bittersweet berries only smaller than that.

    Your weather sounds like what I had yesterday. Damp and cold. Achy bones weather. Today has finally turned sunny but it’s still cool. It won’t make it out of the 40’s F today. My porch is warm but Rocky has claimed the only chair. Piki Dog and I are inside on the couch.

    I looked up Swedish beetroot salad. It had pickled beets, onions, apples, Dijon mustard and probably sour cream. That might go on meatballs if the meatballs were not Italian meatballs. My beetroot salad is roasted and has lemon juice, cumin and mint. It’s supposed to be served warm but I think it’s better chilled. Maybe it could go on meatballs, if the meatballs were not Italian and were made of ground turkey or chicken. πŸ™‚

    Time for lunch. Not beetroot salad. Hot dogs and maybe mashed potatoes. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    November 8, 2014 at 7:58 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      We do have lots of cool colored mushrooms here even if most are just grey or brown. Rather many are white or whitish too. I think it is the high humidity and all the rain that gives mushrooms the perfect conditions here. I’m still looking for that almost awful green one though, haven’t seen it in quite a while.

      Today was not a nice day but it wasn’t that bad where the wind couldn’t reach. I wish I had a porch, I would be there all the time in a comfy armchair reading πŸ™‚

      Quite a big difference between our beetroot salads! I doubt however that many recipes says sour cream though. I think ours would work with Italian meatballs too even if they are rather different from ours and our beetroot salad would taste awful if it was warm πŸ™‚

      That sounds like a rather nice lunch πŸ™‚ I had some granola πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 8, 2014 at 8:20 pm

  3. the most unusual mushroom!!! I just noticed the pumpkin in the previous post, it didn’t come up for me yesterday, it must have been well hidden for you to miss as well!! Enjoy your movies, I think the Elysium sounds good, I’m looking fr it on Net Flix

    November 8, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I don’t think it is especially common but I read it isn’t that rare either. I guess its color might disguise it rather well during summer.

      The pumpkin was hidden by all its leafs and they must have covered it rather well after the first frost destroyed them. It wasn’t until after all rain it suddenly showed up πŸ™‚

      Elysium is good and the actors are just as good as one could expect and would probably have saved the film if it had been bad πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 9, 2014 at 6:58 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, I fear winter is upon us. Although no snow, the bitter temperatures are making it difficult and the winds have been nasty. Its bound to happen, we just wish it would wait until December. Its going down to -10 tonight. Brrrr!!! πŸ™‚ I love those blue/gray mushrooms!! What a fantastic color on them! When I walk our oldest dog, Tor, because his tumor in his leg makes his walking not the best, it usually takes us longer to wander. He likes to sniff so we do alot of stopping and sniffing. πŸ™‚ And that’s ok, because I have no where else to be! Have a good Sunday – keep those wonderful pictures coming!

    November 8, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It showed its ugly face here but left again πŸ™‚ But now I’m prepared with winter tires and both fire wood and fire logs to keep my cottage warm πŸ™‚ -10 sounds nasty! But then again, the roads will be less slippery if the temperature drop that much, the ice gets rough at those low temperatures. Can’t say I want it anyway to be honest πŸ™‚ The winds are the worst, a cold day without wind can feel rather warm and nice but with the wind, nasty!

      They do look rather cool those mushrooms πŸ™‚

      Yes, we take our time walking the old ones and they are so worth it πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 9, 2014 at 7:02 am

Leave a Reply

