DSC_0001

The sun has been shining here all morning but now clouds take over more and more. Too bad it was such a nice morning, a bit chilly but with very little wind. Well, I guess I should be happy that it won’t rain for at least one more day πŸ™‚ The fire is burning in the stove and my clothes are hanging outside to dry in the last sunshine and the weak wind we have at the moment.

 

DSC_0002

DSC_0008

DSC_0003

 

I have a pot with boiling water and round grain rice, I’m making rice porridge now. I’ll pour in milk and a cinnamon stick in a few minutes and I think I’ll add just a dust of vanilla sugar too. Rice porridge shouldn’t be too sweet but still it need some sugar or honey in it. It’ll be a nice lunch since it takes around 45 minutes until it is ready. I can’t leave the kitchen during this time because burned rice porridge is impossible to eat, not even the dogs would eat it and whenΒ they refuse it is bad πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0013

DSC_0015

DSC_0016

 

I watched Elysium yesterday and it is a good movie if You like Sci-fi, well it is good anyway to be honest. Today I think I’ll watch A Good Day to Die Hard. I’ve always liked the Die Hard movies but it is important to disconnect the part of the brain that demands logic πŸ™‚ (that is of course very important when it comes to the Sci-fi genre) I have no problems with that when it comes to movies πŸ™‚ otherwise it isn’t that easy and that is as it should be.

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

Tomorrow is a working day again since In didn’t win the lottery πŸ™‚ I so long for that Christmas vacation now. I now it’s no use since it is almost two months left until it comes. But it always gets easier when we reach the first of advent and the month of december starts. The turning point towards more daylight is close and it is always nice to count down to Christmas even though I won’t buy myself any present this year, I did that when I bought the camera and those two lenses πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0038

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Hi Christer,
    Lovely window reflection photo. Lots of color and even some texture on the wood. Nicely done.

    Are those the blue mushrooms again? I like how they turned brown in the middle but still have that starry sky edge.

    Sorry you didn’t win the lottery. I didn’t win it either. It would help, I suppose, if I actually bought a ticket. πŸ™‚

    It’s not almost two months until Christmas. It’s only a month and a half. That makes it sound closer. Of course it also makes me panic a little because I haven’t done anything to get ready for it.
    I shouldn’t get myself any presents this year either because of the coyote fur hat and the snowblower that I gave myself for my birthday. I also gave myself a new e-reader. I’m very generous to me. πŸ™‚

    Today is sunny, finally. Still below normal temperature though they say it might get to high 50’s Fahrenheit. This morning I walked the dogs without putting on many outer layers. Just my hat and an over vest that isn’t insulated. It was okay.

    Enjoy the rice porridge and the rest of the day.

    November 9, 2014 at 4:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like this window photo but I wish I could have teken it in a slightly different angle. The sun went up much more south than I liked πŸ™‚

      It aren’t the same mushrooms but I think it is the same species. I like them perhaps even more with just that blueedge πŸ™‚

      One could hope it would help actually buying a lottery ticket but I doubt it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      No panic here πŸ™‚ I’ll see if I can find a small christmas tree of some kind, the spruce I used to have now grow in the garden and the tree I had last year is very much dead πŸ™‚ I’m not sure where I have put the lughtchain to it though so I might have to buy a new one, this time I’ll try to get only white lights, colored ones are rather unusual in our christmas trees.

      That camera and those two lenses I bought sort of disqualifies me from buying me a present this and next year πŸ™‚ But I am usually rather generous and good in finding myself good presents. So far I’ve never been disappointed πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The day stayed nice for too long so I haven’t done anything I’d planned πŸ™‚ So I’ll need to buy dinner at work tomorrow πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 9, 2014 at 6:27 pm

  2. I don’t even want to think about Christmas being that close. The only reason I even decorate is for Mom. I don’t need a tree for myself.

    Guess I’m just too grumpy, but I spent many years working in the retail market, so that sort of ruined it for me.

    November 9, 2014 at 7:45 pm

    • Hi Jim!

      I’ve just reacently started to decorate some again πŸ™‚ Not much though, just a tiny tree, the advent candlesticks and the advent star.
      I so understand how working in retail can make You want not to decorate πŸ™‚ and to be honest, it’s just up for a few days and then we pick it down again πŸ™‚ I only look forward to it because of the christmas vacation πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      November 9, 2014 at 8:18 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, glad to hear your weather is decent. Ours is terrible. So, so cold. It seems its always more cold before the snow comes. Almost like the snow is insulation or something. I love that picture of the window and the sun. Perfect!! πŸ™‚ You should share your rice porridge recipe. I am always looking for different ways to make it too. I like to add cardamom. Not too much as it is a strong flavor, but just enough! Have a good Monday!!

    November 10, 2014 at 2:14 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      It really is even if it started raining again today. I usually don’t mind cold weather, it is the snow I don’t like. Snow is a fantastic insulator! It is the snow that keeps delicate plants alive here during winter and to be honest it does reduce the electricity bill too since I have electric radiators that works while I’m at work.

      I do like that photo too.

      It’s just the basic rice porridge recipe, for two portions take 3/4dl rice and boil it in 1 1/2 dl water with a pinch of salt for around 10 minutes or until most of the water is gone. Never ever burn the rice because it isn’t edible if You do πŸ™‚ After that pour in 3-4 dl milk, the fat one is best! together with a stick of cinnamon and let the rice swell on medium heat for 40-45 minutes.

      Dont stir it at all during that time (I always stir it so that I know it won’t burn so I doubt hat is important πŸ™‚ ) Add sugar if You want a sweet porridge but not more than a tea spoon. Some, like me have milk to it others make a fruit sauce. Both is nice but I like milk better. I too like some cardamom in it πŸ™‚ If You get a lot of porridge left over there’s a delicious dessert You can make from it. We call it Rice Γ‘ la Malta.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 10, 2014 at 6:16 pm

  4. Wendy from NY

    As I was reading about you having to stay in the room with the porridge for 45 minutes, I started wondering if there wasn’t an instant version of that! Just goes to show you how spoiled we all are! Not that I would use it! Trying to get away from processed foods for many years now, and can really appreciate how much better food is when you make it from scratch.

    I feel bad for hermitjim, glad that he has his mom to keep his Christmas spirit up a little bit. I always say “don’t let the turkeys get you down!” πŸ™‚

    I love the picture of the road winding away into the wood. Have you ever considered getting a trail camera to put out there? They blend pretty well with the trees, so maybe it wouldn’t get stolen. It would be interesting to see what you could catch wandering around. But since there will be no gifts until 2016, it will be a long wait! πŸ˜‰

    November 10, 2014 at 3:52 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      There is an instant version but it just isn’t as good as You say πŸ™‚

      Oh I don’t think Hermit Jim suffers πŸ™‚ His name sort of tell us that πŸ™‚ That saying would fall flat here πŸ™‚ Turkey is unbelievebly unliked here and I don’t know why. People might buy turkey parts but mnost prefer to buy chicken instead and since so few buy turkey we who like it must pay a fortune if we want to buy it πŸ™‚

      The rules about trail cameras are almost rediculusly strict here. I was surprised to read that if one wants to put one up one must have a license! I’ve read that there is only one license in the entire country, so I know a lot of illegal ones in the forests πŸ™‚ It all has to do with the personal integrity, no one should be risked of getting photographed without knowing it. Personally I thgink it would be enough with a couple of signs that were placed on trails and roads but that’s not enough according to the law. It is however legal to put it in ones garden so I have thought of it several times because badgers usually pass through here at nights, foxes too and the deers of course πŸ™‚ But as You say, that won’t happen until 2016 πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 10, 2014 at 6:25 pm

      • Wendy from NY

        Oh, the turkeys I was referring to are the ones who helped ruin Christmas for hermitjim. The shoppers. Some people can be pretty rude and I understand that working in retail brings you into pretty close proximity to some of the worst of them.

        That’s very interesting that people there don’t like turkey. We only have turkey at Thanksgiving, and I really prefer chicken anyway.

        I wonder if there are any rules/laws about trail cameras here in the US. I only put mine out on my property and sometimes on my neighbors property with their permission. It would be pretty neat to catch some pictures of your wild pigs! Or maybe even a fairy or troll!

        Enjoy your “vacation” from blogging!

        November 11, 2014 at 12:07 am

      • As I said, I missed that totally πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Yes shoppers can be nasty to be honest and they rely on the sayklin the customers are always right which they seldom are to be honest πŸ™‚ Some of the complains are just rediculus but that’s impossible to tell them πŸ™‚

        I think the main problem is that most people get the turkey too dry and of course blame the bird, not the cook πŸ™‚

        It would be nice to get some hogs on photo and if I get a camera I’ll of course ask the land owners if I can put my camera on their land, we all know it is illegal but why would anyone walk around in the middle of nowhere and get caught in a photo. I’m not interested in seeing people so I would just delete it πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        November 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

  5. Christer,
    I love the window picture. It is lovely.

    We will be in the 50’s the whole week then the cold will roll in. My sister in Colorado has temperatures in the 30’s. during the day and the low 20’s at night.

    I am watching Doctor Who. The Cybermen are back, and they can fly. At first I didn’t like this new Doctor, but I have come to like him. He is older than the last two were and is Scottish. I read that Clara will be leaving some time this season. My favorite companion is Amy Pond.

    My father used to have two sets of tires, the second set being his snow tires. My tires are all weather so that saves me.

    Stay warm and have a great evening.

    November 10, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like it too even though I wish the sun had gone up a bit more to the east πŸ™‚

      We won’t reach 50 but we’ll be close, hopefully the predictions that says no rain will be true too πŸ™‚

      I’m so jealous! I must buy Doctor Who if I want to see that show. I do like Peter Capaldi but I can’t really see him as the Doctor. I must see if I can buy these latest seasons, the entire 34 season might be a bit too expensive if it is possible to get them at all πŸ™‚ I do see it on Youtube every now and again though. Have You seen Rowan Atkinson as Doctor Who in Comic Relief? I must say I do like that episode a lot πŸ™‚

      The all weather tires are sort of legal but still not really here πŸ™‚ I’m not sure if smaller passenger cars are allowed to have them but lots have them anyway. So I do have winter and summer tires even if I hate changing them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 10, 2014 at 6:52 pm

  6. As always, I enlarged every photo to get a better look. We have been under a heavy cloud cover for days now..probably drifting down from the cold front that is hitting the North East of the US. I always enjoy your pictures, Christer. Does sound cold there. Everyone here is expecting an early Winter. California? Who knows. Drive carefully!

    November 13, 2014 at 3:30 am

    • Hi Mona!

      It has been cloudy and rainy all week here but they say the weekend will stay dry anyway. I am a bit tired of the rain now. But it is much warmer than usual here so we are all enjoying it for as long as we can πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      November 14, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

